Official Sony XBR-55X850A / XBR-65X850A Owner's Thread - Page 42 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 16Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1231 of 1246 Old 12-08-2016, 08:42 AM
Member
 
chillstatus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by bavboym3 View Post
I cant find a way to get the the HDMI outputs on the settings to see if I can make it 4K for Xbox
Does the Xbox 4K require HDR? I was looking into the PS4 Pro, but it seems like in order to take advantage of the 4K I'd also need a set with HDR which this TV doesn't have.
chillstatus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1232 of 1246 Old 12-08-2016, 08:58 AM
Member
 
bavboym3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Im guessing so. I can't seam to find an answer, and Sony wasnt much help either. The system plays amazing in the regular 1080p, and it may even up convert some things. Love to see what 4k gaming is like though

TV's: LG OLED 65B6P / LG OLED 55E6P / Samsung UN49KS8500
Receiver: AVR-891
Subwoofer: Sunfire HRS-10
Towers: PSB T6's
Center: PSB C5
Surrounds: BA Satellite Speakers
bavboym3 is offline  
post #1233 of 1246 Old 12-08-2016, 09:06 AM
Member
 
chillstatus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Unfortunately for us - it did not pay to become an early adopter of 4K. I'm glad I do get to use 4K for Netflix and Amazon Prime content via the Fire TV. Still love this TV though as we use it daily.
chillstatus is offline  
 
post #1234 of 1246 Old 12-09-2016, 12:01 PM
Member
 
bavboym3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I love it too. Im just would like to see it play the 4k through the Xbox 1S. I bet there is a way to do it

TV's: LG OLED 65B6P / LG OLED 55E6P / Samsung UN49KS8500
Receiver: AVR-891
Subwoofer: Sunfire HRS-10
Towers: PSB T6's
Center: PSB C5
Surrounds: BA Satellite Speakers
bavboym3 is offline  
post #1235 of 1246 Old 12-24-2016, 06:55 PM
Member
 
Damon Cooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have this TV and just picked up a PS4Pro and TiVo Bolt+ 4K and HDMI 2.0/HDCP 2.2 switcher to connect to TV HDMI port 4. Will report back
Damon Cooper is offline  
post #1236 of 1246 Old 12-24-2016, 06:56 PM
Member
 
Damon Cooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I assume you guys have seen this FW update? https://esupport.sony.com/US/p/swu-d...os_group_id=18
Damon Cooper is offline  
post #1237 of 1246 Old 12-24-2016, 09:13 PM
Member
 
nutshellml's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 13
How is the Sony's "smart" features? DLNA or connecting it to computer / streaming / etc?
nutshellml is offline  
post #1238 of 1246 Old 12-27-2016, 02:14 PM
Member
 
Damon Cooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damon Cooper View Post
I have this TV and just picked up a PS4Pro and TiVo Bolt+ 4K and HDMI 2.0/HDCP 2.2 switcher to connect to TV HDMI port 4. Will report back


Update: everything works great except (as expected) no HDR support.

Using HDMI4 on the TV, connecting PS4Pro and TiVO Bolt+ via an E-SDS 5-1 HDMI 2.0/DHCP 2.2 switch controller by Harmony Elite and Amazon Alexa.

Had a small issue with the TiVo Bolt+ having trouble getting a DHCP2.2 response from the TV from time to time but changed the Harmony startup order to put the TV last in the order and that seemed to solve it.
rsonnens likes this.
Damon Cooper is offline  
post #1239 of 1246 Old 01-06-2017, 02:54 PM
Member
 
chillstatus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damon Cooper View Post
Update: everything works great except (as expected) no HDR support.

Using HDMI4 on the TV, connecting PS4Pro and TiVO Bolt+ via an E-SDS 5-1 HDMI 2.0/DHCP 2.2 switch controller by Harmony Elite and Amazon Alexa.

