2014 Sharp AQUOS Line-Up - Page 19 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #541 of 4010 Old 03-10-2014, 09:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
jhughy2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 843
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 176 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by Walter Yensid View Post
 

Thanks. So, getting the current standard of 1.4 HDMI should work fine?

Absolutely!  I anticipated the 2.0 for a long while because I thought it would be really cool to game (PC game) at 4k resolutions.  This would be cool, however, there are a few limitations in our tech world, foremost being there are not that many video cards that could attain this at a reasonable and affordable level (perhaps quad Nvidia GTX780ti's?!) and also, 30hz (or frames per second... however you want to look at it) is not going to cut it for a first person shooter PC game.  

 

Long story short, HDMI 2.0 is still in the future... we aren't quite there yet... but it WILL be here by the end of the year!  It will be completely compatible with 1.4 too.  I believe that if you mix and match though the signal quality will revert to the lowest standard of cable.  I just hope that there are no HDMI communications/handshake problems like there were with 1.4 (I cannot tell you how many cables I've tried before I was able to get video AND audio on my 1.4 early adopter AVR).  


Theater set-up:  

AVR:  Pioneer VSX-820

Speakers:  5.1 consists of four NHT Classic Two bookshelf and an NHT TwoC center

Sub:  PSA-XV15

HTPC - ridiculously over-the-top, home-built gaming PC that I tinker with daily!

OTA antenna:  Winegard HD7698P

HDTV:  Sharp LC-60SQ15U

jhughy2010 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #542 of 4010 Old 03-10-2014, 11:16 PM
 
6311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 12

Sharp LC-60SQ15U 

1. Is it possible to adjust computer video card  to resolution 3840 x 2160 for this screen  ?

 

2. Why  no review with scores to this screen ?

 

3. Screen has 2 cores at 1.2 GH it does not immediately lower to UPSCALE?

 

4.What response time of the screen?

 

5. Is the screen works using YUV 4:2:0 or RGB 4:2:0?

 

6. horizontal resolution of up to3840 x 2160 you can see difference from a distance 9 ft?

 

7. in 3840 x 2160 The screen works on 24 or 30 FPS?

 

8. Feel that the screen is not as colorful as Samsung, is that true?

 

9. Is the screen does UPSCALE also to DVD? To 4K

6311 is offline  
post #543 of 4010 Old 03-11-2014, 01:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bill Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Alamo, CA
Posts: 1,270
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVmanic View Post

But can't get rid of the flashlighting so I am setup for a replacement. It goes up 16 in from both bottom corners. And last night we could really see it in Pirates of the Caribbean but it's a dark movie so I know it would show up. Sure the replacement well be much better never seen and TV with that big of a flashlight.
Disappointing but, of course, not real surprising, to see reports of significant flashlighting. It's not inherent with edge lighting, but it is unfortunately common. Since it's total luck of the draw to the buyer, it makes me reluctant to buy one unless exchange is very easy and free (e.g., Costco)
Bill Ball is offline  
post #544 of 4010 Old 03-11-2014, 04:34 AM
Member
 
twssas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by billinabnett View Post

The last 5 pages or so of the operator's manual has all the detailed drawings for all models. I uploaded it on here a couple of pages back. You should be able to get any dimension you need.
Hope this helps... Post #454

Bill Inabnett
Thanks Bill. I downloaded the data sheets you posted.....and for whatever reason, Sharp did not include the dimension drawings for any of the UQ seriers TVs ........they had everything else.......Odd..........guess I will have to wait until one shows up in the store, or someone here gets one and reports on it....

Thanks again
twssas is offline  
post #545 of 4010 Old 03-11-2014, 04:59 AM
Senior Member
 
AVmanic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 400
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by njfoses View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by AVmanic View Post

I took about an hour and a half and put the calibration meter on the 70SQ.
Using Standard and Color Temp Warm which put me at a color temp of 6500k. Then I just did a 2 point gray scale for now. And it was out of spec a good bit.
I then checked the color space. And green was very over Saturated. RGB fell in close but Cyan, Magenta and Yellow where out as well.
Just getting started so I will post full setting in the weeks to come.
Here is a couple screen shots taken with my phone.

What did black measure at?

