2014 Sharp AQUOS Line-Up - Page 150 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #4471 of 4489 Old 04-26-2015, 07:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jsmiddleton4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 3,533
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 175 Post(s)
Liked: 41
IIM......

3D Avengers looked great. No artifacts noted. Only issue that I've noticed with 3D is if someone is sitting some distance from the TV they have to sync the glasses closer to the TV and then move back to their seat. Stay in sync onced paired. Don't seem to like attempting to pair if too far from the TV.

E.B. White said, "I arise in the morning torn between a desire to improve the world and a desire to enjoy the world. This makes it hard to plan the day."
jsmiddleton4 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4472 of 4489 Old 04-26-2015, 07:50 PM
Member
 
NCRod16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Hey Johnfull!

I haven't been on this thread for awhile. I came back on because my TV stopped recognizing my Wi Fi network. As a matter of fact, it finds none when I try to manually find a network. I see some discussion on here, but I didn't want to waste my time, trying to make heads or tails of it all. I figured you would know the scoop and provide some advice or suggestions. I changed nothing with my ISP or router. It just stopped connecting. Any advice to lead me in the right direction?

Also, I have recently noticed 3 "stuck pixels" on y 80UQ. They are not noticeable during regular viewing distance. I only notice them in a black screen and when I am directly in front of the TV. Should I be concerned of this issue? Will more pixels begin to stick? Any known remedies to correct with this model?

Thanks in advance!

Rodney
NCRod16 is offline  
post #4473 of 4489 Old 04-26-2015, 08:01 PM
Newbie
 
IIMII's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks for checking your set, jsmiddleton4.

I borrowed a friend's PS3 to test. There were no 3D artifacts. I figured that was that, then I tried my PS3 again and now there are no 3D artifacts on it either.

Very strange.
IIMII is offline  
post #4474 of 4489 Old 04-27-2015, 04:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
johnfull's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,485
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 347 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCRod16 View Post
Hey Johnfull!

I haven't been on this thread for awhile. I came back on because my TV stopped recognizing my Wi Fi network. As a matter of fact, it finds none when I try to manually find a network. I see some discussion on here, but I didn't want to waste my time, trying to make heads or tails of it all. I figured you would know the scoop and provide some advice or suggestions. I changed nothing with my ISP or router. It just stopped connecting. Any advice to lead me in the right direction?

Also, I have recently noticed 3 "stuck pixels" on y 80UQ. They are not noticeable during regular viewing distance. I only notice them in a black screen and when I am directly in front of the TV. Should I be concerned of this issue? Will more pixels begin to stick? Any known remedies to correct with this model?

Thanks in advance!

Rodney
Yikes, Rodney! Is the set still under warranty?
I had an issue with the WiFi that turned out to be a matter of protocol.
The set will work with some better than with others.
You can ask your internet provider for a different setting to work from.
As for stuck pixels, I've seen YouTube videos that supposedly un-stick
them, but I haven't had the need to try as yet.
It's been so long since I have monkeyed with the UQ set that I've
gotten forgetful. Keep us posted on your progress!
johnfull is offline  
post #4475 of 4489 Old 04-27-2015, 10:32 AM
Member
 
burts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Well ups is picking up my tv and amazon is sending me another one, thanks for being ignored...Peace out until next time avs
burts is offline  
post #4476 of 4489 Old 04-27-2015, 11:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
Jahjd2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 565
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Pretty sure my TV went bad yesterday. There's a dark, horizontal bad that runs about 1/3 of the screen starting from the bottom. It's darker on the left hand side, and gets lighter as it spans to the right. I'll try to upload a picture later today.



Sharp LC70SQ15U
Denon 4311ci
Ascend Acoustics Towers (NrT)
Ascend Horizon Center (NrT)
Definitive Technology Surrounds BP1.2X
Rythmik E15HP
Epik Empire
Jahjd2000 is offline  
post #4477 of 4489 Old 04-27-2015, 05:16 PM
Member
 
blue comet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCRod16 View Post
Hey Johnfull!

I haven't been on this thread for awhile. I came back on because my TV stopped recognizing my Wi Fi network. As a matter of fact, it finds none when I try to manually find a network. I see some discussion on here, but I didn't want to waste my time, trying to make heads or tails of it all. I figured you would know the scoop and provide some advice or suggestions. I changed nothing with my ISP or router. It just stopped connecting. Any advice to lead me in the right direction?

Also, I have recently noticed 3 "stuck pixels" on y 80UQ. They are not noticeable during regular viewing distance. I only notice them in a black screen and when I am directly in front of the TV. Should I be concerned of this issue? Will more pixels begin to stick? Any known remedies to correct with this model?

Thanks in advance!

Rodney

Rod ...can'T help with pixel problem but similar issue with connectivity. Got it to work by simply unplugging the tv and reconnecting a couple of minutes later.
blue comet is offline  
post #4478 of 4489 Old 04-30-2015, 01:31 PM
Member
 
hardware_failure's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Which of these Sharp TV's in the 70" size would be best for a conference room?

Thanks.
hardware_failure is offline  
post #4479 of 4489 Old 05-03-2015, 04:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
johnfull's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,485
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 347 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by hardware_failure View Post
Which of these Sharp TV's in the 70" size would be best for a conference room?

Thanks.
The UQ17U has the brightest picture.
356c likes this.
johnfull is offline  
post #4480 of 4489 Old 05-06-2015, 07:36 PM
Member
 
Roccoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi guys,

Anyone fully implement the smart central functionality with IR repeaters as I have seen mentioned a few places? Did you just use a normal iR repeater system and how did it work out?