Had a small issue with the TiVo Bolt+ having trouble getting a DHCP2.2 response from the TV from time to time but changed the Harmony startup order to put the TV last in the order and that seemed to solve it.
Does mean you can still play games in 4k but without HDR? Or do the 4K games require HDR and you only see them in upscaled 1080p?
chillstatus is offline  
post #1240 of 1246 Old 01-06-2017, 06:46 PM
Member
 
Damon Cooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by chillstatus View Post
Does mean you can still play games in 4k but without HDR? Or do the 4K games require HDR and you only see them in upscaled 1080p?


Everything's fine and 4K, just no HDR
Damon Cooper is offline  
post #1241 of 1246 Old 05-07-2017, 09:52 PM
Newbie
 
jamis0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dknigs View Post
Can this set pass through HDMI audio 5.1 to an optical receiver? The installer told me it would, but all I'm able to select from my Xbox One is Stereo Uncompressed with this TV.
Did this ever get answered? Im wondering the same thing.

I have a pretty basic setup (for now), but due to cabling in the wall, I can't connect my cable box directly to my Sonos Playbar. Thus, I'd like to make this setup work:


CableBox ==[HDMI]==> XBR-65X850A ==[OPTICAL@5.1]==> Sonos Playbar

Will this setup work? Or will the Optical out become 2 channel and force me to buy an HDMI->Optical adapter
jamis0n is offline  
post #1242 of 1246 Old 05-10-2017, 09:14 AM
Newbie
 
jamis0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
BUMP - Anybody have ideas on my above post?

I've found a used Sonos Playbar for a good price, but I wanna make sure I dont have to dump another $100+ in to make the TV->Sonos connection work.

Any insight is appreciated!

I've searched Google quite a bit with no luck.
jamis0n is offline  
post #1243 of 1246 Old 06-05-2017, 07:43 PM
Member
 
Opusnbill7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Lincoln, NE USA
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I don't think so. I had it configured that way in the past, but I don't think it was actual surround sound in retrospect. It certainly sounded a lot more "full" when I replaced the receiver and used it instead of routing the sound through the TV over optical.

I may be wrong, though, as my experience is only one data point.
Opusnbill7 is offline  
post #1244 of 1246 Old 06-25-2017, 06:44 PM
Member
 
admranger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 23
So I just got into my new place and when the TV was unboxed and put on the stand there were no screws to hold the stand to the TV.

What's the spec on the screws? I need to get the right ones so I can get this beast fully set up.

Thanks!

Marantz 8801 Marantz 7055 Merrill Thor Monobolcks Oppo 95 SystemDek IIX turntable ATC SCM 19 V2's (L&R) B&W LCR6 (center and heights) B&W in ceiling surround speakers Velodyne SPL-10 Subs (2) Sony xbr65x850a
admranger is offline  
post #1245 of 1246 Old 09-01-2017, 02:42 PM
Member
 
vath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: pa
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Anyone else lose internet app functionality this month? Netflix, Youtube, Hulu, ect do not start up anymore.
Internet connection is all good in that regard... correct IP address (25Mbps down available) and i'm actually able to pull up SONY.com thru the built in browser, but it is SLOW... I have a PS4 PRO and all of it's apps work in 4k resolution and that's connected to the same switch and router... Called SONY and the dude just took my info and claimed that he would send me a troubleshooting info email.

XBR-55X850A, KDL-40XBR4 8000+ hours

Last edited by vath; 09-01-2017 at 02:46 PM.
vath is offline  
post #1246 of 1246 Old 09-01-2017, 04:35 PM
Member
 
vath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: pa
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 16
^^^^^^

issues fixed with Factory Rest. Hold "UP ARROW" on Remote then single press "POWER ON" button on side of TV.

XBR-55X850A, KDL-40XBR4 8000+ hours
vath is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
kd-55x8504a , kd-65x8504a , Sony , Sony Xbr55x850a 55 Inch 4k Ultra Hd 3d Led , Sony Xbr65x850a 65 Inch 4k Ultra Hd 3d Led

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off