**Official** Samsung 4K UN55F9000, UN65F9000, and UN85S9 Thread - Page 57 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1681 of 2049 Old 06-18-2014, 06:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sikclown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,299
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 787 Post(s)
Liked: 298
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlb View Post
Very encouraging. Thanks for the info, not to mention your initiative/guts with this effort!
Netflix has disappeared but everything else is still great.
sikclown is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1682 of 2049 Old 06-18-2014, 06:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sikclown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,299
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 787 Post(s)
Liked: 298
Quote:
Originally Posted by dakyd23 View Post
Ok i just bought UN65HU8550FXZA and i wanted to know how to turn on the upscaling. I have abrand new sony receiver that has upscaling, 4k and 3d pass through and a sony BD 4k/3d and 4k upscaling. Any help would be great.
Nothing needs to be turned on. The TV upscales everything automatically.
sikclown is offline  
post #1683 of 2049 Old 06-18-2014, 08:19 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
If it upscales everything then why does it show everything as 1080p?
dakyd23 is offline  
post #1684 of 2049 Old 06-18-2014, 08:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sikclown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,299
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 787 Post(s)
Liked: 298
Quote:
Originally Posted by dakyd23 View Post
If it upscales everything then why does it show everything as 1080p?
Because it is a 1080p source that it is receiving. If it wasn't upscaling it to fit the screen it would be half the size with a large black border which you would have to zoom in. When you have an external device upscaling the TV is receiving a 4K signal therefore it reports that. When the TV receives a 1080p signal it reports that but upscales it to fit every pixel.
sikclown is offline  
post #1685 of 2049 Old 06-18-2014, 08:50 PM
rlb
AVS Special Member
 
rlb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: North Royalton, OH
Posts: 3,314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 273 Post(s)
Liked: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by theho1 View Post
Is this the issue you had? Mine still does this after it has been on for a few hours.

http://youtu.be/QiEW74iPr0g

Regarding my prior power cycles. As I previously said, it did it 2-3 times within a week or two a couple months ago. I vaguely remember doing something with the remote at the time; but can't be sure or even guess at what I was doing. However, it hasn't happened again.


But, I did have another issue today. I had watched a movie with the Amazon app on the Smart Hub. Subsequently, I hit the normal button on my Harmony to go to the A/V pre processor/DTV HR 44 input; however, I got the sound from the HR 44 and kept the picture from the F9000 Smart Hub. When I tried numerous times to use the F9000 remote to change input from the "TV" to the A/V pre processor, nothing happened. I then turned off the F9000 and tried to cycle it back on. The F9000 would not turn back on. It took around 30 seconds and then it cycled back on with the HR44 input I had tried to get. I have no idea what happened; but I tried to recreate the problem and could not do it. Anyway, hopefully this was a one time issue.
rlb is online now  
post #1686 of 2049 Old 06-19-2014, 02:22 AM
Member
 
mavenaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Please let me know if I have this straight.

If I were to purchase a new F9000, and purchased the evolution kit, I would essentially have a HU9000 without the curve?

Thanks in advance!

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
mavenaz is offline  
post #1687 of 2049 Old 06-19-2014, 06:26 AM
rlb
AVS Special Member
 
rlb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: North Royalton, OH
Posts: 3,314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 273 Post(s)
Liked: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by mavenaz View Post
Please let me know if I have this straight.

If I were to purchase a new F9000, and purchased the evolution kit, I would essentially have a HU9000 without the curve?

Thanks in advance!

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Samsung hasn't helped with any specific information on your question.


We do know you would have the same processor (Quad Core Plus) and same features on the Smart Hub (Skype and motion control with built in camera). You would obviously have the one connect box with the same inputs/outputs. Many of us guess that you would have the improved upconversion because of firmware and the more powerful processor. I'm more skeptical about other HU9000 features such as PurColor and Auto Depth Enhancer. I don't think that the new one connect box can increase your local dimming zones to the larger number on the HU9000.
rlb is online now  
post #1688 of 2049 Old 06-20-2014, 04:20 PM
Newbie
 
johnny538's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnny538 View Post
Hello all, I am experiencing an issue with my newly purchased UE55F9000. Yes I'm European . I've set up my TV like so: DVB-C in combination with CI+ to watch cable tv in digital/HD quality. And DVB-S hooked up to a dish for "free to air" channels.
 
