OFFICIAL Samsung 4k HU8550 and HU9000 thread - Page 139 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #4141 of 14922 Old 08-18-2014, 05:27 PM
Senior Member
 
thewayacts92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smin View Post
I got it from BestBuy and yeah, i'm only a couple days into having it.
Were you looking dead centered at the picture or from an angle? If you are sitting at the sweet spot that should not been happening. Watching from an angle I don't know if that would be normal. I sit most of the time right in front of the TV or 1 or 2 feet to either side and my set looks great.

If it is indeed a defective set, Best Buy will give you an exchange.
thewayacts92 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4142 of 14922 Old 08-18-2014, 05:32 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by thewayacts92 View Post
Were you looking dead centered at the picture or from an angle? If you are sitting at the sweet spot that should not been happening. Watching from an angle I don't know if that would be normal. I sit most of the time right in front of the TV or 1 or 2 feet to either side and my set looks great.

If it is indeed a defective set, Best Buy will give you an exchange.
I could see it from both infront and a couple of feet to the side.
Smin is offline  
post #4143 of 14922 Old 08-18-2014, 09:19 PM
Member
 
SeniorCalTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smin View Post
I could see it from both infront and a couple of feet to the side.


My 50" 8550 was doing the same when watching comcast/X1. Playing Xbox one, Wii U or watching Blu ray movies were fine. To be honest what fixed mine completely was switching to "Normal" on HDMI black level. I also kind of had to do the eyeball adjustments as the picture on Comcast varies channel to channel and show to show. This is the settings I have for watching comcast;
Picture mode-Movie
Backlight-12
Contrast-98
Brightness-37
Sharpness-20
Color-55
Tint 47/53
Color space-auto
Gamma-(-2)
Color tone-warm2
HDMI black level-normal
Auto motion-custom blur 10 judder 0
Smart led- standard

Give these settings a shot, nothing to lose unless you are set on returning the TV.

Hope this helps you.
SeniorCalTech is offline  
post #4144 of 14922 Old 08-18-2014, 10:42 PM
Senior Member
 
JustABrah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Can-A-Duhhhh
Posts: 361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by SANdood View Post
Methinks we need to start specifying WHICH 8550 we are referring to in this thread, since the 85" clearly uses a different lighting technology (maybe not full FALD, but definitely not Edge-lit) than the rest of the lineup.

For example, the assertion that "8550 shows dark grey with letterbox movies" isn't an accurate generalization, as on my UN85HU8550, I get "almost black" instead of "dark grey."

I'd love to see a professional calibrators' comparison of the UN75HU8550 vs UN85HU8550 configurations. Heck, I'll host a calibrator at my house if he needs an 85" to work on (I'm in MA).
Don't have dark grey letter box on my 8550?... In fact I think the blacks are great and this is coming from someone who had a Panny ST60.

Sierra-2 LCR
HTM-200 rears
Rythmik E15HP
Anthem MRX-300
Samsung 8550 UHD
-$8500ish : (
JustABrah is offline  
post #4145 of 14922 Old 08-19-2014, 03:27 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 7
System update 2150 just came out couldn't find any literature about it though
Zacasaur is offline  
post #4146 of 14922 Old 08-19-2014, 05:21 AM
Senior Member
 
tontondavid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustABrah View Post
Don't have dark grey letter box on my 8550?... In fact I think the blacks are great and this is coming from someone who had a Panny ST60.

Just switched to the 78 hu9000 from the 85 8550 and What a difference. I almost feel like watching an oled in comparison.
For those who have good sets, try this:

If you have the amazing Spider-Man 2, start it and take a close look as the sony logo appears at the very beginning.
Do you see a big halo around it???

I saw it on the 8550 and not on the 9000.
tontondavid is offline  
post #4147 of 14922 Old 08-19-2014, 07:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
Hisma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 664
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 424 Post(s)
Liked: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by tontondavid View Post
Just switched to the 78 hu9000 from the 85 8550 and What a difference. I almost feel like watching an oled in comparison.
For those who have good sets, try this:

If you have the amazing Spider-Man 2, start it and take a close look as the sony logo appears at the very beginning.
Do you see a big halo around it???

