**Official** Samsung 4K UN55F9000, UN65F9000, and UN85S9 Thread - Page 62 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1831 of 2048 Old 07-09-2014, 04:02 AM
Member
 
carbonwhiskey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by denisoftus View Post
Does anyone know how to switch off screen dimming on empty picture. It is really irritating on some scenes sometimes.

Thanks.
What do you mean "empty picture" and screen dimming?

All the settings are in the settings panel.
carbonwhiskey is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1832 of 2048 Old 07-09-2014, 09:09 AM
Member
 
denisoftus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Sorry, I didn't make it clear, the screen goes completely black when picture is black, like very black, and it makes flickering effect. Other TV of mine when picture is black you can still see backlight, in this case the TV turns picture off. Hope its clear now
denisoftus is offline  
post #1833 of 2048 Old 07-09-2014, 09:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sikclown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,298
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 786 Post(s)
Liked: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by denisoftus View Post
Sorry, I didn't make it clear, the screen goes completely black when picture is black, like very black, and it makes flickering effect. Other TV of mine when picture is black you can still see backlight, in this case the TV turns picture off. Hope its clear now
I think the only way to get rid of that is to turn off Smart LED completely or perhaps Cinema Black. I wouldn't do that, personally, though because your picture quality will suffer. I know what you are talking about; for instance when watching Gravity at the beginning it has words on a black screen which goes back and forth between the words and a completely blank screen. When the words go off the screen the Samsung completely turns off all backlighting (which is by design) and then back on when the next group of words come on. So far that is the only movie I have found that it annoys me a little but the benefits of Smart LED and Cinema Black outway the negatives of turning them off. At least I think that will fix that behavior, it may not.

UN65F9000AFXZA + SEK2500U/ZA firmware version 1162.2
Denon AVR-X5200W, Apple TV, Sony BDP-S6200, PS4, Xbox One
(2) Klipsch RF-82IIs, (2)RS-62IIs (4)RS-52IIs, (2)RS-42IIs, (1)RC-62ii, (2)RB-61IIs
(1) SVS PB12-Plus, (1)Emotiva XPA-100, (1)XPA-200, (1)UPA-200,
UN55HU8550, AVR-S900W, Ceton Echo, Apple TV, Panny BDT460, PC,
(1)Klipsch G-42, (2)G-16s, (2) Bose 161, (1)BIC Acoustech PL-200
sikclown is offline  
post #1834 of 2048 Old 07-09-2014, 10:37 AM
Member
 
denisoftus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 11
You exactly right!, I wouldn't worry to much of occasional movies with such effect, but BF4 on PS4 is annoying me every time I play it. When loading a new map its like a 55" flickering panel I'll try turn off Smart LED and see what happens. Thanks.
denisoftus is offline  
post #1835 of 2048 Old 07-09-2014, 10:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sikclown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,298
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 786 Post(s)
Liked: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by denisoftus View Post
You exactly right!, I wouldn't worry to much of occasional movies with such effect, but BF4 on PS4 is annoying me every time I play it. When loading a new map its like a 55" flickering panel I'll try turn off Smart LED and see what happens. Thanks.
Throw on Game Mode when you are playing games. It should completely turn off all processing like Smart LED, etc. plus have the added benefit of reducing lag.
denisoftus likes this.

UN65F9000AFXZA + SEK2500U/ZA firmware version 1162.2
Denon AVR-X5200W, Apple TV, Sony BDP-S6200, PS4, Xbox One
(2) Klipsch RF-82IIs, (2)RS-62IIs (4)RS-52IIs, (2)RS-42IIs, (1)RC-62ii, (2)RB-61IIs
(1) SVS PB12-Plus, (1)Emotiva XPA-100, (1)XPA-200, (1)UPA-200,
UN55HU8550, AVR-S900W, Ceton Echo, Apple TV, Panny BDT460, PC,
(1)Klipsch G-42, (2)G-16s, (2) Bose 161, (1)BIC Acoustech PL-200
sikclown is offline  
post #1836 of 2048 Old 07-10-2014, 03:47 AM
Member
 
denisoftus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Checked my settings yesterday and Smart LED was off already, so its not that setting. I'll try gaming mode tonight.
denisoftus is offline  
post #1837 of 2048 Old 07-10-2014, 11:35 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have the new connect box SEK2500 now en it works great, the install was a bit strange.
But my question.
Does everyone use the CNET settings?? wit the new SEK 2500.
I have some NEW settings in my menu like (2point and 10 point).
And the setting warm2 is in my opnion not ok, i,m looking Always to the faces from people on tv.(and it is to red)
Is it posible to make a POLL with the settings.?

