2014 Sharp AQUOS Line-Up - Page 146 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #4351 of 4375 Old 01-22-2015, 08:21 AM
Member
 
missgamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello everyone,

I have the Sharp 80uq. Are there any settings for x.v. Color? I have been using Johnfull's Dynamic setting which I love. Every time I watch a movie on my media player the TV automatically switches to x.v. Color. I was wondering if anyone has any settings for this. Thank you.

Lisa
missgamer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4352 of 4375 Old 01-22-2015, 08:32 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi everyone! I'm from Mexico, last month i bought sharp LC60SQ17U, i have clouding but i really dont care, i have opc on and clouding is not so evident, but today i was watching a movie from netflix on xbox one, and i saw vertical lines, anyone had this problem? Sorry about my english!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image_1421983655027.jpg
Views:	76
Size:	140.3 KB
ID:	496194   Click image for larger version

Name:	image_1421983761172.jpg
Views:	68
Size:	114.9 KB
ID:	496234   Click image for larger version

Name:	image_1421983826338.jpg
Views:	62
Size:	272.8 KB
ID:	496242  
Yayi1991 is offline  
post #4353 of 4375 Old 01-23-2015, 09:49 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yayi1991 View Post
Hi everyone! I'm from Mexico, last month i bought sharp LC60SQ17U, i have clouding but i really dont care, i have opc on and clouding is not so evident, but today i was watching a movie from netflix on xbox one, and i saw vertical lines, anyone had this problem? Sorry about my english!
Is that on all sources? if so might be a bad panel but maybe someone else on here with more knowledge can give you better info.

Last edited by reggie_; 01-23-2015 at 10:10 PM.
reggie_ is offline  
post #4354 of 4375 Old 01-23-2015, 09:59 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I changed my picture settings on my 60SQ15U let me know what you guys think.
The pictures do not do justice to how it looks in person, let me know if you would like me to post
my new picture settings.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0338[1].jpg
Views:	68
Size:	198.9 KB
ID:	498522   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0340[1].jpg
Views:	59
Size:	205.6 KB
ID:	498530   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0342[1].jpg
Views:	51
Size:	144.5 KB
ID:	498538   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0343[1].jpg
Views:	44
Size:	157.3 KB
ID:	498546   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0344[1].jpg
Views:	71
Size:	143.4 KB
ID:	498554  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0350[1].jpg
Views:	53
Size:	158.8 KB
ID:	498562   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0355[1].jpg
Views:	52
Size:	158.3 KB
ID:	498570   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0347[1].jpg
Views:	48
Size:	252.5 KB
ID:	498578  
reggie_ is offline  
post #4355 of 4375 Old 01-24-2015, 04:25 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by reggie_ View Post
Is that on all sources? if so might be a bad panel but maybe someone else on here with more knowledge can give you better info.
It happens in all sources even in live tv, i called to support, hope in monday then will fix it, thanks for your reply.
Yayi1991 is offline  
post #4356 of 4375 Old 01-25-2015, 08:20 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I bought the Sharp Aquos LC-65LE645U and I'm having tremendous problems with the TV's IR sensor.

I have to point the cable and TV remote directly at the 1/2" sensor for it to work properly. Otherwise, the response is shoddy, random, slow, or non-existant. It's very strange. I've owned dozens of TV's that all work fine as long as the remote is pointed generally at the TV. Not this one, the IR sensor is so picky that I have to literally be within a few degrees of the sensor line-of-sight in order to get anything to happen.
biodole is offline  
post #4357 of 4375 Old 01-25-2015, 02:19 PM
Member
 
jehill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by biodole View Post
I bought the Sharp Aquos LC-65LE645U and I'm having tremendous problems with the TV's IR sensor.

I have to point the cable and TV remote directly at the 1/2" sensor for it to work properly. Otherwise, the response is shoddy, random, slow, or non-existant. It's very strange. I've owned dozens of TV's that all work fine as long as the remote is pointed generally at the TV. Not this one, the IR sensor is so picky that I have to literally be within a few degrees of the sensor line-of-sight in order to get anything to happen.
There couldn't be clear plastic covering it that you didn't remove when you received the set, could there?
jehill is offline  
post #4358 of 4375 Old 01-25-2015, 04:11 PM
Senior Member
 
Hubertoliver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 282
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Has anyone been having or had trouble with VUDU loading? My internet connection is okay.

Army Rangers lead the way!

Pioneer SC-1523K, OPPO-103, Sharp Q+ 60" display, Monster Power HDP IR 2550, Klipsch Quintet SL, Klipsch Sub 12
Hubertoliver is online now  
post #4359 of 4375 Old 01-26-2015, 01:37 AM
Member
 
Pentothal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by reggie_ View Post
I changed my picture settings on my 60SQ15U let me know what you guys think.
The pictures do not do justice to how it looks in person, let me know if you would like me to post
my new picture settings.
Looks really good/great. I'm seriously considering picking up this set.
Pentothal is offline  
post #4360 of 4375 Old 01-26-2015, 08:06 AM
Member
 
blue comet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by reggie_ View Post
I changed my picture settings on my 60SQ15U let me know what you guys think.
The pictures do not do justice to how it looks in person, let me know if you would like me to post
my new picture settings.