I saw it on the 8550 and not on the 9000.
do you feel like you got a winner this time? it sounds like you are happy so far
Hisma is online now  
post #4148 of 14922 Old 08-19-2014, 07:45 AM
Member
 
mustu kaiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
how can i access the service menu on the HU9000?

Thanks in advance people
mustu kaiser is offline  
post #4149 of 14922 Old 08-19-2014, 08:23 AM
Senior Member
 
Lyons07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Bay Area, Ca
Posts: 341
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zacasaur View Post
System update 2150 just came out couldn't find any literature about it though
Also looking to find, any info on this update!
Lyons07 is offline  
post #4150 of 14922 Old 08-19-2014, 08:24 AM
Senior Member
 
tontondavid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by mustu kaiser View Post
how can i access the service menu on the HU9000?



Thanks in advance people

Ohhh. Dangerous territory.
I have it written down somewhere. If I get to it before someone else I'll give it to u.
tontondavid is offline  
post #4151 of 14922 Old 08-19-2014, 08:25 AM
Senior Member
 
tontondavid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hisma View Post
do you feel like you got a winner this time? it sounds like you are happy so far

Well it is the one I had all along with the 8550 and I've been trying to make up my mind.
This 9000 has very mild clouding and some light bleed from the corners at times but it is acceptable to me. Much more so than the 8550.
tontondavid is offline  
post #4152 of 14922 Old 08-19-2014, 08:28 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Cool Sammy vs. Sony

Quote:
Originally Posted by pg_ice View Post
Quote:Originally Posted by Covfam

i can't get a clear answer from Samsung has what pure color is. The best I can tell is that it's still 8bit like sony's triluminos +quantum dots colorist. It allows a broader width of the 8bit gamut. as all TV's now support 8bit color not all truly show the full 8 bit range and both the Sony and Samsung technology allows you to see more inside the 8bit range. But hey I could be wrong because there isn't much good info on either solutions


ok thanks for the info
hope for some more in depth reviews soon.

last years Sony W9 with triluminos and QD had really impressive colors that looked more natural than any other LCD LEDs.
Blue LEDS with QD was the key there to clean up the colors and get a wider gamut.
Quantum Dots did bring back the old Incandescent light bulb light from the CRT tvs.

i dont think Samsung can expand the color if they stick to the "white" traditional LEDs.
thats why i wonder what they have changed here.

if these new 4Ks from samsung can deliver those "Sony" colors im happy

I have last years Sony W900A and I've had the X850A and X850B, took those back because of defects and now I have the Samsung HU8550 65". After comparing it to my W900A, the Samsung has a more crisp picture (duh 4k upscale) and the colors are very comparable if not better and can be adjusted if needed. The motion rate seems to be quicker and smoother on the Sammy as well. Being said, I love watching both TVs as they have their differences, but I do prefer the 4k.
thewayacts92 likes this.
rubxz is offline  
post #4153 of 14922 Old 08-19-2014, 09:36 AM
Senior Member
 
toomanytvstosee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 47
question on seating distance. Looking at the 85 inch, I am going to be 16 feet away from the screen. Am I even going to be able to tell the difference between 4k and 1080p at that distance.

I keep telling myself yes but .............
toomanytvstosee is offline  
post #4154 of 14922 Old 08-19-2014, 09:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
Hisma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 664
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 424 Post(s)
Liked: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by toomanytvstosee View Post
question on seating distance. Looking at the 85 inch, I am going to be 16 feet away from the screen. Am I even going to be able to tell the difference between 4k and 1080p at that distance.

I keep telling myself yes but .............
16 feet?

According to this chart, you're well outside the ideal distance for 4K at that size.



No idea how accurate or objective that chart is, but it's something to give you perspective.
Hisma is online now  
post #4155 of 14922 Old 08-19-2014, 09:46 AM
Senior Member
 
toomanytvstosee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 47
I was afraid of that.......... Looks like I would need a Vizio Reference 120 inch to even make a difference..... UGH
toomanytvstosee is offline  
post #4156 of 14922 Old 08-19-2014, 10:05 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 12,641
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 641 Post(s)
Liked: 763
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hisma View Post
16 feet?
According to this chart, you're well outside the ideal distance for 4K at that size.
No idea how accurate or objective that chart is, but it's something to give you perspective.
Not only that, the other question is, can you see 20/20 with or without corrective lenses ?? If not, those number on the chart dropped again......
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #4157 of 14922 Old 08-19-2014, 10:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
westa6969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: From Michigan now Retired to Naples, FL
Posts: 7,098
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 264 Post(s)
Liked: 256
Quote:
Originally Posted by toomanytvstosee View Post
I was afraid of that.......... Looks like I would need a Vizio Reference 120 inch to even make a difference..... UGH
What is keeping you from adjusting the seating distance?

