2014 Sharp AQUOS Line-Up - Page 158 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 188Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4711 of 4735 Old 12-21-2015, 06:21 PM
Member
 
356c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Mendocino County, Ca.
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Great questions, hopefully someone will chime in.

Best of luck
356c is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4712 of 4735 Old 12-21-2015, 09:52 PM
Senior Member
 
mr b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Beltsville, MD
Posts: 437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zameus View Post
Noob question here, but I've had my LC70TQ15U for about a year now. I have my AV receiver Onkyo tx-nr636 connected directly to my TV's HDMI 3 for ARC. However, I don't feel like I'm taking advantage of the TVs full video processing power. I've read that the TV can upscale close to 4K. How can I achieve this, and when I press input, what should display that will tell me that it's upscaling to "3k". Do I need to be viewing 4K movie which then transforms it to lower resolution that the TV can support? Do I need the new standard HDMI cable? Thank you and sorry for my lack of knoweldge on this topic/technology.
I've got the same TV and AVR so I'll chime in.

I feed my Onkyo to HDMI 1 of the Sharp.
The inputs to the Onkyo are:
  1. Dune HD-Duo (mainly because it can play bluray menus)
  2. Mede8er X3D 600 (x.v.color)(mainly for 3D though i hardly watch any)
  3. Nvidia Shield TV (for the 4K capabilities and ease of using Kodi)(HDCP 2.2)
  4. HTPC (Radeon 7790)
  5. Xbox One
  6. FiosTV (150Mb) via Tivo Premier
and occasionally an AFTV2 for Amazon and Netflix 4K. Also occasionally I use the screen mirror function with various tablets, phones and a Dell XPS18 but the function is extremely unreliable.
My media sources are primarily a 24TB Server 2012 R2 box and a Netgear 4Bay NAS



In the past I've used HDMI 3 with ARC but no longer need to. Had no problems getting audio via ARC (using 1st gen AFTV)


As for the TV's processing power question, I've been doing eyeball comparisons and have come to the conclusion that the TV does the best upconversion. Meaning, I leave the Onkyo set to passthrough and let the AVR do any needed upconversions. The TV will accept a 4K signal (albeit 30fps) so any source that is 4k gets sent thru as 4k and all others get upconverted by the Sharp.


IMHO, understanding that the TV is not displaying a true 3840x2160p picture, the order of quality I've seen so far is:


  1. Netflix and Amazon 4k via the AFTV2
  2. Netflix 4k via the Shield (No Amazon video)
  3. OTA network channels via Antenna (1080I)
  4. Mede8er 1080p (using x.v.color)
  5. Dune 1080p
  6. Shield 1080p (various sources BD's, mkv's, YouTube, etc)
  7. YouTube native to the TV.


These are just my personal opinions and you may get different results. Not sure what you mean by "3K" but I can tell you that to get an HDCP 2.2 compliant signal, you must use HDMI 3 of the Onkyo and HDMI 1 of the Sharp. Note that I can send a 3840 x 2160 signal from the PC to the TV via either of the 4k inputs on the TV or AVR. I've compared the quality of various media examples using this setup but the quality wasn't worth the effort.



I've had the TV for a year also, and have pretty much tried every possible setup in an attempt to get the best overall picture. Hope this helps, and feel free to ask about any particular setup.


Tony
Zameus likes this.
mr b is offline  
post #4713 of 4735 Old 12-21-2015, 11:29 PM
Member
 
Zameus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr b View Post
I've got the same TV and AVR so I'll chime in.

I feed my Onkyo to HDMI 1 of the Sharp.
The inputs to the Onkyo are:
  1. Dune HD-Duo (mainly because it can play bluray menus)
  2. Mede8er X3D 600 (x.v.color)(mainly for 3D though i hardly watch any)
  3. Nvidia Shield TV (for the 4K capabilities and ease of using Kodi)(HDCP 2.2)
  4. HTPC (Radeon 7790)
  5. Xbox One
  6. FiosTV (150Mb) via Tivo Premier
and occasionally an AFTV2 for Amazon and Netflix 4K. Also occasionally I use the screen mirror function with various tablets, phones and a Dell XPS18 but the function is extremely unreliable.
My media sources are primarily a 24TB Server 2012 R2 box and a Netgear 4Bay NAS



In the past I've used HDMI 3 with ARC but no longer need to. Had no problems getting audio via ARC (using 1st gen AFTV)


As for the TV's processing power question, I've been doing eyeball comparisons and have come to the conclusion that the TV does the best upconversion. Meaning, I leave the Onkyo set to passthrough and let the AVR do any needed upconversions. The TV will accept a 4K signal (albeit 30fps) so any source that is 4k gets sent thru as 4k and all others get upconverted by the Sharp.