It all works but the problem is that sometimes, usually when watching dvb-s, when I change channels the action takes very long to finish. I'm not talking about 2 or 3 seconds, but like 10sec. During those 10 seconds, the tv will not react to more commands coming from the remote. I completely freezes and I'm forced to wait untill it has changed the channel. From then on, I can change channels fine but it will randomly happen again... often actually but not 'always'. When I switch to dvb-c the problem persists. When I restart the TV it's good again, but it will eventually occur again. I believe it starts in dvb-s mode.
 
I'm running the latest firmware (v. 2006). Anyone experiencing this ? Or does anyone have a solution ?
 
I already contacted samsung and their tech department will call me soon about it. I also resetted the tv, but to no avail.
 
Any help would greatly be appreciated.
Bump. I really appreciate any help. I've noticed some people here have a similar issue.
Running version 2221.0 now
johnny538 is online now  
post #1689 of 2049 Old 06-20-2014, 08:35 PM
Member
 
John5mith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 11
HDMI 2.0 on Nvidia.....sort of

Not sure if this is the right place for this. I Have UN55F9000 and a media centre in Australia. I'm kind of waiting for Nvidia to bring out HDMI 2.0 Cards and Samsung to release the new one connect box in Australia. Mainly so I can run at 60Hz refresh rate. I'm sure many are in a smiler position.

Check out this article which says you can get 60Hz with HDMI 1.4 and Nvidia.
http://www.anandtech.com/show/8191/n...upport-kind-of

I'm pretty sure if I get the card running 60Hz with the lower colour bit rate the One connect box will probably stop it working.

First to test gets A MEDAL! GO! and let us know how you go.
John5mith is offline  
post #1690 of 2049 Old 06-20-2014, 10:09 PM
Member
 
John5mith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by John5mith View Post
Not sure if this is the right place for this. I Have UN55F9000 and a media centre in Australia. I'm kind of waiting for Nvidia to bring out HDMI 2.0 Cards and Samsung to release the new one connect box in Australia. Mainly so I can run at 60Hz refresh rate. I'm sure many are in a smiler position.

Check out this article which says you can get 60Hz with HDMI 1.4 and Nvidia.
http://www.anandtech.com/show/8191/n...upport-kind-of

I'm pretty sure if I get the card running 60Hz with the lower colour bit rate the One connect box will probably stop it working.

First to test gets A MEDAL! GO! and let us know how you go.
The Driver referenced in the article above is this one AFAIK
http://www.geforce.co.uk/drivers/results/76575
John5mith is offline  
post #1691 of 2049 Old 06-21-2014, 04:11 PM
Member
 
mavenaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I went ahead and set up the exchange for my XBR65X900A ($2699). Got a new 65F9000 for $2199 and a connect box for $250. Although, you can't count the connect in price because I would have to buy Sony's $499 box to stream 4k anyways.

I hope I made the right choice giving up in Sony for this set. Honestly, it hard to judge these sets in store as they were set on torch mode. (Used the HU9000 as reference) The XBR seemed to have better colors due to the Trilumious engine. Shading also seemed better on the XBR, but both pictures were completely blurple if that tells you anything

However, the XBR65X900A's banding, clouding and led edges tinges are irritating. I was a long time Plasma owner and am hyper sensitive to that sort of nonsense.

I have yet to see anyone comment on fully calibrated opinions between these two sets. Once the picture is tamed, is the Sony still noticeably better?

Input lag at 60 (F9000) compared to 40 (XBR900) is also concerning me. Is this something Samsung can remedy via an update? I have read a few places that this recently happened.

Anyways, it on the way now. I hope the pros are better than. The con's with this current trade.

