2014 Sharp AQUOS Line-Up - Page 122 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3631 of 3653 Old 07-21-2014, 09:25 PM
Member
 
danicus007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi there, 70SQ15U user here! I have a few questions I was hoping maybe some of you have encountered or could help me with:

1. How do I get the TV to convert 2D programming to 3D? When I hit the 2D/3D button I get a message that says NO OPERATION AVAILABLE. It was my understanding this TV could do a conversion? I've watched several actual 3D blu-rays on my PS3 and they look awesome.

2. With my Uverse receiver when I hit View Mode I don't get the option for Dot By Dot. It just says Full Screen. I get this no matter what video mode it's set in.

3. While watching Hulu+ in SmartCentral the video is constantly getting degraded and it stops to reload every few minutes, makes watching anything impossible. I tested Hulu+ thru my PS3 and Roku3 and it's flawless HD quality so I know it's not my internet connection. My TV is hard wired and I have 18MB Uverse service. Anyone else have this issue with Hulu+?

Thx!!
danicus007 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3632 of 3653 Old 07-22-2014, 05:10 PM
Newbie
 
smclay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlindo View Post
I don't know if this was already posted but if not, Sound and Vision posted their review of a 60" UQ and the reviewer seemed to like it aside from the mediocre black level. He felt the sharpness and colour was very good and it seems his feelings pretty much match mine based on my time with the SQ.

Here is a link to the calibrated settings he got.

http://www.soundandvision.com/conten...-hdtv-settings
Thanks, those settings look very nice on my UQ!
rayven likes this.
smclay is offline  
post #3633 of 3653 Old 07-23-2014, 09:26 AM
Member
 
danicus007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by danicus007 View Post
Hi there, 70SQ15U user here! I have a few questions I was hoping maybe some of you have encountered or could help me with:

1. How do I get the TV to convert 2D programming to 3D? When I hit the 2D/3D button I get a message that says NO OPERATION AVAILABLE. It was my understanding this TV could do a conversion? I've watched several actual 3D blu-rays on my PS3 and they look awesome.

2. With my Uverse receiver when I hit View Mode I don't get the option for Dot By Dot. It just says Full Screen. I get this no matter what video mode it's set in.

3. While watching Hulu+ in SmartCentral the video is constantly getting degraded and it stops to reload every few minutes, makes watching anything impossible. I tested Hulu+ thru my PS3 and Roku3 and it's flawless HD quality so I know it's not my internet connection. My TV is hard wired and I have 18MB Uverse service. Anyone else have this issue with Hulu+?

Thx!!
I figured out #1 and #2 . Turns out my Denon 2113 was doing all the signal processing. When I turned that off I was able to change the View Mode and do the 2D/3D conversion. Which I might add was not very impressive. Seems like a poor mans 3D IMO.
danicus007 is online now  
post #3634 of 3653 Old 07-23-2014, 09:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
johnfull's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 792
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Depends on the content -- I watched some horseracing with the 2D>3D conversion and
the TV was able to make the horses stand out from the background nicely.
It has to have a cue from parallax or something to work from.
johnfull is online now  
post #3635 of 3653 Old 07-23-2014, 10:04 AM
Member
 
danicus007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnfull View Post
Depends on the content -- I watched some horseracing with the 2D>3D conversion and
the TV was able to make the horses stand out from the background nicely.
It has to have a cue from parallax or something to work from.
Good point. I tried it on a few TV shows and it definitely made the object in the foreground jump out a little for that added depth. I'll give football a try once the season starts. LOL

I guess after watching The Avengers 3D BluRay it's not a fair comparison
danicus007 is online now  
post #3636 of 3653 Old 07-23-2014, 10:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
johnfull's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 792
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 51
I like the 3D ok, but my 2012 set seemed to handle it a little better.
For one thing, it allowed a lot more control over the picture than this one.
More importantly, I've noticed some bright green one-pixel wide outlines of
objects on a couple of discs for brief scenes -- kind of like cut-outs that were
letting the background show through, or something. I never saw that on
the old set and I hope to not see it again on this one. If I do, I'll pause
long enough to make a note of the time and go back to the scene for
further analysis. Haven't seen The Avengers yet...
johnfull is online now  
post #3637 of 3653 Old 07-23-2014, 03:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rlindo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: ON, Canada
Posts: 4,728
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 129
So have all you owners gone and ordered your Darblets yet?

