Vizio P Series UHDTVs at CES 2014 - Page 15 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 24Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #421 of 431 Old 07-28-2014, 01:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Citivas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 2,308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 176 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by CSonntag View Post
Wasn't even considering the 720 and 480 issues...and now I am!
If you're saying you actually watch a lot of 720 and 480 too, my best advice is wait and view content at this resolution in a showroom once this set comes out before making up your mind. I always bring in SD content to view on TV's before buying them. No one has really seen a Vizio 4K set up-converting SD content yet so too soon to say. But it will probably be fine. Keep in mind even a 1080P set has to up-convert 480 and 720, so in principle it won't be an issue. There's an expression of garbage-in, garbage-out which means that as a rule a larger, higher resolution set may show the "flaws" in the original resolution more. But most sets these day do a reasonably good job.
Citivas is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #422 of 431 Old 07-28-2014, 01:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,404
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 309 Post(s)
Liked: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by CSonntag View Post
Thanks..but I guess I was just wondering about "native" display ability. I am thinking that for every one 1080 panel pixel, there are four 4k pixels...this all sounds great, but what about the "dead" spaces between 4k pixels? The single 1080 pixel would be 100% lit, but the four 4k pixels would have unlit spaces between them that would otherwise be lit on a 1080 pixel. Is this a significant issue?

Also, are there more opportunities for completely dead pixels? While they would be smaller and less noticeable, there are more of them to fail. Am I thinking too much into this?

Dead pixels? They are all pixels if the set up converts then everything is displayed. Think of it like this, if 1080p sets had "dead"
Pixels for lower content there would be a lot more dissatisfied customers when viewing SD and 720p content.
Ph8te is offline  
post #423 of 431 Old 07-28-2014, 01:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
CSonntag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Back in the SF Bay Area
Posts: 773
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Citivas View Post
If you're saying you actually watch a lot of 720 and 480 too, my best advice is wait and view content at this resolution in a showroom once this set comes out before making up your mind. I always bring in SD content to view on TV's before buying them. No one has really seen a Vizio 4K set up-converting SD content yet so too soon to say. But it will probably be fine. Keep in mind even a 1080P set has to up-convert 480 and 720, so in principle it won't be an issue. There's an expression of garbage-in, garbage-out which means that as a rule a larger, higher resolution set may show the "flaws" in the original resolution more. But most sets these day do a reasonably good job.
I watch VERY little 480 content, and for that stuff, I really don't care how well it does. However, given that Fox, ABC, ESPN, and several other networks broadcast HD in 720p, I AM concerned about its ability to upconvert this content...

Take responsibility for your own actions...society is not here to look after you...
In other words, if you order coffee, expect it to be hot for chrissake!
CSonntag is offline  
post #424 of 431 Old 07-29-2014, 05:16 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
The P-Series and R-Series are now listed at vizio.com!

No release dates though...
sikclown likes this.
AhhYes is offline  
post #425 of 431 Old 07-29-2014, 07:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
westa6969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: From Michigan now Retired to Naples, FL
Posts: 6,814
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by CSonntag View Post
I watch VERY little 480 content, and for that stuff, I really don't care how well it does. However, given that Fox, ABC, ESPN, and several other networks broadcast HD in 720p, I AM concerned about its ability to upconvert this content...
You shouldn't have much of a problem with 720P upconvert - it should be fine as demo'd at a flat panel shootout in the past they purposely demo'd 720P on the 1080P panels and it also looked excellent to the audience and professionals attending at Value Electronics.

Most 4K upscalers have been excellent so far but of course we have nothing to go by with Vizio as we have no consumer product approaching 8 months later - but the CES attendee's were most impressed by the Vizio's "P" and Reference series performance.

I can't remember voluntarily viewing 480 material unless an HD channel was cheating - sending out reruns in SD late night or weekends across the HD channel and then I change the channel as I won't voluntarily ever view 480Pewee Turdvision. 720P should just be fine and be close to 1080i or better with the upscaler they'll be using but 480 is still likely to REMAIN a TURD!

Come on Vizio - bring it on we're FOUR months from CES 2015.

Samsung 65F8000, 60D8000, 40HU6350, Panasonic 50E60 LCD's
westa6969 is online now  
post #426 of 431 Old 07-31-2014, 08:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
daniel'son's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gulf Coast U.S.A
Posts: 2,208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
.. earlier in the thread, Scott W. detailed the Vizio model branding; was curious if someone could explain the shreadout after "-" (hyphen) .. b2 and b3. If merely a newer panel, what does b3 offer over b2 in improvement.


My hope was for the 65", but if the b3 panel provides better picture, then the 70"er .. or go for "R" series.


thanks much for any explanation/feedback!!


** add: sorry guys, needed to sign-in to use search .. have found the panel diff. 'may' correspond to "nits" or brightness; googling 'nits' .. its said Led must be at least 1k nits for indoor Led viewing(?) Also, found in this Forum that the B3 60"ers are 10-bit panels. If anyone could expound on this, would greatly appreciate.

Last edited by daniel'son; Yesterday at 06:00 AM. Reason: ** add: new information
daniel'son is offline  
post #427 of 431 Old 07-31-2014, 08:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,404
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 309 Post(s)
Liked: 276
B2 and B3 usually mark the panel maker. No one really knows what panels the P series will utilize, so it's anyone's guess as to which is which. Once they start to hit showroom floors we'll have a better idea.

The R series should be superior to all of the p series point blank.
Ph8te is offline  
post #428 of 431 Old 07-31-2014, 09:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
daniel'son's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gulf Coast U.S.A
Posts: 2,208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
^^ .. thanks Ph8te for quick response.


Patience is key - was kinda hoping for 10-bit in P-series 65"er, not that its necessary, but more that, consider it specifically better. As a Kuro owner, know I may not achieve the blacks of my 1150hd .. but, possibly close. Also, I have a spare Pioneer BD-23 would like to use.


again, thanks much.
daniel'son is offline  
post #429 of 431 Old 07-31-2014, 09:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,404
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 309 Post(s)
Liked: 276
P series will be 8 bit (as far as we know). The R series is the 10 bit. There could be some 10
Bit panels in there, but until we see the specs it's all guessing.
Ph8te is offline  
post #430 of 431 Old 07-31-2014, 11:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Stereodude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Detroit Metro Area
Posts: 9,795
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 418 Post(s)
Liked: 441
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
B2 and B3 usually mark the panel maker.
I thought it was the CM who assembled the TV, not necessarily the panel maker.
Stereodude is offline  
post #431 of 431 Old 07-31-2014, 11:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,404
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 309 Post(s)
Liked: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stereodude View Post
I thought it was the CM who assembled the TV, not necessarily the panel maker.

As of now from what it has been seen in E/M models it's the "panel type/maker". For instance the M60/70 are both B3 and 10 bit panels. The 55/65 are both 8bit B2 panels. The "common" panels also share manuals usually.
Ph8te is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Ces 2014

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off