Any comments on this are appreciated.
mavenaz is offline  
post #1692 of 2049 Old 06-21-2014, 04:42 PM
Member
 
CannonC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by what-now View Post
Hi all! PLEASE can someone tell me if when properly installed, proper firmware (everything working normally) will the 2014 one connect box improve picture quality!??? Upscalling, less artifacts, better color? I'm just trying to justify getting this TV when I could get a new model without the hassle of the upgrade problems. Please help me. Sorry if its been covered already
They are going to get the firmware fixed. The Korean version has fixed the washed out look. Better thread to look at others results is below:
2014 Samsung SEK-2500U/ZA Evolution Kit and CY-SUC10SH/ZA UHD Video Pack

Saw this posted from Rib on that thread..... I would stick with the F9000 without question. It's a better TV from what I've seen. I love mine and I have not even upgraded to the 2014 Evolution Kit yet.

F9000 vs. 8550

1) F9000 was top of the line in 2013, 8550 is second tier in 2014.


2) F9000 with new one connect processor (Quad Core Plus) has approximately twice the power of the 8550 (Quad Core). Provides higher clear motion rate (i.e., better motion handling) and reviewers have said increased processing power provides better upconversion.

3) F9000 with its' installed camera and new one connect has Skype and motion control. 8550 has neither.


4) F9000 is better built (significantly heavier) and speakers have approximately 50% more power than the 8550.


5) HU8550 doesn't have any feature not included or exceeded in the F9000 with 2014 one connect. F9000 with 2014 one connect has "Cinema Black" which is not included on the 8550.
CannonC is offline  
post #1693 of 2049 Old 06-21-2014, 05:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sikclown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,299
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 787 Post(s)
Liked: 298
Quote:
Originally Posted by mavenaz View Post
I went ahead and set up the exchange for my XBR65X900A ($2699). Got a new 65F9000 for $2199 and a connect box for $250. Although, you can't count the connect in price because I would have to buy Sony's $499 box to stream 4k anyways.

I hope I made the right choice giving up in Sony for this set. Honestly, it hard to judge these sets in store as they were set on torch mode. (Used the HU9000 as reference) The XBR seemed to have better colors due to the Trilumious engine. Shading also seemed better on the XBR, but both pictures were completely blurple if that tells you anything

However, the XBR65X900A's banding, clouding and led edges tinges are irritating. I was a long time Plasma owner and am hyper sensitive to that sort of nonsense.

I have yet to see anyone comment on fully calibrated opinions between these two sets. Once the picture is tamed, is the Sony still noticeably better?

Input lag at 60 (F9000) compared to 40 (XBR900) is also concerning me. Is this something Samsung can remedy via an update? I have read a few places that this recently happened.

Anyways, it on the way now. I hope the pros are better than. The con's with this current trade.

Any comments on this are appreciated.
CNET measured Input Lag on the F9000 at 56.5 in game mode. I play my PS4 and Xbox One all the time and rarely even switch over to game mode simply because of forgetting and never notice. I am not a twitch gamer though but I don't think 16.5ms difference is that big of a deal.

UN65F9000AFXZA + SEK2500U/ZA firmware version 1162.2
Denon AVR-X5200W, Apple TV, Sony BDP-S6200, PS4, Xbox One
(2) Klipsch RF-82IIs, (2)RS-62IIs (4)RS-52IIs, (2)RS-42IIs, (1)RC-62ii, (2)RB-61IIs
(1) SVS PB12-Plus, (1)Emotiva XPA-100, (1)XPA-200, (1)UPA-200,
UN55HU8550, AVR-S900W, Ceton Echo, Apple TV, Panny BDT460, PC,
(1)Klipsch G-42, (2)G-16s, (2) Bose 161, (1)BIC Acoustech PL-200
sikclown is offline  
post #1694 of 2049 Old 06-21-2014, 06:27 PM
Member
 
mavenaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by sikclown View Post
CNET measured Input Lag on the F9000 at 56.5 in game mode. I play my PS4 and Xbox One all the time and rarely even switch over to game mode simply because of forgetting and never notice. I am not a twitch gamer though but I don't think 16.5ms difference is that big of a deal.
Thanks!

Wonder why Samsung's design is behind in that area. Obviously gamers are more of a focus now than ever. I am not a pro or twich gamer either. However, I do play my fair share of Wii and old school Nes games. Input lag really stinks with old platformers.