IMHO, understanding that the TV is not displaying a true 3840x2160p picture, the order of quality I've seen so far is:


  1. Netflix and Amazon 4k via the AFTV2
  2. Netflix 4k via the Shield (No Amazon video)
  3. OTA network channels via Antenna (1080I)
  4. Mede8er 1080p (using x.v.color)
  5. Dune 1080p
  6. Shield 1080p (various sources BD's, mkv's, YouTube, etc)
  7. YouTube native to the TV.


These are just my personal opinions and you may get different results. Not sure what you mean by "3K" but I can tell you that to get an HDCP 2.2 compliant signal, you must use HDMI 3 of the Onkyo and HDMI 1 of the Sharp. Note that I can send a 3840 x 2160 signal from the PC to the TV via either of the 4k inputs on the TV or AVR. I've compared the quality of various media examples using this setup but the quality wasn't worth the effort.



I've had the TV for a year also, and have pretty much tried every possible setup in an attempt to get the best overall picture. Hope this helps, and feel free to ask about any particular setup.

Tony
Outstanding Tony! I like your set up. Thank you very much for taking time out of your day to respond with so much detail and useful information! I greatly appreciated it. When you get a chance, can you elaborate on how to leave the Onkyo set to passthrough so the TV can handle the upscaling? I imagine it's an internal setting I have to change on the AVR? I'm currently watching a movie with the family but will check on my AVR settings and report back. I currently don't have any 4K devices. My devices are a Roku3, PS4, & HTPC (Plex). 90% of the time I'm streaming via the Roku3 (Hulu, Netflix, Amazon Prime etc.) For 4K content, I guess I can look into the Roku 4 and connect it to HDMI 3 on the Onkyo then to HDMI 1 to the TV? Do I need to use HDCP 2.2? Thanks again!
Zameus is offline  
post #4714 of 4735 Old 12-22-2015, 01:18 AM
Member
 
Stephen Sutton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 18
You guys know your stuff too bad you have to spend so much time on these things to figure them out. Like why wouldn't a signal work on any hdmi input? I would never know that you had to set it to hdmi 3 for this or that quality. I have a different avr too so who knows what's best for me (denon 4520). I've had this tv (17u) since April 2014 I love the tv for the most part and basically watch everything on the sports default setting as its great for watching football, playing video games, and even for movies. I really haven't even tried to change calibrations settings at all. I get great sound out of my Bowers and Wilkins 600 series speakers and thank god for the audessey to help me out there lol. I could see some of you guys coming over and bring like "nice set up but...." Lol
Stephen Sutton is offline  
post #4715 of 4735 Old 12-22-2015, 01:27 AM
Member
 
Stephen Sutton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Sorry not sports but game setting
Stephen Sutton is offline  
post #4716 of 4735 Old 12-22-2015, 01:31 AM
Member
 
Zameus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think I figured it out. lol Finally getting 4K to the TV via Netflix. I had to change AVR settings. Here they are as follows for anyone with similar AVR;

1-1. Monitor Out
_____________________
Monitor Out = MAIN+SUB
Resolution = AUTO


1-2. HDMI Input
_____________________
<your source> = HDMI 3 (HDCP 2.2)


I'm guessing I'm only getting Audio LPCM because Netflix isn't sending a Dolby audio signal?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0084.jpg
Views:	51
Size:	168.8 KB
ID:	1134954  
Zameus is offline  
post #4717 of 4735 Old 12-22-2015, 03:45 AM
Senior Member
 
mr b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Beltsville, MD
Posts: 437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zameus View Post
I think I figured it out. lol Finally getting 4K to the TV via Netflix. I had to change AVR settings. Here they are as follows for anyone with similar AVR;

1-1. Monitor Out
_____________________
Monitor Out = MAIN+SUB
Resolution = AUTO


1-2. HDMI Input
_____________________
<your source> = HDMI 3 (HDCP 2.2)


I'm guessing I'm only getting Audio LPCM because Netflix isn't sending a Dolby audio signal?

Ok, in your picture example, the Onkyo is taking a 1080p signal and upconverting it to 2160p before sending to the Sharp. On the Onkyo, change the "Monitor Out" from Auto to Through.

