**Official** Samsung 4K UN55F9000, UN65F9000, and UN85S9 Thread - Page 49 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1441 of 1976 Old 05-07-2014, 05:12 PM
Member
 
rocmo99's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Aurora, Colorado
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Would someone be so kind to post the link for the F9000 CNET settings?
rocmo99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1442 of 1976 Old 05-07-2014, 05:48 PM
Member
 
CannonC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by rocmo99 View Post

Would someone be so kind to post the link for the F9000 CNET settings?


Here ya go.

 

http://forums.cnet.com/7723-19410_102-603993/samsung-un65f9000-picture-settings/

 

 

CannonC is offline  
post #1443 of 1976 Old 05-07-2014, 06:06 PM
Member
 
rocmo99's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Aurora, Colorado
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you :-)
rocmo99 is offline  
post #1444 of 1976 Old 05-07-2014, 07:56 PM
Member
 
KevinMRoach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just an update:

Got another F9000 in the end. A mounting bolt broke off in the TV and Futureshop wouldn't do a refund so I couldn't get an 8550U(had it lined up at another store). All was good though cause I got a free 4K Samsung Blu Ray player and 400$ off extended warranty for me "Trouble". The service was top notch as usual from that store and I'll always go back there.

I put CNET settings into my new panel and boom - looks perfect. Only minor edge lighting in the comers as is reasonable but it's very minor. No more flash lighting, and the backlighting is waaaaayyy brighter too. I guess I had a faulty backlight setup.

If anyone has issues right out of the box, RETURN IT!!! It's a top tier TV and frankly you deserve it to be in 100% working condition. I still recommend the TV
KevinMRoach is offline  
post #1445 of 1976 Old 05-07-2014, 11:56 PM
Senior Member
 
poisike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 36

Samsung SEK-2500U/ZG Evolution Kit is in stock at German Amazon!

http://www.amazon.de/Samsung-SEK-2500U-ZG-Evolution-Fernseher/dp/B00IXUZJ5A

 

I just ordered one, should arrive next week...


Samsung UE65F9000ST + SEK-2500U/ZG (European firmware v1141.6)
poisike is online now  
post #1446 of 1976 Old 05-08-2014, 12:14 AM
Member
 
Martinuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by KevinMRoach View Post

I put CNET settings into my new panel and boom - looks perfect. Only minor edge lighting in the comers as is reasonable but it's very minor. No more flash lighting, and the backlighting is waaaaayyy brighter too. I guess I had a faulty backlight setup.
 

 

you got pics? I still think I have minor issues in the corners, so I'm curious.

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by poisike View Post
 

Samsung SEK-2500U/ZG Evolution Kit is in stock at German Amazon!

http://www.amazon.de/Samsung-SEK-2500U-ZG-Evolution-Fernseher/dp/B00IXUZJ5A

 

I just ordered one, should arrive next week...

 

damn, looks real :)

Martinuz is online now  
post #1447 of 1976 Old 05-08-2014, 12:28 AM
Member
 
simonk83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here's a question. What are we going to do with the old one connect box when we buy the new one biggrin.gif Can't see there being a huge market on ebay for them.
simonk83 is offline  
post #1448 of 1976 Old 05-08-2014, 01:28 AM
Member
 
Martinuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by simonk83 View Post

Here's a question. What are we going to do with the old one connect box when we buy the new one biggrin.gif Can't see there being a huge market on ebay for them.

 

trash I think, we got it for free *kuch*

Martinuz is online now  
post #1449 of 1976 Old 05-08-2014, 01:32 AM
Senior Member
 
poisike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by simonk83 View Post

Here's a question. What are we going to do with the old one connect box when we buy the new one biggrin.gif Can't see there being a huge market on ebay for them.
I will keep it as backup. Considering how many problems I have had with Samsung TVs, its good to have a backup.

Samsung UE65F9000ST + SEK-2500U/ZG (European firmware v1141.6)
poisike is online now  
post #1450 of 1976 Old 05-08-2014, 03:47 AM
Member
 
simonk83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by poisike View Post

I will keep it as backup. Considering how many problems I have had with Samsung TVs, its good to have a backup.

Good call.
simonk83 is offline  
post #1451 of 1976 Old 05-08-2014, 07:23 AM
Member
 
KevinMRoach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Martinuz View Post

you got pics? I still think I have minor issues in the corners, so I'm curious.

