Official 2014 Vizio Exxx-Bx Series owners thread - Page 74 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2191 of 2320 Old 07-11-2014, 03:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tubetwister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Sacramento delta N. Cal. US Don't trust any air I can't see ☺
Posts: 2,233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 312
iceblast wrote

Skin tone looks good though. But going for Computer to Normal gives everything a different cast. In Computer mode, whites are really white and bright. Normal dulls them a bit.

re/tubetwister
TV white is 235. PC white is 255 (whiter) that's normal you can up the TV contrast (white level ) if you like and see how it looks *for you*
correct calibrated 235 white (or limited RGB)is like you say *not as white* as 255 computer white (computer RGB) which most TV's clip a little anyway see what you like.

Whites (contrast )should be set with a test pattern anyway not from something posted on the web
from a review site or forum thread you want at least ~ 235 to almost disappear it's OK if you can see up to ~252 with naked eye and no filters though (and that may be more to your liking ) different TV clip different white levels

Use the downloadable Sony color blind test red and blue videos to set brightness (black level) and color saturation pretty accurately visually ,put them on a stick play it on the TV set it and copy the settings to other mode (s) you want to set . here is an image below to ball park white level all these things and more can be had right here at AVS HD.709 along with instructions for optimising your set short of an optoelectronic professional or DIY calibration .

I usually Max my contrast (white level ) on my 6 sets here and use a brightness that does not crush blacks or shadow detail or whites that requires an accurate color sat though .

I'm not a trained calibrator just an enthusiast suggesting *some things* that have worked well for me and others .
The best results can usually be obtained from a full on optoelectronic Professional or expert enthusiast DIY calibration.
for *your specific set in your environment * .
Attached Images
File Type: jpg wht_bl_test.jpg (116.7 KB, 33 views)

Hires Music formats ..............."Why does it sound like a CD ?" ............. "can we make it louder "?
"The wireless music box has no commercial value. Who would pay for a message sent to nobody in particular?"
- David Sarnoff's associates at RCA the 1920's -

Last edited by tubetwister; 07-11-2014 at 04:23 PM.
tubetwister is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2192 of 2320 Old 07-11-2014, 06:13 PM
Member
 
beardontwalk123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Iowa
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by iceblast View Post
Just finished watching Transformers 1 in BluRay 1080p with the new settings. It was awesome. I have watched this one before, but didn't like it for some reason. It's been a number of years since I last seen it, and I really like it this time. Maybe because it was so sharp being BluRay and all.

Getting ready to start Transformers 2 now. I really like this one, well, at least I use to. It's been awhile since I've seen this one as well. Let's see how I like it now, also in BluRay.

E600i-b3 does a fine job, very glad a bought it.

Oh, and Megan Fox is smoking hot!
Thanks! I am glad you are liking the settings. From my experience with other T.V. settings that I have posted for other people they seemed to have been close to correct on thiers also. Backlight and sharpness are totally up to the person though. When I calibrated the 38 backlight setting was just under the 40fL which is Cnets standard for bright and dark room viewing. My sharpness was set at 32 originally but when I was doing the bar test for brightness I could easily see them outlined by white.
beardontwalk123 is offline  
post #2193 of 2320 Old 07-11-2014, 06:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tubetwister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Sacramento delta N. Cal. US Don't trust any air I can't see ☺
Posts: 2,233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 312
iceblast

Oh, and Megan Fox is smoking hot!


re tube twister

So is Brianna Keeler in the enemy camp over at CNN

Hires Music formats ..............."Why does it sound like a CD ?" ............. "can we make it louder "?
"The wireless music box has no commercial value. Who would pay for a message sent to nobody in particular?"
- David Sarnoff's associates at RCA the 1920's -
tubetwister is online now  
post #2194 of 2320 Old 07-11-2014, 07:35 PM
Senior Member
 
iceblast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 343
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 35
So, I just finished watching All 3 Transformer movies in BluRay.

I really enjoyed it. I really don't know why people slam Michael Bay so much. I think he did a great job considering the undertaken he took on. I can't wait for part 4. Really looking forward to it. Plus, TMNT is coming.

I don't really care that the Transformers weren't exactly the same as the cartoon. I watch them for what it is, not for what I wish it was. Granted, it took me 8 years to like it. But, sometimes you have to revisit something after all the hype is forgotten, and you can watch is with fresh eyes.

It really looked great on the E600i-b3 as well. Now, to find something else to watch, hmmm....

