Official 2014 Vizio Exxx-Bx Series owners thread - Page 112 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #3331 of 3349 Unread 01-17-2015, 07:46 AM
Member
 
JonnyVee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoundsGr8tomE View Post
Iceblast,

Did you mean for the Professional Picture, Color tuner BLUE setting to be: -50,-39,50? or should it actually be -50,-39,-50?

And.....I just got the 600-b3 and using the settings you recommended made ALL the difference in the WORLD! (I played with setting above and liked it better around -50,-39,-30, but that was with your earlier recommendation)

Thanks and Best!
John aka SoundsGr8toMe
Quote:
Originally Posted by iceblast View Post
I'm glad it worked out for you. The 50 is positive for me. But -30 might look, or work better for you then me. You should adjust everything to what looks good for your eyes. Nothing is locked in stone.

I now own 2 E600i-b3's now. Using the same settings for both, and they both look the same. I really love this tv.

Amazon has it for $700 with Prime membership. You just can't beat a 60" this good for that price.
I initially tried your settings when i first got my 60" a couple of weeks ago. I found the whites a little yellow, so i decided to just tweak default settings with my Disney WOW disk. Results seemed OK.

Just tried your settings again .... And i think i'll stick with your settings. I was using the "computer" color temp, which gave me nice white whites, but the rest of the picture seemed too light. And that was after calibrating with WOW and using medium black detail.

Had to tweak your settings a bit when using WOW ... Minor stuff though ... Tint for me is 2 instead of 3 when using the blue filter.

I did find that the Tint and color were almost spot on when using the blue filter. If i put the blue saturation to -50 (as SoundsGR8 did) i couldn't calibrate the color with the blue filter ... +30 was ok as was +50.

Did you come to these settings via eyeball only or did you use calibration equipment? If it was eyeball, i'm amazed this setting worked so well with the blue filter. Especially since changing just one item in the color tuner prevented me from dialing in with the filter, when i couldn't really see much of a difference with my eyes.
JonnyVee is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3332 of 3349 Unread 01-17-2015, 08:00 AM
Newbie
 
Yasmany Navas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by JS18 View Post
I just leave mine on auto.
The PS4 sets it's RGB setting to AUTOMATIC. They even recommend this setting. Problem is the PS4 isn't properly communicating with your TV like you'd expect it should through HDMI. For example, I verified this with my own BenQ monitor. My display is clearly set to full, and the ps4 is set to automatic, but apparently the PS4's 'automatic' setting is assuming limited. The problem only fixes itself when I have to manually put the PS4 to output at full. The PS4 doesn't do this automatically. Which is stupid. EDIT It seems it depends on the TV model. It's problematic for some but okay for others.

Ether way, Sony should look into this, and you - should just assume the worst and set it up manually.

If you notice that often times you have to lower the games in-game brightness settings really low in order to achieve whatever the game is asking (usually : lower brightness until said object is no longer visible) than likely your RGB setting is off. Or, if you feel that dark areas in games are just too damn dark, like looking into a black hole of darkness - we call this crushed blacks. Your settings may also be off. Please look at the end of this post for descriptions on what settings between your PS4 and TV cause what problems.
Yasmany Navas is offline  
post #3333 of 3349 Unread 01-17-2015, 09:29 AM
Member
 
vinnier6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
How do the newest e series compare to the older e601i-a3 for 2 years ago...

I need another 60" for another room, and for the most part I couldn't be happier with the one I have...
vinnier6 is offline  
post #3334 of 3349 Unread 01-17-2015, 10:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
iceblast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 560
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinnier6 View Post
How do the newest e series compare to the older e601i-a3 for 2 years ago...

I need another 60" for another room, and for the most part I couldn't be happier with the one I have...
The new E600i-b3 is a great tv, and Amazon has it for $749 and $50 off if you have Prime. $700 with free delivery and install. I own 2 of them.

Gigabyte G1.Sniper 3, 950watts, Intel 3770k, 16gb ram, 30tb, Sli Nvidia 480, THX Sound Card, Logitech THX z906 Speakers, E600i-b3, Yamaha v375, Cerwin Vega VS150, VS120, L7's, and Klipsch 2.2
iceblast is offline  
post #3335 of 3349 Unread 01-17-2015, 10:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
iceblast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 560
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonnyVee View Post
I initially tried your settings when i first got my 60" a couple of weeks ago. I found the whites a little yellow, so i decided to just tweak default settings with my Disney WOW disk. Results seemed OK.

