OFFICIAL Samsung 4k HU8550 and HU9000 thread - Page 112 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3331 of 3355 Old Today, 06:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mrorange303's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 711
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 271 Post(s)
Liked: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by bberns22 View Post
I don't watch tv in the dark - my sets always have a small amount of back lighting when all lights are down (never completely off) . I do not consider 60"-65" adequate size for serious home theater application - theses are just general purpose tv's. If I was going for a dark room set up I would go front projector. The weakness of the Samsung is off center viewing and some motion blur. The colors on the Samsung are more accurate and it has better dynamic range plus the apps and the hub provide overwhelming content. The weakness of the Panasonic are lower light output - inability to obtain perfect rec 709 color space (although close) and lack of integration into internet without 3rd party hardware. It all depends what is most important to you.

I know with a checkerboard test pattern the Kuro measures lower black level but in a real work application, my living room, I am satisfied with black level and overall contrast capability of the Samsung. In the last 10 years I have bought 9 tv's: 6 plasma's, 1 dlp and 2 lcd. Only 3 had met my black level standards - Kuro, U8550, and the Samsung DLP (which had an array of other issues).
Other than black levels? Im glad you were able to move on from your kuro. Thats strength.
Mrorange303 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3332 of 3355 Old Today, 07:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
sikclown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 334 Post(s)
Liked: 159
Quote:
Originally Posted by doctorwizz View Post
I lost all sound on my 3312 yesterday on any input. Didn't try net radio. Tried unplugging, nada. Was going to do a reset, but I went into options and turned off HDMI control. Fixt. Don't know what caused it. I havn't changed anything lately. But ARC is working now.
Also, I was getting no sound on the apps through optical the other day. Might have had something to do with this HDMI control. I am leaving it off for now. I don't need it.
Your ARC can't be working if you have HDMI Control turned completely off. It sounds like you had Both ARC and Optical going which might have caused an issue. If you currently have Optical plugged in and it is working then I would just stick with that; It seems the Older the Denon receiver, the flakier ARC is (in my experience).

UN65F9000AFXZA + SEK2500U/ZA firmware version 1150.5
Denon AVR-2313ci, Denon AVR-S900w, Apple TV, Sony BDP-S6200
Cox Cisco 6 tuner Contour Box , PS4, Xbox One, HD Antenna
(2) Klipsch F-30s, (2) Klipsch F-20s, (2) Klipsch S-20s,
(2) Klipsch S-10s, (2) Klipsch B-20s, (1) Klipsch Sub-12HG
UN55HU8550, Ceton Echo, Apple TV, Sony BDP-S590, Motorola Cox Contour Receiver, PC
sikclown is online now  
post #3333 of 3355 Old Today, 07:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
sikclown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 334 Post(s)
Liked: 159
Quote:
Originally Posted by twisterrr View Post
So ARC stopped working again, resorted to just using optical out but now when i select DTS neo 2:5 i have no sound using netflix; however, dolby digital seems to work and I know that if I do a reset it will all work again even the ARC. It just seems that 2 resets in 2 days that own the tv seems too much I guess i will just settle for dolby digital and no ARC until maybe some future update fixes all this...
I am curious, why would you select DTS Neo 2.5 instead of Dolby on Netflix? Dolby will output the actual 5.1 sound. PCM and DTS Neo 2.5 just take 2 channels and matrix them into "surround sound". Dolby or DTS are the best choices when available. Then DTS Neo and PCM are about on par; DTS Neo is a bit louder.

As far as your ARC not working, what receiver are you using? I have found that the flakiness of my ARC has likely been my receiver's issue rather than my TVs.

UN65F9000AFXZA + SEK2500U/ZA firmware version 1150.5
Denon AVR-2313ci, Denon AVR-S900w, Apple TV, Sony BDP-S6200
Cox Cisco 6 tuner Contour Box , PS4, Xbox One, HD Antenna
(2) Klipsch F-30s, (2) Klipsch F-20s, (2) Klipsch S-20s,
(2) Klipsch S-10s, (2) Klipsch B-20s, (1) Klipsch Sub-12HG
UN55HU8550, Ceton Echo, Apple TV, Sony BDP-S590, Motorola Cox Contour Receiver, PC
sikclown is online now  
post #3334 of 3355 Old Today, 07:48 AM
Senior Member
 
doctorwizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 447
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by sikclown View Post
Your ARC can't be working if you have HDMI Control turned completely off. It sounds like you had Both ARC and Optical going which might have caused an issue. If you currently have Optical plugged in and it is working then I would just stick with that; It seems the Older the Denon receiver, the flakier ARC is (in my experience).
Damn you

OC you are correct. I forgot to un-assign optical.
ARC is not working when I turn HDMI control back on.
I want my x4100 now Denon! Not in Sept.

