Ultra HD TV as 60hz computer monitor - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 11-10-2013, 02:56 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bigtvbp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here's what I'm trying to do... I have very large interactive SVG-based visualizations. I would really like to display these visualizations as large and with as many pixels as I can. My budget is ~$5,000. Right now we're using 30" 2560x1600 monitors. Would love to go to 55" or 65" at 3840×2160. But its an interactive computer display, so 30 fps is a bit low.

From the research I've done, I can go with a Sony Ultra HD set and wait for the HDMI 2.0 firmware upgrade, or go Samsung and wait for the hardware update of the connector box, or (pre-order?) the Panasonic with HDMI 2.0 and DisplayPort support. I've looked at the Asus 31.5" ultrahd monitor, but that just gives more ppi without much more viewing area.

But that solves just the display portion. Then I need a graphics card capable of driving 3840x2160 over HDMI 2.0 or DisplayPort or it appears with the Asus monitor there's a way to use dual-monitor outputs and EyeFinity and connect both HDMI to the monitor.

The AMD R9 290 and 290x seem capable of driving over DisplayPort, but the early reviews suggest they run super-hot.

So I'm stuck on five questions:

1) Can anyone confirm if the R9 290 (or any other graphics card) can drive 60hz to the Panasonic?
2) Can anyone comment if any of the existing TVs would take dual HDMI input like the Asus monitor?
3) Does anyone know if the R9 290 runs super hot even if you're not driving polygons and textures through the 3D pipeline?
4) Are there any HDMI 2.0 graphics cards out there yet?
5) Is there any other configuration I'm missing that might meet my objectives?
bigtvbp is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 11-11-2013, 06:45 AM
Senior Member
 
kkl10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 60
1) No idea.
2) No TV takes dual HDMI at the moment.
3) No idea.
4) No HDMI 2.0 GPUs yet.
5) A single AMD R9 290 has the capability to source up to 6 displays... so maybe a multi-monitor system??
bigtvbp likes this.
kkl10 is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 11-11-2013, 07:27 AM
Senior Member
 
Petden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 276
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 33
The fact that Panasonic uses a display is very useful. Basic 2160p video is not very taxing for a gpu. Its when you start to add very detailed textures that it runs super hot and struggles. To my knowledge the R290 is not a cool running card. Idle will be in the 50 Celsius range.
bigtvbp likes this.
Petden is online now  
post #4 of 7 Old 11-11-2013, 04:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
6athome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 49
I was looking at 4K TV'S for my HTPC and ran across the Planar 4K with display port.
I also found out that these TV'S have 10 bit panels that show 1 billion colors and 120 gray scale.
AUO has come out with new 4K panel and it look's like it might even be a 12 bit.
6athome is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 11-12-2013, 05:48 AM
Senior Member
 
kkl10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 60
They have to increase the color depth of those 4K panels. There's no way around it.
The higher the size, resolution and color gamut of a display, the higher shades of color it has to produce just to keep picture quality on level with a smaller 1080p display.
Otherwise these 4K displays would show up color banding pretty bad.
This is another reason why I think a multimonitor system would be better for the OP goal, specially if each monitor is 10 bit.
kkl10 is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 11-12-2013, 07:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
6athome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 49
I have read that most of the early 4k TV'S from the likes of Samsung, LG and Sony are 8 bit panels.
6athome is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 11-12-2013, 09:10 AM
Senior Member
 
kkl10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Any 4K TV commercially available should conform to Rec. 2020.
That means either a 10 or 12 bit per pixel color depth.
Possibly manufacturers could be using an 8 bit panel + Dithering to emulate a 10 bit panel... dunno.
A native 10/12 bpp color depth is better though.
kkl10 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off