2014 Sharp AQUOS Line-Up - Page 127 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews > Display Devices > LCD Flat Panel Displays > 2014 Sharp AQUOS Line-Up

LCD Flat Panel Displays

jhughy2010's Avatar jhughy2010
10:05 AM Liked: 92
post #3781 of 4355
08-22-2014 | Posts: 1,071
Joined: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by nightnday View Post
I get terrible lip sync issues with the 60" LC-60SQ15U in movie mode through my avr =( game mode its not noticeable.. Talked to a rep today he told me the audio/video processing may be slow but since the tv speakers are working they don't support 3rd party devices. Which I understand but I never had this issue with a dlp, plasma or projector. I also explained that to the rep I was even willing to spend a bit more and possibly upgrade to the 4k model they wouldn't do that nor did he know if it has the same issues.. Guess im stuck using game mode sucks that I got this from pc richard so I can't return it never again.

If anyone knows a fix let me know not sure if this is a common problem with lcd/led tvs.
Very easy solution I had the same issue (not really an issue it is normal with AVRs). Your AVR has a setting for audio delay. You want to adjust it until the audio and video line up. It usually adjusts in increments of frames. My AVR (Pioneer) had to be adjusted pretty drastically but it is perfect now.

What John said may work as well. You might try ARC and then set the AVR to "auto" for audio delay. That didn't work for me. I had to manually adjust the audio delay in my AVR settings.
nightnday's Avatar nightnday
04:03 PM Liked: 10
post #3782 of 4355
08-22-2014 | Posts: 22
Joined: Jul 2012
I'll give a shot I'm pretty sure I already have it hooked up through the ARC but I will look for the audio delay option in the AVR thanks for the advice.
mefan101's Avatar mefan101
04:39 PM Liked: 13
post #3783 of 4355
08-22-2014 | Posts: 141
Joined: May 2014
I heard Sharp TVs have high input lag. Is this true? I thought turn turning of the motion interpolation would decrease it.
johnfull's Avatar johnfull
05:17 PM Liked: 96
post #3784 of 4355
08-22-2014 | Posts: 1,451
Joined: May 2006
You're right that turning off as many processor functions as possible speeds it up.
Using Game mode bypasses as many as possible.
Lag is not a problem with normal programming, once the delay is dealt with.
HDTV has a lag just to buffer the image and 4K will be 4X worse...
mefan101's Avatar mefan101
05:24 PM Liked: 13
post #3785 of 4355
08-22-2014 | Posts: 141
Joined: May 2014
Is Game Mode a setting in the Advanced Settings menu? Doesn't that ruin the picture?
johnfull's Avatar johnfull
05:30 PM Liked: 96
post #3786 of 4355
08-22-2014 | Posts: 1,451
Joined: May 2006
It's not advanced -- it's the top menu item that determines everything else beyond.
Each setting -- Game, Movie, etc. can be tailored how you want it.
You shouldn't need Game mode for non-game viewing, but it will eliminate the most lag.
Lag issues can be dealt with better in normal viewing with delay in the audio elsewhere.
mefan101's Avatar mefan101
05:37 PM Liked: 13
post #3787 of 4355
08-22-2014 | Posts: 141
Joined: May 2014
Ok
jinj's Avatar jinj
11:51 PM Liked: 13
post #3788 of 4355
08-22-2014 | Posts: 151
Joined: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhughy2010 View Post
The Sharp SmartCentral Netflix app works fine on these TV's.
I find the picture quality of the Netflix app on these Sharp TVs to be quite poor, soft and fuzzy.

The films are listed as HD, which I assume to be and looks like 720p or less, and for some reason looks poor.

On my Sony Bluray player HD is 720p and SuperHD is 1080p.

Why doesn't the Sharp TV have SuperHD 1080p as an option?

Vudu HDX looks and sounds great on the tv.
johnfull's Avatar johnfull
03:22 AM Liked: 96
post #3789 of 4355
08-23-2014 | Posts: 1,451
Joined: May 2006
Have you tried going in through the browser instead of the app?
Just a process of elimination. Everything should play as 1080p...
jhughy2010's Avatar jhughy2010
07:55 AM Liked: 92
post #3790 of 4355
08-23-2014 | Posts: 1,071
Joined: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by jinj View Post
I find the picture quality of the Netflix app on these Sharp TVs to be quite poor, soft and fuzzy.

The films are listed as HD, which I assume to be and looks like 720p or less, and for some reason looks poor.

On my Sony Bluray player HD is 720p and SuperHD is 1080p.