Next to getting a display truly calibrated, using/buying the Darblet is in my opinion the best thing a user can easily do to improve their picture quality at an affordable price.

Want more image pop? Use the Darblet instead of using jacked up colour temperature and colour settings. The Darblet gives off a perceived increase in ansi/intra-scene contrast while messing with those other settings does not.

Want a sharper image? Use a Darblet instead of bumping up the sharpness control of the TV/display which just adds ringing and artifacts.

I really can't stress how great the little thing is and how much it adds to the image. I have had mine since it first came out and if it broke tomorrow I'd be ordering a replacement right away. Hell, I need to order another one so I don't have to keep moving it from my home theater room projector setup to my bedroom LCD.

The best thing too is that it gives the user the control on how much the effect is used with the 3 different styles and then the percentage of effect to use. That there are some people who don't like it or think it adds very little to the image blows my mind and I think those people are crazy.

If you aren't tight on cash and enjoy your set and would like to take it to a bit of a next level then go order one of these little beauties. It may sound like I am some paid Darblet pitchman but I am not. I just really really like the device (I am passionate when it comes to things I like and endorse. You should see me talk about electronic bidet seats! Pretty much the best invention in human history) and want more people to use it and have a better image and I know based on experience it easily enhances the image these Sharp sets produce.

Cleveland Plasma had them for $250 as at Monday yet it seems the price has gone back up to 295-300. If they get them back to 250 then really, it is IMO a no-brainer to order one from them or if you find another place that has it for that same low price. Even at 300 it is a steal since it adds more than $300 worth of improvement (when say comparing a TV to one that is $300 more) to a display.

ROB

Last edited by rlindo; 07-23-2014 at 03:57 PM.
rlindo is offline  
post #3638 of 3653 Old 07-23-2014, 06:24 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Send a message via Skype™ to randye007
Has anyone had any problems pairing their Sharp AN-3DG40 3D glasses with their Sharp LC-80UQ17U LED TV after updating the firmware to 205U1404211?

I went to my local Best Buy and was able to pair my same 3D glasses with the same demo TV. However, the firmware was 180U1402261.

Any help on this would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
Randy

Sharp LC-80UQ17U, Harman Kardon AVR2600, B&W 602 DM, B&W 302 DM, Paradigm PS-1000, Bell Fibe TV
randye007 is offline  
post #3639 of 3653 Old 07-23-2014, 07:48 PM
Member
 
ntdouglas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Setup my new LC-60SQ15U set last Thursday and PQ was about the same as my 6 year old Sharp lcd. Which was heavily calibrated. I cheated and "calibrated " to rlindos calibration settings over the weekend. God what a difference. Have it hooked up to a brand new Sony HT-CT770. Sound is excellent. Just received a Panasonic BDT360 Blu ray. Will be hooking it up this weekend. Sharp Aquos 3D glasses coming this Friday. Can't wait to watch Avatar in 3D/4k upscaling. Anybody else have a similar setup and want to share settings/suggestions? Just synced/setup a Harmony 650 remote also. Hoping for heaven.
ntdouglas is offline  
post #3640 of 3653 Old Yesterday, 01:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
johnfull's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 792
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 51
You can try these -- many SQ owners have expressed satisfaction. Enjoy!

Sharp UQ17U Calibrations

chiptouz likes this.
johnfull is online now  
post #3641 of 3653 Old Yesterday, 10:59 AM
Newbie
 
Iceman321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got the 70SQ. I'm starting off with Avmanic's Movie settings which I'm really starting to like (I plan on trying rlindo and johnfull's settings also, but I want to give each person's settings a week or so of experiment), but I have a problem intermittently with some kind of weird stutter or jitter sometimes for example when a Newscaster or a SportsCenter anchor has the camera on them and they move their head a little bit it looks weird, sometimes I can see this "stutter jitter" (for lack of a better term) when they talk also, but not always. I did see it also on one football player who was running backwards, but it didn't happen to everyone running. The only thing that worked to fix this weird motion stutter/jitter was to put the TV in GAME Mode. When I did that, this stutter problem was gone. Why is this happening? How can I fix it in other modes?

I tried changing all of the movie mode motion enhancement settings (not the color settings) to make them the same as Game mode thinking that might help, but this didn't stop the stutter/jitter I have.