Samsung 65" HU8550 - TS01, Denon 3312 AVR, Cerwin Vega VE speakers x 7, Outlaw LFM-1 EX sub
WDTV Live, Roku 3, Amazon FireTV, LG BD390 Bluray, WiiU, Nuvola NP1(7-28)
DishTV Hopper w/Sling, Self Made PC, AMD FX8350, 16GB Ram, LG 16x BD-RW
EVGA GTX-780 6GB SC, ACX Cooler, Gigabyte GTX-750Ti 2GB, 3840x2160@60Hz , AC-68 Router
Samsung 840 Evo 250GB SSD, Samsung HD204Ui 2TB, 3 UPS's
doctorwizz is offline  
post #3335 of 3355 Old Today, 07:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
sikclown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 334 Post(s)
Liked: 159
Quote:
Originally Posted by doctorwizz View Post
Damn you

OC you are correct. I forgot to un-assign optical.
ARC is not working when I turn HDMI control back on.
I want my x4100 now Denon! Not in Sept.

On my Denon 2313ci ARC can be such a pain in the ass. It completely flaked on me several times and then I realized I had my optical plugged in. I then did everything in this order:

1) Turned off HDMI Control on Denon
2) Turned off HDMI-CEC on Samsung
3) Unplugged my optical cable
4) Turned everything off and unplugged my receiver for 10 minutes
5) Turned Receiver on then TV
6) Turned HDMI Control on in Denon
7) Turned HDMI-CEC on in Samsung and then go to sound menu and choose Receiver
8) Turn everything off one more time then turn on receiver and then TV

Also worth noting I turned off Auto Off in HDMI-CEC section of TV because my Receiver kept popping back on. What was happening was my Harmony remote was turning off my TV which was turning of my Receiver but then the Harmony would turn off the receiver which actually turned it back on. I know I could have fixed it via the Harmony setup but I was being lazy. Coincidentally, since I have turned off the Auto Off feature ARC has been rock solid. I really think the Denon wants/needs to be the first one powered on.
Mrorange303 likes this.

UN65F9000AFXZA + SEK2500U/ZA firmware version 1150.5
Denon AVR-2313ci, Denon AVR-S900w, Apple TV, Sony BDP-S6200
Cox Cisco 6 tuner Contour Box , PS4, Xbox One, HD Antenna
(2) Klipsch F-30s, (2) Klipsch F-20s, (2) Klipsch S-20s,
(2) Klipsch S-10s, (2) Klipsch B-20s, (1) Klipsch Sub-12HG
UN55HU8550, Ceton Echo, Apple TV, Sony BDP-S590, Motorola Cox Contour Receiver, PC
sikclown is online now  
post #3336 of 3355 Old Today, 08:04 AM
Senior Member
 
doctorwizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 447
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by sikclown View Post
On my Denon 2313ci ARC can be such a pain in the ass. It completely flaked on me several times and then I realized I had my optical plugged in. I then did everything in this order:

1) Turned off HDMI Control on Denon
2) Turned off HDMI-CEC on Samsung
3) Unplugged my optical cable
4) Turned everything off and unplugged my receiver for 10 minutes
5) Turned Receiver on then TV
6) Turned HDMI Control on in Denon
7) Turned HDMI-CEC on in Samsung and then go to sound menu and choose Receiver
8) Turn everything off one more time then turn on receiver and then TV

Also worth noting I turned off Auto Off in HDMI-CEC section of TV because my Receiver kept popping back on. What was happening was my Harmony remote was turning off my TV which was turning of my Receiver but then the Harmony would turn off the receiver which actually turned it back on. I know I could have fixed it via the Harmony setup but I was being lazy. Coincidentally, since I have turned off the Auto Off feature ARC has been rock solid. I really think the Denon wants/needs to be the first one powered on.
Thanks! I will try that in about 45 min and report back.