Gigabyte G1.Sniper 3, 950watts, Intel 3770k, 16gb ram, 19tb, Sli Nvidia 480, THX Sound Card, Logitech THX z906 Speakers, E600i-b3, Yamaha v375, Cerwin Vega VS150, VS120, L7's, and Klipsch 2.2
iceblast is offline  
post #2195 of 2320 Old 07-11-2014, 07:50 PM
Member
 
jsnyder82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I got a firmware update today on my E480i-B2 that actually fixed both the red push I've been getting AND the color bar test pattern (It's now white like it's supposed to be)

Kind of a cool update, seeing as how the reds were so overbearing (especially in skin-tones) that I was actually considering returning it. Now it looks much more like the 42" version I exchanged to get this one.
jsnyder82 is offline  
post #2196 of 2320 Old 07-11-2014, 09:40 PM
Member
 
beardontwalk123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Iowa
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I do notice some horizontal lines during certain movie scenes especially with when movies are super wide (black bars on top and bottom). My question is I can either keep the 600i-b or take it back and get M552i-b for 50$ more. I bought it at Best Buy for 849 and the M series is 899, but I would notice the 5 inch difference. My question is, would the 55 M be that big off a jump for PQ? I don't care as much about the better motion on the M. Thank you guys!
beardontwalk123 is offline  
post #2197 of 2320 Old 07-11-2014, 09:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tubetwister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Sacramento delta N. Cal. US Don't trust any air I can't see ☺
Posts: 2,233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 312
removed dbl post I hate when it does that!

Hires Music formats ..............."Why does it sound like a CD ?" ............. "can we make it louder "?
"The wireless music box has no commercial value. Who would pay for a message sent to nobody in particular?"
- David Sarnoff's associates at RCA the 1920's -

Last edited by tubetwister; 07-11-2014 at 10:13 PM.
tubetwister is online now  
post #2198 of 2320 Old 07-11-2014, 10:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tubetwister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Sacramento delta N. Cal. US Don't trust any air I can't see ☺
Posts: 2,233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 312
Quote:
Originally Posted by beardontwalk123 View Post
I do notice some horizontal lines during certain movie scenes especially with when movies are super wide (black bars on top and bottom). My question is I can either keep the 600i-b or take it back and get M552i-b for 50$ more. I bought it at Best Buy for 849 and the M series is 899, but I would notice the 5 inch difference. My question is, would the 55 M be that big off a jump for PQ? I don't care as much about the better motion on the M. Thank you guys!
Horizontal lines could be interlacing issues were you feeding it an interlaced or progressive signal . I'm assuming it was 1080i TV of some sort you would not see that on 720p or other progressive signals .b you *could see it on a DVD player set to 480i instead of 480p then either change the setting or trash the player . and see how it is on other 1080i
source STB,DVR etc. Some DVD are mastered both ways at the same time also just to keep us confused .
so if the DVD and or BD spinner had a poor de interlacer and it was set to output progressive it could be that also
these things can get interesting but not in a good way .

If it's deinterlacing at the TV that's in the silicon (video processing ) and not unheard of and any set in the series *may have * same issues
the M may or may not have a different chip might be worth a shot though if the issue is frequent or a bother to to you and the 5" was not an issue .

Personally if the me (but it's not ) if perhaps the M had a 120 Hz panel vs a 60 Hz for the E and some other stuff I would give it some thought .

Hires Music formats ..............."Why does it sound like a CD ?" ............. "can we make it louder "?
"The wireless music box has no commercial value. Who would pay for a message sent to nobody in particular?"
- David Sarnoff's associates at RCA the 1920's -

Last edited by tubetwister; 07-11-2014 at 10:17 PM.
tubetwister is online now  
post #2199 of 2320 Old 07-11-2014, 10:18 PM
Member
 
beardontwalk123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Iowa
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by tubetwister View Post
Horizontal lines could be interlacing issues were you feeding it an interlaced or progressive signal . I'm assuming it was 1080i TV of some sort you would not see that on 720p or other progressive signals .b you *could see it on a DVD player set to 480i instead of 480p then either change the setting or trash the player . and see how it is on other 1080i
source STB,DVR etc. Some DVD are mastered both ways at the same time also just to keep us confused .

If it's deinterlacing at the TV that's in the silicon (video processing ) and not unheard of and any set in the series *may have * same issues
the M may or may not have a different chip might be worth a shot though if the issue is frequent or a bother to to you and the 5" was not an issue .

