**Official** Samsung 4K UN55F9000, UN65F9000, and UN85S9 Thread - Page 25 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #721 of 1934 Old 02-16-2014, 08:38 PM
Newbie
 
IBAzzkckr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigballa765 View Post

Thanks does the up converting inhibit the picture of lower signals for instance I have an Xbox one has anyone with a game console noticed a worse picture or actually improved picture of 1080p gaming I'm not so worried about TV signal heard that upconversion was great sorry for all the questions

I've got all the consoles: XBOX ONE/360, PS4/3 and a WiiU and hands down they all look incredible on this set. I've actually gone back and started replaying older games just to see how they look on the set and I'm blown away every time. Love this TV for gaming!
IBAzzkckr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #722 of 1934 Old 02-16-2014, 09:19 PM
Member
 
bigballa765's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by IBAzzkckr View Post

I've got all the consoles: XBOX ONE/360, PS4/3 and a WiiU and hands down they all look incredible on this set. I've actually gone back and started replaying older games just to see how they look on the set and I'm blown away every time. Love this TV for gaming!

Thats awesome thanks a lot care to share a pic? I'm leaning 9000 hoping for a better price than 4400 smh best buy fleeces you only place I have a card smh
bigballa765 is offline  
post #723 of 1934 Old 02-16-2014, 11:34 PM
Member
 
Martinuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by upstate-avfan-da View Post

I am using cnet settings with AMP adjusted a little higher even. No issues with sports, was enjoying olympic hockey earlier

 

can tel me what you exactly mean? AMP (you mean automated motion processing?) ? I watched some ice skatting this weekend (we collect medals I saw :) ) and I could not get used tot the minor blur or logo's shifting in the screen?

Maybe I have a bad reference because I'm used to my good old Kuro. But if I'm correct you see none? or so little it's not visible/irritating? 

 

Using the cnet settings btw. 

Martinuz is offline  
post #724 of 1934 Old 02-16-2014, 11:47 PM
Member
 
pettern's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I had to up the sharpening a bit, the cnet settings made the image too soft/blurry. I heard Samsung might have changed something in the 2006 firmware that causes this, so it might be worthwhile to try for you too.
pettern is offline  
post #725 of 1934 Old 02-17-2014, 02:21 AM
Member
 
Martinuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by pettern View Post

I had to up the sharpening a bit, the cnet settings made the image too soft/blurry. I heard Samsung might have changed something in the 2006 firmware that causes this, so it might be worthwhile to try for you too.

what you mean with try? go to v2005?

 

@ all: are there scenes that are difficult for the TV? bird scene from planet earth? 

 

Stange thing, it wont play 4k material, must it be exactly 3860x2160?

Martinuz is offline  
post #726 of 1934 Old 02-17-2014, 02:29 AM
Member
 
pettern's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Martinuz View Post

what you mean with try? go to v2005?
No, increase sharpening. Cnet settings sets it to 0, try increasing it to sharpen the image a bit.

@ all: are there scenes that are difficult for the TV? bird scene from planet earth? 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Martinuz View Post

Stange thing, it wont play 4k material, must it be exactly 3860x2160?
The TV will only play 4k content if its chopped up in 4x 1080p chunks. h265 support coming with the new One Connect box in March should fix this. See the discussion in the thread:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1479650/samsung-4k-anticipation-thread-un55f9000-un65f9000-and-un85s9-discusion
pettern is offline  
post #727 of 1934 Old 02-17-2014, 03:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
upstate-avfan-da's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 625
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Martinuz View Post

can tel me what you exactly mean? AMP (you mean automated motion processing?) ? I watched some ice skatting this weekend (we collect medals I saw smile.gif ) and I could not get used tot the minor blur or logo's shifting in the screen?
Maybe I have a bad reference because I'm used to my good old Kuro. But if I'm correct you see none? or so little it's not visible/irritating? 

Using the cnet settings btw. 

AMP, auto motion plus.

I am not seeing any blur.

Bit by the upgrade bug, limited by the WAF
upstate-avfan-da is offline  
post #728 of 1934 Old 02-17-2014, 04:36 AM
Newbie
 
owneg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: SWE
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hi there new to the forum. I was wondering if the date to release of the UHD starter pack was accurate... in Europe of course.

Also if the existing pack to u us owners was compatible to ue65f9005 series. Should be the same as 9000 series but in Europe they added 5 at the end. I have some screen settings from a Norwegian company if someone was interested:)


owneg
owneg is offline  
post #729 of 1934 Old 02-17-2014, 05:00 AM
Member
 
Martinuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by owneg View Post
I have some screen settings from a Norwegian company if some one was interested:)
owneg

 

please share

Martinuz is offline  
post #730 of 1934 Old 02-17-2014, 05:20 AM
Member
 
Martinuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by pettern View Post

The TV will only play 4k content if its chopped up in 4x 1080p chunks. h265 support coming with the new One Connect box in March should fix this. See the discussion in the thread:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1479650/samsung-4k-anticipation-thread-un55f9000-un65f9000-and-un85s9-discusion

 

okay, really? so a mkv from timescape with 4k resolution is useless in this TV.