Why doesn't the Sharp TV have SuperHD 1080p as an option?

Vudu HDX looks and sounds great on the tv.
The new smart central app definitely plays Netflix in 1080p when the content is superhd. I've compared the quality of the app (House of Cards) to the quality of a device that actually says "superhd" and the quality is identical. I've also compared it to a device that only does 720p and the quality is much better. Long story short I do believe the app does 1080p. With that said, I don't use the Netflix app or any other app in the smart central. Pandora is buggy to say the least, Netflix isn't easy to search and obviously there is no way to get DD+ to the AVR via the optical out or ARC. So I stick with my Metro app on Windows 8.1 HTPC for Netflix. It streams flawless superHD and of course DD+ bitstream to the AVR.
johnfull's Avatar johnfull
09:02 AM Liked: 96
post #3791 of 4355
08-23-2014 | Posts: 1,451
Joined: May 2006
I use the YouTube app and it works very well -- high quality and intuitive interface -- best to be hoped for without a keyboard.
jinj's Avatar jinj
09:07 AM Liked: 13
post #3792 of 4355
08-23-2014 | Posts: 151
Joined: Jul 2007
I'll do some more comparisons with the Netflix apps, maybe it just takes longer to buffer and ramp up to full quality.

I will also check the bandwidth used. thanks

I tried to use the browser, which is quite painful to use, wouldn't even go to the www.netflix.com home page.
Hubertoliver's Avatar Hubertoliver
07:52 PM Liked: 33
post #3793 of 4355
08-23-2014 | Posts: 279
Joined: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhughy2010 View Post
The new smart central app definitely plays Netflix in 1080p when the content is superhd. I've compared the quality of the app (House of Cards) to the quality of a device that actually says "superhd" and the quality is identical. I've also compared it to a device that only does 720p and the quality is much better. Long story short I do believe the app does 1080p. With that said, I don't use the Netflix app or any other app in the smart central. Pandora is buggy to say the least, Netflix isn't easy to search and obviously there is no way to get DD+ to the AVR via the optical out or ARC. So I stick with my Metro app on Windows 8.1 HTPC for Netflix. It streams flawless superHD and of course DD+ bitstream to the AVR.

Using optical out does give you DD+ to your AVR. I can't get my ARC to work.
jhughy2010's Avatar jhughy2010
06:05 AM Liked: 92
post #3794 of 4355
08-24-2014 | Posts: 1,071
Joined: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hubertoliver View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhughy2010 View Post
The new smart central app definitely plays Netflix in 1080p when the content is superhd. I've compared the quality of the app (House of Cards) to the quality of a device that actually says "superhd" and the quality is identical. I've also compared it to a device that only does 720p and the quality is much better. Long story short I do believe the app does 1080p. With that said, I don't use the Netflix app or any other app in the smart central. Pandora is buggy to say the least, Netflix isn't easy to search and obviously there is no way to get DD+ to the AVR via the optical out or ARC. So I stick with my Metro app on Windows 8.1 HTPC for Netflix. It streams flawless superHD and of course DD+ bitstream to the AVR.

Using optical out does give you DD+ to your AVR. I can't get my ARC to work.
Ummm... no it doesn't.
Hubertoliver's Avatar Hubertoliver
08:20 AM Liked: 33
post #3795 of 4355
08-24-2014 | Posts: 279
Joined: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhughy2010 View Post
Ummm... no it doesn't.
I can promise you mine does. Have you changed the audio output on the display to 5.1 DD+?
jhughy2010's Avatar jhughy2010
08:50 AM Liked: 92
post #3796 of 4355
08-24-2014 | Posts: 1,071
Joined: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hubertoliver View Post
I can promise you mine does. Have you changed the audio output on the display to 5.1 DD+?
A few thousand posts ago we talked about this. Unless this was something new in one of the firmware updates I don't think it is possible. However, seeing is believing so please post a picture of your AVR's display and the setting on the Sharp display so that we can all enjoy DD+

DD+ is not supported via optical (SPDIF), only HDMI. This article explains near the end what kind of connector is required.

Furthermore, this article explains that if you are connecting a device that is DD+ to an AVR and all you have is optical, you will still be able to listen to DD+, however, it will be down converted to 640 Kbps Dolby Digital.
Hubertoliver's Avatar Hubertoliver
08:59 AM Liked: 33
post #3797 of 4355
08-24-2014 | Posts: 279
Joined: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhughy2010 View Post
A few thousand posts ago we talked about this. Unless this was something new in one of the firmware updates I don't think it is possible. However, seeing is believing so please post a picture of your AVR's display and the setting on the Sharp display so that we can all enjoy DD+

DD+ is not supported via optical (SPDIF), only HDMI. This article explains near the end what kind of connector is required.

