2014 Sharp AQUOS Line-Up - Page 139 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4141 of 4154 Old 11-23-2014, 03:39 PM
Senior Member
 
Hubertoliver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jsaw View Post
This is my 60tq15u. This is my first led tv my previous was a toshiba dlp. I was wondering if this is acceptable or should I return it. The first picture is the setting the backlight is normally at when watching tv. The second is the backlight all the way up. Thanks in advance for your help.
I would have to say "yes" that appears normal.

Army Rangers lead the way!

Pioneer SC-1523K, OPPO-103, Sharp Q+ 60" display, Monster Power HDP IR 2550, Klipsch Quintet SL, Klipsch Sub 12
Hubertoliver is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4142 of 4154 Old 11-23-2014, 03:43 PM
Senior Member
 
Hubertoliver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhughy2010 View Post
Hey guys... I cannot get my SQ to connect wirelessly to my router. For the past few months I've used Ethernet but my new receiver doesn't come with WIFI so I had to re-purpose my SQ's Ethernet cord thinking that I wouldn't have a problem connecting the SQ to my wireless router. Any suggestions? I am out of router outputs as they are all being used by my HTPC/Server/Receiver and phone. Would really like to just connect the SQ using WIFI.
Did it find your router when searching for an access point?

Army Rangers lead the way!

Pioneer SC-1523K, OPPO-103, Sharp Q+ 60" display, Monster Power HDP IR 2550, Klipsch Quintet SL, Klipsch Sub 12
Hubertoliver is offline  
post #4143 of 4154 Old 11-23-2014, 04:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
jhughy2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 933
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 234 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by jehill View Post
I find the description of your configuration confusing. Was your SQ's Ethernet cord originally connected to an Ethernet jack on your receiver and the WIFI in the receiver connected to your router? If your new receiver doesn't come with WIFI, what is your SQ's Ethernet cord connected to now?
Sorry about that. My new receiver is internet capable but does not come with WIFI. Because of this, I unplugged my router from the SQ and plugged that same Ethernet cable into my receiver. Obviously I did this because I thought that I'd have no problem connecting the SQ to the router wirelessly.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hubertoliver View Post
Did it find your router when searching for an access point?
When I attempt to set up a connection on the SQ it does not discover my wireless router at all. I am pretty sure I am attempting to connect properly on both the SQ and the router side. I press the WPS button until it begins to blink but the SQ still doesn't discover it.

Living room theater set-up:  
AVR: Pioneer VSX-1124-K.
Speakers/Sub: (4) NHT Classic Two and an NHT TwoC center + PSA-XV15 subwoofer.
HTPC: z97 mobo, 16GB mem, i5-4440, SSD+HD, LG BD drive, Win 8.1 pro w/WMC + MB3.
Content sources: OTA Winegard HD7698P, Amazon Fire TV Stick, Netflix etc.
HDTV: Sharp LC-60SQ15U (ehhh).
jhughy2010 is offline  
post #4144 of 4154 Old 11-23-2014, 07:11 PM
Senior Member
 
Hubertoliver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhughy2010 View Post
Sorry about that. My new receiver is internet capable but does not come with WIFI. Because of this, I unplugged my router from the SQ and plugged that same Ethernet cable into my receiver. Obviously I did this because I thought that I'd have no problem connecting the SQ to the router wirelessly.



When I attempt to set up a connection on the SQ it does not discover my wireless router at all. I am pretty sure I am attempting to connect properly on both the SQ and the router side. I press the WPS button until it begins to blink but the SQ still doesn't discover it.
I would attempt a manual setup on the wireless.

Army Rangers lead the way!

Pioneer SC-1523K, OPPO-103, Sharp Q+ 60" display, Monster Power HDP IR 2550, Klipsch Quintet SL, Klipsch Sub 12
Hubertoliver is offline  
post #4145 of 4154 Old 11-24-2014, 03:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
johnfull's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,297
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 282 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Ask Sharp about the security protocol that is required.
They changed about a year ago -- my set just quit receiving WiFi till I switched the modem output.
jhughy2010 likes this.
johnfull is offline  
post #4146 of 4154 Old 11-24-2014, 09:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
jhughy2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 933
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 234 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnfull View Post
Ask Sharp about the security protocol that is required.
They changed about a year ago -- my set just quit receiving WiFi till I switched the modem output.
I'll tinkering around with it tomorrow thanks guys

Living room theater set-up:  
AVR: Pioneer VSX-1124-K.
Speakers/Sub: (4) NHT Classic Two and an NHT TwoC center + PSA-XV15 subwoofer.
HTPC: z97 mobo, 16GB mem, i5-4440, SSD+HD, LG BD drive, Win 8.1 pro w/WMC + MB3.
Content sources: OTA Winegard HD7698P, Amazon Fire TV Stick, Netflix etc.
HDTV: Sharp LC-60SQ15U (ehhh).
jhughy2010 is offline  
post #4147 of 4154 Old 11-24-2014, 12:58 PM
Member
 
canbonbon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HDMI 2.0 and 4K Receiver question

I recently got LC-80UQ17U TV. The sales person is trying to sell me a 4K upscaler built in Receiver (for $899) that is HDMI 2.0 capable. He says that would dramatically improve the picture on this this TV. As I see it the TV does not have a HDMI 2.0 port (or I at least I cannot find it in the manual). So not sure how it will improve? Could someone please help me understand if I need a 4K upscale Receiver or just a 4K pass thru receiver? The TV was currently connected to a non 4K capable receiver that has recently died so I am in the market for another one. He also mentioned that only port HDMI 1 is 4K capable so I should connect the receiver to that port because it supports HDMI 2.0. But the manual does not say that at all.

I would really appreciate if anyone has more information on this topic.