Just tried your settings again .... And i think i'll stick with your settings. I was using the "computer" color temp, which gave me nice white whites, but the rest of the picture seemed too light. And that was after calibrating with WOW and using medium black detail.

Had to tweak your settings a bit when using WOW ... Minor stuff though ... Tint for me is 2 instead of 3 when using the blue filter.

I did find that the Tint and color were almost spot on when using the blue filter. If i put the blue saturation to -50 (as SoundsGR8 did) i couldn't calibrate the color with the blue filter ... +30 was ok as was +50.

Did you come to these settings via eyeball only or did you use calibration equipment? If it was eyeball, i'm amazed this setting worked so well with the blue filter. Especially since changing just one item in the color tuner prevented me from dialing in with the filter, when i couldn't really see much of a difference with my eyes.
I came up with my settings in 3 ways.

There was someone on here that calibrated his E600i-b3 with equipment, and posted his settings.

The settings worked great, but I felt I could fine tune the flesh tone settings a bit more. Because I'm in a dark room at all times.

I tried the WOW disc, and that helped a little.

The reds are hard to get right.

But I was reading the P series thread, with them trying to calibrate the Sharp panels there, and added their knowledge to the E600i-b3 Sharp panel, since they are both Sharp panels.

Started up the WOW disc again, and adjusted the Professional Settings, to combat the Red, with the knowledge I learned from the P series thread. I eyeballed it, with the help of just the photo in WOW.

I'm pretty happy with the settings, and I haven't changed anything since.

But every tv can be a bit different, or your eyes may see the colors in a different way, or the lighting in your room my bit different. So, always adjust the settings to what feels good for you.

Gigabyte G1.Sniper 3, 950watts, Intel 3770k, 16gb ram, 30tb, Sli Nvidia 480, THX Sound Card, Logitech THX z906 Speakers, E600i-b3, Yamaha v375, Cerwin Vega VS150, VS120, L7's, and Klipsch 2.2
iceblast is offline  
post #3336 of 3349 Unread 01-18-2015, 08:39 AM
Member
 
McUndecided's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yasmany Navas View Post
What do you mean by tame the whites?




1. a little under 30ms
2. According to Rtings, No you don't
3.Try Rtings.com settings, or just use game or computer mode settings. PS4 looks really beautiful on either 3 settings
Clouds or white jerseys just glow unnaturally and contrast seems to be cranked in most of the presets found here and on tech sites.
McUndecided is offline  
post #3337 of 3349 Unread 01-18-2015, 09:07 AM
Senior Member
 
biglen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Drexel Hill,PA
Posts: 411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Iceblast, will your settings work with my E700I-B3, or are they different panels?
biglen is online now  
post #3338 of 3349 Unread 01-18-2015, 12:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
iceblast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 560
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by biglen View Post
Iceblast, will your settings work with my E700I-B3, or are they different panels?
I'm not sure, but they are both Sharp panels. So, there is a possibly that they will work. I'm not sure if the size difference will be a issue or not. Unfortunately, I've never had a chance to play with a 70" to try.

The 60" and 70" are the best in the E series, far as I know.

Gigabyte G1.Sniper 3, 950watts, Intel 3770k, 16gb ram, 30tb, Sli Nvidia 480, THX Sound Card, Logitech THX z906 Speakers, E600i-b3, Yamaha v375, Cerwin Vega VS150, VS120, L7's, and Klipsch 2.2

Last edited by iceblast; 01-18-2015 at 02:15 PM.
iceblast is offline  
post #3339 of 3349 Unread 01-18-2015, 02:19 PM
Member
 
a silly old man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: cambridge ont canada
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
e700i-b3

had this fine piece of equipment for a week.the price per picture quality is very satisfying.hockey night in Canada looks great the leafs stink.highly recommended 70 inched.any questions go ahead to those on the fence.
a silly old man is offline  
post #3340 of 3349 Unread 01-20-2015, 01:13 AM
Newbie
 
Yasmany Navas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by McUndecided View Post
Clouds or white jerseys just glow unnaturally and contrast seems to be cranked in most of the presets found here and on tech sites.
Could be a few things. Make sure ‘Black Detail’ is turned off. That thing over contrast the picture (both ways, darker shadows and brighter whites).

Changing the ‘Contrast’ wouldn’t really help. A little bit, but not much. Reducing the backlight will, even though it doesn’t really change the contrast, it reduces the luminosity of the screen, producing a more neutral one.

