**Official** Samsung 4K UN55F9000, UN65F9000, and UN85S9 Thread - Page 60 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #1771 of 2049 Old 07-03-2014, 10:55 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by sikclown View Post
In my opinion I think the TV does a better job of upscaling than my Sony BDP-S6200.
Do I need to configure the TV to do it or does it do it automatically?
chandlogan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1772 of 2049 Old 07-03-2014, 10:57 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Anybody hae this tv and can tell me if it has bad color banding like other samsung tv's?
2pacalypsenow is offline  
post #1773 of 2049 Old 07-03-2014, 11:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sikclown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,299
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 787 Post(s)
Liked: 298
Quote:
Originally Posted by chandlogan View Post
Do I need to configure the TV to do it or does it do it automatically?
The TV does the upscaling automatically. There is no way to turn it on or off.
JSteel likes this.

UN65F9000AFXZA + SEK2500U/ZA firmware version 1162.2
Denon AVR-X5200W, Apple TV, Sony BDP-S6200, PS4, Xbox One
(2) Klipsch RF-82IIs, (2)RS-62IIs (4)RS-52IIs, (2)RS-42IIs, (1)RC-62ii, (2)RB-61IIs
(1) SVS PB12-Plus, (1)Emotiva XPA-100, (1)XPA-200, (1)UPA-200,
UN55HU8550, AVR-S900W, Ceton Echo, Apple TV, Panny BDT460, PC,
(1)Klipsch G-42, (2)G-16s, (2) Bose 161, (1)BIC Acoustech PL-200
sikclown is offline  
post #1774 of 2049 Old 07-03-2014, 11:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sikclown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,299
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 787 Post(s)
Liked: 298
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2pacalypsenow View Post
Anybody hae this tv and can tell me if it has bad color banding like other samsung tv's?

I do not have any color banding on my UN65F9000
rlb and JSteel like this.

UN65F9000AFXZA + SEK2500U/ZA firmware version 1162.2
Denon AVR-X5200W, Apple TV, Sony BDP-S6200, PS4, Xbox One
(2) Klipsch RF-82IIs, (2)RS-62IIs (4)RS-52IIs, (2)RS-42IIs, (1)RC-62ii, (2)RB-61IIs
(1) SVS PB12-Plus, (1)Emotiva XPA-100, (1)XPA-200, (1)UPA-200,
UN55HU8550, AVR-S900W, Ceton Echo, Apple TV, Panny BDT460, PC,
(1)Klipsch G-42, (2)G-16s, (2) Bose 161, (1)BIC Acoustech PL-200
sikclown is offline  
post #1775 of 2049 Old 07-03-2014, 11:31 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by sikclown View Post
The TV does the upscaling automatically. There is no way to turn it on or off.
So how can you tell if it's the TV or your blu ray player doing the upscaling? Just curious, and thanks for the info!
chandlogan is offline  
post #1776 of 2049 Old 07-03-2014, 12:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sikclown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,299
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 787 Post(s)
Liked: 298
Quote:
Originally Posted by chandlogan View Post
So how can you tell if it's the TV or your blu ray player doing the upscaling? Just curious, and thanks for the info!

If you have a 4k upscaling bluray player and you turn on the Upscaling feature it sends over a 4k signal and your TV will show the resolution as 4k and do no upscaling. If you do not use the upscaling feature on your bluray player then the TV will show the source it is receiving as 1080p/24p or whatever your bluray player is sending and then it upscales it to 4k. It has been confusing people because when you hit Info on the Samsung to find out what resolution it is, it only shows you the sources resolution and not the current resolution it is playing at.
tyrsal3 likes this.