Yeah I will snap some tonight and post them. It's quite minor, but it's an edge lit and much better than before.
KevinMRoach is offline  
post #1452 of 1976 Old 05-08-2014, 07:47 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
JSteel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 43
I switched my settings from CNET to Sound and Vision's settings and my black levels are REALLY good. They are not crushed and the picture seems more natural. I was skeptical at first, but Sound and Vision explained the test and what they were getting with Chroma and their results looked really good. So far, I am loving it better than the CNET Settings. Watching Game of Throwns on Blu-ray I can really tell a difference when in a dark room as I can still see an amazing amount of detail. Here is the link:

http://www.soundandvision.com/content/samsung-un65f9000-3d-lcdled-ultra-hdtv-settings
JSteel is offline  
post #1453 of 1976 Old 05-08-2014, 10:58 AM
Member
 
Martinuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by JSteel View Post

I switched my settings from CNET to Sound and Vision's settings and my black levels are REALLY good. They are not crushed and the picture seems more natural. I was skeptical at first, but Sound and Vision explained the test and what they were getting with Chroma and their results looked really good. So far, I am loving it better than the CNET Settings. Watching Game of Throwns on Blu-ray I can really tell a difference when in a dark room as I can still see an amazing amount of detail. Here is the link:

http://www.soundandvision.com/content/samsung-un65f9000-3d-lcdled-ultra-hdtv-settings

 

really? I set both settings on the 2 different hdmi connections. I had a little list with dark scenes to compare the scenes, just switching the hdmi cable. I found the detail in black and grey much better in cnet than sav settings, but maybe it is my panel. Had someone else the time consuming try out I did? 

Martinuz is online now  
post #1454 of 1976 Old 05-08-2014, 02:54 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
JSteel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Martinuz View Post

really? I set both settings on the 2 different hdmi connections. I had a little list with dark scenes to compare the scenes, just switching the hdmi cable. I found the detail in black and grey much better in cnet than sav settings, but maybe it is my panel. Had someone else the time consuming try out I did? 

Yes. I have been using the CNET settings ever since I got my TV back in September. The CNET settings are great, but for my TV the SAV settings work a little better. Once I purchase a calibrator, I will see just how well both stacked up. My blacks are definitely better with no loss in detail when I run the WOW disc.
JSteel is offline  
post #1455 of 1976 Old 05-08-2014, 10:11 PM
Member
 
Martinuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by JSteel View Post

Yes. I have been using the CNET settings ever since I got my TV back in September. The CNET settings are great, but for my TV the SAV settings work a little better. Once I purchase a calibrator, I will see just how well both stacked up. My blacks are definitely better with no loss in detail when I run the WOW disc.

Still find it curious, I also used the WOW disc, I'll probably check again smile.gif
Martinuz is online now  
post #1456 of 1976 Old 05-09-2014, 11:07 AM
Member
 
Martinuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11

btw: has anyone tried vs2008? It seems to be a aussie firmware, anyone tried it on a european TV? 

Martinuz is online now  
post #1457 of 1976 Old 05-09-2014, 11:25 AM
Senior Member
 
poisike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Martinuz View Post

btw: has anyone tried vs2008? It seems to be a aussie firmware, anyone tried it on a european TV? 
There is no way to try it on European TV, it does not accept it.

There is going to be a European update very soon. I read in German forum that the new evolution kit does not work (yet). Someone contacted Samsung support and was told that TVs need a update before the evolution kit can be used and the evolution kit should not be available yet. So it seems German stores started selling it earlier then planned. Someone mentioned the official release date should be 12.05, so I guess we can expect a update this weekend...

Samsung UE65F9000ST + SEK-2500U/ZG (European firmware v1141.6)
poisike is online now  
post #1458 of 1976 Old 05-10-2014, 12:33 AM
Member
 
Martinuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by poisike View Post

There is no way to try it on European TV, it does not accept it.

There is going to be a European update very soon. I read in German forum that the new evolution kit does not work (yet). Someone contacted Samsung support and was told that TVs need a update before the evolution kit can be used and the evolution kit should not be available yet. So it seems German stores started selling it earlier then planned. Someone mentioned the official release date should be 12.05, so I guess we can expect a update this weekend...

Good post, thxs for the heads up. I' ll order my new box soon smile.gif
Martinuz is online now  
post #1459 of 1976 Old 05-14-2014, 03:54 AM
Newbie
 
Alex Fsdt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hello, 

I have a problem :( with the settings of my TV F9000 someone has the default settings in the service menu? 
Thanks in advance! 