Does anyone have any ideas or suggestions for me to fix this problem in Movie mode? Or any other mode for that matter.
Iceman321 is offline  
post #3642 of 3653 Old Yesterday, 11:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
johnfull's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 792
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Sounds like a problem with the processor. Have you contacted Aquos Advantage?
Have you tried a BluRay as well to eliminate the signal as a problem?
Also, you might try a different HDMI plug -- someone said #3 is the best for ARC,
which might also be best for picture quality. I switched my Dish satellite to the
#3 input because of sound problems and synch issues and it fixed it...
johnfull is online now  
post #3643 of 3653 Old Yesterday, 12:31 PM
Newbie
 
Iceman321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnfull View Post
Sounds like a problem with the processor. Have you contacted Aquos Advantage?
Have you tried a BluRay as well to eliminate the signal as a problem?
Also, you might try a different HDMI plug -- someone said #3 is the best for ARC,
which might also be best for picture quality. I switched my Dish satellite to the
#3 input because of sound problems and synch issues and it fixed it...
Thanks for the reply, John.

I haven't contacted Sharp yet, since Game mode fixes it, I still wanted to see if it was just a settings issue. I also don't really have a good way of explaining what I'm seeing in TV terms, so talking with them to explain might be difficult.

I did try Iron Man & Spider-Man BluRay's for fast motion & dark scenes and didn't really notice it when people were talking but I haven't really given BluRay much of a look yet as I mostly watch sports/cable tv.

I recorded 10 minutes of NFL, NHL, MLB, and some Tennis on clay just to test the TV. I only saw it on my NFL recording and as I said I saw it on the News, SportsNation an ESPN talk/highlight show, and also a Live Talk Show in real time, so it's not just DVR recordings either.

It's not my cable box because I have 2 cable boxes and I have the same episode of SportsNation on both, and the weird motion happens on both in the same parts of the show, but not all the way through.

I streamed a video to a Chromecast and never saw it, but it's random so I suppose it possibly could happen as I use it more, or maybe not, hard to say.

I just haven't had a lot of time with the tv yet.

I tried HDMI3 and it still happened. It's not necessarily an audio sync issue since I saw it happen with a football player backpedaling (so it was just motion) and I don't plan on using ARC the way my setup is anyways. When it does happen the audio isn't out of sync, the motion of the person's head, body, or lips just looks odd.

Does anyone use Game mode as their normal viewing mode for everything? Is that normal?
Iceman321 is offline  
post #3644 of 3653 Old Yesterday, 12:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
johnfull's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 792
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Game Mode bypasses a lot of circuitry to avoid lag time between a user command and
the action on the screen. That is why I was thinking you might have a processor problem.
Iceman321 likes this.
johnfull is online now  
post #3645 of 3653 Old Yesterday, 01:39 PM
Newbie
 
Iceman321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnfull View Post
Game Mode bypasses a lot of circuitry to avoid lag time between a user command and
the action on the screen. That is why I was thinking you might have a processor problem.
Since I haven't watched much BluRay yet, and so far it hasn't happened in Movie mode with a BluRay or my Chromecast for that matter, maybe I should try other sources besides cable to maybe rule out my TV being the actual problem?

I just watched 30 minutes of a slow movie BluRay with a lot of dialog in movie mode and so far it's working fine, so maybe it's my cable tv source, and not the tv itself.

I will try some Over The Air tv tonight and record the same show on my cable dvr and see if there is a difference. If my OTA is fine, I would think my cable tv source is the problem? Does that make sense?

I will have to watch cable in Game mode if that's the case I suppose.
Iceman321 is offline  
post #3646 of 3653 Old Yesterday, 01:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
johnfull's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 792
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 51
It's wise to use a process of elimination.
Also, these TVs seem to be adaptive and any glitch might work itself out.
In other words, take the time to figure it out, but don't wait too long if
you think you will need an exchange for a new set. Keep us posted!
Iceman321 likes this.
johnfull is online now  
post #3647 of 3653 Old Yesterday, 03:30 PM
Newbie
 
Iceman321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnfull View Post
It's wise to use a process of elimination.
Also, these TVs seem to be adaptive and any glitch might work itself out.
In other words, take the time to figure it out, but don't wait too long if
you think you will need an exchange for a new set. Keep us posted!
Right, I will try as many sources as possible as time allows.

