Official 2014 Vizio Exxx-Bx Series owners thread - Page 67 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews > Display Devices > LCD Flat Panel Displays > Official 2014 Vizio Exxx-Bx Series owners thread

LCD Flat Panel Displays

iceblast's Avatar iceblast
03:46 PM Liked: 59
post #1981 of 3439
06-10-2014 | Posts: 567
Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by anand_mishra View Post

Mine 55" is also at 1.25.24_133 since purchase. When I contacted Vizio rep with chat they told me they can't force firmware update. They also don't have any answer when I can expect the 1.30 update. They are clueless. frown.gif As iceblast suggested, I registered my TV approx. 2 weeks back. So far no luck. wink.gif

Guess my theory is a bust then, even though it seemed to work for me. I guess I was just lucky. Either way, I would register just in case, for anyone who is having this problem. You never know, it might help, or might be a waste of time. smile.gif
anand_mishra's Avatar anand_mishra
04:01 PM Liked: 10
post #1982 of 3439
06-10-2014 | Posts: 5
Joined: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by iceblast View Post

Guess my theory is a bust then, even though it seemed to work for me. I guess I was just lucky. Either way, I would register just in case, for anyone who is having this problem. You never know, it might help, or might be a waste of time. smile.gif

I think for 55" version 1.25.xx is the latest released firmware so far. May be Vizio provided Cnet TV set with newer version for better review? Who knows? We have to just wait and watch, if vizio ever decide to release newer version. smile.gif
Nukem's Avatar Nukem
08:59 PM Liked: 12
post #1983 of 3439
06-10-2014 | Posts: 87
Joined: Apr 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by starkillers View Post

Nice. What firmware version are you on? According to CNET review latest version is 1.30. I've been at 1.25 since purchase.

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk

V1.34.23.0180
starkillers's Avatar starkillers
09:10 PM Liked: 10
post #1984 of 3439
06-10-2014 | Posts: 17
Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nukem View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by starkillers View Post

Nice. What firmware version are you on? According to CNET review latest version is 1.30. I've been at 1.25 since purchase.

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk

V1.34.23.0180

1.34 on the e550i-b2? Dang, I'm getting no love.

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk
Nukem's Avatar Nukem
09:13 PM Liked: 12
post #1985 of 3439
06-10-2014 | Posts: 87
Joined: Apr 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by starkillers View Post

1.34 on the e550i-b2? Dang, I'm getting no love.

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk


I have the 60"
starkillers's Avatar starkillers
09:17 PM Liked: 10
post #1986 of 3439
06-10-2014 | Posts: 17
Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nukem View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by starkillers View Post

1.34 on the e550i-b2? Dang, I'm getting no love.

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk


I have the 60"

Cool, thanks. Must be different versions for different units.

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk
WaveBoy's Avatar WaveBoy
12:25 AM Liked: 41
post #1987 of 3439
06-11-2014 | Posts: 2,054
Joined: Aug 2008
2 more weeks and i'm taking ze' little trip down to the states to get my 55" E. CNET scored the Vizio M(60" was it?) with 41ms(ouch) and said the PQ difference between the two isn't even really that noticeable anyways.
archer75's Avatar archer75
07:10 AM Liked: 36
post #1988 of 3439
06-11-2014 | Posts: 1,719
Joined: Dec 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by WaveBoy View Post

2 more weeks and i'm taking ze' little trip down to the states to get my 55" E. CNET scored the Vizio M(60" was it?) with 41ms(ouch) and said the PQ difference between the two isn't even really that noticeable anyways.

I disagree with the cnet review. Having owned both I can the PQ difference isn't huge but it is noticeable on shadow detail. They also said the TV had too much red but after I used their calibration settings only then did it have too much red. They also set sharpness to 0 and my calibration is at 50. At 0 the image looks very out of focus and failed the test pattern I used.

They made no mention of the better remote sensitivity and the better TV tuner. Or the fact that active led zones on the E series looks worse with it on and causes some "ribbing".

As far as input lag it feels the same on both. Which to me is unnoticeable.

They base their overall value rating of the TV on the price of $1249.99 but at costco the TV is 1099.99 which would increase that score.
iceblast's Avatar iceblast
11:08 AM Liked: 59
post #1989 of 3439
06-12-2014 | Posts: 567
Joined: Dec 2010
I don't know, but it seems they downgraded the forums. I also noticed a premium feature. So, they want to charge for better access to the forums. I don't know if they had a donate button before or not. I don't know how many people are going to be willing to spend money for this site. I also don't know if they had premium forums before the upgrade or not.