Samsung 65" HU8550 - TS01, Denon 3312 AVR, Cerwin Vega VE speakers x 7, Outlaw LFM-1 EX sub
WDTV Live, Roku 3, Amazon FireTV, LG BD390 Bluray, WiiU, Nuvola NP1(7-28)
DishTV Hopper w/Sling, Self Made PC, AMD FX8350, 16GB Ram, LG 16x BD-RW
EVGA GTX-780 6GB SC, ACX Cooler, Gigabyte GTX-750Ti 2GB, 3840x2160@60Hz , AC-68 Router
Samsung 840 Evo 250GB SSD, Samsung HD204Ui 2TB, 3 UPS's
doctorwizz is offline  
post #3337 of 3355 Old Today, 08:08 AM
Member
 
porsche948's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 13
son of a @!%$^

opened up the browser yesterday morning on my 75" HU8550 beast and thought there was some dust near the left edge.

wiped the screen with a microfibre cloth and after close inspection i have a dead pixel that is causing the neighboring pixels both left and right to be slightly darkened as well. Everything else on this tv has been amazing, aside from netflix requiring a reset which wipes all my progress on the need for speed most wanted game download.

start a return process on a panel that has been amazing so far, such a shame, but like hell i am looking at that black dot on a white screen for then next n years. i can see the damn thing from 8 feet away. really sucks.
porsche948 is offline  
post #3338 of 3355 Old Today, 08:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
sikclown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 334 Post(s)
Liked: 159
Quote:
Originally Posted by doctorwizz View Post
Thanks! I will try that in about 45 min and report back.
Oh also I do still have the optical cable plugged into the back of my receiver out of laziness, I just unplugged it from the TV so it wouldn't output sound and confuse the Receiver.

UN65F9000AFXZA + SEK2500U/ZA firmware version 1150.5
Denon AVR-2313ci, Denon AVR-S900w, Apple TV, Sony BDP-S6200
Cox Cisco 6 tuner Contour Box , PS4, Xbox One, HD Antenna
(2) Klipsch F-30s, (2) Klipsch F-20s, (2) Klipsch S-20s,
(2) Klipsch S-10s, (2) Klipsch B-20s, (1) Klipsch Sub-12HG
UN55HU8550, Ceton Echo, Apple TV, Sony BDP-S590, Motorola Cox Contour Receiver, PC
sikclown is online now  
post #3339 of 3355 Old Today, 08:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
sikclown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 334 Post(s)
Liked: 159
Quote:
Originally Posted by porsche948 View Post
opened up the browser yesterday morning on my 75" HU8550 beast and thought there was some dust near the left edge.

wiped the screen with a microfibre cloth and after close inspection i have a dead pixel that is causing the neighboring pixels both left and right to be slightly darkened as well. Everything else on this tv has been amazing, aside from netflix requiring a reset which wipes all my progress on the need for speed most wanted game download.

start a return process on a panel that has been amazing so far, such a shame, but like hell i am looking at that black dot on a white screen for then next n years. i can see the damn thing from 8 feet away. really sucks.
That stinks. Yup I am of the same mind, if something isn't right send it back. What do you mean about Netflix reset and Need for Speed download?

UN65F9000AFXZA + SEK2500U/ZA firmware version 1150.5
Denon AVR-2313ci, Denon AVR-S900w, Apple TV, Sony BDP-S6200
Cox Cisco 6 tuner Contour Box , PS4, Xbox One, HD Antenna
(2) Klipsch F-30s, (2) Klipsch F-20s, (2) Klipsch S-20s,
(2) Klipsch S-10s, (2) Klipsch B-20s, (1) Klipsch Sub-12HG
UN55HU8550, Ceton Echo, Apple TV, Sony BDP-S590, Motorola Cox Contour Receiver, PC
sikclown is online now  
post #3340 of 3355 Old Today, 08:38 AM
Member
 
DoucheVader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What's wrong with the UN50HU8500FXZA or is that just an older model not within this "family" of Sammy models?

PSN ID: DoucheVader
DoucheVader is offline  
post #3341 of 3355 Old Today, 09:13 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by sikclown View Post
I am curious, why would you select DTS Neo 2.5 instead of Dolby on Netflix? Dolby will output the actual 5.1 sound. PCM and DTS Neo 2.5 just take 2 channels and matrix them into "surround sound". Dolby or DTS are the best choices when available. Then DTS Neo and PCM are about on par; DTS Neo is a bit louder.

