**Official** Samsung 4K UN55F9000, UN65F9000, and UN85S9 Thread - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 2048 Old 12-26-2013, 08:02 AM
rlb
AVS Special Member
 
rlb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: North Royalton, OH
Posts: 3,299
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 263 Post(s)
Liked: 153
Finally had some time to input the CNET settings. They look great; but if I check later the set has returned to the defaults. Is there some secret to getting the set to retain the input settings?

New subject: After quite a few issues, I am getting DD and DTS 5.1 sound out of the optical digital feed to my Integra pre processor. But, I finally connected the HR24, OPPO, and PS3 through the pre processor first ("through" video and strip off the better sound) and am only using the optical digital for the F9000 SmartHub processes.

Thanks for any input on settings retention.
rlb is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 2048 Old 12-26-2013, 08:35 AM
Senior Member
 
amercnchopz34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Swapped out today......This screen is even worse than my 1st one....should have kept it.....bummer.....I'm going back to BB to swap out again.....One more try....hate spending $$$ and getting a subpar panel.......


Quote:
Originally Posted by amercnchopz34 View Post

Have A f9000...have a little bit of flashlight going on in bottom left and right bottom corners.....it is noticeable when black bars happen....should I exchange or keep set...picture quality is awesome or should I expect it with every set?

Is it worth getting swapped out or should I be thankful that it's not bad...i don't want one that's worse...thanks
amercnchopz34 is offline  
post #183 of 2048 Old 12-26-2013, 09:57 AM
Newbie
 
done12many2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Go to Menu/Support/Use Mode. Ensure it's set to "Home Use" and not "Store Demo."

When on "Store Demo," the F9000 will reset to defaults automatically after a set amount of time
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlb View Post

Finally had some time to input the CNET settings. They look great; but if I check later the set has returned to the defaults. Is there some secret to getting the set to retain the input settings?

New subject: After quite a few issues, I am getting DD and DTS 5.1 sound out of the optical digital feed to my Integra pre processor. But, I finally connected the HR24, OPPO, and PS3 through the pre processor first ("through" video and strip off the better sound) and am only using the optical digital for the F9000 SmartHub processes.

Thanks for any input on settings retention.
done12many2 is offline  
post #184 of 2048 Old 12-26-2013, 10:51 AM
rlb
AVS Special Member
 
rlb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: North Royalton, OH
Posts: 3,299
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 263 Post(s)
Liked: 153
Thanks for the response. Good to know.

That wasn't my issue; but I did input the CNET settings a third time and for some unknown reason they seem to be holding.

I've had the set since the 23rd and at this point I'm very impressed. I've had three prior primary HD sets (last one a Panasonic 65vt25 plasma) and all had professional calibrations. This 65f9000 was very good "out of the box" and the CNET settings have made a subtle improvement. I've quickly run through some Spears & Munsil calibration patterns and DVE demonstration materials. Grayscale, and colors are outstanding for my eyes. At this point, I definitely don't see the need for a professional calibration.
rlb is offline  
post #185 of 2048 Old 12-26-2013, 12:56 PM
Newbie
 
candycorn123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Anyone tried doing a speed test at speedtest dot net from the web browser?  I am only getting around 8 mbps while other devices (cell phone and laptop computer, both wifi connected) are getting more than double that when set right next to the tv. 

candycorn123 is offline  
post #186 of 2048 Old 12-26-2013, 02:39 PM
Senior Member
 
amercnchopz34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by amercnchopz34 View Post

Is it worth getting swapped out or should I be thankful that it's not bad...i don't want one that's worse...thanks

Anyone have any ideas
amercnchopz34 is offline  
post #187 of 2048 Old 12-26-2013, 06:17 PM
Senior Member
 
amercnchopz34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Anybody know of a good calibrator in Orlando florida...how long till I should have it calibrated?...cnet settings look great
amercnchopz34 is offline  
post #188 of 2048 Old 12-26-2013, 07:13 PM
Senior Member
 
AccordTR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by amercnchopz34 View Post

Anyone have any ideas

I guess it's your call ultimately because I can't physically see it. Like I said I have virtually no flashlight effect so it is possible that you might get a better panel if you exchange.