Martinuz is offline  
post #731 of 1934 Old 02-17-2014, 05:47 AM
Newbie
 
owneg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: SWE
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Martinuz View Post

please share


If there is some problems with language I can translate a bit later:) but
rød=red
blå=blue
gul=yellow
sort=black
grønn=green.
Instillinger=settings
balanse=balance
modus=mode
farge=color
fergeområde=colorfield/area
skarphet=sharpness.
hudfarge=skin color
Avansert instillingar=advance settings.

For every : sign its the color that u want to change. Where the main color is present. For ex
Blå: <---- main color
Rød:0 <---- value that is changing the main color.
Blå:7
And so on.
Start from the top of picture settings and work down the list it should be accurate. Also picture mode sholud be in movie. Good luck and I'm trying to change everything when I'm finishing for today.

owneg
owneg is offline  
post #732 of 1934 Old 02-17-2014, 09:33 AM
Newbie
 
IBAzzkckr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigballa765 View Post

Thats awesome thanks a lot care to share a pic? I'm leaning 9000 hoping for a better price than 4400 smh best buy fleeces you only place I have a card smh

IBAzzkckr is offline  
post #733 of 1934 Old 02-17-2014, 11:24 AM
Member
 
bigballa765's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by IBAzzkckr View Post


That looks plain ridiculous wow not sure what game or system but wow your setup is crazy also
bigballa765 is offline  
post #734 of 1934 Old 02-17-2014, 11:46 AM
Newbie
 
IBAzzkckr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigballa765 View Post

That looks plain ridiculous wow not sure what game or system but wow your setup is crazy also

It's Killzone Shadowfall on the PS4...and thanks.smile.gif
IBAzzkckr is offline  
post #735 of 1934 Old 02-17-2014, 06:47 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 11,983
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 284 Post(s)
Liked: 520
Cleveland Plasma is online now  
post #736 of 1934 Old 02-17-2014, 07:13 PM
Member
 
Darkknightman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
What did it drop to? It still shows the same price at best buy and amazon
Darkknightman is offline  
post #737 of 1934 Old 02-18-2014, 08:56 AM
Newbie
 
smokinman88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Washington
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by IBAzzkckr View Post


Nice setup!

smokinman88 is offline  
post #738 of 1934 Old 02-18-2014, 11:54 AM
Member
 
VRWRX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post


If wife kicks you out due to your preference for the TV. Would come in handy moving it (Depends how well you pulled off Valentines Day!)

Any other reason to keep the box besides needing to move it?  Is there a scenario that I would need to ship it anywhere for warranty?

VRWRX is offline  
post #739 of 1934 Old 02-18-2014, 12:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rudy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 3,085
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Rudy1 is offline  
post #740 of 1934 Old 02-18-2014, 01:45 PM
Member
 
bigballa765's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudy1 View Post

Some info on the new models...

http://www.flatpanelshd.com/news.php?subaction=showfull&id=1391750435

Why did you have to post that kind sir lol I'm now increasingly more confused between the 9000 and new model. Seems as if there are trade offs you get same pic quality but aesthetics seems better on the 9000 and you get gestures which I venture to say no one probably uses. However the new set will come equipped with the new 4k standards. I guess there's no real way to tell which set is better as of now but seems Samsung is cutting back some things to make TV cheaper guess comes to price oh the decisions
bigballa765 is offline  
post #741 of 1934 Old 02-18-2014, 02:06 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 23,551
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 667 Post(s)
Liked: 755
Quote:
Originally Posted by pettern View Post

The TV will only play 4k content if its chopped up in 4x 1080p chunks. h265 support coming with the new One Connect box in March should fix this. See the discussion in the thread:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1479650/samsung-4k-anticipation-thread-un55f9000-un65f9000-and-un85s9-discusion

Pettern, does this behavior (4K chopped in to 4 1080p chunks)apply to all 4K content? Let's assume I plugged the upcoming 4K Sony camcorder in to the Samsung. Would it not display the 4K content while being played by the camcorder and output via HDMI to the One Connect box? How does this work while watching 4K content on YouTube?

I have to say I'm wowed by the Samsung playing the 4K demo content you find at BBs. Truly mesmerizing to watch.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #742 of 1934 Old 02-18-2014, 06:36 PM
Member
 
pettern's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post

Pettern, does this behavior (4K chopped in to 4 1080p chunks)apply to all 4K content? Let's assume I plugged the upcoming 4K Sony camcorder in to the Samsung. Would it not display the 4K content while being played by the camcorder and output via HDMI to the One Connect box? How does this work while watching 4K content on YouTube?

I have to say I'm wowed by the Samsung playing the 4K demo content you find at BBs. Truly mesmerizing to watch.