Sorry I didn't save any of my sessions yet knowing that I will have to start over again when my replacement comes. I did do a 10p gray scale and got it to a delta of .99 with gamma of 2.27. So I will post pictures of the calibration screens when I get the new one and black levels.
I my be a week or two life is busy.
AVmanic is offline  
post #546 of 4010 Old 03-11-2014, 05:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
DekPM19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Pooler, Ga
Posts: 664
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Walter Yensid View Post

Thanks. So, getting the current standard of 1.4 HDMI should work fine?
I think the only sharp that has the 2.0 is the sharp 4k tv.
The sq UQ and tq can play back 4k but not at a true 4k.
Allen
DekPM19 is offline  
post #547 of 4010 Old 03-11-2014, 06:06 AM
Newbie
 
MiniCub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I forgot to mention that I measured the footprints of the 60SQ and the 60UQ… the bases are a bit funky.

 

The 60SQ is more traditional kinda a fork design that measured around 32 inches wide.

 

The 60UQ is a beast it has a more solid foo base that's connected to a bar in the back the width measured 42 inches, I wish I would have measured the depth.

MiniCub is offline  
post #548 of 4010 Old 03-11-2014, 07:57 AM
Member
 
356c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Mendocino County, Ca.
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by MiniCub View Post

I forgot to mention that I measured the footprints of the 60SQ and the 60UQ… the bases are a bit funky.

The 60SQ is more traditional kinda a fork design that measured around 32 inches wide.

The 60UQ is a beast it has a more solid foo base that's connected to a bar in the back the width measured 42 inches, I wish I would have measured the depth.
Interesting....another poster mentioned 45" for the 60", personally hope your numbers are correct.

Best of luck
356c is offline  
post #549 of 4010 Old 03-11-2014, 07:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
jhughy2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 843
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 176 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by 6311 View Post
 

Sharp LC-60SQ15U 

1. Is it possible to adjust computer video card  to resolution 3840 x 2160 for this screen  ?

 

2. Why  no review with scores to this screen ?

 

3. Screen has 2 cores at 1.2 GH it does not immediately lower to UPSCALE?

 

4.What response time of the screen?

 

5. Is the screen works using YUV 4:2:0 or RGB 4:2:0?

 

6. horizontal resolution of up to3840 x 2160 you can see difference from a distance 9 ft?

 

7. in 3840 x 2160 The screen works on 24 or 30 FPS?

 

8. Feel that the screen is not as colorful as Samsung, is that true?

 

9. Is the screen does UPSCALE also to DVD? To 4K

1. No.  Native resolution is 1080p. 

2. The TV is brand new... just released.  I'm sure CNET and other major reviews channels will get to it soon.

3.  I don't understand this question... 

4.  I was unable to find response time of the screen as well.  I can imagine the advertised response time is around 6-12ms.  

5.  I think so, however, I don't know why you'd want to use an analog cable anyway.

6.  This screen is not a 2160p resolution screen.  It is 1080p.  No matter how you slice the pie, it will always be 1080p.  Sharp came out with some new tech to split pixles multiple times so that it is "similar" to a 4k TV.  In theory it makes sense but it is still 1080p and whatever source you throw at it will be displayed as such.

7.  4k is limited to 30hz maximum (until HDMI 2.0 becomes standard).  Most if not all films are produced at 24fps.  

8.  I think that this screen if tuned correctly will be more color "accurate" than "most" TV's in the past.  I cannot speak for a newer Samsung in particular.  I would be careful not to judge a TV side by side in the stores.  Samsung will always looks better (I bet Samsung pays the vendor to supply a higher quality source to their sets vs. the competition).

9.  Only your "source" is capable of up scaling I believe.  Maybe this set is capable of projecting a source higher but I doubt it will make water out of wine.  I am skeptical of all vendors who claim they can "upscale" to a higher resolution or output than the source is even capable of.  

yyy484 likes this.

Theater set-up:  

AVR:  Pioneer VSX-820

Speakers:  5.1 consists of four NHT Classic Two bookshelf and an NHT TwoC center

Sub:  PSA-XV15

HTPC - ridiculously over-the-top, home-built gaming PC that I tinker with daily!

OTA antenna:  Winegard HD7698P

HDTV:  Sharp LC-60SQ15U

jhughy2010 is offline  
post #550 of 4010 Old 03-11-2014, 08:01 AM
Newbie
 
MiniCub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 356c View Post


Interesting....another poster mentioned 45" for the 60", personally hope your numbers are correct.

 

I watched the salesman measure tip to tip from the front it was 42… I did look at the back also, I'm pretty sure it didn't extend beyond 42. 