 

Alessandro.

Alex Fsdt is offline  
post #1460 of 1976 Old 05-14-2014, 04:24 AM
Member
 
Martinuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex Fsdt View Post
 

Hello, 

I have a problem :( with the settings of my TV F9000 someone has the default settings in the service menu? 
Thanks in advance! 

 

Alessandro.

can you explain some more? what happend or you want? 

Martinuz is online now  
post #1461 of 1976 Old 05-14-2014, 05:07 AM
Newbie
 
Alex Fsdt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Sorry for my English 

I went into the menu to read the model type, I rebooted the TV, and I found the picture upside down and the lighting of the screen flickering for some reason I'm kind of panel configurations, and settings MRT, now do not know what was originally set.

Alex Fsdt is offline  
post #1462 of 1976 Old 05-14-2014, 07:38 AM
Member
 
Martinuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex Fsdt View Post
 

Sorry for my English 

I went into the menu to read the model type, I rebooted the TV, and I found the picture upside down and the lighting of the screen flickering for some reason I'm kind of panel configurations, and settings MRT, now do not know what was originally set.

looks like you did a reset, then every setting is gone.

 

some people use these setting for optimal settings: http://www.soundandvision.com/content/samsung-un65f9000-3d-lcdled-ultra-hdtv-settings

Martinuz is online now  
post #1463 of 1976 Old 05-14-2014, 10:38 AM
rlb
AVS Special Member
 
rlb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: North Royalton, OH
Posts: 3,146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 104
For his sake, lets hope Alessandro misused the term "service menu"; and that he was actually in the user menu. If he "rebooted" after bouncing around in the actual service menu, then he has potentially major problems and cnet or Sound and Vision recommended settings don't apply.
rlb is offline  
post #1464 of 1976 Old 05-14-2014, 12:03 PM
Member
 
robert9674's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 18
WOW just got a great deal at BB for open box F9000....under 1800 out the door......WOW...I was looking to get the f8000 but couldn't pass up such a good deal.....came with everything...no issues to screen or body.....cant believe my luck tongue.gif
robert9674 is offline  
post #1465 of 1976 Old 05-14-2014, 12:04 PM
Member
 
robert9674's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 18
when is the upgrade one connect coming out?
robert9674 is offline  
post #1466 of 1976 Old 05-14-2014, 12:12 PM
Member
 
wookiee2cu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Seattle, WA.
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by robert9674 View Post

when is the upgrade one connect coming out?

Samsung hasn't given a date yet so no one knows. Post 1446 on this page said a german site allowed them to order one but it may be one of those deals where they are just taking pre-orders at this time. You can check Samsung's site, I'm sure when it's available they will throw it up on this page (since they have the evolution kit listed I'm pretty sure this is where they will list the One Connect Box): http://www.samsung.com/us/video/tvs-accessories I also noticed if you go to page 2 of that link they have the UHD drive with movies for sale for $300.
wookiee2cu is offline  
post #1467 of 1976 Old 05-14-2014, 12:31 PM
Senior Member
 
poisike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 36
This was not a preorder, German Amazon had them in stock and mine was shipped on Monday. Should arrive on Friday or next Monday.

Some people in Germany and UK have already received their new one connect boxes. Only problem is that these don't work yet, it seems a firmware update is required before it can be used. Strangely even Samsung support doesn't know when this update will be released...

Samsung UE65F9000ST + SEK-2500U/ZG (European firmware v1141.6)
poisike is online now  
post #1468 of 1976 Old 05-14-2014, 12:50 PM
Member
 
smirish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've had my UN65F9000 for a bout a month now. A couple of questions.

1st. I have directv. when i turn on the F9000 it boots up it the smart hub and the directv is in a minimized window in the top left corner. there are some icons with recommended shows on now, etc... it is a little annoying because if i am using my directv RF remote i can't hit enter to make the Directv full screen. i have to use one of the 2 samsung remotes. i know the samsung remotes willl control my directv reciever, but it has slower reaction times. i prefer to just use the directv remote for most of my tv watching. is there any setting i can change so when the tv turns on it just directly into directv and i can bypass having to hit enter on the remote? i've searched through all the menus several times and can't find anything. hoping i'm missing it.