Samsung UHD 4K UN65F9000, Sharp LC46D64U,
Shaw HD PVR Gateway and Portals,
PS4 500gb launch edition,
Samsung BD-P3600, Sony BDP-S470,
Pioneer VSX-1026, Monster Power HDP 2550
Polk Audio 7.1- CS1, Monitor 70s, Monitor 60s, Monitor 40s, PSW505,
Blu-Ray collection- 572 and counting. See them here

AccordTR is online now  
post #189 of 2048 Old 12-26-2013, 08:25 PM
Senior Member
 
amercnchopz34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
When u say virtually...is it in corners at bottom?
amercnchopz34 is offline  
post #190 of 2048 Old 12-27-2013, 12:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
upstate-avfan-da's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 627
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by done12many2 View Post

Any video played through the F9000's media player. I want to say that properly encoded programs via Verizon FiOS are played back in actual 5.1 as well.

While I was experiencing my issues with a faulty optical cable, I ran everything back to my receiver. Now that I have the cable fixed, I'm going to rerun everything back to the OneConnect and see if all sources to included the XBMC from my HTPC function properly in 5.1 via the optical to my receiver.

Oh sorry I misunderstood.... I am not able to do only 5.1 from tv (smart hub apps) to receiver. I've got everything else going in via hdmi to my receiver so no issues there for me.

Bit by the upgrade bug, limited by the WAF
upstate-avfan-da is offline  
post #191 of 2048 Old 12-27-2013, 05:26 AM
Senior Member
 
amercnchopz34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Playing back mastered in 4k blu ray of Moneyball....right bottom and left bottom show excess whites in some dark scenes....During normal playback cable bright house feed...does not show up....is there a setting I may have on to eliminate this?
amercnchopz34 is offline  
post #192 of 2048 Old 12-27-2013, 05:41 AM
Senior Member
 
amercnchopz34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24



amercnchopz34 is offline  
post #193 of 2048 Old 12-27-2013, 09:33 AM
Senior Member
 
AccordTR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by amercnchopz34 View Post

Playing back mastered in 4k blu ray of Moneyball....right bottom and left bottom show excess whites in some dark scenes....During normal playback cable bright house feed...does not show up....is there a setting I may have on to eliminate this?

You could try turning down the backlight. You might have a panel that shows more bright spots, you could try exchanging

Samsung UHD 4K UN65F9000, Sharp LC46D64U,
Shaw HD PVR Gateway and Portals,
PS4 500gb launch edition,
Samsung BD-P3600, Sony BDP-S470,
Pioneer VSX-1026, Monster Power HDP 2550
Polk Audio 7.1- CS1, Monitor 70s, Monitor 60s, Monitor 40s, PSW505,
Blu-Ray collection- 572 and counting. See them here

AccordTR is online now  
post #194 of 2048 Old 12-27-2013, 10:40 AM
Newbie
 
candycorn123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Many good posts on here have revealed that some of the picture settings are set on a per-source basis (even though you may have selected "apply to all sources").  My question is this: when watching a streamed video like from Netflix or Vudu, how do you control the picture settings?  Which "source's" picture settings apply in this case?  I am very pleased with the often referenced CNET settings for sources like my STB and Bluray player.  I'd like to have those settings apply when watching a streamed video source. So far, it looks as if the settings are simply the default "Movie" mode settings which are not nearly as nice as the tweaked ones.

candycorn123 is offline  
post #195 of 2048 Old 12-27-2013, 08:20 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
JSteel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Hey Guys,

Don't know if you checked yet but there is a new firmware for us on the Samsung Website! Version 2005.3. It is only to improve picture quality but it is a 667.5MB file size. Has anyone downloaded it and install it yet??? I plan to tonight. I hope this addresses the blur issue!
JSteel is offline  
post #196 of 2048 Old 12-27-2013, 08:30 PM
Senior Member
 
AccordTR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by JSteel View Post

Hey Guys,

Don't know if you checked yet but there is a new firmware for us on the Samsung Website! Version 2005.3. It is only to improve picture quality but it is a 667.5MB file size. Has anyone downloaded it and install it yet??? I plan to tonight. I hope this addresses the blur issue!

Cool I haven't seen that yet. Do you have a link??

Samsung UHD 4K UN65F9000, Sharp LC46D64U,
Shaw HD PVR Gateway and Portals,
PS4 500gb launch edition,
Samsung BD-P3600, Sony BDP-S470,
Pioneer VSX-1026, Monster Power HDP 2550
Polk Audio 7.1- CS1, Monitor 70s, Monitor 60s, Monitor 40s, PSW505,
Blu-Ray collection- 572 and counting. See them here

AccordTR is online now  
post #197 of 2048 Old 12-27-2013, 08:39 PM
Member
 
ausmusj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Newberg, OR
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Pulled the trigger on the 55" F9000 yesterday, and I'm quite happy with the picture quality. I also got the BD-7500 4k upscaling blu-ray player, and hooked it straight up to the TV to ensure I have the highest possible video quality. I've been passing the audio through HDMI ARC, but I'm only being able to get 2.0 channel PCM sound from blu-rays this way. From info I've (now) been reading online, it seems that the Samsungs might not support > 2.0 PCM on ARC - can anyone confirm or deny that? I've currently gotten around the issue by running another HDMI cable from the BD-7500 to my receiver to carry audio, but I'm not necessarily liking the idea of running a separate audio cable to the receiver for each device that's connected to the TV...