Last edited by Edwin1969; 07-11-2014 at 12:51 AM.
Edwin1969 is offline  
post #1838 of 2048 Old 07-11-2014, 02:16 PM
Member
 
carbonwhiskey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edwin1969 View Post
I have the new connect box SEK2500 now en it works great, the install was a bit strange.
But my question.
Does everyone use the CNET settings?? wit the new SEK 2500.
I have some NEW settings in my menu like (2point and 10 point).
And the setting warm2 is in my opnion not ok, i,m looking Always to the faces from people on tv.(and it is to red)
Is it posible to make a POLL with the settings.?
What made the install strange?

Did the new box change your serial number in the settings panel?
carbonwhiskey is offline  
post #1839 of 2048 Old 07-11-2014, 10:27 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by carbonwhiskey View Post
What made the install strange?

Did the new box change your serial number in the settings panel?
No, the old connect cable is not working withe the new box.(so it will not work with the old connect cable).
Restart restart restart and restart, but then it works.
I think i,m 45 min busy with the install.
Edwin1969 is offline  
post #1840 of 2048 Old 07-11-2014, 10:28 PM
Member
 
carbonwhiskey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edwin1969 View Post
No, the old connect cable is not working withe the new box.(so it will not work with the old connect cable).
Restart restart restart and restart, but then it works.
I think i,m 45 min busy with the install.
Didn't you get a new cable with the new box?
carbonwhiskey is offline  
post #1841 of 2048 Old 07-12-2014, 02:40 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Yes i have, but i thougt it was working with the old cable.
Edwin1969 is offline  
post #1842 of 2048 Old 07-12-2014, 05:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sikclown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,298
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 786 Post(s)
Liked: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edwin1969 View Post
Yes i have, but i thougt it was working with the old cable.
For some it works with the old cable others not so much.

UN65F9000AFXZA + SEK2500U/ZA firmware version 1162.2
Denon AVR-X5200W, Apple TV, Sony BDP-S6200, PS4, Xbox One
(2) Klipsch RF-82IIs, (2)RS-62IIs (4)RS-52IIs, (2)RS-42IIs, (1)RC-62ii, (2)RB-61IIs
(1) SVS PB12-Plus, (1)Emotiva XPA-100, (1)XPA-200, (1)UPA-200,
UN55HU8550, AVR-S900W, Ceton Echo, Apple TV, Panny BDT460, PC,
(1)Klipsch G-42, (2)G-16s, (2) Bose 161, (1)BIC Acoustech PL-200
sikclown is offline  
post #1843 of 2048 Old 07-13-2014, 04:17 PM
Member
 
seansingh7326's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Can any f9000 owners tell me if this TV has cinema black ? Also can I stream 4k movies from Netflix using the one connect box that comes with this TV or do I have to get the new one?
seansingh7326 is online now  
post #1844 of 2048 Old 07-13-2014, 04:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sikclown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,298
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 786 Post(s)
Liked: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by seansingh7326 View Post
Can any f9000 owners tell me if this TV has cinema black ? Also can I stream 4k movies from Netflix using the one connect box that comes with this TV or do I have to get the new one?

In order to get Cinema Black option as well as stream Netflix in 4k you will need the 2014 UHD Evolution Kit. The 2013 One Connect box that comes with it will not give you either.

UN65F9000AFXZA + SEK2500U/ZA firmware version 1162.2
Denon AVR-X5200W, Apple TV, Sony BDP-S6200, PS4, Xbox One
(2) Klipsch RF-82IIs, (2)RS-62IIs (4)RS-52IIs, (2)RS-42IIs, (1)RC-62ii, (2)RB-61IIs
(1) SVS PB12-Plus, (1)Emotiva XPA-100, (1)XPA-200, (1)UPA-200,
UN55HU8550, AVR-S900W, Ceton Echo, Apple TV, Panny BDT460, PC,
(1)Klipsch G-42, (2)G-16s, (2) Bose 161, (1)BIC Acoustech PL-200
sikclown is offline  
post #1845 of 2048 Old 07-13-2014, 04:45 PM
Member
 
seansingh7326's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 12
When upgrading the f9000 to the new one connect are you still able to use the voice commands without using the remote? Like for example saying hi tv power off or on and do this and that.
seansingh7326 is online now  
post #1846 of 2048 Old 07-13-2014, 05:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sikclown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,298
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 786 Post(s)
Liked: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by seansingh7326 View Post
When upgrading the f9000 to the new one connect are you still able to use the voice commands without using the remote? Like for example saying hi tv power off or on and do this and that.

