Sony 2014 W600B,W800B,W850B - Page 11 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #301 of 1666 Old 05-22-2014, 11:32 PM
Member
 
shae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hah. A suggestion to Sony: How about you just call it the same?

And I see someone drooling over there.
shae is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #302 of 1666 Old 05-23-2014, 06:16 AM
Newbie
 
bonesinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I saw the 590 over at Costco, thats the 600B I believe. Stunning set, they had it next to a Vizio E-series 42" and the difference was very noticeable. The vizio had washed out colors compared to the Sony. I didn't see any of that bezel lighting issue that was in this thread earlier.

bonesinger is offline  
post #303 of 1666 Old 05-23-2014, 11:45 AM
Member
 
jagz5586's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok i have sent back two of these now, does anyone else have a problem with green flashing dots when you have your ps3 on. I can see them in the background images or in games like the walking dead season 2. On the outline of images or places like peoples hands there are flashing or solid green dots. Both sets had this problem on all inputs and even on my pc.
jagz5586 is offline  
post #304 of 1666 Old 05-23-2014, 05:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Naylia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Did you have all processing set to Off? That sounds like the result of some sort of image manipulation/processing that's being done. Any chance you took a picture?
Naylia is offline  
post #305 of 1666 Old 05-23-2014, 05:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Naylia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by shae View Post

Hah. A suggestion to Sony: How about you just call it the same?

And I see someone drooling over there.

I suspect the ones that are very similar 800B vs 805B are probably power cord differences/included paperwork with appropriate regulatory policy statements, while something like the 800 vs 829 may actually have different options required for meeting the needs of a market. I believe there are connections from cable/sat boxes in the EU that are different from what'd you see in NA that would drive a more significant difference in model number.
Naylia is offline  
post #306 of 1666 Old 05-23-2014, 05:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Naylia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Updating software.....not a quick process. I should have plugged it into my LAN.
Naylia is offline  
post #307 of 1666 Old 05-24-2014, 12:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mkard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: The Great Southwestern Heatsink
Posts: 536
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Hi all. I have really appreciated all of the good discussion here. Thanks. Needed what you have made available to be willing to take the plunge.

Just got home with a Sony KDL-48W590B that I saw at Costco. Was quite impressed in store, and even more so with rough set-up in very high ambient lighted family room. Off-angle viewing (pretty extreme, btw) seemed much better for color and detail than that pictured at the 600b rtings.com review site. Overall a Wow! picture.
Will need a couple of days to get it set-up even close to optimally. Provided manual is junk, new-owner is expected to use the on-line help features via TV. Hours of "chat" and even extensive telephone conversations with 2nd echelon Tech support of Sony could not get me pointed to a specific Sony document that declared native refresh of panel. Still curious.

Replaces a 2008 Samsung LN40A630, also a semi-matte screen. Samsung is now at a new home. Good unit for many years, cost $1150 new. Hope it keeps new owners ($225 craigslist) happy for years.

This Sony runs miles cooler and is absolutely without operation sounds while providing improved PQ.

I am on alert for any set-up guidance that might show up on this site.

Thanks again.

Mkard is offline  
post #308 of 1666 Old 05-24-2014, 12:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mkard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: The Great Southwestern Heatsink
Posts: 536
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by jagz5586 View Post

Ok i have sent back two of these now, does anyone else have a problem with green flashing dots when you have your ps3 on. I can see them in the background images or in games like the walking dead season 2. On the outline of images or places like peoples hands there are flashing or solid green dots. Both sets had this problem on all inputs and even on my pc.

jagz,

If I read you correctly, your display throws some green dots/hash whenever your PS3 is powered up and connected, regardless of which input is selected for display? If that is the case, there could be a simple problem with an HDMI cable into your display. Might be worth at least swapping PS3 into a different input for your display, and if that doesn't tell you anything, try a new cable from PS3. If you've already done these (wouldn't surprise me), I honestly would strongly suspect your PS3 decided to go south. Sorry.

Good luck

Mike

Mkard is offline  
post #309 of 1666 Old 05-24-2014, 06:12 AM
Member
 
jagz5586's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tried all of those suggestions and i know its not my ps3 since I can see the problem with my pc and ps4 as well.
jagz5586 is offline  
post #310 of 1666 Old 05-24-2014, 12:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mkard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: The Great Southwestern Heatsink
Posts: 536
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
jagz

OK. Then I misread your original post. Sorry. A tv that throws green dots if you have anything plugged into it sounds like a problem. Good luck.

Mkard is offline  
post #311 of 1666 Old 05-24-2014, 12:29 PM
Newbie
 
Golden9's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Got the chance to check out the 50w800b and 47w802a earlier, and it seemed that the w802a had a better picture by just a bit. A bit surprised, tbh. I'm thinking it was probably the store settings.
Golden9 is offline  
post #312 of 1666 Old 05-24-2014, 12:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mkard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: The Great Southwestern Heatsink
Posts: 536
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by jagz5586 View Post

Tried all of those suggestions and i know its not my ps3 since I can see the problem with my pc and ps4 as well.

jagz,

Maybe it is a matter of presence... Does the problem occur on PC or PS4 displayed when PS3 is taken out of the system? i.e. UNPLUGGED HDMI ? If the problem does occur in that circumstance, the old process of elimination of components/cords might be a last resort to identify issue. If the problem does NOT occur regardless of where PS3 was connected (or other components connected for that matter), then I'd be looking at PS3 and/or cables.

