**Official** Samsung 4K UN55F9000, UN65F9000, and UN85S9 Thread - Page 66 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #1951 of 1971 Unread 08-28-2014, 12:05 PM
Member
 
leamas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Hello guys, I am new on this thread. I just received my SEK2500 for my 65F9000 (I am in Europe). The switch to the new box happened exactly like specified in the manual, but surprise: my Smart Hub has now only 2 panels: Samsung Apps and Multimedia. Whenever I try to update the software, it tells me that new "data" is available, updates in a few seconds and restarts the TV. The TV functions behave ok but I don't have anything in 4K (Youtube doesn't play in 4K, Netflix not available). What to do? Plus one more thing: I cannot connect with the PC in 2160p60 mode using a HDMI 2.0 cable... Please advice.
leamas is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1952 of 1971 Unread 08-30-2014, 12:09 PM
Member
 
carbonwhiskey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by denisoftus View Post
Finally my 2014 kit arrived and I managed to watch Netflix 4k. Not sure how others quote it stunning, amazing, I tried House Of Cards, Smurfs 2, Moving Arts series, none of them looked as amazing as samsung demos, maybe I expected too much, but I didn't find much difference between 1080p and 4K House of Cards, which was filmed in 4K natively (I confirmed it was running 2160p). Maybe it is CNET settings which migrated from 2013 kit. What's your "sharpness" when you watch 4k guys?
Same experience here. The nature documentaries looked much better than the movies. Perhaps it has something to do with the camera used to film the content.

Either way, Netflix 4K and the 2500U were disappointments. I swear that Breaking Bad looks better on the stock One Connect box being upscaled than in the SEK2500U's real 4k stream.
denisoftus likes this.
carbonwhiskey is offline  
post #1953 of 1971 Unread 08-31-2014, 04:56 AM
Member
 
IlliniBird's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Chicago
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Same with mine also. 4k clips via Samsung HDD using USB 3.0 are amazingly detailed and beautiful. Netflix in 4k is very disappointing in comparison. You Tube 4k videos have many different clips for the most part are very detailed and show off 4k resolution.

Last edited by IlliniBird; 09-12-2014 at 04:25 AM.
IlliniBird is offline  
post #1954 of 1971 Unread 09-04-2014, 07:13 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Just got my 55" Samsung screen. None of the HDMI inputs seem to be working properly - am I doing something wrong, or faulty set? Have tried multiple sources (PC, XboxOne, SkyHD), different hdmi cables (including some brand new expensive ones), and all 4 ports on the connect one box.


Smart TV / iPlayer etc all work fine - just seems to be HDMI ... setting somewhere, hopefully, maybe ... ??
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	photo 2.jpg
Views:	50
Size:	191.4 KB
ID:	245634   Click image for larger version

Name:	photo 1.jpg
Views:	39
Size:	167.2 KB
ID:	245642  
russ1974x is offline  
post #1955 of 1971 Unread 09-04-2014, 08:26 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by russ1974x View Post
... setting somewhere, hopefully, maybe ... ??
Just replying in case anybody else has the same problem. I did a firmware upgrade on the TV, and it fixed it. So if you are seeing something similar, firmware upgrade first thing to try!.


Happy 4K owner - but no idea why the TV was "broken" out of the box and needed a firmware update before HDMI would work.
russ1974x is offline  
post #1956 of 1971 Unread 09-04-2014, 08:37 AM
rlb
AVS Special Member
 
rlb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: North Royalton, OH
Posts: 3,121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 154 Post(s)
Liked: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by russ1974x View Post
Just got my 55" Samsung screen. None of the HDMI inputs seem to be working properly - am I doing something wrong, or faulty set? Have tried multiple sources (PC, XboxOne, SkyHD), different hdmi cables (including some brand new expensive ones), and all 4 ports on the connect one box.


Smart TV / iPlayer etc all work fine - just seems to be HDMI ... setting somewhere, hopefully, maybe ... ??