UN65F9000AFXZA + SEK2500U/ZA firmware version 1162.2
Denon AVR-X5200W, Apple TV, Sony BDP-S6200, PS4, Xbox One
(2) Klipsch RF-82IIs, (2)RS-62IIs (4)RS-52IIs, (2)RS-42IIs, (1)RC-62ii, (2)RB-61IIs
(1) SVS PB12-Plus, (1)Emotiva XPA-100, (1)XPA-200, (1)UPA-200,
UN55HU8550, AVR-S900W, Ceton Echo, Apple TV, Panny BDT460, PC,
(1)Klipsch G-42, (2)G-16s, (2) Bose 161, (1)BIC Acoustech PL-200
sikclown is offline  
post #1777 of 2049 Old 07-03-2014, 12:28 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by sikclown View Post
If you have a 4k upscaling bluray player and you turn on the Upscaling feature it sends over a 4k signal and your TV will show the resolution as 4k and do no upscaling. If you do not use the upscaling feature on your bluray player then the TV will show the source it is receiving as 1080p/24p or whatever your bluray player is sending and then it upscales it to 4k. It has been confusing people because when you hit Info on the Samsung to find out what resolution it is, it only shows you the sources resolution and not the current resolution it is playing at.
ah I understand, thanks for clearing that up.
chandlogan is offline  
post #1778 of 2049 Old 07-03-2014, 01:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dr.Shankenstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2pacalypsenow View Post
Anybody have this tv and can tell me if it has bad color banding like other samsung tv's?
No color banding here either.
Dr.Shankenstein is offline  
post #1779 of 2049 Old 07-03-2014, 03:34 PM
rlb
AVS Special Member
 
rlb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: North Royalton, OH
Posts: 3,321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 278 Post(s)
Liked: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2pacalypsenow View Post
Anybody hae this tv and can tell me if it has bad color banding like other samsung tv's?

None here either and I haven't read any posts that I can remember talking about any color banding, let alone "bad".
rlb is online now  
post #1780 of 2049 Old 07-03-2014, 03:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dr.Shankenstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Can anyone tell me if their black bezel is flush with the silver ribbon frame on their display?
Dr.Shankenstein is offline  
post #1781 of 2049 Old 07-03-2014, 04:06 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by chandlogan View Post
ah I understand, thanks for clearing that up.
Me too, NOW! Too bad I already bought the $220 dollar player instead of the $120 dollar one
kakkak is offline  
post #1782 of 2049 Old 07-03-2014, 04:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Latinoheat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 1,985
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 245 Post(s)
Liked: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by kakkak View Post
Me too, NOW! Too bad I already bought the $220 dollar player instead of the $120 dollar one
Another suckered into marketing gimmicks. Exchange it if you can.

TV - Panasonic 55GT50 THX, Main Speakers - Klipsch Gallery G28's, Center Channel- Klipsch RC-52, Sub-Klipsch Sub 12, Surround - Klipsch RS-52 II Bluray/Game - HTPC/PS3, Receiver - Onkyo RC-360, HTPC- Intel Core i3, HDMI,Windows 7,XBMC,Bluray,7 TB, Video Processor -Darbee

http://www.avsforum.com/photopost/sh...hp?cat=2236715
Latinoheat is online now  
post #1783 of 2049 Old 07-03-2014, 04:48 PM
Member
 
carbonwhiskey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr.Shankenstein View Post
Can anyone tell me if their black bezel is flush with the silver ribbon frame on their display?
Not on mine. The silver bezel is recessed towards the back of the TV by about 1mm, maybe less.
carbonwhiskey is offline  
post #1784 of 2049 Old 07-03-2014, 05:20 PM
rlb
AVS Special Member
 
rlb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: North Royalton, OH
Posts: 3,321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 278 Post(s)
Liked: 158
Same here.
rlb is online now  
post #1785 of 2049 Old 07-03-2014, 07:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dr.Shankenstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by carbonwhiskey View Post
Not on mine. The silver bezel is recessed towards the back of the TV by about 1mm, maybe less.
Thanks was curious since I have a little light leakage was trying to find the source of the issue.
Dr.Shankenstein is offline  
post #1786 of 2049 Old 07-03-2014, 07:56 PM
Member
 
almagueram's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 17
almagueram is offline  
post #1787 of 2049 Old 07-03-2014, 11:21 PM
Newbie
 
wrufai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi all. I'm trying to figure out how I would physically set up the F9000 into my home theater system. I have a Denon AVR-1913 receiver with all of my peripheral devices hooked into it. Since the F9000 uses the one connect box, how would I connect my receiver to it?
wrufai is offline  
post #1788 of 2049 Old 07-03-2014, 11:21 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Latinoheat View Post
Another suckered into marketing gimmicks. Exchange it if you can.
Too late. But hey now I found this forum so I'll get and STAY educated!
kakkak is offline  
post #1789 of 2049 Old 07-04-2014, 01:05 PM
Member
 
almagueram's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 17
almagueram is offline  
post #1790 of 2049 Old 07-04-2014, 02:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dr.Shankenstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by pokekevin View Post
Been away for awhile so haven't kept up to date but are these sets confirmed to be full array with local dimming or "micro dimming"?