Personally if the me (but it's not ) if perhaps the M had a 120 Hz panel vs a 60 Hz for the E and some other stuff I would give it some thought .
It is on blu-rays that I notice also so I don't think it's that.......I think other people have called in ribbing or banding. I am just wondering if it is just as bad on the M or if it is improved?
beardontwalk123 is offline  
post #2200 of 2320 Old 07-12-2014, 12:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tubetwister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Sacramento delta N. Cal. US Don't trust any air I can't see ☺
Posts: 2,233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 312
Quote:
Originally Posted by beardontwalk123 View Post
It is on blu-rays that I notice also so I don't think it's that.......I think other people have called in ribbing or banding. I am just wondering if it is just as bad on the M or if it is improved?
No clue on that and don't know a lot about Visio in general lots more current on LG,Samsung ,Samsung Plasma,Sony and Toshiba that's what I have .

Hires Music formats ..............."Why does it sound like a CD ?" ............. "can we make it louder "?
"The wireless music box has no commercial value. Who would pay for a message sent to nobody in particular?"
- David Sarnoff's associates at RCA the 1920's -

Last edited by tubetwister; 07-12-2014 at 05:47 AM.
tubetwister is online now  
post #2201 of 2320 Old 07-12-2014, 05:41 AM
Senior Member
 
iceblast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 343
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by beardontwalk123 View Post
I do notice some horizontal lines during certain movie scenes especially with when movies are super wide (black bars on top and bottom). My question is I can either keep the 600i-b or take it back and get M552i-b for 50$ more. I bought it at Best Buy for 849 and the M series is 899, but I would notice the 5 inch difference. My question is, would the 55 M be that big off a jump for PQ? I don't care as much about the better motion on the M. Thank you guys!
Just turn off Active LED Zones. That will fix the problem. By Default, the blacks are great with Full Array Local Dimming. You don't need the flawed Active LED Zones.

Gigabyte G1.Sniper 3, 950watts, Intel 3770k, 16gb ram, 19tb, Sli Nvidia 480, THX Sound Card, Logitech THX z906 Speakers, E600i-b3, Yamaha v375, Cerwin Vega VS150, VS120, L7's, and Klipsch 2.2
iceblast is offline  
post #2202 of 2320 Old 07-12-2014, 05:49 AM
Member
 
beardontwalk123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Iowa
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by iceblast View Post
Just turn off Active LED Zones. That will fix the problem. By Default, the blacks are great with Full Array Local Dimming. You don't need the flawed Active LED Zones.
That's what a lot of people are saying......I am sure during the day it's hardly noticeable but at night when I did it I could tell for sure that the black were not nearly as deep........
beardontwalk123 is offline  
post #2203 of 2320 Old 07-12-2014, 05:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
archer75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,698
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by beardontwalk123 View Post
It is on blu-rays that I notice also so I don't think it's that.......I think other people have called in ribbing or banding. I am just wondering if it is just as bad on the M or if it is improved?
The M doesn't have that issue. Picture quality is better. Price difference isn't that much IMO so I say it's worth it.

HTPC: Intel e6300 2.8ghz, Intel DG45ID, 2gb DDR2, Radeon 5570, MCE IR receiver, Yamaha RX-V663 receiver via HDMI, panasonic ax100u, 145" S-I-L-V-E-R painted screen, 2x Roku 3's, chromecast, Amazon Fire TV, Vizio M602i-B3
archer75 is offline  
post #2204 of 2320 Old 07-12-2014, 06:03 AM
Senior Member
 
iceblast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 343
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by beardontwalk123 View Post
That's what a lot of people are saying......I am sure during the day it's hardly noticeable but at night when I did it I could tell for sure that the black were not nearly as deep........
Supposedly, the M series has better Active LED Zones, but I've also read some people have the same issue with the M series. I really don't see much difference between On and Off. Other then the flaws with it On. You get Banding and Blooming with it On, but not with it Off.

Gigabyte G1.Sniper 3, 950watts, Intel 3770k, 16gb ram, 19tb, Sli Nvidia 480, THX Sound Card, Logitech THX z906 Speakers, E600i-b3, Yamaha v375, Cerwin Vega VS150, VS120, L7's, and Klipsch 2.2
iceblast is offline  
post #2205 of 2320 Old 07-12-2014, 06:25 AM
Member
 
beardontwalk123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Iowa
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by iceblast View Post
Supposedly, the M series has better Active LED Zones, but I've also read some people have the same issue with the M series. I really don't see much difference between On and Off. Other then the flaws with it On. You get Banding and Blooming with it On, but not with it Off.
I will try it again a little later and test the black level this time to see if there is much difference.
beardontwalk123 is offline  
post #2206 of 2320 Old 07-12-2014, 11:27 AM
Member
 
jsnyder82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Okay so after this update I received yesterday, all of my VIA apps, like Netflix and Amazon, are forcing a 23.97 frequency. It looks really weird. I'm glad I have a PS3, since the HDMI inputs don't seem to be affected by it.
jsnyder82 is offline  
post #2207 of 2320 Old 07-12-2014, 12:40 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
fafrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 2,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 321
2013 70" E Series being discounted by $200 on Vizio website (over 10% off): http://store.vizio.com/eseries.html?p=3