I would call Samsung for technical support.
rlb is offline  
post #1957 of 1971 Unread 09-04-2014, 08:31 PM
Member
 
OutfieldDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Actually right now the max resolution I am getting from Netflix is 1080p. I have 100 Mbs Comcast Internet that tests fine but the uhd desert film on netflix won't sync up to 2160.
OutfieldDan is offline  
post #1958 of 1971 Unread 09-04-2014, 11:03 PM
Member
 
pettern's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by OutfieldDan View Post
Actually right now the max resolution I am getting from Netflix is 1080p. I have 100 Mbs Comcast Internet that tests fine but the uhd desert film on netflix won't sync up to 2160.
Comcast is one of the ISPs that throttle Netflix, afaik.
pettern is offline  
post #1959 of 1971 Unread 09-06-2014, 10:14 AM
Member
 
dannye's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Software update

Hi, does anyone know what the new software update 1160 does?
dannye is offline  
post #1960 of 1971 Unread 09-06-2014, 10:53 AM
Member
 
OutfieldDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by pettern View Post
Comcast is one of the ISPs that throttle Netflix, afaik.
They must be. Last night the best resolution on Netflix was only 720. Bastards.
OutfieldDan is offline  
post #1961 of 1971 Unread 09-06-2014, 11:59 AM
Member
 
bedBug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hello guys. I'm not sure if anyone has any ideas on a problem I'm having but I thought Id give it a shot. Ive had my UHD55 for about seven months or so and Ive always been able to play videos from my computer upstairs down to the TV. And also I could play youtube videos from our ipad to the tv and also from smartphones to the tv. Anyways I had to get a slightly different modem from our ip to increase our speeds and when i set it up everything works but i can no longer play the videos from my computer or from my other devices to the tv. on my ipad when you were watching a youtube video it used to have a thing on the screen that would show the samsung 55 now it doesnt show anything.
bedBug is offline  
post #1962 of 1971 Unread 09-06-2014, 01:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
Eric_Connelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 536
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by pettern View Post
Comcast is one of the ISPs that throttle Netflix, afaik.
I get 4K no problem on Netflix on a 100mbps Comcast connection. We watch a ton of streamed stuff. AppleTV, Netflix, Xbox One MS movies, Amazon, etc.

I'm watching the test video on Netflix right now and am getting 5800kbps in 1920x1080.


I found some 4K test video's and the TV reports 2160p. I used El Fuente 24, 50, and even the 60 played. I believe those are FPS. Unlike the other tests it did not show the bit rate. Is it as good as raw 4K demo material, no, but its pretty good.

Last edited by Eric_Connelly; 09-06-2014 at 01:52 PM.
Eric_Connelly is offline  
post #1963 of 1971 Unread 09-06-2014, 03:14 PM
Member
 
RobKnapp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Colorado
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 1
good to know .
RobKnapp is online now  
post #1964 of 1971 Unread 09-07-2014, 05:22 AM
rlb
AVS Special Member
 
rlb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: North Royalton, OH
Posts: 3,121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 154 Post(s)
Liked: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by dannye View Post
Hi, does anyone know what the new software update 1160 does?

This is the only thing I've read: 2014 Samsung SEK-2500U/ZA Evolution Kit and CY-SUC10SH/ZA UHD Video Pack
rlb is offline  
post #1965 of 1971 Unread 09-07-2014, 09:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sikclown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,091
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 621 Post(s)
Liked: 242
Quote:
Originally Posted by bedBug View Post
Hello guys. I'm not sure if anyone has any ideas on a problem I'm having but I thought Id give it a shot. Ive had my UHD55 for about seven months or so and Ive always been able to play videos from my computer upstairs down to the TV. And also I could play youtube videos from our ipad to the tv and also from smartphones to the tv. Anyways I had to get a slightly different modem from our ip to increase our speeds and when i set it up everything works but i can no longer play the videos from my computer or from my other devices to the tv. on my ipad when you were watching a youtube video it used to have a thing on the screen that would show the samsung 55 now it doesnt show anything.
Sounds like your TV isn't on the network/doesn't have an IP address. Can you use SmartHub apps? Is the modem also a router?