I don't use that function but I am pretty sure the answer to that is yes. I believe the Microphone is built in to the Camera. That is the reason the HU8550 only has voice command through the remote, no camera built in. I could be wrong though.

UN65F9000AFXZA + SEK2500U/ZA firmware version 1162.2
Denon AVR-X5200W, Apple TV, Sony BDP-S6200, PS4, Xbox One
(2) Klipsch RF-82IIs, (2)RS-62IIs (4)RS-52IIs, (2)RS-42IIs, (1)RC-62ii, (2)RB-61IIs
(1) SVS PB12-Plus, (1)Emotiva XPA-100, (1)XPA-200, (1)UPA-200,
UN55HU8550, AVR-S900W, Ceton Echo, Apple TV, Panny BDT460, PC,
(1)Klipsch G-42, (2)G-16s, (2) Bose 161, (1)BIC Acoustech PL-200
sikclown is offline  
post #1847 of 2048 Old 07-13-2014, 06:28 PM
Member
 
carbonwhiskey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by sikclown View Post
In order to get Cinema Black option as well as stream Netflix in 4k you will need the 2014 UHD Evolution Kit. The 2013 One Connect box that comes with it will not give you either.
Can't believe Samsung didn't give us 2013 owners Cinema Black. That's really cheap being as it should just be a firmware update.
carbonwhiskey is offline  
post #1848 of 2048 Old 07-13-2014, 06:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sikclown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,298
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 786 Post(s)
Liked: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by carbonwhiskey View Post
Can't believe Samsung didn't give us 2013 owners Cinema Black. That's really cheap being as it should just be a firmware update.
Honestly not sure how much of a difference it makes. The 2014 UHD Kit definitely gives me inkier blacks but the bars on both the 2013 and 2014 seem about the same to me.

UN65F9000AFXZA + SEK2500U/ZA firmware version 1162.2
Denon AVR-X5200W, Apple TV, Sony BDP-S6200, PS4, Xbox One
(2) Klipsch RF-82IIs, (2)RS-62IIs (4)RS-52IIs, (2)RS-42IIs, (1)RC-62ii, (2)RB-61IIs
(1) SVS PB12-Plus, (1)Emotiva XPA-100, (1)XPA-200, (1)UPA-200,
UN55HU8550, AVR-S900W, Ceton Echo, Apple TV, Panny BDT460, PC,
(1)Klipsch G-42, (2)G-16s, (2) Bose 161, (1)BIC Acoustech PL-200
sikclown is offline  
post #1849 of 2048 Old 07-14-2014, 12:37 AM
Member
 
carbonwhiskey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by sikclown View Post
Honestly not sure how much of a difference it makes. The 2014 UHD Kit definitely gives me inkier blacks but the bars on both the 2013 and 2014 seem about the same to me.
It's not necessarily about the effect of the upgrade. It's that they could have easily rolled it out to existing 2013 owners, but chose not to so they could force an upgrade already to the new box. I could understand if it required new hardware, but to my understanding it does not. In fact, the F8000 which is a lower model has it. Curious as to why we are missing it, but they chose to include it in the new box.
carbonwhiskey is offline  
post #1850 of 2048 Old 07-14-2014, 08:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sikclown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,298
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 786 Post(s)
Liked: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by carbonwhiskey View Post
It's not necessarily about the effect of the upgrade. It's that they could have easily rolled it out to existing 2013 owners, but chose not to so they could force an upgrade already to the new box. I could understand if it required new hardware, but to my understanding it does not. In fact, the F8000 which is a lower model has it. Curious as to why we are missing it, but they chose to include it in the new box.
To be clear, the F8000 is not a lower model; It is the Flagship 2013 1080P model. As to why they didn't include it on the 2013 One Connect it could be an oversight but perhaps due to it being 4K they opted not to include it because it slowed down the processor or maybe it didn't play nice with their 2013 Quadramatic upscaling engine. But like I said, I notice no difference in the black bars with it on versus it off. Is anyone upgrading simply because the new box gives us Cinema Black? I would think that is unlikely.