Before the upgrade, I thought the software for this forum was some of the best online. Now, not so much.
GusGus748s's Avatar GusGus748s
12:02 PM Liked: 614
post #1990 of 3439
06-12-2014 | Posts: 6,612
Joined: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by iceblast View Post
I don't know, but it seems they downgraded the forums. I also noticed a premium feature. So, they want to charge for better access to the forums. I don't know if they had a donate button before or not. I don't know how many people are going to be willing to spend money for this site. I also don't know if they had premium forums before the upgrade or not.

Before the upgrade, I thought the software for this forum was some of the best online. Now, not so much.
I guess AVS downgraded. It could only last for so long. Several members from the Polk Audio thread started something in the Google+. I joined their forum since it appears AVS is getting worse. Pretty much doing the Netflix steps.
starkillers's Avatar starkillers
02:33 PM Liked: 10
post #1991 of 3439
06-12-2014 | Posts: 17
Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by starkillers View Post
Quote:Originally Posted by Nukem 

Quote:Originally Posted by starkillers 

1.34 on the e550i-b2? Dang, I'm getting no love.

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk



I have the 60"


Cool, thanks. Must be different versions for different units.

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk
Just got the 1.34 update for my 55

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk
ratta41's Avatar ratta41
02:40 PM Liked: 10
post #1992 of 3439
06-12-2014 | Posts: 20
Joined: Feb 2010
Hi guys, I got my update too yesterday.

Btw does anyone have a good calibration settings for a E500i-B1?

I tried the cnet one but the colors looked off.

Thanks!
andydev's Avatar andydev
03:32 PM Liked: 11
post #1993 of 3439
06-12-2014 | Posts: 10
Joined: Jan 2012
I'm loving my 60" set. Great colors!

But I'm VERY disappointed with the integrated 'smart-tv' features. It's slow and buggy...
Although it's easy resolvable, since I'm going to get a streamer anyway...
AWED's Avatar AWED
03:33 PM Liked: 11
post #1994 of 3439
06-12-2014 | Posts: 30
Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by AWED View Post
So finally exchanged my E480i-B2 for a E500i-B1 last night and have it set up. Size wize it now looks perfect in the space, defintely a noticeable size difference over the 48". You can definitely tell it is from a a different factory, the look is the same but the way the stand goes on is different, and is actually less wobbly. The way it reacts to settings was quite different also. Caibrated Dark started at 50s across the board. There is not as much red push, the picture seems a little softer watching comcast so far, less of the speckling I experienced before turning down the sharpness on the 48". Sharpness on this one is fine at around 40-50 as is color whereas I had to turn both down on the 48". My initial instincts were that the 48" picture was better and that blacks were darker than the 50", but I have not had a chance to calibrate too much yet, or watch with any proper 1080p content, and the more I check it out the blacks seem fine. if any E500i-B1 owners have any suggested settings, they would be welcome. Still a great picture for what I have done so far. There is some sort of tint I am noticing that may need adjusting, I can't quite put a finger on it, but I may need to play with the color tuner a little. It did do an update when I finally connected it to Wifi last night. Will report back with more findings as I get used to it.
Just some further updates after now owning the E500i-B1 for a week
Received updates when first going online as well as few days later. Have not registered it yet. Never received updates on the 48" but apps all worked great, even though I did register that.

Amazon now full screen. Actually preferred the other version as it has Previews in HD.

Updates did change the settings on calibrated/calibrated dark, not just 50 across the board any more, and similar to what I got using THX on a DVD.

Picture is looking great, no more tint that I can see. Happy as it is rivalling if not better than the 48", gets just as dark. Playing with the dimming zones, brightness, auto brightness and black level to get best picture balance I can. Too bright, will see slight blooming in zones in dark room.

Have not noticed any motion or ghosting issues that I had seen a tiny bit on the 48"

Used the grayscale settings from CNET on a customer setting, the other stock settings seemed to take them on as well, but different inputs did not. Either way a better picture and no tint since then.

Better backlight uniformity than the 48", very even and dark when viewing blank screen in dark room with dimming zones off.

I assume the reason the M series 50" is the last to launch is that it is a B1 like the E series 50" which also had a late launch. Must be something to do with 50" units coming out of TPV.

Encouranged by CNET review of M series, E series better value.



Nukem's Avatar Nukem
04:32 PM Liked: 12
post #1995 of 3439
06-12-2014 | Posts: 87
Joined: Apr 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by starkillers View Post
Just got the 1.34 update for my 55

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk
Glad you got it!
int_architect's Avatar int_architect
05:14 AM Liked: 10
post #1996 of 3439
06-13-2014 | Posts: 10
Joined: Nov 2007
New owner of E550i-B2. Bought it last night from Costco. Updated to 1.34 overnight despite not registering TV yet.