Thanks!
The MD ultimate with precision black offers hardware dimming as well.

Last edited by Dr.Shankenstein; 07-04-2014 at 02:44 PM.
Dr.Shankenstein is offline  
post #1791 of 2049 Old 07-04-2014, 04:29 PM
Member
 
carbonwhiskey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Are you guys running 16:9 or "screen fit" for Picture Size?

Also, what's up with the CNET calibrated settings? It makes the picture look like it is in Sepia, and there is a haze over everything.
carbonwhiskey is offline  
post #1792 of 2049 Old 07-04-2014, 08:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sikclown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,299
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 787 Post(s)
Liked: 298
Quote:
Originally Posted by carbonwhiskey View Post
Are you guys running 16:9 or "screen fit" for Picture Size?

Also, what's up with the CNET calibrated settings? It makes the picture look like it is in Sepia, and there is a haze over everything.
I am running it at screen fit. I am using CNET settings and that is not my experience at all but quite a few people prefer the Natural or Dynamic setting with some tweaking vs Movie setting.

UN65F9000AFXZA + SEK2500U/ZA firmware version 1162.2
Denon AVR-X5200W, Apple TV, Sony BDP-S6200, PS4, Xbox One
(2) Klipsch RF-82IIs, (2)RS-62IIs (4)RS-52IIs, (2)RS-42IIs, (1)RC-62ii, (2)RB-61IIs
(1) SVS PB12-Plus, (1)Emotiva XPA-100, (1)XPA-200, (1)UPA-200,
UN55HU8550, AVR-S900W, Ceton Echo, Apple TV, Panny BDT460, PC,
(1)Klipsch G-42, (2)G-16s, (2) Bose 161, (1)BIC Acoustech PL-200
sikclown is offline  
post #1793 of 2049 Old 07-04-2014, 11:46 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello my name is Edwin (from the Netherlands).


I read that everyone use the CNET settings, BUT.
From the ISF calibratie, it is not possible to use 1 setting to 100 tv, all the tv,s are different right? (firmware etc).
Maybey that settings are not so good for jour tv.? (it is between jour ears?).




My tv is 65F9000
Edwin1969 is offline  
post #1794 of 2049 Old 07-05-2014, 02:34 AM
Member
 
carbonwhiskey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Anyone know how to rearrange the apps for smart hub?
carbonwhiskey is offline  
post #1795 of 2049 Old 07-05-2014, 07:02 AM
rlb
AVS Special Member
 
rlb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: North Royalton, OH
Posts: 3,321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 278 Post(s)
Liked: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edwin1969 View Post
Hello my name is Edwin (from the Netherlands).


I read that everyone use the CNET settings, BUT.
From the ISF calibratie, it is not possible to use 1 setting to 100 tv, all the tv,s are different right? (firmware etc).
Maybey that settings are not so good for jour tv.? (it is between jour ears?).




My tv is 65F9000

Try them. Total cost around 15 minutes of effort. If you don't like what you see, hit the "reset".


Many of the recommendations are not specific to your particular set (e.g., turning features/processes on or off). Several can be checked or tweaked with a calibration disk (i.e., brightness, contrast, sharpness). Backlight measurement is definitely per your own environment and not exact. Their recommended "7" is fine for a dark room; but I prefer around "12" for a well lit room.


However, you have a point with regard to white balance and color space adjustments. They are objective values and can be measured/adjusted with a meter and calibration software. Two sets would not be the same. However, your eyes (the measurement that really matters) would not be able to tell the difference between for example White Balance 10 pt submenu Interval 1 Red setting of "-1" or "-2".