Last edited by Yasmany Navas; 01-20-2015 at 03:25 AM.
Yasmany Navas is offline  
post #3341 of 3349 Unread 01-22-2015, 09:07 AM
Newbie
 
jimbop99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Picking up a 60" from Best Buy. I was wondering if I should bother hooking up internet. I've been reading about problems with the latest firmware. I don't use any "smart" features on my current TV. Yea or Nay?
jimbop99 is offline  
post #3342 of 3349 Unread 01-22-2015, 10:54 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimbop99 View Post
Picking up a 60" from Best Buy. I was wondering if I should bother hooking up internet. I've been reading about problems with the latest firmware. I don't use any "smart" features on my current TV. Yea or Nay?
Not worth the trouble, IMO. Especially if you don't use the smart features. I regret mine updating.
rusty_shackleford is offline  
post #3343 of 3349 Unread 01-22-2015, 11:17 AM
Newbie
 
SoundsGr8tomE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Boone, NC The Beautiful HIGH Country!
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ice!

Got mine for $699 at Costco and they extend the warranty to 2 years at no cost. Also, 90 day return policy!

Thanks VERY much for your comments AND the info posted about this TV! I used ALL of your settings and It made ALL the difference in the PQ and am enjoying mine VERY much!

Thanks again and Best,
SoundsGr8toMe aka John
SoundsGr8tomE is offline  
post #3344 of 3349 Unread 01-22-2015, 12:25 PM
Senior Member
 
fst96se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Idaho Falls, ID
Posts: 488
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Hey all, I just bought an Onkyo NR626, and a Vizio 70" e700i-b3. I am unable to get ARC to work!

I feel like I've got all the settings correct on both the receiver and the TV, but I get nothing.

On the setup page for the TV/CD input on the Onkyo, there is no option available for ARC.

At the same time, my TV recognizes the NR626 as a CEC device in its menu.

I'm using a brand new 25ft high speed HDMI cable.

Help?
fst96se is online now  
post #3345 of 3349 Unread 01-22-2015, 12:57 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 10,530
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1439 Post(s)
Liked: 685
Official 2014 Vizio Exxx-Bx Series owners thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by fst96se View Post
Hey all, I just bought an Onkyo NR626, and a Vizio 70" e700i-b3. I am unable to get ARC to work!

I feel like I've got all the settings correct on both the receiver and the TV, but I get nothing.

On the setup page for the TV/CD input on the Onkyo, there is no option available for ARC.

At the same time, my TV recognizes the NR626 as a CEC device in its menu.

I'm using a brand new 25ft high speed HDMI cable.

Help?

Look at the manual for the Onkyo. At least wit my my older model it was under Hardware or something like that. Arc has to be enabled to work on the receiver.

Edit: a quick google search, shows you need to enable arc in the source set up menu.

Sent from nowhere
Ph8te is online now  
post #3346 of 3349 Unread Yesterday, 09:32 PM
Newbie
 
timcreech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi ph8te

I have a panny av and using arc. I get a 38 second delay between turning on the tv and it turning on the panny. Maybe your onkyo just needs a bit of time to connect.

If any one knows why the delay, I would sure like to get rid of it.
timcreech is offline  
post #3347 of 3349 Unread Today, 11:03 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Returned my e600i-b3 to Walmart expecting to get a 1.34 firmware but got home and hooked it up and to my horror it had 1.6 already on it :[
wbg2187 is online now  
post #3348 of 3349 Unread Today, 01:11 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by bgut1 View Post
I recently picked up the e500 from costco for $479 and while I really like the set, I am a little bit bothered by dark corners that I see when the screen is a uniform color. I've read that this is pretty common and was wondering if I should take a chance and swap it out with another one. My other question is whether anyone would return the e500 for the m502 for sale this week at best buy for $499. I've read that the picture is not that different and not sure I want to lose the extra year warranty from costco for the difference. Thanks to all of you for contributing to this thread and answering my questions.
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheIVJackal View Post
I notice it as well but it doesn't bother me, doesn't really affect the picture quality imo.

* I added two things to my list of complaints above.
1. Active LED Zones ON - creates clay like skin tones, they look fine when zones are off.
2. Allow the use of the 4-colored buttons to be used for saving favorite channels.
I had opened a case with Vizio and sent them the attached picture (taken with iPhone). They say that this is normal. I realize that the iPhone may be exaggerating the effect, but is anyone with an E-series *not* seeing these darkened corners?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image1.jpg
Views:	4
Size:	114.4 KB
ID:	501753  
hwci is online now  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
vizio e 600-b3 , Vizio E Series E401i A2 40 Inch 1080p 120hz Led Lit Internet Hdtv , vizio m series m602i-b3
Gear in this thread - E401i by PriceGrabber.com



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off