Furthermore, this article explains that if you are connecting a device that is DD+ to an AVR and all you have is optical, you will still be able to listen to DD+, however, it will be down converted to 640 Kbps Dolby Digital.

I stand corrected ..it displays DD. My bad.
jhughy2010's Avatar jhughy2010
09:01 AM Liked: 92
post #3798 of 4355
08-24-2014 | Posts: 1,071
Joined: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hubertoliver View Post
I stand corrected ..it displays DD. My bad.
Oh ok... as mine does. I do however, think it is dumb that ARC doesn't support DD+
Hubertoliver's Avatar Hubertoliver
09:04 AM Liked: 33
post #3799 of 4355
08-24-2014 | Posts: 279
Joined: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhughy2010 View Post
Oh ok... as mine does. I do however, think it is dumb that ARC doesn't support DD+

I would just like to figure out why I can't get the ARC to work!
johnfull's Avatar johnfull
11:52 AM Liked: 96
post #3800 of 4355
08-24-2014 | Posts: 1,451
Joined: May 2006
Can you play DTS-HD? It is 7.1, but will automatically play as 5.1 without loss of data at 24/96.
DTS on DVDs has always been better than the standard Dolby track. Dolby True HD is NOT
backward-compatible and will lose the center channel information if played on older equipment.
DTS-HD sounds perfect in the 5.1 -- downconverted to 24/96, I think.
Just a suggestion to those having trouble with DD.
My old Yamaha amp doesn't have HDMI, so either coax or optical supplies it with the DTS signal
and makes a flawless soundstage from either BluRay or DVD DTS. My two cents.
This has to do with Aquos because I have the BluRay fed directly to the Yamaha amp via coax
and to the UQ17u via HDMI without use of the ARC, it plays in perfect synch...
jinj's Avatar jinj
07:13 PM Liked: 13
post #3801 of 4355
08-24-2014 | Posts: 151
Joined: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hubertoliver View Post
I would just like to figure out why I can't get the ARC to work!
Depending on the TV, you need to use either HDMI 3 or 1.
ntdouglas's Avatar ntdouglas
08:39 PM Liked: 10
post #3802 of 4355
08-24-2014 | Posts: 31
Joined: Dec 2009
Guys I have the 60SQ15U. I also have a Panasonic 4k upscaling BD player. When I watch a standard BD(non 3d) with 4k upscaling enabled on the player the tv reports 2160p with excellent pq. But I get sound drops every 5-10 seconds making it unwatchable. When I disable 4k on the player I get the same pq (I think) no sound drops but the tv reports 1080p. Dvr and BD player all hook up to a Sony CT770 avr soundbar via hdmi which supports 4k/3d. The final link to the tv I'm using hdmi port 3 for the arc function. Should I be using hdmi port 1 which I believe has support for 4k content? Has anybody tried using a 4k upscaling BD player on these sets with success? Could it be an audio setting on the player when upscaling? Or is it the tv also trying to upscale the upscaled content? Any replies with thoughts/experience would be much appreciated.
pigpen33's Avatar pigpen33
08:45 PM Liked: 14
post #3803 of 4355
08-24-2014 | Posts: 49
Joined: Nov 2006
I snapped a few photos and circled the white spots that are starting to appear on my 70" SQ. Right now there are about 12 spots only visible during completely white screens, but no issues when it isn't white. Will give it some time, but I'll definitely call for an exchange.
Attached: Image-1-2.jpg (70.6 KB)  Image-1.jpg (68.1 KB) 
jhughy2010's Avatar jhughy2010
10:16 PM Liked: 92
post #3804 of 4355
08-24-2014 | Posts: 1,071
Joined: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by ntdouglas View Post
Guys I have the 60SQ15U. I also have a Panasonic 4k upsclaing BD player. When I watch a standard BD(non 3d) with 4k upscaling enabled on the player the tv reports 2160p with excellent pq. But I get sound drops every 5-10 seconds making it unwatchable. When I disable 4k on the player I get the same pq (I think) no sound drops but the tv reports 1080p. Dvr and BD player all hook up to a Sony CT770 avr soundbar via hdmi which supports 4k/3d. The final link to the tv I'm using hdmi port 3 for the arc function. Should I be using hdmi port 1 which I believe has support for 4k content? Has anybody tried using a 4k upscaling BD player on these sets with success? Could it be an audio setting on the player when upscaling? Or is it the tv also trying to upscale the upscaled content? Any replies with thoughts/experience would be much appreciated.
I'm kind of at a loss for what the problem is. Perhaps you ought to set your BD player to decode the audio and see if that fixes the problem. If it is sending bitstream audio to your TV and your TV is trying to send that same audio via ARC than I bet there is some sort of bottleneck. Remember, ARC only supports DD at best (so there won't be DTS-HD or trueHD). See if there is a setting in your BD player for "encoded" audio or just simply Dolby Digital.
mad1ben2
11:28 AM Liked: 0
post #3805 of 4355
08-25-2014 | Posts: 4
Joined: Aug 2014
New here... searched and only found where soopergreg said he'd be happy to supply his personal settings to anyone wanting them... sent him PMs a week ago but he doesn't seem to frequent this site any longer.. does anyone have his setting for this tv? Thx! Scott
johnfull's Avatar johnfull
02:58 PM Liked: 96
post #3806 of 4355
08-25-2014 | Posts: 1,451
Joined: May 2006
I have these that you are free to use -- most people have found them good:

