Samsung Smart TV's - What codecs are supported? Trying to open Widi DLNA desktop stream on tv - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!

Forum Jump: 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 10-27-2013, 10:48 AM - Thread Starter
iamdk1091's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For those of you not familiar, intel has its own WIDI (wireless display) technology where you can stream your desktop with full quality and low latency.
Unfortunately you needed an external Widi compatible adapter or TV, which I believe the Samsung 8000 series have support for.

I looked into widi technology since I do not keep wanting to use an HDMI cable to connect my laptop.

I found out that with their new software update, WIDI can now stream regular DLNA devices but with the fact that it takes a hit with reduced quality, 720p, and higher latency.

I got it setup and unfortunately my samsung tv is stubborn and doesn't want to accept the input. (es7000) i believe.
Yet on youtube I saw another person using a samsung TV with intels DLNA WIDI stream.

I managed to open the DLNA stream on my computer to evaulate the codec and am trying to pinpoin the problem. Is this codec not supported, or is the problem somewhere else in my setup?

Here is the codec info:

Stream 0
Type: Audio
Original ID: 4352
Codec: MPEG AAC Audio (mp4a)
Channels: Stereo
Sample rate: 48000 Hz

Stream 1
Type: Video
Original ID: 4113
Codec: H264 - MPEG AVC (part 10) (h264)
Resolution: 1280 x 720
Frame rate: 60
Decoded format: Planar 4:2:0 YUV


Does samsung not accept these codecs?
iamdk1091 is offline  
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 3 Old 10-27-2013, 12:35 PM - Thread Starter
iamdk1091's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here is additional information I found about the media source

ID : 0 (0x0)
Complete name : C:\Users\Olivia\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\Temporary Internet Files\Content.IE5\YBNVXCY6\Intel(R)_WiDi[1].mpeg
Format : MPEG-TS
File size : 2.06 MiB
Duration : 7s 168ms
Overall bit rate mode : Variable
Overall bit rate : 2 411 Kbps

ID : 4113 (0x1011)
Menu ID : 1 (0x1)
Format : AVC
Format/Info : Advanced Video Codec
Format profile : Main@L4.0
Format settings, CABAC : Yes
Format settings, ReFrames : 2 frames
Format settings, GOP : M=1, N=15
Codec ID : 27
Duration : 6s 183ms
Bit rate mode : Constant
Nominal bit rate : 3 000 Kbps
Width : 1 280 pixels
Height : 720 pixels
Display aspect ratio : 16:9
Frame rate : 30.000 fps
Color space : YUV
Chroma subsampling : 4:2:0
Bit depth : 8 bits
Scan type : Progressive
Bits/(Pixel*Frame) : 0.109

ID : 4352 (0x1100)
Menu ID : 1 (0x1)
Format : AAC
Format/Info : Advanced Audio Codec
Format version : Version 2
Format profile : LC
Muxing mode : ADTS
Codec ID : 15
Duration : 7s 168ms
Bit rate mode : Variable
Channel count : 2 channels
Channel positions : Front: L R
Sampling rate : 48.0 KHz
Compression mode : Lossy
Delay relative to video : -22h 59mn
iamdk1091 is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 01-04-2014, 01:26 PM
JuniorTech's Avatar
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
To use intels widi... The tv must have: Widi built-in or a widi reciever box connected to the tv with hdmi cable.

Next your computer needs a Intel cpu, Intel gpu.

This video from youtube will explain:

Hope it helps :-)
JuniorTech is offline  
Sponsored Links
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page

Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off