I hope I'm right too…

MiniCub is offline  
post #551 of 4010 Old 03-11-2014, 08:25 AM
Member
 
clmojo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cleveland
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by MiniCub View Post

I watched the salesman measure tip to tip from the front it was 42… I did look at the back also, I'm pretty sure it didn't extend beyond 42. 
I hope I'm right too…

I just ran a tape measure acorss the front of the stand for the 60UQ and it's 42".
clmojo is offline  
post #552 of 4010 Old 03-11-2014, 08:35 AM
Member
 
billinabnett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: East Texas
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Updated Owner's Manual - All Models - Includes UQ Dimensions
Hope this helps!

Bill Inabnett


2014_TV_OM-1.pdf 2849k .pdf file
Attached Files
File Type: pdf 2014_TV_OM-1.pdf (2.78 MB, 75 views)
billinabnett is offline  
post #553 of 4010 Old 03-11-2014, 08:46 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 12,305
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 483 Post(s)
Liked: 653
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sting82465 View Post

I haven't seen an 80" LC-80UQ17U for sale anywhere. you can preorder.
Correct no 2014, 80" units are out as of yet.............
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #554 of 4010 Old 03-11-2014, 08:53 AM
Senior Member
 
ggw2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 490
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by clmojo View Post

I just ran a tape measure acorss the front of the stand for the 60UQ and it's 42".

Interesting that both the 60" & 70" UQs are using the same stand. Length to outside tips is just under 42" for both sets. The 80" UQ as expected is using a wider stand that is showing 47 11/64" to the outside tips..
Gerry
ggw2000 is offline  
post #555 of 4010 Old 03-11-2014, 08:53 AM
Member
 
billinabnett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: East Texas
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
2014_TV_OM-1.pdf 2849k .pdf file
Quote:
Originally Posted by twssas View Post

Thanks Bill. I downloaded the data sheets you posted.....and for whatever reason, Sharp did not include the dimension drawings for any of the UQ seriers TVs ........they had everything else.......Odd..........guess I will have to wait until one shows up in the store, or someone here gets one and reports on it....

Thanks again

Here is the latest version.. Includes UQ Models

Bill Inabnett
Attached Files
File Type: pdf 2014_TV_OM-1.pdf (2.78 MB, 18 views)
billinabnett is offline  
post #556 of 4010 Old 03-11-2014, 09:05 AM
Newbie
 
renegade0304's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got the 60sq15u. Trying to get the stand together. The 4 screws that are supposed to be screwed into the back of the tv to secure the stand do not fit. Anybody else having trouble with these? I don't think I put the stand on backwards or anything but the screws just will not catch while screwing them in the back of the tv.
Any thoughts on this?
Should I go buy some longer screws?
renegade0304 is offline  
post #557 of 4010 Old 03-11-2014, 10:03 AM
Member
 
Captbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Kennewick,Wa
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
renegade, be very very careful..Sit back and relax before you try anything...Do not buy longer screws...Check the screw specs on the PDF file and go to your local hardware store and find the ones listed on the PDF and compare what you have..I know that sit back and relax is a terrible answer...But a break might be just all you need...Sharp may have put the wrong screws in your package...Keep us up to date..Bill
Captbill is offline  
post #558 of 4010 Old 03-11-2014, 10:07 AM
Newbie
 
renegade0304's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Where would the PDF file be so I can check the specs for the screws?
renegade0304 is offline  
post #559 of 4010 Old 03-11-2014, 10:26 AM
Member
 
356c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Mendocino County, Ca.
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by clmojo View Post

I just ran a tape measure acorss the front of the stand for the 60UQ and it's 42".
Thank you smile.gif

Best of luck
356c is offline  
post #560 of 4010 Old 03-11-2014, 10:29 AM
Newbie
 
renegade0304's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Maybe I have the stand on backwards? The longer legs on the stand face the back side. its hard to tell from the installation manual if this is correct or not. If it is on backwards that would make since but the stand only goes into the tv one way.
renegade0304 is offline  
post #561 of 4010 Old 03-11-2014, 10:31 AM
Member
 
356c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Mendocino County, Ca.
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by billinabnett View Post

Updated Owner's Manual - All Models - Includes UQ Dimensions
Hope this helps!

Bill Inabnett


2014_TV_OM-1.pdf 2849k .pdf file

Thank you, smile.gif

Best of luck
356c is offline  
post #562 of 4010 Old 03-11-2014, 10:32 AM
Senior Member
 
AVmanic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 400
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by renegade0304 View Post

Maybe I have the stand on backwards? The longer legs on the stand face the back side. its hard to tell from the installation manual if this is correct or not. If it is on backwards that would make since but the stand only goes into the tv one way.
The longer legs face the front.
AVmanic is offline  
post #563 of 4010 Old 03-11-2014, 10:55 AM
Senior Member
 
ggw2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 490
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by renegade0304 View Post

Where would the PDF file be so I can check the specs for the screws?