In the final analysis, are the CNET settings closer to what you want (do they look better) than factory defaults? I know what a properly calibrated display looks like. I had my first two primary sets professionally calibrated; and I calibrated my third with a colorimeter and professional calibration software (was a newer set and I got numbers/printout as good or better than printouts from the professionals). I decided to try the CNET settings with the F9000 and was very pleased with the results. Definite improvement over factory defaults and I believe the gray scale and colors are as good as I've ever had. With this set and this picture, I definitely won't pay $800 for a new meter and software or $400 for a professional calibration. Not to mention, my wife has threatened me with bodily harm if I "change anything".


As you said, they may not be right for your TV. However, as I said, it only takes around 15 minutes to try and the result may be excellent. Trust you eyes to see if you are happy with the final result.
rlb is online now  
post #1796 of 2049 Old 07-05-2014, 08:10 PM
Member
 
carbonwhiskey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Are boot loops indicative of impending failure? (I read Samsungs have a capacitor problem which leads to power failure).

I got my first today. Turned on the TV, and it got stuck at the boot logo that says "Smart TV" I think. Not the picture with the apps. Then it looped and restarted fine.

Also, I've been noticing a significant 2-3 second delay between pressing the power button to turn the TV off, and the TV actually turning off. Is this normal?

TV is 4 days old.

Last edited by carbonwhiskey; 07-05-2014 at 08:37 PM.
carbonwhiskey is offline  
post #1797 of 2049 Old 07-06-2014, 06:12 AM
Senior Member
 
poisike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 37
It can be a software issue too. Try a reset and see if it still happens after that.
Make sure you have the latest firmware.

It is normal that it takes a few seconds for the TV to turn off.

Samsung UE65F9000ST + SEK-2500U/ZG (European firmware v1141.6)
poisike is offline  
post #1798 of 2049 Old 07-06-2014, 07:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Dr.Shankenstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr.Shankenstein View Post
Their technicians are currently investigating the issue,so hopefully I will here something soon.
Samsung is sending the technician next Monday, he called me personally to ask if I had dropped the display in transit or if the box appeared damaged at delivery. I told him that I had purchased it open item "like new" from BB,he said he would get back to me. A short time later he called back saying he had spoken to a supervisor and that they would come out and do an in site evaluation and decide if it we warrantable do to having bought an essentially "used" TV.

Last edited by Dr.Shankenstein; 07-06-2014 at 03:31 PM.
Dr.Shankenstein is offline  
post #1799 of 2049 Old 07-06-2014, 11:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
westa6969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: From Michigan now Retired to Naples, FL
Posts: 7,057
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 223
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edwin1969 View Post
Hello my name is Edwin (from the Netherlands).

I read that everyone use the CNET settings, BUT.
From the ISF calibratie, it is not possible to use 1 setting to 100 tv, all the tv,s are different right? (firmware etc).
Maybey that settings are not so good for jour tv.? (it is between jour ears?).

My tv is 65F9000
I would only recommend using CNET or other owner settings as a start point since your viewing conditions may be very different and your personal preference may run 180 degress contrary to what a Calibrator may set as THE Standard via measurements. When it comes to my money, eyes, preference for Dynamic PQ Pop runs contrary to a washed out Cinema look and I don't give a crap what the calibrator or anyone else thinks as it's my money and I get to blow my brains out if I choose with a Vivid PQ. If I want normal I'll look out my window.

I'll use them as a starting point and then tweak them until I'm satisfied - sort of like others telling you how to have an orgasm when what pleases us is individual preference not a measurement in a lab using another's perception for us to follow as Lemmings. Use as a reference to start from and then go for what turns you on!

Samsung 65F8000, 60D8000, 40HU6350, Panasonic 50E60 LCD's
westa6969 is offline  
post #1800 of 2049 Old 07-06-2014, 12:10 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 24,898
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1587 Post(s)
Liked: 1674
Which brings up the question that everyone is now asking, "Do Lemmings have orgasms?"
Ken Ross is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Un55f9000 55 Inch 4k Ultra Hd Led Hdtv , Samsung Un65f9000 65 Inch 4k Ultra Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off