N3 via Tapatalk
Ronzo3's Avatar Ronzo3
08:20 AM Liked: 76
post #1997 of 3439
06-13-2014 | Posts: 169
Joined: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by starkillers View Post
Just got the 1.34 update for my 55

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk

Just got my 1.34 upgrade this morning. Amazon Prime works great! Captioning helps me a lot, and it's very customizable. Small print makes it unobtrusive.
RyanHomsey's Avatar RyanHomsey
10:12 AM Liked: 42
post #1998 of 3439
06-13-2014 | Posts: 331
Joined: Oct 2006
Just thought I'd post my calibration settings for the E390-B0 39-Inch.

I calibrated using AVS test patterns, X-Rite I1d2 colorimeter, and HCFR calibration software. Through adjusting brightness/contrast + High/Low RGB settings I was able to achieve a flat gamma curve averaging 2.1 with a very accurate grey scale. Since this set lacks the color management system that the larger ones do, this was as accurate as I could achieve for the colors.







--- Settings ---
Picture Mode Calibrated
Backlight 46, optimized for dim room viewing with at 40ftl reference brightness level
Brightness 72
Contrast 48
Color 49
Tint -1
Sharpness 0

Advanced Picture:
Black Detail Off
Backlight Control Off
Reduce Signal Noise Off
Reduce Black Noise Off
Film Mode Auto

Color Temperature:
Red Gain 41
Green Gain 35
Blue Gain 54
Red Offset 37
Green Offset 40
Blue Offset 38
vid33nyc1's Avatar vid33nyc1
07:17 PM Liked: 12
post #1999 of 3439
06-13-2014 | Posts: 290
Joined: Feb 2004
Anyone know if the 55 and 60 inch sets are 8-bit or 10 bit panels?
iceblast's Avatar iceblast
08:17 PM Liked: 59
post #2000 of 3439
06-13-2014 | Posts: 567
Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by vid33nyc1 View Post
Anyone know if the 55 and 60 inch sets are 8-bit or 10 bit panels?
55" is 8 bit

60" is 10 bit

60" is also the better tv, IMO
reslor1's Avatar reslor1
08:26 PM Liked: 10
post #2001 of 3439
06-13-2014 | Posts: 2
Joined: May 2014
I received the 1.34 on my E550i-B2 this morning. The Amazon app now works but netflix can no longer connect to any server. I had the same issue when i first bought the set in April. I tried a hard reset, hard wire tv to router and hardwire tv directly to modem. with each setup, internet connection is fine but no connection to netflix. After 2 days it suddenly started working and has been flawless until this morning. Does anyone have any ideas on how to get this working or am i going to have to wait a few days.
tmasta346's Avatar tmasta346
09:10 AM Liked: 12
post #2002 of 3439
06-14-2014 | Posts: 34
Joined: Feb 2010
I'm interested in both the E and the M series TVs. Between the E60 and the M55 (both 2014 models) which has the better PQ? It seems like the E60 has the best panel of the E series, but is it better than the M55?
iceblast's Avatar iceblast
09:48 AM Liked: 59
post #2003 of 3439
06-14-2014 | Posts: 567
Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmasta346 View Post
I'm interested in both the E and the M series TVs. Between the E60 and the M55 (both 2014 models) which has the better PQ? It seems like the E60 has the best panel of the E series, but is it better than the M55?
I would imagine that the M series is going to have the better picture quality.
Ph8te's Avatar Ph8te
09:57 AM Liked: 744
post #2004 of 3439
06-14-2014 | Posts: 10,759
Joined: Oct 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by iceblast View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmasta346 View Post
I'm interested in both the E and the M series TVs. Between the E60 and the M55 (both 2014 models) which has the better PQ? It seems like the E60 has the best panel of the E series, but is it better than the M55?
I would imagine that the M series is going to have the better picture quality.

M will probably have a better picture, (as seen in reviews and posts by members). The difference though may not be "great" picture wise.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
tyd450's Avatar tyd450
11:52 AM Liked: 10
post #2005 of 3439
06-14-2014 | Posts: 3
Joined: May 2014
Glad to hear you like it. I am thinking of making the same switch especially since they are basically the same price at Costco with the promo.