As far as your ARC not working, what receiver are you using? I have found that the flakiness of my ARC has likely been my receiver's issue rather than my TVs.
Because until today Netflix would only output Stereo There was no option for DD 5.1 in app . However after last nights server maintenance 5.1 can be selected in Netflix IN APP.. So all of us who have been waiting for DD 5.1 in Netflix ITS HERE
Janibrewski likes this.
Zacasaur is offline  
post #3342 of 3355 Old Today, 09:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
sikclown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 334 Post(s)
Liked: 159
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zacasaur View Post
Because until today Netflix would only output Stereo There was no option for DD 5.1 in app . However after last nights server maintenance 5.1 can be selected in Netflix IN APP.. So all of us who have been waiting for DD 5.1 in Netflix ITS HERE
Gotcha. Yeah 5.1 was fixed yesterday. I apologize, I thought you were talking about this issue happening after the fix. my bad.

UN65F9000AFXZA + SEK2500U/ZA firmware version 1150.5
Denon AVR-2313ci, Denon AVR-S900w, Apple TV, Sony BDP-S6200
Cox Cisco 6 tuner Contour Box , PS4, Xbox One, HD Antenna
(2) Klipsch F-30s, (2) Klipsch F-20s, (2) Klipsch S-20s,
(2) Klipsch S-10s, (2) Klipsch B-20s, (1) Klipsch Sub-12HG
UN55HU8550, Ceton Echo, Apple TV, Sony BDP-S590, Motorola Cox Contour Receiver, PC
sikclown is online now  
post #3343 of 3355 Old Today, 09:23 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by sikclown View Post
Gotcha. Yeah 5.1 was fixed yesterday. I apologize, I thought you were talking about this issue happening after the fix. my bad.
Not your bad at all I just turned on the TV and check this morning as I kept getting a message at the top of the TV that samsung servers were going down for maintenance and yesterday. When I checkyesterday it was still stereo. As soon as I saw it working I posted and just happens that the web page opened with that post right in the middle. I noticed after my reply you had already posted the happy news.
Zacasaur is offline  
post #3344 of 3355 Old Today, 09:25 AM
Member
 
twisterrr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sikclown View Post
I am curious, why would you select DTS Neo 2.5 instead of Dolby on Netflix? Dolby will output the actual 5.1 sound. PCM and DTS Neo 2.5 just take 2 channels and matrix them into "surround sound". Dolby or DTS are the best choices when available. Then DTS Neo and PCM are about on par; DTS Neo is a bit louder.

As far as your ARC not working, what receiver are you using? I have found that the flakiness of my ARC has likely been my receiver's issue rather than my TVs.
Yea just realized you were right about the dolby, now that I think about it when I was using ARC i might have been trying DTS Neo too and was not hearing any sound so maybe Dolby did work while using ARC hmm.... Using ARC right now dolby seems to be working wonder if it will continue working. Oh and I am using Denon 3312c as the receiver.
twisterrr is offline  
post #3345 of 3355 Old Today, 09:27 AM
Senior Member
 
doctorwizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 447
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by sikclown View Post
On my Denon 2313ci ARC can be such a pain in the ass. It completely flaked on me several times and then I realized I had my optical plugged in. I then did everything in this order:

1) Turned off HDMI Control on Denon
2) Turned off HDMI-CEC on Samsung
3) Unplugged my optical cable
4) Turned everything off and unplugged my receiver for 10 minutes
5) Turned Receiver on then TV
6) Turned HDMI Control on in Denon
7) Turned HDMI-CEC on in Samsung and then go to sound menu and choose Receiver
8) Turn everything off one more time then turn on receiver and then TV

Also worth noting I turned off Auto Off in HDMI-CEC section of TV because my Receiver kept popping back on. What was happening was my Harmony remote was turning off my TV which was turning of my Receiver but then the Harmony would turn off the receiver which actually turned it back on. I know I could have fixed it via the Harmony setup but I was being lazy. Coincidentally, since I have turned off the Auto Off feature ARC has been rock solid. I really think the Denon wants/needs to be the first one powered on.
Nope. Receiver is grayed out like usual still. I don't care. Funny because it will rarely come on by itself. I can tell when I see a volume GUI. Then I check the sound settings in the TV and receiver is magically selected by itself. It doesn't last long.

Samsung 65" HU8550 - TS01, Denon 3312 AVR, Cerwin Vega VE speakers x 7, Outlaw LFM-1 EX sub
WDTV Live, Roku 3, Amazon FireTV, LG BD390 Bluray, WiiU, Nuvola NP1(7-28)
DishTV Hopper w/Sling, Self Made PC, AMD FX8350, 16GB Ram, LG 16x BD-RW
EVGA GTX-780 6GB SC, ACX Cooler, Gigabyte GTX-750Ti 2GB, 3840x2160@60Hz , AC-68 Router
Samsung 840 Evo 250GB SSD, Samsung HD204Ui 2TB, 3 UPS's
doctorwizz is offline  
post #3346 of 3355 Old Today, 09:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
sikclown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 334 Post(s)
Liked: 159
Quote:
Originally Posted by doctorwizz View Post
Nope. Receiver is grayed out like usual still. I don't care. Funny because it will rarely come on by itself. I can tell when I see a volume GUI. Then I check the sound settings in the TV and receiver is magically selected by itself. It doesn't last long.
Interesting indeed. I would say it is probably a receiver issue but to heck with it. Optical can do Dolby Digital Plus, run with it.

