60"-65" TV for the Play Station 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

Old 01-25-2014, 09:01 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hello,

I'm having a hard time picking up a good TV for my new PlayStation 4. I am new to TVs so I am hoping to get some help here...

Like a lot of other people I wanted to get the best and latest TV for my PS4. At first sight one would think that the best TVs are OLEDs or 4K LEDs. Unfortunately these new technologies carry a lot of disadvantages with them and the high price is not one that concerns me.

Since I am very new to TVs I didn't know a thing about them so my first thoughts were to get a Large Screen with a High Resolution. Thanks to this forum I found out about things such as Input Lag, Room Conditions, Viewing Angle, Brightness and what have you. This however, only made my struggle worse since I surprisingly found that there aren't much good gaming TVs at all.

Let's take the 4K TVs for example. My first choice was Philips 65PFL9708S/12. I thought WOW - great colours, EISA 2013-2014 Best Product Award, 65", 4K Resolution, AmbiLight (that's probably fun for gaming. makes it more immersive). What more could you possibly want ? Well turns out 4K TVs aren't one bit good for anything that's not 4K. In fact a few youtube videos from renowned reviewers claim that due to all the upscaling that the TV does, the games actually look worse, than when played on a native FHD TV. Aside from that, all mainstream 4K TVs have a 30Hz refresh rate. I don't care what they tell you and I have no idea why the DisplayLag database claims otherwise, but 4K TVs come with 30Hz refresh rate which sucks big time for Gaming @ 50+FPS. The truth is that the current HDMI 1.4 standard only has bandwidth for 4K at 30hz. HDMI 2.0 will add support for 4K at 60Hz.

Conclusion: No 4K TV for now.