UN65F9000AFXZA + SEK2500U/ZA firmware version 1162.2
Denon AVR-X5200W, Apple TV, Sony BDP-S6200, PS4, Xbox One
(2) Klipsch RF-82IIs, (2)RS-62IIs (4)RS-52IIs, (2)RS-42IIs, (1)RC-62ii, (2)RB-61IIs
(1) SVS PB12-Plus, (1)Emotiva XPA-100, (1)XPA-200, (1)UPA-200,
UN55HU8550, AVR-S900W, Ceton Echo, Apple TV, Panny BDT460, PC,
(1)Klipsch G-42, (2)G-16s, (2) Bose 161, (1)BIC Acoustech PL-200
sikclown is offline  
post #1851 of 2048 Old 07-14-2014, 09:02 AM
Member
 
seansingh7326's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I been hearing that if you upgrade the f9000 to the new one connect you arent able to use netflix, can anyone confirm this that has the new one connect?
seansingh7326 is online now  
post #1852 of 2048 Old 07-14-2014, 09:11 AM
Senior Member
 
poisike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by seansingh7326 View Post
I been hearing that if you upgrade the f9000 to the new one connect you arent able to use netflix, can anyone confirm this that has the new one connect?
It depends on where you are. If you are in US then this issue is resolved and Netflix is available (again) on SEK-2500U.
If you are in Europe then this information is correct. There is no information when Netflix app will be available again. But you can set your smart hub region to US and use Netflix if you don't want any local apps.

Samsung UE65F9000ST + SEK-2500U/ZG (European firmware v1141.6)
poisike is offline  
post #1853 of 2048 Old 07-14-2014, 09:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sikclown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,298
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 786 Post(s)
Liked: 297
to add to the above ^^^^ Netflix works fine in the US with the exception of only having Stereo audio.

UN65F9000AFXZA + SEK2500U/ZA firmware version 1162.2
Denon AVR-X5200W, Apple TV, Sony BDP-S6200, PS4, Xbox One
(2) Klipsch RF-82IIs, (2)RS-62IIs (4)RS-52IIs, (2)RS-42IIs, (1)RC-62ii, (2)RB-61IIs
(1) SVS PB12-Plus, (1)Emotiva XPA-100, (1)XPA-200, (1)UPA-200,
UN55HU8550, AVR-S900W, Ceton Echo, Apple TV, Panny BDT460, PC,
(1)Klipsch G-42, (2)G-16s, (2) Bose 161, (1)BIC Acoustech PL-200
sikclown is offline  
post #1854 of 2048 Old 07-17-2014, 05:05 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Anyone else have problems shutting down the tv? i press the power button on the remote but most of the time nothing happens.
milw0rm is offline  
post #1855 of 2048 Old 07-17-2014, 12:21 PM
Member
 
ianjhuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by milw0rm View Post
Anyone else have problems shutting down the tv? i press the power button on the remote but most of the time nothing happens.
occasionally have opposite cany turn on. not sure why tho as tried both remotes.
ianjhuk is offline  
post #1856 of 2048 Old 07-17-2014, 01:14 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by ianjhuk View Post
occasionally have opposite cany turn on. not sure why tho as tried both remotes.
ye that happens also
milw0rm is offline  
post #1857 of 2048 Old 07-17-2014, 04:59 PM
Member
 
carbonwhiskey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by milw0rm View Post
Anyone else have problems shutting down the tv? i press the power button on the remote but most of the time nothing happens.
I've noted a significant delay between pressing the power button, and the TV shutting down.

If you are pressing the button multiple times, that may be interfering with the shutdown. But that's just my personal guess.

Press the button, and watch the red standby light. If it blinks, that means the signal was received.

I agree that it is annoying, and should be addressed if possible via firmware update.

Also not sure why this TV featured "instantOn" as there is still a significant bootup time.
carbonwhiskey is offline  
post #1858 of 2048 Old 07-18-2014, 02:04 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by safcsat View Post
Can I ask guys - what is the latest firmware I can use (and where from) on my TV?


*edit* currently on version: 2009
I have 2010 on uae tv
Fredrik Lundholm is offline  
post #1859 of 2048 Old 07-18-2014, 09:33 PM
Member
 
INDY27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was ready to pull the trigger and buy one of these but after reading this thread it seems like most of you are having issues....I mainly watch Dish HD and Blu Ray so why should I invest in this vs a good 1080 set?

Last edited by INDY27; 07-20-2014 at 06:57 AM.
INDY27 is offline  
post #1860 of 2048 Old 07-18-2014, 10:57 PM
Member
 
egdave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by INDY27 View Post
I was ready to pull the trigger and buy one of these but after reading this thread it seems like most of you are have problems....I mainly watch Dish HD and Blu Ray so why should I invest in this vs a good 1080 set?
I've had my F9000 for a few months and have had no problems with it. I just put it on movie mode and turn off that motion blur and I think it's great. I suppose anything is great considering I came from an 8 year old sony rear projection television.
egdave is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Un55f9000 55 Inch 4k Ultra Hd Led Hdtv , Samsung Un65f9000 65 Inch 4k Ultra Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread - Un55f9000 by PriceGrabber.com



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off