Are there some good settings for Game mode just to watch cable tv? I tried setting up my Game Mode like I have Movie Mode setup color wise etc but it doesn't look as good.

Any suggestions on settings for Game mode in case my problem is my cable tv and I end up having to watch cable in Game Mode?
Iceman321 is offline  
post #3648 of 3653 Old Yesterday, 03:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
johnfull's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 792
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 51
I have a Game Mode in this thread.
It will always oversaturate color and be too contrasty.
That's what games require, plus less processing to improve the picture.
There is no way you should have to use Game mode for cable.
If it is glitching a lot -- once in a while is normal -- call your cable company.
The other settings here are independent of each other and can be tried out as well.

Sharp UQ17U Calibrations

You can turn off the Motion and Film and Active Contrast without doing damage to the settings...
Iceman321 likes this.

Last edited by johnfull; Yesterday at 03:43 PM.
johnfull is online now  
post #3649 of 3653 Old Yesterday, 07:09 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 11,794
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 431
Cleveland Plasma is online now  
post #3650 of 3653 Old Today, 04:44 AM
Newbie
 
Iceman321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnfull View Post
Keep us posted!
So I finally figured it out.

It didn't happen when I watched OTA tv and did when I watched the same show on cable. So I pretty much ruled out the tv. I realized I never checked my audio receivers picture settings because I don't ever remember changing them. Turns out somehow or someone turned on Film mode and some Digital NR on my receiver so it was processing the picture before my TV was, and then my TV was doubling up on the processing creating my weird issue! I turned off all video processing on my receiver and my problem is fixed!

Thanks for taking the time to go through this with me Johnfull. Also thanks to everyone in the thread for their settings and advice. I do love this TV and bought it after reading this whole thread.

Now I'm free to try some of Johnfull's and rlindo's settings. I still do like Avmanic's which is what I have right now but I'm excited to try the other guys settings!
Iceman321 is offline  
post #3651 of 3653 Old Today, 05:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
johnfull's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 792
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 51
That's great news!
Iceman321 likes this.
johnfull is online now  
post #3652 of 3653 Old Today, 06:47 AM
Senior Member
 
Hubertoliver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iceman321 View Post
Just got the 70SQ. I'm starting off with Avmanic's Movie settings which I'm really starting to like (I plan on trying rlindo and johnfull's settings also, but I want to give each person's settings a week or so of experiment), but I have a problem intermittently with some kind of weird stutter or jitter sometimes for example when a Newscaster or a SportsCenter anchor has the camera on them and they move their head a little bit it looks weird, sometimes I can see this "stutter jitter" (for lack of a better term) when they talk also, but not always. I did see it also on one football player who was running backwards, but it didn't happen to everyone running. The only thing that worked to fix this weird motion stutter/jitter was to put the TV in GAME Mode. When I did that, this stutter problem was gone. Why is this happening? How can I fix it in other modes?

I tried changing all of the movie mode motion enhancement settings (not the color settings) to make them the same as Game mode thinking that might help, but this didn't stop the stutter/jitter I have.
Does anyone have any ideas or suggestions for me to fix this problem in Movie mode? Or any other mode for that matter.

I have found that with my Pioneer if I upconvert the video through it beyond 1080p it causes the same problem you are experiencing.

Army Rangers lead the way!

Pioneer SC-1523K, Sony BDP-S6200, Sharp Q+ 60" display, Monster Power HDP IR 2550, Klipsch Quintet SL, Klipsch Sub 12

Last edited by Hubertoliver; Today at 06:53 AM.
Hubertoliver is online now  
post #3653 of 3653 Old Today, 07:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,728
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 279
Chad B will be here Wed. Need to talk to my buddy and see if he still wants to swap my VT50 for his 70" SQ15U.

Got some decisions to make...

65" VT50 / BDP-S6200
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200
gadgtfreek is online now  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
picture , Sharp 80 Inch Le650 Class Aquos Smart Led Tv , Sharp Aquos Quattron 70 Inch Class 3d Tv 2 Pairs Of Active 3d Glassses , Sharp He Lc 70ud1u 70 Inch Aquos 4k Ultra Hd 3d Smart Led Tv , smartcentral
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off