UN65F9000AFXZA + SEK2500U/ZA firmware version 1151.4
Denon AVR-X5200W, Apple TV, Sony BDP-S6200, PS4, Xbox One
(2) Klipsch RF-82IIs, (2)RS-62IIs (4)RS-52IIs, (2)RS-42IIs, (1)RC-62ii, (2)RB-61IIs
(1) SVS PB12-Plus, (1)Emotiva XPA-100, (1)XPA-200, (1)UPA-200,
UN55HU8550, AVR-S900W, Ceton Echo, Apple TV, Panny BDT460, PC,
(1)Klipsch G-42, (2)G-16s, (2) Bose 161, (1)BIC Acoustech PL-200
sikclown is online now  
post #1966 of 1971 Unread 09-07-2014, 01:50 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
F9000 use as monitor

Is anyone using their F9000 as a computer monitor? Results?
ds5384 is offline  
post #1967 of 1971 Unread 09-10-2014, 01:23 PM
Newbie
 
Doc Frank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does any one know how to eliminate the YaHoo Sports App from appearing on the screen during football games? It is very annoying. Thanks
Doc Frank is offline  
post #1968 of 1971 Unread 09-11-2014, 08:36 AM
Newbie
 
bobr44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thinking of buying the 65 inch now on clearance at Best Buy. Concerned about dropping down in size from a 72 inch DLP which I've had for 5+ years.
Had the store play their DirecTV source and a Blueray movie. Loved the picture even w/o full 4K. I have great speakers and receiver so cheesy sound quality of TV is not an issue.
I watch mainly sports on Fios and wonder whether it is worth the cost since I do not watch much else.
Opinions welcomed. Thanks.
bobr44 is offline  
post #1969 of 1971 Unread 09-12-2014, 04:43 AM
Member
 
IlliniBird's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Chicago
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Went From Toshiba HD DLP to Samsung UHD/4k LED

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobr44 View Post
Thinking of buying the 65 inch now on clearance at Best Buy. Concerned about dropping down in size from a 72 inch DLP which I've had for 5+ years.
Had the store play their DirecTV source and a Blueray movie. Loved the picture even w/o full 4K. I have great speakers and receiver so cheesy sound quality of TV is not an issue.
I watch mainly sports on Fios and wonder whether it is worth the cost since I do not watch much else.
Opinions welcomed. Thanks.
Bob,
I had a 65" Toshiba DLP and moved it downstairs when I purchased my 65" Samsung UHD. New set has better resolution and 4k upscaling makes a very noticeable difference. I always thought my DLP had a great picture for a HD television (and it does) but IMHO the Samsung 65" "blows it out of the water!" I have Direct TV (Genie), Samsung BD-7500 Blu-Ray and a Pioneer VSX-44 AV receiver.

I feel my purchase was worth the cost months ago when I paid full price but if you are getting it for a clearance price I wouldn't hesitate. You will need the (2014) UHD Evolution kit to take advantage of the UHD standards for 2014 (USB 3.0, UHD/4k codecs, better processor, etc.) and that will add some to the cost (approx. $300). As far as the difference from 72" to 65" I cannot comment because both of mine were 65".
sikclown likes this.

Samsung UN65F9000AF UHD TV
Samsung SEK-2500u 2014 UHD Evolution Kit (1151.4)
Samsung BD-F7500 Blu-Ray
Pioneer VSX-44 AV Receiver 2.0 HDMI
Definitive Technology ProCinema 600 System
Direct TV HR-44 Genie
IlliniBird is offline  
post #1970 of 1971 Unread 09-12-2014, 11:08 AM
Newbie
 
bobr44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Bird.
bobr44 is offline  
post #1971 of 1971 Unread 09-13-2014, 04:47 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Mounting screws?

Hi, I just bought a UN55F9000 and am trying to work out what screw to use to attach my Sanus mounting brackets to the TV. The manual says M8 but omits length. I've tried a 25mm M8 but it doesn't catch at all, and when I shine a light inside the VESA mounting holes, I can't see any captive nut. Can anyone shed any light on this?
meowbie is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Un55f9000 55 Inch 4k Ultra Hd Led Hdtv , Samsung Un65f9000 65 Inch 4k Ultra Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread - Un55f9000 by PriceGrabber.com



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off