If this you have also already tried, good luck.

Mkard is offline  
post #313 of 1666 Old 05-24-2014, 12:51 PM
Member
 
jagz5586's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mkard View Post

jagz,

Maybe it is a matter of presence... Does the problem occur on PC or PS4 displayed when PS3 is taken out of the system? i.e. UNPLUGGED HDMI ? If the problem does occur in that circumstance, the old process of elimination of components/cords might be a last resort to identify issue. If the problem does NOT occur regardless of where PS3 was connected (or other components connected for that matter), then I'd be looking at PS3 and/or cables.

If this you have also already tried, good luck.

Yes the problem occurs when the ps3 isnt even in the room, I tried about 5 different hdmi cables, and even tested the systems on other tv's and monitors. Only this tv shows the flashing green dots that can be seen easiest with a wallpaper or when playing a game like The walking dead season 2. This is my second replacement and both tv's had the same problem so it seems like it is a problem with this model and not the system, pc or cables. Moslty curious if others have run into this as I am now returning the new sony for one of the new Samsungs.
jagz5586 is offline  
post #314 of 1666 Old 05-24-2014, 04:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Naylia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by jagz5586 View Post

Yes the problem occurs when the ps3 isnt even in the room, I tried about 5 different hdmi cables, and even tested the systems on other tv's and monitors. Only this tv shows the flashing green dots that can be seen easiest with a wallpaper or when playing a game like The walking dead season 2. This is my second replacement and both tv's had the same problem so it seems like it is a problem with this model and not the system, pc or cables. Moslty curious if others have run into this as I am now returning the new sony for one of the new Samsungs.

Jagz - noticed you are having issues with a new Samsung too. Are you running through an AVR or any type of switch?
Naylia is offline  
post #315 of 1666 Old 05-24-2014, 04:50 PM
Member
 
jagz5586's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Naylia View Post

Jagz - noticed you are having issues with a new Samsung too. Are you running through an AVR or any type of switch?

Nope not running through anything on either tv. The Samsung issue seems to be related with the new update and other users with the same issue. Not sure if anyone is having any problems with this sony though.
jagz5586 is offline  
post #316 of 1666 Old 05-25-2014, 07:51 AM
Senior Member
 
bob_m10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mkard View Post

Hi all. I have really appreciated all of the good discussion here. Thanks. Needed what you have made available to be willing to take the plunge.

Just got home with a Sony KDL-48W590B that I saw at Costco. Was quite impressed in store, and even more so with rough set-up in very high ambient lighted family room. Off-angle viewing (pretty extreme, btw) seemed much better for color and detail than that pictured at the 600b rtings.com review site. Overall a Wow! picture.
Will need a couple of days to get it set-up even close to optimally. Provided manual is junk, new-owner is expected to use the on-line help features via TV. Hours of "chat" and even extensive telephone conversations with 2nd echelon Tech support of Sony could not get me pointed to a specific Sony document that declared native refresh of panel. Still curious.

Replaces a 2008 Samsung LN40A630, also a semi-matte screen. Samsung is now at a new home. Good unit for many years, cost $1150 new. Hope it keeps new owners ($225 craigslist) happy for years.

This Sony runs miles cooler and is absolutely without operation sounds while providing improved PQ.

I am on alert for any set-up guidance that might show up on this site.

Thanks again.

Hi Mkard, is the power cord detachable and without an external transformer? Thanks Bob
bob_m10 is offline  
post #317 of 1666 Old 05-25-2014, 09:25 PM
Newbie
 
Stormwalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I grabbed a 60w850b on the weekend and am very impressed with the set.

I was wondering how others have set up their amplifiers with this unit.

I have the following devices:
* Sony Bluray (soon to be replaced by a PS4);
* Fetch TV (DVR) and
* Apple TV.

At the moment I am just using the tv as a monitor and the Amp controls everything else. I do prefer the Sony GUI over the DVRs though.

Is it possible to have all my devices connected through the TVs HDMI inputs and the TV sends just the audio to my amp?

My amp is a Denon AVR 789as well.
Stormwalker is offline  
post #318 of 1666 Old 05-26-2014, 12:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Naylia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 17
On my 800 one of the HDMI outputs is flagged as ARC (Audio Return Channel), but this requires your AVR to also support ARC. Mine does not so I haven't played around with it. I am currently set up similar to you. My plan is to go back to 2 cable solutions (HDMI to TV + Optical to AVR) for a couple of my devices that I might be likely to want to PIP with the GUI (video games + netflix).