So no regrets at all? I have been happy with the 48" and I don't really need the extra 2" but I figured the extra zones would be worth making the switch. I did notice the picture being a little choppy watching playoff hockey though.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AWED View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by AWED View Post
So finally exchanged my E480i-B2 for a E500i-B1 last night and have it set up. Size wize it now looks perfect in the space, defintely a noticeable size difference over the 48". You can definitely tell it is from a a different factory, the look is the same but the way the stand goes on is different, and is actually less wobbly. The way it reacts to settings was quite different also. Caibrated Dark started at 50s across the board. There is not as much red push, the picture seems a little softer watching comcast so far, less of the speckling I experienced before turning down the sharpness on the 48". Sharpness on this one is fine at around 40-50 as is color whereas I had to turn both down on the 48". My initial instincts were that the 48" picture was better and that blacks were darker than the 50", but I have not had a chance to calibrate too much yet, or watch with any proper 1080p content, and the more I check it out the blacks seem fine. if any E500i-B1 owners have any suggested settings, they would be welcome. Still a great picture for what I have done so far. There is some sort of tint I am noticing that may need adjusting, I can't quite put a finger on it, but I may need to play with the color tuner a little. It did do an update when I finally connected it to Wifi last night. Will report back with more findings as I get used to it.
Just some further updates after now owning the E500i-B1 for a week
Received updates when first going online as well as few days later. Have not registered it yet. Never received updates on the 48" but apps all worked great, even though I did register that.

Amazon now full screen. Actually preferred the other version as it has Previews in HD.

Updates did change the settings on calibrated/calibrated dark, not just 50 across the board any more, and similar to what I got using THX on a DVD.

Picture is looking great, no more tint that I can see. Happy as it is rivalling if not better than the 48", gets just as dark. Playing with the dimming zones, brightness, auto brightness and black level to get best picture balance I can. Too bright, will see slight blooming in zones in dark room.

Have not noticed any motion or ghosting issues that I had seen a tiny bit on the 48"

Used the grayscale settings from CNET on a customer setting, the other stock settings seemed to take them on as well, but different inputs did not. Either way a better picture and no tint since then.

Better backlight uniformity than the 48", very even and dark when viewing blank screen in dark room with dimming zones off.

I assume the reason the M series 50" is the last to launch is that it is a B1 like the E series 50" which also had a late launch. Must be something to do with 50" units coming out of TPV.

Encouranged by CNET review of M series, E series better value.



denameralph's Avatar denameralph
11:32 AM Liked: 10
post #2006 of 3439
06-15-2014 | Posts: 8
Joined: Jun 2014
got the 55' from buydig, should be arriving tomorrow. this thread seems pretty slow lol is there another forums discussing the e series specifically? curious to see how more people are feeling about their tvs. also some calibrations would be nice.
Ph8te's Avatar Ph8te
12:20 PM Liked: 744
post #2007 of 3439
06-15-2014 | Posts: 10,759
Joined: Oct 2005
Not sure you'll get a lot of movement. Most tend to get the higher end sets at this forum. There are owners that do post, but if they're happy and have said so not much else to post about . As for settings you can start with the CNET settings, but it always recommended to get a settings disc (WoW, S&M, AVS, etc) and make basic adjustments yourself since set set variance can change what is right for each individual.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
iceblast's Avatar iceblast
04:08 PM Liked: 59
post #2008 of 3439
06-15-2014 | Posts: 567
Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by denameralph View Post
got the 55' from buydig, should be arriving tomorrow. this thread seems pretty slow lol is there another forums discussing the e series specifically? curious to see how more people are feeling about their tvs. also some calibrations would be nice.
There is a ton of info about the E series in this thread, you just have to go back a couple months. The thread is slow now, because the E series has been out a bit, and people have already bought them, and talked about their new tv. The M series is finally coming out, and I'm sure there will be people posting about them as well.
augerpro's Avatar augerpro
06:35 PM Liked: 39
post #2009 of 3439
06-15-2014 | Posts: 1,738
Joined: Aug 2005
Just bought the 60"!! Still on the older 1.30 firmware, should I just leave the TV turned on and hooked to the internet overnight and it will update itself? Or can it be off?

Also, yes I'm slowly working my way through this thread, but as far as calibration is everyone starting with the CNET settings for the 60"? What calibration discs to you guys recommend?
augerpro's Avatar augerpro
08:11 PM Liked: 39
post #2010 of 3439
06-15-2014 | Posts: 1,738
Joined: Aug 2005
Wow my TV already updated the firmware! So I'm going to try the AVS calibration first. I'm going to turn off Active LED zones, and turn on Motion Blur reduction. After that what settings and mode should I be in before I start the calibration?
Tags: vizio e 600-b3 , Vizio E Series E401i A2 40 Inch 1080p 120hz Led Lit Internet Hdtv , vizio m series m602i-b3

Gear in this thread - E401i by PriceGrabber.com
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3