Again, it's just my opinion, but I'd rather have the TV do the upconversion in this scenario, so the AVR would just pass the original 1080p signal. Note that there's no indication from the TV when it upconverts, a it will just display what it's being fed at the TV's native resolution

Here's how my Tivo comes across.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1080i to 1080i.jpg
Views:	51
Size:	235.7 KB
ID:	1135082  

Last edited by mr b; 12-22-2015 at 04:06 AM. Reason: corrections, pics
mr b is offline  
post #4718 of 4735 Old 12-22-2015, 04:18 AM
Senior Member
 
mr b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Beltsville, MD
Posts: 437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephen Sutton View Post
You guys know your stuff too bad you have to spend so much time on these things to figure them out. Like why wouldn't a signal work on any hdmi input? I would never know that you had to set it to hdmi 3 for this or that quality. I have a different avr too so who knows what's best for me (denon 4520). I've had this tv (17u) since April 2014 I love the tv for the most part and basically watch everything on the sports default setting as its great for watching football, playing video games, and even for movies. I really haven't even tried to change calibrations settings at all. I get great sound out of my Bowers and Wilkins 600 series speakers and thank god for the audessey to help me out there lol. I could see some of you guys coming over and bring like "nice set up but...." Lol
Not really a problem for me as I enjoy tinkering w/ AV as a hobby.

The Onkyo HDCP input is clearly marked and the TV manual clearly states which input to use for HDCP so it only took about 10mins to get up and running with 4k (sorta) when I got the set.

I wouldn't fault you at all for your setup because it all boils down to personal preference. I'm just more of a "what if I were to..." type of person.

I do agree that the industry has made it a bit convoluted and frustrating to get the ideal setup. For example, the Onkyo only has 1 HDCP 2.2 input, and the Sharp TV uses HDMI 3 for ARC, but HDMI 1 for HDCP 2.2. This basically means that I'm limited to just (1) 4k protected content source (Shield, AFTV2, Roku4.) There's ways to get around this of course, but as you stated, why make it so difficult?

T
mr b is offline  
post #4719 of 4735 Old 12-30-2015, 05:14 AM
Senior Member
 
bkazepis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Westchester County NY
Posts: 350
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have a UQ17U 70 inch...

Love the TV but short of having a 4K upconverting BD player (that shows 2160/24hz) haven't cared much about 4K content...

Taking delivery of a new Denon receiver today that upconvers all inputs to 4K...

I should have no issues displaying through HDMI 1 correct?

Exitus acta probat...
bkazepis is offline  
post #4720 of 4735 Old 12-30-2015, 02:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jhughy2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,759
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 816 Post(s)
Liked: 256
Quote:
Originally Posted by bkazepis View Post
I have a UQ17U 70 inch...

Love the TV but short of having a 4K upconverting BD player (that shows 2160/24hz) haven't cared much about 4K content...

Taking delivery of a new Denon receiver today that upconvers all inputs to 4K...

I should have no issues displaying through HDMI 1 correct?
It is psuedo 4k... don't bother with upconverting it will likely lead to other image artifacts.
jhughy2010 is offline  
post #4721 of 4735 Old 12-30-2015, 03:49 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhughy2010 View Post
It is psuedo 4k... don't bother with upconverting it will likely lead to other image artifacts.
I agree with Jhughy, my Bluray upscales to 4K too, but ever disc I've tried looks better if you leave the upscaling to the TV, I haven't seen any artifacts, but flicking between 4k and 1080P, the pic looks more detailed at the latter setting. Have you tried any 4K "mastered" discs?, these activate the XV colour mode and the picture looks superb to my eyes anyway. If you want to enjoy 4K, I think a native source is the way to go,
blacktown is offline  
post #4722 of 4735 Old 12-30-2015, 03:51 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhughy2010 View Post
It is psuedo 4k... don't bother with upconverting it will likely lead to other image artifacts.
I agree with Jhughy, my Bluray upscales to 4K too, but ever disc I've tried looks better if you leave the upscaling to the TV, I haven't seen any artifacts, but flicking between 4k and 1080P, the pic looks more detailed at the latter setting. Have you tried any 4K "mastered" discs?, these activate the XV colour mode and the picture looks superb to my eyes anyway. If you want to enjoy 4K, I think a native source is the way to go,
blacktown is offline  
post #4723 of 4735 Old 12-30-2015, 03:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jhughy2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,759
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 816 Post(s)
Liked: 256
Quote:
Originally Posted by blacktown View Post
I agree with Jhughy, my Bluray upscales to 4K too, but ever disc I've tried looks better if you leave the upscaling to the TV, I haven't seen any artifacts, but flicking between 4k and 1080P, the pic looks more detailed at the latter setting. Have you tried any 4K "mastered" discs?, these activate the XV colour mode and the picture looks superb to my eyes anyway. If you want to enjoy 4K, I think a native source is the way to go,
I've been meaning to try a 4k mastered disc. I would like to see what the XV color mode does too.
jhughy2010 is offline  
post #4724 of 4735 Old 01-01-2016, 12:45 PM
Member
 
356c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Mendocino County, Ca.
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Some of the Sat. companies are offering 4k it seems. From what I have seen I'm not terribly impressed to date...