Separate topic: Does anyone's 600/800/850B have it's Amazon Prime Instant Video App working yet? Mine just gives me a mailing list to sign up for with a Coming Soon! dialog.
Naylia is offline  
post #319 of 1666 Old 05-26-2014, 09:16 PM
Newbie
 
batmodem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TepEvan View Post

I was going back and forth between the 48w600b and the 50w800b. I ended up going with the 48w600b. I get 10% off the Sony web store, so the difference was $584 vs $899. The non-standard VESA mount part for the 50w800b would cost an additional $40. The TV is replacing a (approx 8 year old) 32" Samsung 720p 60hz, I saved the $$, was concerned about the non-standard mount and some of the issues people were saying with the sound cutting out on the 50w800b, and went with the 48w600b. It arrives Monday, so I'll update everyone after that.

Where did you see this issue reported?
batmodem is offline  
post #320 of 1666 Old 05-26-2014, 09:24 PM
Newbie
 
Levardw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Montclair, NJ
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How is 50w800b screen uniformity compared to last year's 50r550a? I love the picture quality of my 50r550a but i had an issue with flashlighting and clouding. I'm on my third set from Sony. I just want a review on the w800b before I try that
Levardw is offline  
post #321 of 1666 Old 05-27-2014, 02:59 PM
Senior Member
 
ColdsnapBryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Anyone put the Sony 48" KDL40W600B through a lag input test yet? If it's as fast as the UK models from last year, I want it..
ColdsnapBryan is offline  
post #322 of 1666 Old 05-27-2014, 03:34 PM
Member
 
Starhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ColdsnapBryan View Post

Anyone put the Sony 48" KDL40W600B through a lag input test yet? If it's as fast as the UK models from last year, I want it..

Displaylag.com is showing 29ms for the KDL40W600B.

http://www.displaylag.com/oled-4k-2014-input-lag-results/
Starhawk is online now  
post #323 of 1666 Old 05-27-2014, 03:44 PM
Senior Member
 
ColdsnapBryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starhawk View Post

Displaylag.com is showing 29ms for the KDL40W600B.

http://www.displaylag.com/oled-4k-2014-input-lag-results/

Darn. Sony has spoiled me too much the past two years, 29ms is too high for me, for gaming that is. Maybe 48" will be lower.
ColdsnapBryan is offline  
post #324 of 1666 Old 05-27-2014, 04:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Naylia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 17
48" looks like 31 from the Display Lag site.

Just buy the 50" instead biggrin.gif
Naylia is offline  
post #325 of 1666 Old 05-27-2014, 04:32 PM
Senior Member
 
ColdsnapBryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Ah, I missed that. Yea the 800B seems like what I'd want.
ColdsnapBryan is offline  
post #326 of 1666 Old 05-27-2014, 04:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mkard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: The Great Southwestern Heatsink
Posts: 536
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob_m10 View Post

Hi Mkard, is the power cord detachable and without an external transformer? Thanks Bob

Bob,

Sorry for delay. Unit is the standard detachable power cord to transformer, then longer DC cord to TV.
All together still weighs @1/2 what 2008 40" Samsung LCD tv did. Pretty picture though...

Mkard

Mkard is offline  
post #327 of 1666 Old 05-27-2014, 05:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mkard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: The Great Southwestern Heatsink
Posts: 536
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Anyone out there got some good setup data for w600 or w590? I suspect that I've done something badly wrong to cause my gripes.

1) I am getting an intermittent brightening near center of display on otherwise stable scene when nothing in room environment changes. Brightening lasts 1 second or less. Might recur 3 times in a ten second window. A little off-putting...

2) From same source, TV (different OTA channels, all HD) or InterTubes (Netflix and OTHERS) I can get radically different color saturations from similar material. Same era of Movie or TV show will give very different PQ especially color level. Scene is General for both TV and Network. Internet sourced material having this is somewhat understandable, but OTA HD TV?

Some successful settings lists for these 60hz (Sony still won't say, but there it is) 2014 sets would be of great help.

MKard

Mkard is offline  
post #328 of 1666 Old 05-27-2014, 07:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Naylia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Have you turned off:

- Black Corrector: Enhance the black in images for stronger contrast
- Adv. Contrast Enhancer - Automatically adjusts contrast based on picture brightness
- Auto Light Limiter: Controls backlight to reduce excessive brightness in bright scenes
- Clear White: Emphasize whiteness in picture
- Live Color: Improve the vividness of colors
- Skin Naturalizer: Detects faces and creates natural skin tones

Many of these sound like they process dynamically meaning you get different results all the time with subtle changes in material. I've turned them all off on my 800B. Not sure which options there are on the 600B.
Naylia is offline  
post #329 of 1666 Old 05-27-2014, 08:46 PM
Newbie
 
Levardw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Montclair, NJ
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Can anyone give me a comparison on how the w800b stacks up against the r550a? Im trying to make the decision on whether i should keep my r550a 

Levardw is offline  
post #330 of 1666 Old 05-28-2014, 07:46 AM
Senior Member
 
bob_m10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mkard View Post

Bob,

Sorry for delay. Unit is the standard detachable power cord to transformer, then longer DC cord to TV.
All together still weighs @1/2 what 2008 40" Samsung LCD tv did. Pretty picture though...

Mkard

Thanks, can you estimate the length of the DC cord? Trying to see if it will work in my application. Thanks Bob
bob_m10 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Sony Kdl 55w900a 55 Inch Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off