Any thoughts?

-James

System 1: Samsung UN55F9000 3D/4k UHDTV, Samsung BD-7500 3D/4k blu-ray player, Sony PS3 player, Yamaha RX-V573 7.1 Receiver, Sony 5.1 (and counting) Speakers
System 2: Toshiba HDTV, LG LHB536 BR HTiB

ausmusj is offline  
post #198 of 2048 Old 12-27-2013, 08:56 PM
Senior Member
 
AccordTR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by ausmusj View Post

Pulled the trigger on the 55" F9000 yesterday, and I'm quite happy with the picture quality. I also got the BD-7500 4k upscaling blu-ray player, and hooked it straight up to the TV to ensure I have the highest possible video quality. I've been passing the audio through HDMI ARC, but I'm only being able to get 2.0 channel PCM sound from blu-rays this way. From info I've (now) been reading online, it seems that the Samsungs might not support > 2.0 PCM on ARC - can anyone confirm or deny that? I've currently gotten around the issue by running another HDMI cable from the BD-7500 to my receiver to carry audio, but I'm not necessarily liking the idea of running a separate audio cable to the receiver for each device that's connected to the TV...

Any thoughts?

-James

Why not run all your hdmi devices to your receiver and then a single hdmi from your receiver to the tv for video. Let your reviewer do the video switching

Samsung UHD 4K UN65F9000, Sharp LC46D64U,
Shaw HD PVR Gateway and Portals,
PS4 500gb launch edition,
Samsung BD-P3600, Sony BDP-S470,
Pioneer VSX-1026, Monster Power HDP 2550
Polk Audio 7.1- CS1, Monitor 70s, Monitor 60s, Monitor 40s, PSW505,
Blu-Ray collection- 572 and counting. See them here

AccordTR is online now  
post #199 of 2048 Old 12-27-2013, 09:26 PM
Member
 
ausmusj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Newberg, OR
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AccordTR View Post

Why not run all your hdmi devices to your receiver and then a single hdmi from your receiver to the tv for video. Let your reviewer do the video switching


I like the TV communicating directly with the STB, for one (so it can more intelligently recommend TV content and VOD content from the STB for me), and I'm concerned that, with the Yamaha receiver in the path, the Samsung BD Wise communication between the TV and the BD player will get lost. Also, with the new addition of the BD player, I'm short one HDMI input on the receiver (STB, BD Player, PS3, ChromeCast, and PC/Karaoke).

System 1: Samsung UN55F9000 3D/4k UHDTV, Samsung BD-7500 3D/4k blu-ray player, Sony PS3 player, Yamaha RX-V573 7.1 Receiver, Sony 5.1 (and counting) Speakers
System 2: Toshiba HDTV, LG LHB536 BR HTiB

ausmusj is offline  
post #200 of 2048 Old 12-27-2013, 09:44 PM
Senior Member
 
AccordTR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by ausmusj View Post

I like the TV communicating directly with the STB, for one (so it can more intelligently recommend TV content and VOD content from the STB for me), and I'm concerned that, with the Yamaha receiver in the path, the Samsung BD Wise communication between the TV and the BD player will get lost. Also, with the new addition of the BD player, I'm short one HDMI input on the receiver (STB, BD Player, PS3, ChromeCast, and PC/Karaoke).

Hmm then I'm not sure there really is any other work around. Every home theatre I have owned or set up has always been everything to receiver and then receiver output to tv.

Samsung UHD 4K UN65F9000, Sharp LC46D64U,
Shaw HD PVR Gateway and Portals,
PS4 500gb launch edition,
Samsung BD-P3600, Sony BDP-S470,
Pioneer VSX-1026, Monster Power HDP 2550
Polk Audio 7.1- CS1, Monitor 70s, Monitor 60s, Monitor 40s, PSW505,
Blu-Ray collection- 572 and counting. See them here

AccordTR is online now  
post #201 of 2048 Old 12-27-2013, 10:21 PM
Newbie
 
pattersonr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I have done some additional research and I am hoping someone can verify for me.  I was able to find a video clip that shows the pixcelation and white to black ballooning.  If you go on Youtube and search sprint totes mcgotes you will see the commercial.  There is a large flashlight effect on the commercial.  If I reset my settings back to default on standard, the ballooning and pixcelation is not there.  However, if I modify any of the backlight settings or turn eco mode off then the white flashlight immediate balloons and become distorted looking.