Best of luck
356c is offline  
post #4725 of 4735 Old 01-02-2016, 03:52 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Concerned

I bought a LC-70EQ10U back in October of 2014 - have had no problems with it and thus far very happy with my purchase. It's obviously ran out of its 1-year warranty and I opted not to purchase the extended. After some random researching, I feel like I am reading that everyone and their brother who bought a 2014 Sharp 60/70 inch TV has had theirs die an early death, stranded without warranty or support. What's the word on this? Is it a particular issue that is avoidable? Do firmware updates help or harm? I don't think my wife is going to let me get another television of this size should we experience any bad luck. Any info or insight is appreciated!

Thanks.
dbeanerz is offline  
post #4726 of 4735 Old 01-03-2016, 04:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
johnfull's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,544
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 365 Post(s)
Liked: 109
I've had very good luck with my UQ17U 70 inch set.
Sharp sent it as a replacement for a 2012 model that turned
itself off and on once in a while. This one has been a champ!
...knock on wood...
dbeanerz likes this.
johnfull is offline  
post #4727 of 4735 Old 01-03-2016, 10:27 AM
Member
 
356c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Mendocino County, Ca.
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnfull View Post
I've had very good luck with my UQ17U 70 inch set.
Sharp sent it as a replacement for a 2012 model that turned
itself off and on once in a while. This one has been a champ!
...knock on wood...
I'm going on 2 years with no issues, knock knock...
dbeanerz likes this.

Best of luck
356c is offline  
post #4728 of 4735 Old 01-03-2016, 10:28 AM
Member
 
356c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Mendocino County, Ca.
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnfull View Post
I've had very good luck with my UQ17U 70 inch set.
Sharp sent it as a replacement for a 2012 model that turned
itself off and on once in a while. This one has been a champ!
...knock on wood...
I'm going on 2 years with no issues, 60 ", knock knock...
Hubertoliver and dbeanerz like this.

Best of luck
356c is offline  
post #4729 of 4735 Old 01-03-2016, 05:23 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks for keeping me updated and optimistic guys - I've yet to update the firmware since purchase (2014). Any suggestions for or against doing so?
dbeanerz is offline  
post #4730 of 4735 Old 01-04-2016, 04:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
johnfull's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,544
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 365 Post(s)
Liked: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbeanerz View Post
Thanks for keeping me updated and optimistic guys - I've yet to update the firmware since purchase (2014). Any suggestions for or against doing so?
I think they are mostly for the Smart apps.
I installed each in succession without incident.
No guarantee that you won't have trouble, though.
"If it isn't broken..."
johnfull is offline  
post #4731 of 4735 Old 01-04-2016, 08:59 AM
Member
 
356c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Mendocino County, Ca.
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnfull View Post
I think they are mostly for the Smart apps.
I installed each in succession without incident.
No guarantee that you won't have trouble, though.
"If it isn't broken..."
Ditto...

Best of luck
356c is offline  
post #4732 of 4735 Old 01-04-2016, 10:51 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 1
My Roku 4 was delivered yesterday, hooked it up to my Quattron Pro+ and watching 4K. Clever little box and TV.
blacktown is offline  
post #4733 of 4735 Old 01-06-2016, 11:46 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by blacktown View Post
My Roku 4 was delivered yesterday, hooked it up to my Quattron Pro+ and watching 4K. Clever little box and TV.
Noticed a few things since I attached the Roku up to the Sharp. I have it in 4k mode attached to HDMI 1. So now any 4K netflix or Youtube is picked up by the tv as 2160p. 265 HVEC video files are output by the Roku as 2160p regardless of the native resolution, other types of video files H264 are displayed at their native resolution. When the TV is in 2160p mode, the display changes to underscan, and it cannot be changed. Also a lot of the menu options for adjusting picture quality are unavailable.
356c likes this.
blacktown is offline  
post #4734 of 4735 Old 01-20-2016, 04:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jhughy2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,759
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 816 Post(s)
Liked: 256
FYI, made some pretty drastic changes to the SQ calibration that helped a lot to lower the average delta error. I feel like the respective picture quality has improved quite a bit.

The link is in my signature. Enjoy!
jhughy2010 is offline  
post #4735 of 4735 Old 01-20-2016, 04:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jhughy2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,759
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 816 Post(s)
Liked: 256
FYI, made some pretty drastic changes to the SQ calibration that helped a lot to lower the average delta error. I feel like the respective picture quality has improved quite a bit.

The link is in my signature. Enjoy!
jhughy2010 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
picture , Sharp 80 Inch Le650 Class Aquos Smart Led Tv , Sharp Aquos Quattron 70 Inch Class 3d Tv 2 Pairs Of Active 3d Glassses , Sharp He Lc 70ud1u 70 Inch Aquos 4k Ultra Hd 3d Smart Led Tv , smartcentral
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off