Now I read there is stuttering issues with the F9000 & HU900?!!! Can anyone confirm or debunk this? I really don't want to add more processing than needed to the picture to eliminate stuttering

Game mode on the X900 worked well for my needs. Playing under cinema or other modes was brutal. Although, I think those modes has to be much higher than 56.

Can I ask why you chose the Sammy over Sony? CNET praised the F9000 and I find it odd more owners are not posting here. The 900a thread is more than twice the size of this one. Did Samsung only sell the 9000 for a short period of time?

Last edited by mavenaz; 06-21-2014 at 08:07 PM.
mavenaz is offline  
post #1695 of 2049 Old 06-21-2014, 09:29 PM
Member
 
almagueram's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I have some links for the smaller clips from the Samsung UHD hard drive.

Let me know if you want them.

Last edited by almagueram; 06-21-2014 at 09:59 PM.
almagueram is offline  
post #1696 of 2049 Old 06-22-2014, 08:58 AM
Member
 
cybernut2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr.Shankenstein View Post
I have had the 9000 for over a week and love this thing more everyday. I picked up a Monster Platinum series HDMI 8' for like $23 dollars clearance at BB and have nothing but trouble. It was causing all my weird performance issues with the flickering screen and such. I switch over to my $14 Belkin and it is perfect.
I have the monster black platinum 27gbps cable between my oppo and avr and noticed that there was something not right with the pic. I replaced it with my former cable and there was a night and day difference i.e older was better. I have the same series 35ft between my avr and tv via in wall conduit (this cable is one way like redmere) and wondering if it is causing issues . I wll test and report back. Both cables were free as part of my tv purchase, so at least there is that. I would have gone with something else but since it was going through the wall i needed something that would fit the conduit and provide some future proofing in terms of 60hz support and cheaper cables are coming but was not available when i needed it.

Is anyone noticing lip sync issues? I am having a lot of trouble with that. All my gear is connecting via denon 331ci avr, then arc to arc from tv to avr?
cybernut2000 is offline  
post #1697 of 2049 Old 06-22-2014, 11:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sikclown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,299
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 787 Post(s)
Liked: 298
Quote:
Originally Posted by mavenaz View Post
Thanks!

Wonder why Samsung's design is behind in that area. Obviously gamers are more of a focus now than ever. I am not a pro or twich gamer either. However, I do play my fair share of Wii and old school Nes games. Input lag really stinks with old platformers.

Now I read there is stuttering issues with the F9000 & HU900?!!! Can anyone confirm or debunk this? I really don't want to add more processing than needed to the picture to eliminate stuttering

Game mode on the X900 worked well for my needs. Playing under cinema or other modes was brutal. Although, I think those modes has to be much higher than 56.

Can I ask why you chose the Sammy over Sony? CNET praised the F9000 and I find it odd more owners are not posting here. The 900a thread is more than twice the size of this one. Did Samsung only sell the 9000 for a short period of time?
I think more owners haven't posted here because they are completely happy with their TVs. Honestly if it weren't for the 2014 UHD Evolution Kit I probably wouldn't post in here as much. Having said that I can't tell you which to choose; I got burned by a Sony TV years ago and haven't considered them since. They are way overpriced in my opinion. That may have changed but my perception has not. So obviously I am biased

UN65F9000AFXZA + SEK2500U/ZA firmware version 1162.2
Denon AVR-X5200W, Apple TV, Sony BDP-S6200, PS4, Xbox One
(2) Klipsch RF-82IIs, (2)RS-62IIs (4)RS-52IIs, (2)RS-42IIs, (1)RC-62ii, (2)RB-61IIs
(1) SVS PB12-Plus, (1)Emotiva XPA-100, (1)XPA-200, (1)UPA-200,
UN55HU8550, AVR-S900W, Ceton Echo, Apple TV, Panny BDT460, PC,
(1)Klipsch G-42, (2)G-16s, (2) Bose 161, (1)BIC Acoustech PL-200
sikclown is offline  
post #1698 of 2049 Old 06-22-2014, 11:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sikclown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,299
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 787 Post(s)
Liked: 298
Quote:
Originally Posted by cybernut2000 View Post
I have the monster black platinum 27gbps cable between my oppo and avr and noticed that there was something not right with the pic. I replaced it with my former cable and there was a night and day difference i.e older was better. I have the same series 35ft between my avr and tv via in wall conduit (this cable is one way like redmere) and wondering if it is causing issues . I wll test and report back. Both cables were free as part of my tv purchase, so at least there is that. I would have gone with something else but since it was going through the wall i needed something that would fit the conduit and provide some future proofing in terms of 60hz support and cheaper cables are coming but was not available when i needed it.

