2014 Vizio Thread All models - Page 193 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 330Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #5761 of 5781 Unread 09-18-2014, 10:11 AM
Member
 
Cozmo85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Do any new tv's coming out still support PIP?
Cozmo85 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5762 of 5781 Unread 09-18-2014, 10:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 9,025
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 641 Post(s)
Liked: 411
2014 Vizio Thread All models

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cozmo85 View Post
Do any new tv's coming out still support PIP?

Not that I'm aware of. This question was asked recently in another thread and a technical answer was given. I just don't see it being available anymore. Haven't heard about that feature in years.

There are similar features offered by cable/satellite companies as well as xb1 I believe but nothing standard for a TV

Sent from my Flip Phone using DOS
Ph8te is online now  
post #5763 of 5781 Unread 09-18-2014, 10:56 AM
Member
 
Cozmo85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
Not that I'm aware of. This question was asked recently in another thread and a technical answer was given. I just don't see it being available anymore. Haven't heard about that feature in years.

There are similar features offered by cable/satellite companies as well as xb1 I believe but nothing standard for a TV

Sent from my Flip Phone using DOS
I still remember when i was getting rid of my 47" RPCRT i dug up the original remote and realized it had a pip button lol.
Cozmo85 is online now  
post #5764 of 5781 Unread 09-18-2014, 11:16 AM
3db
Advanced Member
 
3db's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 21
We finally have Vizio back in Canada. I bought by 47" display 5 years ago from Costco and they soom disappeared from Canada altogether. I'm happy they are back. By old SV470M is still going strong with no signs of dieing.
Visor likes this.
3db is offline  
post #5765 of 5781 Unread 09-18-2014, 11:40 AM
Member
 
Visor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
All of the E series are 60Hz panels..
Is everyone sure about that? According to this link (you'll need to click on the "Compare E-series TVs" button near the top), only the TVs 48" or smaller have "effective refresh rates" of 60 Hz (with a couple of exceptions). The chart states that all E series TVs 50" and larger have effective refresh rates of 120 Hz. This seems to coincide with Cnet's review, where they found that the 55" set handled 1080/24p sources "properly", whereas the 42" set showed the 3:2 pulldown cadence.

Can anyone confirm this first-hand? I'm looking at the 70" model, and pure 24p playback is one of the most important features to me. This is something that I've gotten used to ever since I bought my 2007 Sony KDL-52W3000.

Thanks,
Visor
Visor is offline  
post #5766 of 5781 Unread 09-18-2014, 11:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 9,025
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 641 Post(s)
Liked: 411
"Effective" means it uses "tricks" to get to that refresh rate. It's usually half of the effective (120/60 240/120 ect). You can check out the E series thread as there was discussion on it there. I think the model with "advertised" working 24p is the P series. M series may do it, but not sure how well.


Sent from my Flip Phone using DOS
Ph8te is online now  
post #5767 of 5781 Unread 09-18-2014, 11:59 AM
Newbie
 
thesmokingman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm gonna have to hit up the Costco this weekend, crosses fingers. And perfect timing with the GTX 960 and up cards coming out soon.
thesmokingman is online now  
post #5768 of 5781 Unread 09-18-2014, 12:00 PM
Member
 
JJameson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtl46 View Post
Thanks for the info.
If I could find an s900w for under $400 I would be all over it. Most places want $599. I am waiting for the P reviews and for Costco.com to get them on the website. I have purchase a few TV's from them online and returned a couple. It is painless and I am assuming they will have free shipping (also they pay for return shipping and even pick it up at your door step).
Yeah, I know the feeling. The only reason I was able to get that deal is because I still have some contacts at Best Buy who will give me employee pricing from when I worked there years ago. In fact, that's my only hesitation from preordering the P.. I want to know what BB employees can get it for and I have to wait until they have them in store for the order. I really want to try it out though. I have yet to buy anything online from Costco and I don't like taking advantage of return policies, especially generous ones, but they have me so tempted.

Also, 55" and and 60" P are on Costco.com now if you didn't see already.

Last edited by JJameson; 09-18-2014 at 12:17 PM.
JJameson is offline  
post #5769 of 5781 Unread 09-18-2014, 01:01 PM
Member
 
Visor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
"Effective" means it uses "tricks" to get to that refresh rate. It's usually half of the effective (120/60 240/120 ect). You can check out the E series thread as there was discussion on it there.
Ah, sorry I thought this was the only thread on 2014 Vizio TVs (the name of the thread is a little misleading ) At any rate, I found the separate thread for the E series, but as of yet I'm still having trouble finding a concrete answer about true 24p playback on these sets.

Quote:
I think the model with "advertised" working 24p is the P series. M series may do it, but not sure how well.
Wow, that's pretty sad considering this feature has been around for 7-8 years, and it's supported on pretty much all Blu-ray players and other devices such as the WD TV Live.

I'm still confused as to why the Cnet reviewer said it played back 24p "properly" on the "55 inch E550i-B2". I guess I'll just have to go down to my Best Buy / Future Shop with a couple of .mp4s on a USB drive and see for myself. It might be a few days before I get a chance to do this, but I'll report my findings both here and in the E series thread.

Cheers,
Visor
Visor is offline  
post #5770 of 5781 Unread 09-18-2014, 01:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mo949's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,984
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 401
^ could just mean that it applied 3:2 pulldown properly and replayed at 60hz.
Ph8te likes this.
mo949 is offline  
post #5771 of 5781 Unread 09-18-2014, 02:01 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
80" Vizio M-series with FALD

Quote:
Originally Posted by Urza View Post
Correct me if I am wrong, but no 80 inch full array from Vizio in the future?