Denon 2312 (cooled with a Cool Components Dual fan cooler w/ temp controller)
Toshiba Regza 46SV670U
Xfinity/Cisco RG200N HDTV/DVR
Sony BDP S590
PS3
MB Quart QLC 404 Mains
MB Quart QLC 304 Center
MB Quart Balcony rear surrounds
HSU VTF 1 MK2
Roccoman is offline  
post #4481 of 4489 Old 05-11-2015, 10:02 AM
Member
 
sailakfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Plano,TX
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Lc-70sq15u

Hello everyone,

I had been presented with an offer to by the 70SQ15U for $1300 brand new. We are about to move to a different house so recently sold our monster rear projection. The 70 might be a little over do for our room but I think we will get over the size. Apart from that, is $1300 a good price to pay for or get a little smaller 4K? Thanks

Last edited by sailakfan; 05-11-2015 at 10:47 AM.
sailakfan is offline  
post #4482 of 4489 Old 05-12-2015, 04:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jahjd2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 565
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 71
A few pages back I reported that my 70" SQ had developed a dark horizontal band across 1/3 of the bottom of the screen. I am a few weeks beyond the 1 year manufacturer warranty. Sharp determined it to be a total loss and has offered me a refurbished replacement for $300. I feel conflicted. On one hand it's nice Sharp is willing to work something out considering my warranty technically expired, on the other hand, it clearly is a faulty TV that broke just beyond my warranty so paying an additional $300 bucks feels...blah.

I'm wondering if I should fight the $300 or accept the $300 because it's a good compromise. I don't know there's a right answer so I'm posing this questions to gauge what others might do in this situation.

Sharp LC70SQ15U
Denon 4311ci
Ascend Acoustics Towers (NrT)
Ascend Horizon Center (NrT)
Definitive Technology Surrounds BP1.2X
Rythmik E15HP
Epik Empire
Jahjd2000 is offline  
post #4483 of 4489 Old 05-12-2015, 06:31 PM
Member
 
S_G7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jahjd2000 View Post
A few pages back I reported that my 70" SQ had developed a dark horizontal band across 1/3 of the bottom of the screen. I am a few weeks beyond the 1 year manufacturer warranty. Sharp determined it to be a total loss and has offered me a refurbished replacement for $300. I feel conflicted. On one hand it's nice Sharp is willing to work something out considering my warranty technically expired, on the other hand, it clearly is a faulty TV that broke just beyond my warranty so paying an additional $300 bucks feels...blah.

I'm wondering if I should fight the $300 or accept the $300 because it's a good compromise. I don't know there's a right answer so I'm posing this questions to gauge what others might do in this situation.
It doesn't hurt to try to get them to waive the $300, but go in knowing that it would be an act of good will and they technically don't have to. If they don't waive the $300, I would still pay it for the replacement. You likely won't find a factory refurbished 70" for anywhere near $300 from another source. Look at the $300 as the cost you would have payed for an extended warranty and move on. Or you could re-sell it for at least double your money to put towards another TV.
S_G7 is online now  
post #4484 of 4489 Old 05-12-2015, 07:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jahjd2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 565
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Thanks for your reply. That's what I'm leaning towards as well. A $300 70" TV is hard to come by.

Sharp LC70SQ15U
Denon 4311ci
Ascend Acoustics Towers (NrT)
Ascend Horizon Center (NrT)
Definitive Technology Surrounds BP1.2X
Rythmik E15HP
Epik Empire
Jahjd2000 is offline  
post #4485 of 4489 Old 05-13-2015, 04:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
johnfull's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,485
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 347 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by sailakfan View Post
Hello everyone,

I had been presented with an offer to by the 70SQ15U for $1300 brand new. We are about to move to a different house so recently sold our monster rear projection. The 70 might be a little over do for our room but I think we will get over the size. Apart from that, is $1300 a good price to pay for or get a little smaller 4K? Thanks
It sounds like a very good price.
Jahjd2000 likes this.
johnfull is offline  
post #4486 of 4489 Old Yesterday, 04:18 PM
Member
 
Badboyztn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I read somewhere that 4K devices should be plugged into HDMI 1, would i notice any difference in PQ if the source was not 4K. I have my Xfinity X1 box going into HDMI 1 on my LC70SQ15U. Is it okay there or should I move it to another HDMI port? Please Advise and Thanks in advance.
Badboyztn is offline  
post #4487 of 4489 Old Yesterday, 05:25 PM
Member
 
jehill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Badboyztn View Post
I read somewhere that 4K devices should be plugged into HDMI 1, would i notice any difference in PQ if the source was not 4K. I have my Xfinity X1 box going into HDMI 1 on my LC70SQ15U. Is it okay there or should I move it to another HDMI port? Please Advise and Thanks in advance.
I you ever get a 4K source, you should connect it to HDMI 1: however, until that time, there is no reason why you can't connect your X1 box to it.
jehill is online now  
post #4488 of 4489 Old Yesterday, 07:19 PM
Member
 
Badboyztn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jehill View Post
I you ever get a 4K source, you should connect it to HDMI 1: however, until that time, there is no reason why you can't connect your X1 box to it.
Great, Thanks for the input.
Badboyztn is offline  
post #4489 of 4489 Unread Today, 09:21 AM
Member
 
jehill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Badboyztn View Post
Great, Thanks for the input.
it was a pleasure to be of assistance!
jehill is online now  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
picture , Sharp 80 Inch Le650 Class Aquos Smart Led Tv , Sharp Aquos Quattron 70 Inch Class 3d Tv 2 Pairs Of Active 3d Glassses , Sharp He Lc 70ud1u 70 Inch Aquos 4k Ultra Hd 3d Smart Led Tv , smartcentral
Gear in this thread - Le650 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off