2014 Vizio Thread All models - Page 193 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #5761 of 5772 Old Today, 09:53 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Does anyone know if the P Series has PIP? I'm looking for an Ultra HD tv that also supports PIP.
pixelp is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5762 of 5772 Old Today, 10:11 AM
Member
 
Cozmo85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Do any new tv's coming out still support PIP?
Cozmo85 is online now  
post #5763 of 5772 Old Today, 10:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,960
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 608 Post(s)
Liked: 374
2014 Vizio Thread All models

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cozmo85 View Post
Do any new tv's coming out still support PIP?

Not that I'm aware of. This question was asked recently in another thread and a technical answer was given. I just don't see it being available anymore. Haven't heard about that feature in years.

There are similar features offered by cable/satellite companies as well as xb1 I believe but nothing standard for a TV

Sent from my Flip Phone using DOS
Ph8te is online now  
post #5764 of 5772 Old Today, 10:56 AM
Member
 
Cozmo85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
Not that I'm aware of. This question was asked recently in another thread and a technical answer was given. I just don't see it being available anymore. Haven't heard about that feature in years.

There are similar features offered by cable/satellite companies as well as xb1 I believe but nothing standard for a TV

Sent from my Flip Phone using DOS
I still remember when i was getting rid of my 47" RPCRT i dug up the original remote and realized it had a pip button lol.
Cozmo85 is online now  
post #5765 of 5772 Old Today, 11:16 AM
3db
Advanced Member
 
3db's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 761
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 21
We finally have Vizio back in Canada. I bought by 47" display 5 years ago from Costco and they soom disappeared from Canada altogether. I'm happy they are back. By old SV470M is still going strong with no signs of dieing.
Visor likes this.
3db is online now  
post #5766 of 5772 Old Today, 11:40 AM
Member
 
Visor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
All of the E series are 60Hz panels..
Is everyone sure about that? According to this link (you'll need to click on the "Compare E-series TVs" button near the top), only the TVs 48" or smaller have "effective refresh rates" of 60 Hz (with a couple of exceptions). The chart states that all E series TVs 50" and larger have effective refresh rates of 120 Hz. This seems to coincide with Cnet's review, where they found that the 55" set handled 1080/24p sources "properly", whereas the 42" set showed the 3:2 pulldown cadence.

Can anyone confirm this first-hand? I'm looking at the 70" model, and pure 24p playback is one of the most important features to me. This is something that I've gotten used to ever since I bought my 2007 Sony KDL-52W3000.

Thanks,
Visor
Visor is online now  
post #5767 of 5772 Old Today, 11:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,960
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 608 Post(s)
Liked: 374
"Effective" means it uses "tricks" to get to that refresh rate. It's usually half of the effective (120/60 240/120 ect). You can check out the E series thread as there was discussion on it there. I think the model with "advertised" working 24p is the P series. M series may do it, but not sure how well.


Sent from my Flip Phone using DOS
Ph8te is online now  
post #5768 of 5772 Old Today, 11:59 AM
Newbie
 
thesmokingman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm gonna have to hit up the Costco this weekend, crosses fingers. And perfect timing with the GTX 960 and up cards coming out soon.
thesmokingman is online now  
post #5769 of 5772 Old Today, 12:00 PM
Member
 
JJameson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtl46 View Post
Thanks for the info.
If I could find an s900w for under $400 I would be all over it. Most places want $599. I am waiting for the P reviews and for Costco.com to get them on the website. I have purchase a few TV's from them online and returned a couple. It is painless and I am assuming they will have free shipping (also they pay for return shipping and even pick it up at your door step).
Yeah, I know the feeling. The only reason I was able to get that deal is because I still have some contacts at Best Buy who will give me employee pricing from when I worked there years ago. In fact, that's my only hesitation from preordering the P.. I want to know what BB employees can get it for and I have to wait until they have them in store for the order. I really want to try it out though. I have yet to buy anything online from Costco and I don't like taking advantage of return policies, especially generous ones, but they have me so tempted.

Also, 55" and and 60" P are on Costco.com now if you didn't see already.

Last edited by JJameson; Today at 12:17 PM.
JJameson is online now  
post #5770 of 5772 Old Today, 01:01 PM
Member
 
Visor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
"Effective" means it uses "tricks" to get to that refresh rate. It's usually half of the effective (120/60 240/120 ect). You can check out the E series thread as there was discussion on it there.
Ah, sorry I thought this was the only thread on 2014 Vizio TVs (the name of the thread is a little misleading ) At any rate, I found the separate thread for the E series, but as of yet I'm still having trouble finding a concrete answer about true 24p playback on these sets.

Quote:
I think the model with "advertised" working 24p is the P series. M series may do it, but not sure how well.
Wow, that's pretty sad considering this feature has been around for 7-8 years, and it's supported on pretty much all Blu-ray players and other devices such as the WD TV Live.

I'm still confused as to why the Cnet reviewer said it played back 24p "properly" on the "55 inch E550i-B2". I guess I'll just have to go down to my Best Buy / Future Shop with a couple of .mp4s on a USB drive and see for myself. It might be a few days before I get a chance to do this, but I'll report my findings both here and in the E series thread.

Cheers,
Visor
Visor is online now  
post #5771 of 5772 Old Today, 01:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mo949's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,974
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 400
^ could just mean that it applied 3:2 pulldown properly and replayed at 60hz.
Ph8te likes this.
mo949 is offline  
post #5772 of 5772 Unread Today, 02:01 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
80" Vizio M-series with FALD

Quote:
Originally Posted by Urza View Post
Correct me if I am wrong, but no 80 inch full array from Vizio in the future?

If not, kind of a bummer. Any guess as to why?
I was at Costco in Lehi, UT yesterday and saw an 80" Vizio M-series with FALD (32 zones). Anyone have any experience with these yet?
richjbest is online now  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Polk Audio Monitor70 Series Ii Floorstanding Loudspeaker , Panasonic Th 58px60u 58 Inch Plasma Hdtv , Vizio
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off