 

I am trying to find out if my tv has a problem or if this is the way it is?  I have talked to Samsung and I get the typical.. your content just isnt high quality enough.  That is bogus.  The picture looks fine everywhere else except the white flashlight effect and that looks ok as long as I dont change any settings regarding backlighting.

 

Can anyone please take a look at the same video and see if you are getting the same effect?

Thanks

pattersonr is offline  
post #202 of 2048 Old 12-27-2013, 10:34 PM
Senior Member
 
AccordTR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by pattersonr View Post

I have done some additional research and I am hoping someone can verify for me.  I was able to find a video clip that shows the pixcelation and white to black ballooning.  If you go on Youtube and search sprint totes mcgotes you will see the commercial.  There is a large flashlight effect on the commercial.  If I reset my settings back to default on standard, the ballooning and pixcelation is not there.  However, if I modify any of the backlight settings or turn eco mode off then the white flashlight immediate balloons and become distorted looking.

I am trying to find out if my tv has a problem or if this is the way it is?  I have talked to Samsung and I get the typical.. your content just isnt high quality enough.  That is bogus.  The picture looks fine everywhere else except the white flashlight effect and that looks ok as long as I dont change any settings regarding backlighting.

Can anyone please take a look at the same video and see if you are getting the same effect?
Thanks

Where are you seeing the flash lighting? I'm not in front on my tv but ran the clips on my iPhone 5s. There is supposed to be a light in the middle and then a lighter side on the left of Malcolm and right of JEJ

Update. I just ran on my laptop and it's def supposed to be lighter on one side of each actor

Samsung UHD 4K UN65F9000, Sharp LC46D64U,
Shaw HD PVR Gateway and Portals,
PS4 500gb launch edition,
Samsung BD-P3600, Sony BDP-S470,
Pioneer VSX-1026, Monster Power HDP 2550
Polk Audio 7.1- CS1, Monitor 70s, Monitor 60s, Monitor 40s, PSW505,
Blu-Ray collection- 572 and counting. See them here

AccordTR is online now  
post #203 of 2048 Old 12-27-2013, 11:13 PM
Member
 
Inseconds99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 22
After a bunch of hassle with customer care as well as the cooperate office of the company I purchased my 3 defective f8500's, they are going to allow me to upgrade to the 65" x850, the wt600 or the f9000 for only a few hundred more then I paid for my 60f8500. I am trying to hold out to CES to see what new tv technology is going to be released but the company wants to rectify this issue now. I want my 4k tv to to hdmi 2.0, hdcp 2.2 and 4k at 60hz as well as an upgrade path to 3d 4k in the future.

Still can't seem to find the perfect tv to meet all those needs, closest seems to be the f9000 because of the one connect box. What are your thoughts?
Inseconds99 is offline  
post #204 of 2048 Old 12-27-2013, 11:25 PM
Senior Member
 
AccordTR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Inseconds99 View Post

After a bunch of hassle with customer care as well as the cooperate office of the company I purchased my 3 defective f8500's, they are going to allow me to upgrade to the 65" x850, the wt600 or the f9000 for only a few hundred more then I paid for my 60f8500. I am trying to hold out to CES to see what new tv technology is going to be released but the company wants to rectify this issue now. I want my 4k tv to to hdmi 2.0, hdcp 2.2 and 4k at 60hz as well as an upgrade path to 3d 4k in the future.

Still can't seem to find the perfect tv to meet all those needs, closest seems to be the f9000 because of the one connect box. What are your thoughts?

No tv does those things yet, the Panasonic says it does but there is nothing to test/verify the 2.0 etc. The f9000 is the ONLY tv that will allow for hardware upgrade. The one connect will be upgraded to do everything you've asked for.

Samsung UHD 4K UN65F9000, Sharp LC46D64U,
Shaw HD PVR Gateway and Portals,
PS4 500gb launch edition,
Samsung BD-P3600, Sony BDP-S470,
Pioneer VSX-1026, Monster Power HDP 2550
Polk Audio 7.1- CS1, Monitor 70s, Monitor 60s, Monitor 40s, PSW505,
Blu-Ray collection- 572 and counting. See them here

AccordTR is online now  
post #205 of 2048 Old 12-28-2013, 01:32 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
JSteel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by AccordTR View Post



Cool I haven't seen that yet. Do you have a link??