I really can't say for sure, but provided the camcorder supports a 4k output resolution at 30 Hz over HDMI, it should work (based on people saying 4k/30Hz from a pc works). Maybe someone else knows and can jump in here?
pettern is offline  
post #743 of 1934 Old 02-18-2014, 07:22 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 23,551
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 667 Post(s)
Liked: 755
The cam does do 4K@30p via a single HDMI output, but this talk about the 4 1080p quadrants has me scratching my head. The last time I saw this was the first JVC 4K camcorder that could only display 4K by outputting 4 1080p streams via 4 1080p HDMI outputs. The obvious problem was finding a display that had 4 HDMI inputs capable of 'understanding' that each 1080p stream represented 1 of 4 quadrants comprising a 4K picture. All other 4K cams output their 4K via a single HDMI output.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #744 of 1934 Old 02-18-2014, 09:10 PM
rlb
AVS Special Member
 
rlb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: North Royalton, OH
Posts: 3,079
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 94
I output 4K 24/30 fps upconverts (Blu Rays, DVDs, Netflix, and Amazon) from an OPPO 103D to the F9000. Not sure if it will accept 60 fps or even if the HDMI 1.4 is capable of handling it.

However, I've read on another site that the soon to be released upgraded one connect box will accept 4K 60 fps with the following:

A new OneConnect box for the current 4K F9XXX-series, that replaces the old one, that will contain the following new features:

• HDMI 2.0

• HEVC H.265 decoding in hardware up to 4K in 60 fps .

• HDCP 2.2 (copy protection)

• MHL 3.0 (connect a tablet to playback 4K content on TV)

• USB 3.0

• New remote (with motion sensors)

• Faster processors
ianjhuk likes this.
rlb is online now  
post #745 of 1934 Old 02-18-2014, 09:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 3,812
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by VRWRX View Post

Any other reason to keep the box besides needing to move it?  Is there a scenario that I would need to ship it anywhere for warranty?

You have your answer, where is the nearest Warranty Depot? Had to drive my set across town. But, if the Warranty Depot is, let's say, 500 Miles away, then you may have to ship it.
p5browne is offline  
post #746 of 1934 Old 02-19-2014, 07:39 AM
Senior Member
 
Gillietalls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlb View Post

I output 4K 24/30 fps upconverts (Blu Rays, DVDs, Netflix, and Amazon) from an OPPO 103D to the F9000. Not sure if it will accept 60 fps or even if the HDMI 1.4 is capable of handling it.

However, I've read on another site that the soon to be released upgraded one connect box will accept 4K 60 fps with the following:

A new OneConnect box for the current 4K F9XXX-series, that replaces the old one, that will contain the following new features:

• HDMI 2.0

• HEVC H.265 decoding in hardware up to 4K in 60 fps .

• HDCP 2.2 (copy protection)

• MHL 3.0 (connect a tablet to playback 4K content on TV)

• USB 3.0

• New remote (with motion sensors)

• Faster processors

So does this mean someone can buy last years model and be current on specs once the new connect one is available? Or is it better to wait and get this years model? I want to be sure I can watch Netflix in 4K when content becomes available.
Gillietalls is offline  
post #747 of 1934 Old 02-19-2014, 08:16 AM
rlb
AVS Special Member
 
rlb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: North Royalton, OH
Posts: 3,079
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 94
That's what I consistently read in various articles. Only area I'm aware of where 2013 with new one connect box will be different is the screen itself. That could potentially mean the 2014 models have a 10 bit vs 8 bit screen and/or they are capable of displaying a broader color space. But, not all 2014 models, if any, are going to have that enhanced screen capability and Netflix will definitely support UHD at the current HD color space.
rlb is online now  
post #748 of 1934 Old 02-19-2014, 10:49 AM
Senior Member
 
flyguyjake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
*** Firmware 2007 is out ***

Updated to 2007 via update pop-up and all seems fine. My settings remained.

flyguyjake is offline  
post #749 of 1934 Old 02-19-2014, 11:06 AM
Newbie
 
elephantpunch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by flyguyjake View Post

*** Firmware 2007 is out ***

Updated to 2007 via update pop-up and all seems fine. My settings remained.

 

Same here, any idea on what the update improved? 

elephantpunch is offline  
post #750 of 1934 Old 02-19-2014, 12:18 PM
Member
 
wookiee2cu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Seattle, WA.
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gillietalls View Post

So does this mean someone can buy last years model and be current on specs once the new connect one is available? Or is it better to wait and get this years model? I want to be sure I can watch Netflix in 4K when content becomes available.

That's the impression I'm under and what Samsung stated made the TV "future proof". The only things I'm not sure about is the updated processor (not sure if that's in the TV or the One Connect Box) and I'm not sure if the new remote will be included with the One Connect Box or if it will be an additional accessory. I waited for CES to see what Samsung was coming out with before I bought the current 55" F9000 and from what I read there was nothing earth shattering plus it seemed the price for the 2014 models wouldn't be released until they finally went on sale and I didn't want to wait another 3 months. I'm curious to see if they come out higher in price like they initially did and the 2013 models stay at the current price, then once the 2013 models inventory is depleted the price of the 2014's will be lowered. I'm more than happy with my purchase and have no regrets, it's an awesome TV! Bluray movies on it are unreal, the only thing I don't like is non HD channels as they look like garbage compared to HD channels but that is to be expected.
wookiee2cu is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Un55f9000 55 Inch 4k Ultra Hd Led Hdtv , Samsung Un65f9000 65 Inch 4k Ultra Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread - Un55f9000 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off