Is anyone noticing lip sync issues? I am having a lot of trouble with that. All my gear is connecting via denon 331ci avr, then arc to arc from tv to avr?
What sources are you having lip sync issues with? Just smart hub? Have you messed with the timing in TV Sound menu? I haven't had any issues personally with that same setup through my 2313ci

UN65F9000AFXZA + SEK2500U/ZA firmware version 1162.2
Denon AVR-X5200W, Apple TV, Sony BDP-S6200, PS4, Xbox One
(2) Klipsch RF-82IIs, (2)RS-62IIs (4)RS-52IIs, (2)RS-42IIs, (1)RC-62ii, (2)RB-61IIs
(1) SVS PB12-Plus, (1)Emotiva XPA-100, (1)XPA-200, (1)UPA-200,
UN55HU8550, AVR-S900W, Ceton Echo, Apple TV, Panny BDT460, PC,
(1)Klipsch G-42, (2)G-16s, (2) Bose 161, (1)BIC Acoustech PL-200
sikclown is offline  
post #1699 of 2049 Old 06-22-2014, 12:07 PM
rlb
AVS Special Member
 
rlb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: North Royalton, OH
Posts: 3,314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 273 Post(s)
Liked: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by cybernut2000 View Post
Is anyone noticing lip sync issues? I am having a lot of trouble with that. All my gear is connecting via denon 331ci avr, then arc to arc from tv to avr?

Your HDMI 1.4a AVR should handle lip sync issues (although I'm not sure about the ARC channel back from the F9000). My Integra HDMI 1.4a A/V pre processor automatically handles lip sync for all my components going through the Integra. However, I use optical digital from Smart Hub/one connect to the Integra. For that connection, I use the lip sync adjustment on the F9000. I would experiment with eliminating the ARC connection/function and see what happens. ARC can create a world of problems. If that doesn't work, the Denon probably has individual lip sync adjustments available for each input.

Last edited by rlb; 06-22-2014 at 12:14 PM.
rlb is online now  
post #1700 of 2049 Old 06-22-2014, 01:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
Eric_Connelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 13
This set is on sale right now for $1749 with free shipping.


Is it HDMI 2.0 out of the box or do I need the external box?


This is a set for the bedroom and reason I'm considering it is the price but only if its 2.0 and will stick around for a bit.


Good deal? I'd be replacing a 55" ST60. The 4K resolution is important for some of the other things we would do with the TV.
Eric_Connelly is offline  
post #1701 of 2049 Old 06-22-2014, 01:50 PM
rlb
AVS Special Member
 
rlb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: North Royalton, OH
Posts: 3,314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 273 Post(s)
Liked: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric_Connelly View Post
This set is on sale right now for $1749 with free shipping.


Is it HDMI 2.0 out of the box or do I need the external box?


This is a set for the bedroom and reason I'm considering it is the price but only if its 2.0 and will stick around for a bit.


Good deal? I'd be replacing a 55" ST60. The 4K resolution is important for some of the other things we would do with the TV.

For HDMI 2.0, you would need the 2014 Evolution Kit (new one connect box (SEK 2500U) to replace the 2013 one connect box that will come with the F9000.
rlb is online now  
post #1702 of 2049 Old 06-22-2014, 02:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dr.Shankenstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Has anyone that purchased the F9000 and geeksquad warranty had to have service on account of bad one connect (2013). I was curious if service or replacement would cancel my warranty or if an exchange could be made fornthre box alone?
Dr.Shankenstein is offline  
post #1703 of 2049 Old 06-22-2014, 02:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dr.Shankenstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric_Connelly View Post
This set is on sale right now for $1749 with free shipping.