Hopefully this means they are tying to flush out the 2013 inventory in advance of introduction the 2014 E700i-B3: http://store.vizio.com/documents/dow...UM_E600iB3.pdf
fafrd is online now  
post #2208 of 2320 Old 07-12-2014, 01:43 PM
Member
 
turbo3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by fafrd View Post
2013 70" E Series being discounted by $200 on Vizio website (over 10% off): http://store.vizio.com/eseries.html?p=3


Hopefully this means they are tying to flush out the 2013 inventory in advance of introduction the 2014 E700i-B3: http://store.vizio.com/documents/dow...UM_E600iB3.pdf
It's been that price for the past 6+ months but they can't move standing inventory because of the white spots flaw which still hasn't been corrected.
turbo3 is offline  
post #2209 of 2320 Old 07-12-2014, 07:45 PM
Member
 
beardontwalk123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Iowa
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Bummer..........my 11pt white balance settings still don't save. I have to put the settings in again every time I turn the T.V. on. I tried saving picture mode and naming it. Could a firmware fix this? All of the other settings stay put.......wierd.......could anyone else tell me if their 11pt resets on 600i-b3?

Last edited by beardontwalk123; 07-12-2014 at 08:29 PM.
beardontwalk123 is offline  
post #2210 of 2320 Old 07-12-2014, 07:55 PM
Senior Member
 
TahoeDust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 389
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by iceblast View Post
Just turn off Active LED Zones. That will fix the problem. By Default, the blacks are great with Full Array Local Dimming. You don't need the flawed Active LED Zones.
Vizio's local dimming is the "flawed Active LED Zones".

Samsung PN60E7000
Sony HT-CT770
Custom HTPC - 3.2GHz/8TB/8GB/HD5670
TahoeDust is online now  
post #2211 of 2320 Old 07-12-2014, 08:10 PM
Senior Member
 
iceblast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 343
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by TahoeDust View Post
Vizio's local dimming is the "flawed Active LED Zones".
Hmm, it seems your right about that. I've always heard Full Array Local Dimming all together. So, I thought it was all one feature. The Local Dimming is the Active LED Zones then. Oh Well, misunderstood then.

Well, I'll change what I said before then. By Default, the new 2014 Vizio Line use Full Array LED's with great blacks without the need of Local Dimming. It's a shame that Active LED Zones is flawed, but the tv still looks good. So, it's in no way a deal breaker for me.

Gigabyte G1.Sniper 3, 950watts, Intel 3770k, 16gb ram, 19tb, Sli Nvidia 480, THX Sound Card, Logitech THX z906 Speakers, E600i-b3, Yamaha v375, Cerwin Vega VS150, VS120, L7's, and Klipsch 2.2
iceblast is offline  
post #2212 of 2320 Old 07-12-2014, 10:35 PM
Member
 
BamaShaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by beardontwalk123 View Post
Bummer..........my 11pt white balance settings still don't save. I have to put the settings in again every time I turn the T.V. on. I tried saving picture mode and naming it. Could a firmware fix this? All of the other settings stay put.......wierd.......could anyone else tell me if their 11pt resets on 600i-b3?
Make sure you are hitting back and not exit... Maybe the exit is killing the save.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Tapatalk
BamaShaka is offline  
post #2213 of 2320 Old 07-12-2014, 11:16 PM
Senior Member
 
TahoeDust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 389
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by iceblast View Post
It's a shame that Active LED Zones is flawed, but the tv still looks good. So, it's in no way a deal breaker for me.
I agree. I owned a E600i-B3 for a little less than two weeks and it did do surprisingly well without the Active LED zones active. The picture was really nice. If they would have been able to implement the local dimming better it would have been a killer.