Reggie ... post them .. never hurts to try
blue comet is offline  
post #4361 of 4375 Old 01-27-2015, 08:13 AM
Member
 
jmacari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by blue comet View Post
Reggie ... post them .. never hurts to try

Yes, agreed...would like to try them on my 60SQ15U.....
jmacari is offline  
post #4362 of 4375 Old 01-27-2015, 08:35 AM
Member
 
Pentothal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmacari View Post
Yes, agreed...would like to try them on my 60SQ15U.....
Are you happy with your 60SQ?
Pentothal is offline  
post #4363 of 4375 Old 01-27-2015, 09:22 AM
Member
 
jmacari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pentothal View Post
Are you happy with your 60SQ?

Yes, very much so. I have had it for about a year; replaced a Samsung Plasma (moved into bedroom); I use these settings-
Sharp UQ17U Calibrations
jmacari is offline  
post #4364 of 4375 Old 01-27-2015, 09:45 AM
Member
 
Pentothal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmacari View Post
Yes, very much so. I have had it for about a year; replaced a Samsung Plasma (moved into bedroom); I use these settings-
Sharp UQ17U Calibrations
That is good to hear. I have read more threads about my upcoming TV purchase than any other product I've ever researched. I see that you are using Johnfull's UQ settings. I would be all over those if I can justify doubling the money for the 70" UQ. In some of the post it seemed that there was enough difference between the SQ and UQ that John's settings might not be best for the SQ. I saw Reggie's pictures and thought I'd be very happy to have that image quality in my home. Maybe I'll bite the bullet soon. I hope it won't be a huge mistake to not wait for the 2015s.

Thanks again for your feedback.

Charles
Pentothal is offline  
post #4365 of 4375 Old 01-27-2015, 01:22 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Hi everyone, I have a 70" UQ model and was wondering if anyone else has had this problem. I have a Mac Mini hooked up via HDMI. When I switch the TV to the HDMI that the Mac is hooked up to, and wake the machine up, it does not seem to begin transmitting the signal. I know the machine is awake, but the signal does not seem to transmit until I unplug and plug the HDMI cable back into the TV. Any ideas? I looked the the various settings menus, but did not see anything that jumped out at me (both in the TV and on the Mac). Any advice/guidance would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
boz151 is offline  
post #4366 of 4375 Old 01-27-2015, 08:12 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pentothal View Post
Looks really good/great. I'm seriously considering picking up this set.
Thank you good to hear that, its a really good set. I know there are better options out there but for the price I paid for it nothing else came close and I couldn't be happier. Once you tweak the picture it looks amazing and my pictures were from Dish source so with blu ray it looks even better. If you can find it for a good price go for it but being so close to the superbowl and new models coming out soon you might be able to grab the higher end model the UQ for about the price of the SQ

Quote:
Originally Posted by blue comet View Post
Reggie ... post them .. never hurts to try
Sure thing I will post sometime this week. I accidentaly reset my TV and so now im back to tweaking the picture settings. It was a combination of your settings and mines so hopefully I can get it to how I had it.
reggie_ is offline  
post #4367 of 4375 Old Yesterday, 05:03 PM
Member
 
kevgret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I received a notice that there is a new firmware update. The problem is it won't download and it won't let me watch Netflix until I update it...


This happened when I first bought the TV.. I manually updated the TV with a flash drive and it worked.


It sucks the auto download doesn't work.. and why block certain applications if you don't update?
kevgret is offline  
post #4368 of 4375 Unread Yesterday, 05:51 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevgret View Post
I received a notice that there is a new firmware update. The problem is it won't download and it won't let me watch Netflix until I update it...


This happened when I first bought the TV.. I manually updated the TV with a flash drive and it worked.


It sucks the auto download doesn't work.. and why block certain applications if you don't update?
Have you tried the manual download option. I tried it and it found a newer update but I do not want to download until I know what changes they made with the new update.

Edit: got this from sharp's website I wasn't aware the 60SQ15U had a THX mode
This firmware improves the audio playback in the Pandora application. It also improves the backlight level when in THX AV Mode and input signal is switched from 4k to 2k. It also adds support for the IR Blaster accessory.

This firmware also contains all previous fixes and enhancements. Please see section 4-32 of the Operation Manual for the software update instructions.

For any LC70UD1U, LCxxLE650U, LCxxLE657U and LCxxC6500U models, this firmware is for models with Serial Numbers starting with "4xxxxxxxx". Please ensure you have the correct firmware version for your serial number before beginning the manual firmware upgrade via USB.