UN65F9000AFXZA + SEK2500U/ZA firmware version 1150.5
Denon AVR-2313ci, Denon AVR-S900w, Apple TV, Sony BDP-S6200
Cox Cisco 6 tuner Contour Box , PS4, Xbox One, HD Antenna
(2) Klipsch F-30s, (2) Klipsch F-20s, (2) Klipsch S-20s,
(2) Klipsch S-10s, (2) Klipsch B-20s, (1) Klipsch Sub-12HG
UN55HU8550, Ceton Echo, Apple TV, Sony BDP-S590, Motorola Cox Contour Receiver, PC
sikclown is online now  
post #3347 of 3355 Old Today, 09:36 AM
Member
 
R0CK632's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by porsche948 View Post
opened up the browser yesterday morning on my 75" HU8550 beast and thought there was some dust near the left edge.

wiped the screen with a microfibre cloth and after close inspection i have a dead pixel that is causing the neighboring pixels both left and right to be slightly darkened as well. Everything else on this tv has been amazing, aside from netflix requiring a reset which wipes all my progress on the need for speed most wanted game download.

start a return process on a panel that has been amazing so far, such a shame, but like hell i am looking at that black dot on a white screen for then next n years. i can see the damn thing from 8 feet away. really sucks.
On my Disney WOW blu ray calibration dvd, they have a program on their which is suppose to help rescue stuck pixels. I have not needed to try it but you can give it a whirl. Heard it works well.

Samsung UN65HU9000
Pioneer VSX -524 -K
Sony PS3
R0CK632 is offline  
post #3348 of 3355 Old Today, 10:09 AM
Member
 
porsche948's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 13
explanation

Quote:
Originally Posted by sikclown View Post
That stinks. Yup I am of the same mind, if something isn't right send it back. What do you mean about Netflix reset and Need for Speed download?
basically, i had played a few levels of the need for speed most wanted download game in my smart hub. wife was having issues getting netflix going so i did a smart hub reset to get it back going and i then had to redownload the need for speed game. after entering my samsung account email i thought it would retrieve my progress off the samsung account in the game, but nope; had to start the game all over again.

also, that game recommends to download the controller app to your phone but it is nowhere to be found when i search the samsung apps store; not that control on a phone would be much greater. Gonna try my moga sometime.

thanks rock for the heads up on the wow disc pixel thing although i have doubts about that working, let alone do i have access to the disc. Probably will be a waste of a buy since i am not a videophile and not that picky about color calibration. I am more of a warm2 play with some amp setting and backlight and gamma tweaks like most of you have recommended.
porsche948 is offline  
post #3349 of 3355 Old Today, 10:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
sikclown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 334 Post(s)
Liked: 159
Quote:
Originally Posted by porsche948 View Post
basically, i had played a few levels of the need for speed most wanted download game in my smart hub. wife was having issues getting netflix going so i did a smart hub reset to get it back going and i then had to redownload the need for speed game. after entering my samsung account email i thought it would retrieve my progress off the samsung account in the game, but nope; had to start the game all over again.

also, that game recommends to download the controller app to your phone but it is nowhere to be found when i search the samsung apps store; not that control on a phone would be much greater. Gonna try my moga sometime.

thanks rock for the heads up on the wow disc pixel thing although i have doubts about that working, let alone do i have access to the disc. Probably will be a waste of a buy since i am not a videophile and not that picky about color calibration. I am more of a warm2 play with some amp setting and backlight and gamma tweaks like most of you have recommended.

Ohhhh don't mind me, I am tired today I read Need For Speed and assumed console (PS3,4, XBox, etc); I didn't even know they had a version in Smart Hub!