If not, kind of a bummer. Any guess as to why?
I was at Costco in Lehi, UT yesterday and saw an 80" Vizio M-series with FALD (32 zones). Anyone have any experience with these yet?
richjbest is offline  
post #5772 of 5781 Unread 09-18-2014, 02:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 9,025
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 641 Post(s)
Liked: 411
Quote:
Originally Posted by richjbest View Post
I was at Costco in Lehi, UT yesterday and saw an 80" Vizio M-series with FALD (32 zones). Anyone have any experience with these yet?

There is no 80" FALD this year. The 2014 80" is a carryover that is edge lit and dropped 3D.


Sent from my Flip Phone using DOS
Ph8te is online now  
post #5773 of 5781 Unread 09-18-2014, 02:22 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
jtl46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Venice, FL
Posts: 264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by JJameson View Post
Yeah, I know the feeling. The only reason I was able to get that deal is because I still have some contacts at Best Buy who will give me employee pricing from when I worked there years ago. In fact, that's my only hesitation from preordering the P.. I want to know what BB employees can get it for and I have to wait until they have them in store for the order. I really want to try it out though. I have yet to buy anything online from Costco and I don't like taking advantage of return policies, especially generous ones, but they have me so tempted.

Also, 55" and and 60" P are on Costco.com now if you didn't see already.
Not really "taking advantage" if the TV is defective, which they were. I need a 70", no doubt they will be there soon, but I want to see some reviews and if they suck I will just wait for an R series. Thanks for all your info.
jtl46 is offline  
post #5774 of 5781 Unread 09-18-2014, 02:23 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by fafrd View Post
The P is out now - post traffic on the P Series should now shift over to the owner's thread...

I'm hoping something is said about the R Series at next week's P-Series launch event. I mean, at the M-Series launch event in June, Vizio at least started confirming a 'fall' launch date for the P Series...
The P-Series is not fully out yet. I still can't get a straight answer from anyone regarding the 50".
pisymbol is online now  
post #5775 of 5781 Unread 09-18-2014, 04:07 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
There is no 80" FALD this year. The 2014 80" is a carryover that is edge lit and dropped 3D.


Sent from my Flip Phone using DOS
That's what I thought from reading previous posts, but the giant sign above the set very clearly states that it is FALD with 32 zones. I can take pics next time I head into Costco.
richjbest is offline  
post #5776 of 5781 Unread 09-18-2014, 04:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
Rf13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 535
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 183 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by richjbest View Post
That's what I thought from reading previous posts, but the giant sign above the set very clearly states that it is FALD with 32 zones. I can take pics next time I head into Costco.
32 zones deosnt even sound right the 70" m has 36 zones and the p series 70" has 72 and the E has 18. I would take a picture of that set because it definitely deosnt sound right.
Rf13 is offline  
post #5777 of 5781 Unread 09-18-2014, 04:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 9,025
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 641 Post(s)
Liked: 411
Quote:
Originally Posted by richjbest View Post
That's what I thought from reading previous posts, but the giant sign above the set very clearly states that it is FALD with 32 zones. I can take pics next time I head into Costco.

It may have been a misprint, but we've already gone over this plenty of times regarding the 80". The sign you saw may have not technically gone to the model you were viewing.


Sent from my Flip Phone using DOS
Ph8te is online now  
post #5778 of 5781 Unread 09-18-2014, 05:57 PM
Member
 
JJameson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtl46 View Post
Not really "taking advantage" if the TV is defective, which they were. I need a 70", no doubt they will be there soon, but I want to see some reviews and if they suck I will just wait for an R series. Thanks for all your info.
I wasn't at all implying you were so I apologize if it sounded like that. I was stating that if I were to get it from Costco, I would be ultimately taking advantage of the system as I know I can get it cheaper elsewhere. I just don't want to ruin the good thing we have in costco's policies and labor practices. Too bad my costco had none of the P in stock at all tonight. I am just going to keep checking as I really want to see the set in person and my Best Buy won't have any until the 27th.
JJameson is offline  
post #5779 of 5781 Unread 09-18-2014, 06:04 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
jtl46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Venice, FL
Posts: 264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by JJameson View Post
I wasn't at all implying you were so I apologize if it sounded like that. I was stating that if I were to get it from Costco, I would be ultimately taking advantage of the system as I know I can get it cheaper elsewhere. I just don't want to ruin the good thing we have in costco's policies and labor practices. Too bad my costco had none of the P in stock at all tonight. I am just going to keep checking as I really want to see the set in person and my Best Buy won't have any until the 27th.
No problem. I just like Costco, not so much BB even though my niece is in marketing at corporate.
jtl46 is offline  
post #5780 of 5781 Unread 09-18-2014, 06:11 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 16,875
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 444 Post(s)
Liked: 552
Quote:
Originally Posted by richjbest View Post
That's what I thought from reading previous posts, but the giant sign above the set very clearly states that it is FALD with 32 zones. I can take pics next time I head into Costco.

Well! If there's a giant sign over the floor model of the M801i-A3 at Costco that says that it's FALD then that's that! Let's forget about the fact that a Vizio marketing rep apologetically confirmed that it wasn't FALD and that their page for it calls it "VIZIO M-Series 80” Razor LED™ Smart TV" whereas the page for the 70" M calls it "VIZIO M-Series 70” Class Full Array LED Smart TV". The technical specs on the 80"er's page says "Backlight Type: Razor LED" and the 70" (and all other sizes) page says "Backlight Type: Full Array LED". The online specs do say that the 80"er has local dimming with 16 LDZs, but that could be frame dimming.

Go right ahead and buy the 80" and assume that the "giant sign" is correct .
Ph8te likes this.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
" -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Polk Audio Monitor70 Series Ii Floorstanding Loudspeaker , Panasonic Th 58px60u 58 Inch Plasma Hdtv , Vizio
Gear in this thread

User Tag List



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off