Samsung PN60E7000
Sony HT-CT770
Custom HTPC - 3.2GHz/8TB/8GB/HD5670
TahoeDust is online now  
post #2214 of 2320 Old 07-13-2014, 08:39 AM
Member
 
Pete C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So, let me get this straight...you guys are turning off the active dimming feature of this display? So, does that basically make it so it has no advantage over an edge lit set?
Pete C is offline  
post #2215 of 2320 Old 07-13-2014, 08:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
archer75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,698
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 34
It still has advantages over edge lit. Much better uniformity. Less blooming. Better black levels.

If you want working local dimming get the M series.

HTPC: Intel e6300 2.8ghz, Intel DG45ID, 2gb DDR2, Radeon 5570, MCE IR receiver, Yamaha RX-V663 receiver via HDMI, panasonic ax100u, 145" S-I-L-V-E-R painted screen, 2x Roku 3's, chromecast, Amazon Fire TV, Vizio M602i-B3
archer75 is offline  
post #2216 of 2320 Old 07-13-2014, 09:35 AM
Senior Member
 
iceblast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 343
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete C View Post
So, let me get this straight...you guys are turning off the active dimming feature of this display? So, does that basically make it so it has no advantage over an edge lit set?
Yeah, Active LED Zones is flawed on the E series, suppose to work better on the M series. But you can turn it Off.

By Default, the E series has great blacks, and IMO, with Active LED Zones turned On, it doesn't really make that much difference in blacks. So, you aren't really losing anything. They also say, that PQ isn't really that different between the E series and the M series. So, the E series is a great buy. Just leave Active LED Zones Off, and the blacks are still better then most the tv's on the market in the last 2 years. So, you really aren't losing anything. I would imagine in the next 5 years, it's going to be much cheaper, to put processor power into these tv's, and Active LED Zones will be incredible then. That's if VR doesn't destroy the need for a tv set.

Gigabyte G1.Sniper 3, 950watts, Intel 3770k, 16gb ram, 19tb, Sli Nvidia 480, THX Sound Card, Logitech THX z906 Speakers, E600i-b3, Yamaha v375, Cerwin Vega VS150, VS120, L7's, and Klipsch 2.2
iceblast is offline  
post #2217 of 2320 Old 07-13-2014, 07:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Hogan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all - I am back to the forum after many years away.


I think I'm getting a Vizio E400i-B soon.


Will be putting it into an entertainment "cabinet" that has doors that slide away (my wife is one of those people who likes to be able to "cover" the TV sometimes, although most of the time we leave the cabinet in question opened.


QUESTION - do most people on here end up needing a soundbar for this TV? I guess I should probably wait, get the TV itself first, and see for myself. Just getting ahead though as I want to start figuring out mounting options and whether I need to include space for a soundbar. Also not sure where to post it but I am looking for best practices for actually mounting the TV inside the entertainment center if possible. May search on these forums to find the right home for the question but if anyone can point me to the experts I'd appreciate it. I am thinking of screwing in some 2x4s or something across the inside back of the unit (screwed to the stronger edge pieces) and then mounting some sort of extendible mount to that so the TV can sort of float in the air at the top of the cabinet. The other option would be to build some sort of shelving inside the unit to raise the TV/stand up so it sits near the top of the cabinet and then I could put the DVD/cable box on one shelf below and maybe some DVD storage or something else too. My concern is with 3 kids I don't want this TV sitting on its little puny stand to come falling out sometime if someone bumps the furniture or TV in the wrong way.
Hogan is offline  
post #2218 of 2320 Old 07-13-2014, 08:59 PM
Member
 
BamaShaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Neighbors niece came over to play with my 3 year-old daughter... Vizio E600i-b3 vs wooden banana... Banana 1 Vizio 0

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Tapatalk
BamaShaka is offline  
post #2219 of 2320 Old 07-13-2014, 09:02 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
New Vizio E320fi-B2

This week I purchased the 2014 Vizio E320fi-B2 and am noticing a general hazy /soft quality to the picture. I turned off all the onboard processing and calibrated it to the best of my ability. It's better but not as crisp as I'd like. One clue is that when I put on the Vizio App menu, even the graphics are soft, not crisp and sharp like one would expect from a Built-in menu. I called Leo Laporte on the air and he suggested it could be a bad backlight issue. Has anyone else noticed this problem, or is it normal and I should live with it?
donnnie is offline  
post #2220 of 2320 Old 07-13-2014, 09:04 PM
Senior Member
 
TahoeDust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 389
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Ouch. That sucks Bama. Kids...what can you do?

Samsung PN60E7000
Sony HT-CT770
Custom HTPC - 3.2GHz/8TB/8GB/HD5670
TahoeDust is online now  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Vizio E Series E401i A2 40 Inch 1080p 120hz Led Lit Internet Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off