Is it HDMI 2.0 out of the box or do I need the external box?


This is a set for the bedroom and reason I'm considering it is the price but only if its 2.0 and will stick around for a bit.


Good deal? I'd be replacing a 55" ST60. The 4K resolution is important for some of the other things we would do with the TV.
I feel that is a great deal for what is a stellar display. I was able to get mine for around $1300 open box and felt the money in saved would allow me to pick up the 2014 EVO kit/one connect. What I got is a very impressive 55" flagship 4k Samsung with upgrade path for under 2k.
Dr.Shankenstein is offline  
post #1704 of 2049 Old 06-22-2014, 03:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
Eric_Connelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Thanks for the replies.


After seeing what my ST60 is going for with low hours and the upgrade kit I ordered the TV.


Should be here in 3-4 days. Open box would have been a great deal but all the local BB's had were LG/Sony and no 2.0 options.
Eric_Connelly is offline  
post #1705 of 2049 Old 06-22-2014, 04:09 PM
Senior Member
 
robert9674's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr.Shankenstein View Post
I feel that is a great deal for what is a stellar display. I was able to get mine for around $1300 open box and felt the money in saved would allow me to pick up the 2014 EVO kit/one connect. What I got is a very impressive 55" flagship 4k Samsung with upgrade path for under 2k.

what store was the open box deal at?
robert9674 is offline  
post #1706 of 2049 Old 06-22-2014, 05:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dr.Shankenstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by cybernut2000 View Post
I have the monster black platinum 27gbps cable between my oppo and avr and noticed that there was something not right with the pic. I replaced it with my former cable and there was a night and day difference i.e older was better. I have the same series 35ft between my avr and tv via in wall conduit (this cable is one way like redmere) and wondering if it is causing issues . I wll test and report back. Both cables were free as part of my tv purchase, so at least there is that. I would have gone with something else but since it was going through the wall i needed something that would fit the conduit and provide some future proofing in terms of 60hz support and cheaper cables are coming but was not available when i needed it.

Is anyone noticing lip sync issues? I am having a lot of trouble with that. All my gear is connecting via denon 331ci avr, then arc to arc from tv to avr?
I know the black platinum have the chip on male side of the cable that is used on the TV's input and is marked accordingly on the cable itself. I have had issues with using it on my PS4 while watching movies. It introduce large snowy noise in the dark areas of the image like severe dithering. I am using the high speed cable that came with the PS4 at the moment,but still see occasionally.
Dr.Shankenstein is offline  
post #1707 of 2049 Old 06-22-2014, 05:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dr.Shankenstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by robert9674 View Post
what store was the open box deal at?
It was a local kansas city,mo best buy that is constantly running deal of the day items with up to 30-40% off.
Dr.Shankenstein is offline  
post #1708 of 2049 Old 06-23-2014, 12:20 PM
Member
 
3rdDayRocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr.Shankenstein View Post
It was a local kansas city,mo best buy that is constantly running deal of the day items with up to 30-40% off.
UN65F9000 is now under $2,500 on some online sites.

UN55F9000 is now under $1,700 on some online sites.
3rdDayRocker is offline  
post #1709 of 2049 Old 06-23-2014, 02:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dr.Shankenstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3rdDayRocker View Post
UN65F9000 is now under $2,500 on some online sites.

UN55F9000 is now under $1,700 on some online sites.
Before the drop they had mine marked at $1749 minus 25% on top of that for a price of $1300 and some change.
Dr.Shankenstein is offline  
post #1710 of 2049 Old 06-23-2014, 04:15 PM
Senior Member
 
robert9674's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr.Shankenstein View Post
Before the drop they had mine marked at $1749 minus 25% on top of that for a price of $1300 and some change.
got mine for 1749 about a month ago from BB
robert9674 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Un55f9000 55 Inch 4k Ultra Hd Led Hdtv , Samsung Un65f9000 65 Inch 4k Ultra Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread - Un55f9000 by PriceGrabber.com



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off