UN65F9000AFXZA + SEK2500U/ZA firmware version 1150.5
Denon AVR-2313ci, Denon AVR-S900w, Apple TV, Sony BDP-S6200
Cox Cisco 6 tuner Contour Box , PS4, Xbox One, HD Antenna
(2) Klipsch F-30s, (2) Klipsch F-20s, (2) Klipsch S-20s,
(2) Klipsch S-10s, (2) Klipsch B-20s, (1) Klipsch Sub-12HG
UN55HU8550, Ceton Echo, Apple TV, Sony BDP-S590, Motorola Cox Contour Receiver, PC
sikclown is online now  
post #3350 of 3355 Old Today, 11:13 AM
Member
 
chris6878's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris6878 View Post
Samsung UN55HU8550

OK So the wife purchased this from her cousin last month brand new in box. the 55 inch. THe TV worked fine until today. I turned it on and I got a black and white screen split in two. I can hear the sound from the tv, but we get no picture.

I always buy my stuff from a store with ext warranty, but because this was a tv I was just gonna use to replace and old dlp in the kitchen, I didnt mind taking a chance on it. Plus it was priced right.

So now we have a Brand new TV with no picture. Im not really mad Cause My Panny Plasma is my main TV. WIfe IS mad cause she uses it, and she feels her cousin should do more to rectify the situation. Im not getting into it. But he knows thats the last thing we will ever buy from him, and Ill make sure he loses many more customers. Ive attached a pic. Any Ideas on fixing would be appreciated. Thanks
Just to lewt yall know. tv was fixed under warranty. it had a bad led board
sikclown and Zacasaur like this.
chris6878 is offline  
post #3351 of 3355 Old Today, 11:15 AM
Member
 
porsche948's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 13
smart hub gaming

yeah typically i would just have ignored the gaming aspect of smart hub but being as this was the first true smart tv i have owned i figured i would explore how some of them looked and this EA title on smart hub doesn't disappoint. Console like graphics and surprisingly good gameplay just with the smart remote. Obviously not near as intuitive as a gamepad but since i haven't tried my moga yet i give the controls on the smart hub a better than average grade seeing as i didn't mind restarting my progress with playing the game on the smart remote. After you get the hang of how to turn with the touchpad things can get dialed in pretty good when you hit the touchpad for the enter button to enter drift mode.

my two year old loves watching me play as he's inundated with cars in general these days. lots of fun, except for the stuck pixel!
sikclown likes this.
porsche948 is offline  
post #3352 of 3355 Old Today, 06:23 PM
Member
 
Stonedcl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 11
My tv did a updat and netflix is saying " we're have trouble playing this title right now . Please try again later or select a different title." When trying to play a few titles .. Can someone else try and see if it works for them.
Stonedcl is online now  
post #3353 of 3355 Old Today, 06:36 PM
Member
 
mario64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zacasaur View Post
Because until today Netflix would only output Stereo There was no option for DD 5.1 in app . However after last nights server maintenance 5.1 can be selected in Netflix IN APP.. So all of us who have been waiting for DD 5.1 in Netflix ITS HERE
Where exactly in the app do you select it? I clicked the settings icon and don't have any audio settings at all
mario64 is offline  
post #3354 of 3355 Old Today, 06:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
sikclown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 334 Post(s)
Liked: 159
Quote:
Originally Posted by mario64 View Post
Where exactly in the app do you select it? I clicked the settings icon and don't have any audio settings at all
In the Netflix App click on a title with 5.1 that you want to watch. Then when it starts playing click on the Audio & Subtitles menu at the bottom and select 5.1 if it isn't selected already. You may also have to select it in Samsung Menu then Sound then Additional Settings then Audio Format then Dolby.

UN65F9000AFXZA + SEK2500U/ZA firmware version 1150.5
Denon AVR-2313ci, Denon AVR-S900w, Apple TV, Sony BDP-S6200
Cox Cisco 6 tuner Contour Box , PS4, Xbox One, HD Antenna
(2) Klipsch F-30s, (2) Klipsch F-20s, (2) Klipsch S-20s,
(2) Klipsch S-10s, (2) Klipsch B-20s, (1) Klipsch Sub-12HG
UN55HU8550, Ceton Echo, Apple TV, Sony BDP-S590, Motorola Cox Contour Receiver, PC
sikclown is online now  
post #3355 of 3355 Old Today, 07:03 PM
Member
 
mario64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sikclown View Post
In the Netflix App click on a title with 5.1 that you want to watch. Then when it starts playing click on the Audio & Subtitles menu at the bottom and select 5.1 if it isn't selected already. You may also have to select it in Samsung Menu then Sound then Additional Settings then Audio Format then Dolby.
Thank you!
mario64 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
samsung u8550 , Samsung Un55c8000 55 Inch 1080p 240 Hz 3d Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off