Version: 211U1412121

Last edited by reggie_; Yesterday at 06:15 PM.
reggie_ is offline  
post #4369 of 4375 Unread Yesterday, 06:05 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
New settings for the 60SQ15U

Av mode- movie
Backlight -8 (user preference depends on lighting conditions)

Contrast +31
Brightness +2
Color +2
Tint +4
Sharpness +10 (don't know if its me but 0 softens up the image)

Resolution enhanced = off (gives more pop to the image) user preference

Motion enhancement =120HZ High
Clear Picture = off
Cms hue
R +1
Y +1
G -1
C +12
B -15
M +1
Cms saturation
R -5
Y +9
G +7
C +10
B +9
M +15
Color temp Mid-low
R gain LO +10
G gain LO +15
B gain LO 0
R gain HI -1
G gain HI +17
B gain HI 0
Active contrast = standard
Gamma -1
Film mode= advanced +5

I don't think these provide the most accurate picture but colors do look good and pop, lots of detail in dark scenes and good blacks. Next on the list is some bias lighting to reduce eye strain at night. Hope these work for you
reggie_ is offline  
post #4370 of 4375 Unread Yesterday, 07:42 PM
Senior Member
 
mr b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Beltsville, MD
Posts: 413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by reggie_ View Post
Have you tried the manual download option. I tried it and it found a newer update but I do not want to download until I know what changes they made with the new update.

Edit: got this from sharp's website I wasn't aware the 60SQ15U had a THX mode
This firmware improves the audio playback in the Pandora application. It also improves the backlight level when in THX AV Mode and input signal is switched from 4k to 2k. It also adds support for the IR Blaster accessory.

This firmware also contains all previous fixes and enhancements. Please see section 4-32 of the Operation Manual for the software update instructions.

For any LC70UD1U, LCxxLE650U, LCxxLE657U and LCxxC6500U models, this firmware is for models with Serial Numbers starting with "4xxxxxxxx". Please ensure you have the correct firmware version for your serial number before beginning the manual firmware upgrade via USB.

Version: 211U1412121
Ugghh. I was able to get the firmware (site says date is 1/16/14??) to download but there's still no way to use the smartcentral app to control OTA broadcast channels. The app tells you to go to www.sharpusa.com/smartcentral (you actually have to add ".aspx" to the URL) but there's absolutely no info on that page, only some disclaimer links. I should note that on my last conversation with their support team, I was told this function would be made available in a future firmware update.

Only TV I've ever had that has no way of selecting a channel from a guide.
I wasn't aware of THX support either.
mr b is online now  
post #4371 of 4375 Unread Yesterday, 09:26 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Did you notice any improvements with the new firmware? any new apps or changes with the backlight? I do not use OTA im on Dish so can't comment on the smartcentral app. As far as I know only the UQ17U model has the THX mode. Movie mode is what is on our SQ.
reggie_ is offline  
post #4372 of 4375 Unread Yesterday, 09:44 PM
Senior Member
 
mr b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Beltsville, MD
Posts: 413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Haven't seen any noticeable change so far. As for Smartcentral there is a change - instead of no response when choosing a program, there is a message telling you to set up control of your STB in the menu. Supposedly you can set up the TV to control your STB. I've got a Tivo and haven't tried setting it up since I control everything with my Harmony.

I'll post if I notice any picture quality or setting changes.
mr b is online now  
post #4373 of 4375 Unread Yesterday, 10:10 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I guess that feature requires the use of a IR blaster that you have to order from sharp then you can use the smartcentral app on your phone or tablet to control the tv.
reggie_ is offline  
post #4374 of 4375 Unread Today, 10:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
johnfull's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,453
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 335 Post(s)
Liked: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevgret View Post
I received a notice that there is a new firmware update. The problem is it won't download and it won't let me watch Netflix until I update it...


This happened when I first bought the TV.. I manually updated the TV with a flash drive and it worked.


It sucks the auto download doesn't work.. and why block certain applications if you don't update?
The download worked for my UQ17U model -- it seemed to hang
at 67% for a long time, but that has been typical of past updates, too.
I don't see any changes in the picture quality over Dish satellite.
I haven't tried a BluRay or the Smart Central apps yet.
johnfull is offline  
post #4375 of 4375 Unread Today, 12:05 PM
Senior Member
 
Hubertoliver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 282
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 33
I updated last night and there does seem to be subtle difference and then again it could just be me.

Army Rangers lead the way!

Pioneer SC-1523K, OPPO-103, Sharp Q+ 60" display, Monster Power HDP IR 2550, Klipsch Quintet SL, Klipsch Sub 12
Hubertoliver is online now  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
picture , Sharp 80 Inch Le650 Class Aquos Smart Led Tv , Sharp Aquos Quattron 70 Inch Class 3d Tv 2 Pairs Of Active 3d Glassses , Sharp He Lc 70ud1u 70 Inch Aquos 4k Ultra Hd 3d Smart Led Tv , smartcentral
Gear in this thread - Le650 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off