Thanks

Last edited by canbonbon; 11-24-2014 at 01:10 PM.
canbonbon is offline  
post #4148 of 4154 Old 11-24-2014, 01:16 PM
Senior Member
 
biglen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Drexel Hill,PA
Posts: 400
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 10
BB has the LC-70EQ10U on sale for $1499, which is $700 off the retail. I was ready to pull the trigger on the Vizio E700I-B3, which is also $1499, but only $100 off the retail. Would the Sharp be the better purchase? I don't want to assume, that just because the Sharp has a higher retail price, doesn't necessarily make it a better TV. I do a lot of gaming, and watch sports.
biglen is offline  
post #4149 of 4154 Old 11-24-2014, 02:43 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by canbonbon View Post
HDMI 2.0 and 4K Receiver question

I recently got LC-80UQ17U TV. The sales person is trying to sell me a 4K upscaler built in Receiver (for $899) that is HDMI 2.0 capable. He says that would dramatically improve the picture on this this TV. As I see it the TV does not have a HDMI 2.0 port (or I at least I cannot find it in the manual). So not sure how it will improve? Could someone please help me understand if I need a 4K upscale Receiver or just a 4K pass thru receiver? The TV was currently connected to a non 4K capable receiver that has recently died so I am in the market for another one. He also mentioned that only port HDMI 1 is 4K capable so I should connect the receiver to that port because it supports HDMI 2.0. But the manual does not say that at all.

I would really appreciate if anyone has more information on this topic.

Thanks
Nice TV canbonbon. I had to upgrade my AV Receiver as well for HDMI 2.0, but there are cheaper AV Receivers that support HDMI 2.0. You also will want to pick up a non-redmere HDMI 2.0 cable for ARC on HDMI 1. I'm running the Onkyo TX-NR636 for $300 less, but they are getting scarce. For $899 you should be able to run the TX-NR838 unless you want to go for a Denon or Pioneer Elite. Which receiver is he recommending you? I absolutely love the size of your TV.

In the manual it says specifically:

"(UQ/TQ/SQ series) Connect 4K signals (HDCP2.2) to the HDMI IN 1 terminal. These signals
will not be displayed if connected to the HDMI IN 2, 3, or 4 terminals.
For connecting the TV to AQUOS LINK-compatible equipment, use commercially available cables."

Sharp LC-70UD27U 70" 4K
wadalove is offline  
post #4150 of 4154 Old 11-24-2014, 04:22 PM
Member
 
canbonbon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Wadalove, you were right on the money. He is suggesting either Pioneer SC-81 or Denon X3100. Both would cost me $899 after a 10% off coupon so I can pick any. Not getting into which one is better of the two, I would like to know how does upscaling in a Receiver helps 80UQ? I was under the impression that I should get a 4K Pass thru receiver which would let the TV do the scaling. But he is telling me otherwise. Hence I wanted to hear opinion of others on this forum. Another thing I am not sure of (and maybe you can help me here), is HDMI 1 port on the UQ a HDMI 2.0 Port? I have not been able to find this anywhere I know it is HDCP 2.2 compliant but is it HDMI 2.0 as well?

Thanks for you tip on the non-redmere HDMI cable. I already have a non-Redmere cable (a bunch of them from Monoprice) but I was seriously looking into buying a Redmere one for about $10 from monoprice sale (and free shipping). Is there a reason why you are saying it must be non-redmere?

Thanks again.
canbonbon is offline  
post #4151 of 4154 Old 11-26-2014, 12:17 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Can someone tell me how I can play 4K media on my LC-70TQ15U? From what I understand the Youtube app and Netflix doesn't actually display the 4k content as true 4k? Is there any way to download something and play it on a usb device? Thanks in advance.
teohenwhy is offline  
post #4152 of 4154 Old 11-26-2014, 09:35 AM
Senior Member
 
mr b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Beltsville, MD
Posts: 404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I just picked up the 70TQ15U and was able to get a 2160p signal from my PC.

I'm considering going with a new Sony or Onkyo with 4K support only because it looks like the only way to get ARC back to my current receiver is to use HDMI3. With a 4k receiver I can just use HDMI1 for all my components.

I did notice that the manual states that only HDMI1 accepts a 4K signal, yet I see a display of 2160p when I use HDMI2 and 3. Is the 3840 x 2160 from my PC not an actual 4k signal? If HDMI3 could accept 4k, I wouldn't have to bother with upgrading my receiver.

Tony
mr b is offline  
post #4153 of 4154 Old 11-26-2014, 03:15 PM
Member
 
Brahmzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Oh the mysteries of Q+...
Brahmzy is offline  
post #4154 of 4154 Old 11-26-2014, 09:22 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Torn between the LC-70SQ15U and the Samsung UN65H7150. Replacing a 50" Samsung Plasma that is about 4 years old and a sports fan so looking for something that can handle sports.

Crutchfield has some great deals right now (no sales tax) as the LC-70SQ15U is 1699 and the Samsung UN65H7150 is 1499.

Being that I'm replacing a 50" the gain on even a 65" is nearly 70% in screen area and 70" is 90+

Currently with the plasma, it does reflect a lot of light in my living room which is why I was drawn to Sharp with the Matte screen, but then I saw the Samsung and that picture does look amazing.

Thoughts / Suggestions greatly appreciated.
tgolf2k01 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
picture , Sharp 80 Inch Le650 Class Aquos Smart Led Tv , Sharp Aquos Quattron 70 Inch Class 3d Tv 2 Pairs Of Active 3d Glassses , Sharp He Lc 70ud1u 70 Inch Aquos 4k Ultra Hd 3d Smart Led Tv , smartcentral
Gear in this thread - Le650 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off