Recent purchase of RCA LED46C45RQ televion left me a bit confused (Regarding audio) - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 5 Old 01-05-2014, 01:09 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hello,

I've always owned budget TV's, and this new RCA that I purchased is no exception. But with that said, I have very little experience with the various audio ins and outs. My last TV, and this one, have very limited audio options. I dealt with it on my last TV because the built-in speakers were semi-decent, and although the picture is immensely better on this new one, I cannot say the same about the built-in speakers.

So on to the point - This RCA television has no optical audio out. The only connections it does have, are:

2x HDMI, which are being used up by a Wii U, and an Apple TV

1x USB, Presumably for thumb drives, but may be a possible solution for USB speakers IF they provide power?

1x Headphone Jack (according to the manual at least, I haven't personally spotted it on the TV yet)

1x Component, which are being used for our cable box

1x A/V

My confusion lies in that I don't know which is the best option here. The easiest route would be for me to connect a decent set of speakers into the headphone jack, but that would mean that I'd be standing up to adjust the volume every time, right?

I'm just not sure which options I have. I wouldn't mind spending an extra $50 or so bucks to get a nice setup, but that's pretty much all we can afford right now.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 01-05-2014, 08:08 AM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 613 Post(s)
Liked: 464
Sorry: the USB connection is "input" only, for use with storage devices like a USB thumb drive or hard-disk. It can't be used to drive speakers.

If you haven't already, you might check a local thrift-store. They sometimes have audio systems for cheap.

Major edit:
I found the manual for your TV.