2nd- I've calibrated the tv to the CNET settings. pertty happy with it, but the picture does seem kinda blurry to me. the driectv menus seem not as sharp. I was surprised the CNET settings have the sharpness set to 0.

also when i was watching the NFL Draft i could see regular intermittent motion blur on the ticker tape at the bottom of the screen. is this due to the CNET settings?

thanks.
smirish is offline  
post #1469 of 1976 Old 05-14-2014, 01:32 PM
rlb
AVS Special Member
 
rlb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: North Royalton, OH
Posts: 3,146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by smirish View Post

I've had my UN65F9000 for a bout a month now. A couple of questions.

1st. I have directv. when i turn on the F9000 it boots up it the smart hub and the directv is in a minimized window in the top left corner. there are some icons with recommended shows on now, etc... it is a little annoying because if i am using my directv RF remote i can't hit enter to make the Directv full screen. i have to use one of the 2 samsung remotes. i know the samsung remotes willl control my directv reciever, but it has slower reaction times. i prefer to just use the directv remote for most of my tv watching. is there any setting i can change so when the tv turns on it just directly into directv and i can bypass having to hit enter on the remote? i've searched through all the menus several times and can't find anything. hoping i'm missing it.

2nd- I've calibrated the tv to the CNET settings. pertty happy with it, but the picture does seem kinda blurry to me. the driectv menus seem not as sharp. I was surprised the CNET settings have the sharpness set to 0.

also when i was watching the NFL Draft i could see regular intermittent motion blur on the ticker tape at the bottom of the screen. is this due to the CNET settings?

thanks.

With regard to your F9000 and Directv issue. There may be another way to solve the problem; but I have the F9000 and DirectTv and just don't have the IR remote transmitter connected between the two. Bottom line: The F9000 doesn't even know I have DirectTv. It's just another input coming from my receiver to the one connect box. I can't use the F9000 remotes to shift DirectTV channels, etc. I could use the DirecTV remote just like I use remotes from other components (e.g., Blu Ray player). However, I have a Harmony universal remote that turns on components and selects specific inputs depending upon the function that I select (i.e., Watch TV, it turns on F9000 to HDMI input 4 (input from receiver), turns on receiver and selects HDMI input 3 (from DirecTV HR 24), and turns on HR24). The Smart Hub on TV is shown only if I select "Smart Hub" on the Harmony (tunes to Smart Hub and sets receiver to optical digital input from the one connect box). In retrospect, I could probably have the F9000/one connect IR remote to the DirectTV available and the Harmony setup would still work the same (i.e., would skip the smart hub view when turning on the Watch TV function).

Finally, I use the CNET settings and have no sharpness or motion issues.
rlb is offline  
post #1470 of 1976 Old 05-14-2014, 03:53 PM
Newbie
 
Cabot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by smirish View Post

I've had my UN65F9000 for a bout a month now. A couple of questions.

1st. I have directv. when i turn on the F9000 it boots up it the smart hub and the directv is in a minimized window in the top left corner. there are some icons with recommended shows on now, etc... it is a little annoying because if i am using my directv RF remote i can't hit enter to make the Directv full screen. i have to use one of the 2 samsung remotes. i know the samsung remotes willl control my directv reciever, but it has slower reaction times. i prefer to just use the directv remote for most of my tv watching. is there any setting i can change so when the tv turns on it just directly into directv and i can bypass having to hit enter on the remote? i've searched through all the menus several times and can't find anything. hoping i'm missing it.

2nd- I've calibrated the tv to the CNET settings. pertty happy with it, but the picture does seem kinda blurry to me. the driectv menus seem not as sharp. I was surprised the CNET settings have the sharpness set to 0.

also when i was watching the NFL Draft i could see regular intermittent motion blur on the ticker tape at the bottom of the screen. is this due to the CNET settings?

thanks.

I have DISH tv and the same Smart menu comes up and it drives me crazy to have to step away from Harmony One remote and grab the Samsung remote to select the upper left hand corner picture. Hopefully someone has a setting fix. I guess we could reprogram the Harmony, but I'm lazy.

2nd - I am using Sound And Vision settings and happier with the settings compared to CNET. May be because I have 4 large windows directly behind me. Glare during the day is not too bad as long as it is a bright tv show and not a dark movie. I must close the blinds form dark shows.
Cabot is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Un55f9000 55 Inch 4k Ultra Hd Led Hdtv , Samsung Un65f9000 65 Inch 4k Ultra Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread - Un55f9000 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off