Yeah, it is on the Samsung website under support. Can't miss it.
JSteel is offline  
post #206 of 2048 Old 12-28-2013, 05:50 AM
rlb
AVS Special Member
 
rlb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: North Royalton, OH
Posts: 3,299
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 263 Post(s)
Liked: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by ausmusj View Post

I like the TV communicating directly with the STB, for one (so it can more intelligently recommend TV content and VOD content from the STB for me), and I'm concerned that, with the Yamaha receiver in the path, the Samsung BD Wise communication between the TV and the BD player will get lost. Also, with the new addition of the BD player, I'm short one HDMI input on the receiver (STB, BD Player, PS3, ChromeCast, and PC/Karaoke).

I definitely don't know; but I would be surprised if all the communications is between devices in your setup. I presume there's a reason that I must tell the F9000 that my provider is DirectTV Cleveland as opposed to DirecTV Los Angeles. That would allow them to pull upcoming schedules/channels from a corporate level rather than my specific HR24 (my DirectTV receiver) . I would be surprised if my HR24 is even capable of that kind of "back channel" communications. Of course, I could be totally ignorant of the actual technology.
rlb is offline  
post #207 of 2048 Old 12-28-2013, 06:54 AM
rlb
AVS Special Member
 
rlb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: North Royalton, OH
Posts: 3,299
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 263 Post(s)
Liked: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by candycorn123 View Post

Many good posts on here have revealed that some of the picture settings are set on a per-source basis (even though you may have selected "apply to all sources").  My question is this: when watching a streamed video like from Netflix or Vudu, how do you control the picture settings?  Which "source's" picture settings apply in this case?  I am very pleased with the often referenced CNET settings for sources like my STB and Bluray player.  I'd like to have those settings apply when watching a streamed video source. So far, it looks as if the settings are simply the default "Movie" mode settings which are not nearly as nice as the tweaked ones.

Thanks for the post. This surprised me because I've always believed that grayscale/color settings were independent of the source. I checked and my PS3/HDMI Netflix feed used the CNET settings I had input; but Netflix via the Smart Hub/internet was set for default if I pulled up the picture setting screens. So I just input the CNET settings while on the Smart Screen feed. I assume that will suffice for anything coming into the F9000 internet connection. Maybe it's that simple. It appears to have worked.

Maybe the "all sources" applies to HDMI/component and not internet.
rlb is offline  
post #208 of 2048 Old 12-28-2013, 07:57 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
JSteel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Upgrade File(USB type) (Firmware) (ver.2005.3)

1.This firmware is for TV Model(s): 2013 UHD TV ( UN55F9000, UN65F9000, UN85S9)
2.The version is 2005.3
3.This firmware update will improve the following:

- Improves picture quality.

http://www.samsung.com/us/support/owners/product/UN65F9000AFXZA


Just updated to this. Cannot see any improvements by eye yet. Will have to see after the new firmware settles in. I did a factory reset after the update and inputted the CNET setting again and everything seems great as before. No loss in picture quality.
JSteel is offline  
post #209 of 2048 Old 12-28-2013, 08:10 AM
Newbie
 
Zubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I installed the latest firmware yesterday and it made a huge improvement in pq. Prior to the update, I was having pixelation and ghosting issues. It got to the point where I was ready to return the set.

Zubius is offline  
post #210 of 2048 Old 12-28-2013, 09:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
upstate-avfan-da's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 627
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by JSteel View Post

Upgrade File(USB type) (Firmware) (ver.2005.3)

1.This firmware is for TV Model(s): 2013 UHD TV ( UN55F9000, UN65F9000, UN85S9)
2.The version is 2005.3
3.This firmware update will improve the following:

- Improves picture quality.

http://www.samsung.com/us/support/owners/product/UN65F9000AFXZA


Just updated to this. Cannot see any improvements by eye yet. Will have to see after the new firmware settles in. I did a factory reset after the update and inputted the CNET setting again and everything seems great as before. No loss in picture quality.

Any reason for reset? I really would like the update to go in and not redo all the settings bc I am lazy lol.

Bit by the upgrade bug, limited by the WAF
upstate-avfan-da is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Un55f9000 55 Inch 4k Ultra Hd Led Hdtv , Samsung Un65f9000 65 Inch 4k Ultra Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread - Un55f9000 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off