The link is back a few posts.. I have it downloaded to my PC and will also look to see if I can find the screw size for you...
Gerry

Will wait until you see if you have legs in correct orientation.......wink.gif


YOU SHOULD HAVE: 8 Long Screws and 4 Short Screws. The long screws attach the stand pieces together (four into each upright). After that is put together you slide the stand unit into the TV and attach it with 2 short screws on each upright that slid into the TV.... The longer end of the stand will be facing towards the front side of the TV....
ggw2000 is offline  
post #564 of 4010 Old 03-11-2014, 11:14 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 12,305
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 483 Post(s)
Liked: 653
Quote:
Originally Posted by renegade0304 View Post

Just got the 60sq15u. Trying to get the stand together. The 4 screws that are supposed to be screwed into the back of the tv to secure the stand do not fit. Anybody else having trouble with these? I don't think I put the stand on backwards or anything but the screws just will not catch while screwing them in the back of the tv.
Any thoughts on this?
Should I go buy some longer screws?
Sometimes it is a bear to get the holes to align with the screw. I remember putting a sharp together and almost losing my patience.
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #565 of 4010 Old 03-11-2014, 11:14 AM
Senior Member
 
Covfam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Black river falls, Wisconsin
Posts: 216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 43
My wife wants to get the 70 inch UQ model "she isn't quite rdy for 4k" and she likes the idea that it can upscale to near 4k. Our concern is that we have a very nice 45 inch wide and 19 inch deep oak TV Stand. Will this fit on it? . It seems like the artistic types of late are trying to come up with stands that are as wide or wider than the TV itself!
Covfam is offline  
post #566 of 4010 Old 03-11-2014, 11:24 AM
Senior Member
 
ggw2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 490
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Covfam View Post

My wife wants to get the 70 inch UQ model "she isn't quite rdy for 4k" and she likes the idea that it can upscale to near 4k. Our concern is that we have a very nice 45 inch wide and 19 inch deep oak TV Stand. Will this fit on it? . It seems like the artistic types of late are trying to come up with stands that are as wide or wider than the TV itself!

If you would have looked back about 6-7 posts you would have had your answer;). The 70" UQ stand is 42" at the outside tips.. Depth is not a problem for you at 19 inches deep...
ggw2000 is offline  
post #567 of 4010 Old 03-11-2014, 11:38 AM
Member
 
twssas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by billinabnett View Post

Updated Owner's Manual - All Models - Includes UQ Dimensions
Hope this helps!

Bill Inabnett


2014_TV_OM-1.pdf 2849k .pdf file
Thank you Bill! Got what I was looking for 70"uq footprint is 41 45/64.
twssas is offline  
post #568 of 4010 Old 03-11-2014, 12:30 PM
Newbie
 
brsdave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11

I ordered the LC-80UQ17U from BestBuy yesterday--price 5,499.98. Scheduled to be delivered on 4/4.


Sony Bravia 55"   Model  XBR55X850A

Sharp AQUOS Q+ 80"  Model  LC-80UQ17U

Denon AVR-4000

Bowers & Wilkins 7.2(CM10 Front, CMC2GB Center, CM5 Surround, DS3B Rears)

3rd Zone using Russound R290DS and Bowers and Wilkins AM1's

Oppo 103-D Blu-Ray Player

Rega RP-1 Turntable

brsdave is offline  
post #569 of 4010 Old 03-11-2014, 12:35 PM
Senior Member
 
Covfam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Black river falls, Wisconsin
Posts: 216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Thanks get, for some reason I just saw the dimensions for the TV and not the stand thanks!
Covfam is offline  
post #570 of 4010 Old 03-11-2014, 12:38 PM
Senior Member
 
ggw2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 490
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Covfam View Post

Thanks get, for some reason I just saw the dimensions for the TV and not the stand thanks!

Enjoy!! Gerry
ggw2000 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
picture , Sharp 80 Inch Le650 Class Aquos Smart Led Tv , Sharp Aquos Quattron 70 Inch Class 3d Tv 2 Pairs Of Active 3d Glassses , Sharp He Lc 70ud1u 70 Inch Aquos 4k Ultra Hd 3d Smart Led Tv , smartcentral
Gear in this thread - Le650 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off