Sharp UQ17U Calibrations

The Dynamic setting is very bright and strong. The User setting is much softer but also good.
ntdouglas's Avatar ntdouglas
07:31 PM Liked: 10
post #3807 of 4355
08-25-2014 | Posts: 31
Joined: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhughy2010 View Post
I'm kind of at a loss for what the problem is. Perhaps you ought to set your BD player to decode the audio and see if that fixes the problem. If it is sending bitstream audio to your TV and your TV is trying to send that same audio via ARC than I bet there is some sort of bottleneck. Remember, ARC only supports DD at best (so there won't be DTS-HD or trueHD). See if there is a setting in your BD player for "encoded" audio or just simply Dolby Digital.
The BD player is plugged into the Sony ct770 avr via hdmi. Then out from the 770 to my Sharp via hdmi. Its my understanding that the 770 processes the sound and then sends video up to the tv right? Right now the player is set to bitstream. I don't know if theres an option on the player for encoding. I will check it out. Wouldn't setting the player to Dolby Digital be downgrading the sound? The 770 has support for the latest sound formats.
jhughy2010's Avatar jhughy2010
08:44 PM Liked: 92
post #3808 of 4355
08-25-2014 | Posts: 1,071
Joined: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by ntdouglas View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhughy2010 View Post
I'm kind of at a loss for what the problem is. Perhaps you ought to set your BD player to decode the audio and see if that fixes the problem. If it is sending bitstream audio to your TV and your TV is trying to send that same audio via ARC than I bet there is some sort of bottleneck. Remember, ARC only supports DD at best (so there won't be DTS-HD or trueHD). See if there is a setting in your BD player for "encoded" audio or just simply Dolby Digital.
The BD player is plugged into the Sony ct770 avr via hdmi. Then out from the 770 to my Sharp via hdmi. Its my understanding that the 770 processes the sound and then sends video up to the tv right? Right now the player is set to bitstream. I don't know if theres an option on the player for encoding. I will check it out. Wouldn't setting the player to Dolby Digital be downgrading the sound? The 770 has support for the latest sound formats.
Oh ok I totally misunderstood the problem. I don't even know what I was thinking. Try the other HDMI port and see if the problem persists.
Hubertoliver's Avatar Hubertoliver
09:31 PM Liked: 33
post #3809 of 4355
08-25-2014 | Posts: 279
Joined: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jinj View Post
Depending on the TV, you need to use either HDMI 3 or 1.

ARC is HDMI 3 of which I have connected to. I have tried different cables, checked and rechecked settings and still nothing. Optical output works fine.
jinj's Avatar jinj
12:12 AM Liked: 13
post #3810 of 4355
08-26-2014 | Posts: 151
Joined: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hubertoliver View Post
ARC is HDMI 3 of which I have connected to. I have tried different cables, checked and rechecked settings and still nothing. Optical output works fine.
What isn't working, no Netlix/Vudu/Youtube app works, none of them?

I had an issue with Vudu not working, had to go into the settings (the poorly organised settings), set ARC to auto again, made it work ok.

What receiver do you use?
Tags: picture , Sharp 80 Inch Le650 Class Aquos Smart Led Tv , Sharp Aquos Quattron 70 Inch Class 3d Tv 2 Pairs Of Active 3d Glassses , Sharp He Lc 70ud1u 70 Inch Aquos 4k Ultra Hd 3d Smart Led Tv , smartcentral

Gear in this thread - Le650 by PriceGrabber.com
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3