Man 16' is a loooooong VD in a Home, mine's at ten feet but the 17' VD from my kitchen/bar counter. Sounds like you have an estate home at that VD. Who knows if we'll ever see the Vizio as they've produced nothing but marketing puffery the past 8-9 months with zero UHD for anyone to see.

No one knows the price of the 120" Vizio at this point or when it'll become visible in the consumer marketplace. 77" Best in class LG OLED UHD debuts in October.

Samsung 65F8000, 60D8000, 40HU6350, Panasonic 50E60 LCD's
westa6969 is online now  
post #4158 of 14922 Old 08-19-2014, 10:15 AM
Senior Member
 
toomanytvstosee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 47
I have 20/10 fortunately but I doubt that will still help.

And Westa, as much as I would like to change the layout, my house is an open design with the kitchen flowing into the livingroom. I have no way to adjust it :-(

The 85 WILL work in our bedroom though
toomanytvstosee is offline  
post #4159 of 14922 Old 08-19-2014, 10:58 AM
Member
 
mustu kaiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have confirmation that the HU9000 VERSION : TS01 has a 10 bit panel and this is from samsung.

This BN95-01378A is a Genuine BRAND NEW Samsung LCD Display Panel, AMLCD;CY-VH055FSLV1V,10 BIT
mustu kaiser is offline  
post #4160 of 14922 Old 08-19-2014, 11:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
Hisma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 664
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 424 Post(s)
Liked: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by mustu kaiser View Post
I have confirmation that the HU9000 VERSION : TS01 has a 10 bit panel and this is from samsung.

This BN95-01378A is a Genuine BRAND NEW Samsung LCD Display Panel, AMLCD;CY-VH055FSLV1V,10 BIT
did someone knowledgeable from samsung confirm this, or are you going off the part description?
Hisma is online now  
post #4161 of 14922 Old 08-19-2014, 11:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Latinoheat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 2,151
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 306 Post(s)
Liked: 244
Quote:
Originally Posted by toomanytvstosee View Post

The 85 WILL work in our bedroom though
Lol, you must be single or not have a very active sex life, lol
Latinoheat is online now  
post #4162 of 14922 Old 08-19-2014, 11:26 AM
Member
 
mustu kaiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well I called Some a Service tech in Samsung via a senior official to ask them if the panel is 8 or 10 bit and then he asked me to give the Version to which is TS01 on the rear label of the telly to which he said he will call and confirm. He called back giving me VH055FSLV1V 10 Bit to which I googled and got a confirmation of the same as well. So yes I know from Samsung that TS01 is 10 bit panel

Now all I want to check is if my panel version is VH055FSLV1V hehehe just for the records and I want to know how that can be done. Is it possible just to see the panel VH055FSLV1V in the service menu? How can a access it? I only have the smart remote with me

Please help!!!
mustu kaiser is offline  
post #4163 of 14922 Old 08-19-2014, 11:30 AM
Senior Member
 
toomanytvstosee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 47
neither

Quote:
Originally Posted by Latinoheat View Post
Lol, you must be single or not have a very active sex life, lol
My wife learned to stop arguing with me about tv's a long time ago
toomanytvstosee is offline  
post #4164 of 14922 Old 08-19-2014, 12:40 PM
Newbie
 
nbohmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lyons07 View Post
Also looking to find, any info on this update!
Same nothing on Samsungs site. I called in about another issue and asked what the details were on the update. They said they didn't know any that the website would be updated in the next few days.

Also she said that there would be another update coming out on the 21st...
Lyons07 likes this.
nbohmer is offline  
post #4165 of 14922 Old 08-19-2014, 12:51 PM
Member
 
mustu kaiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tontondavid View Post
Ohhh. Dangerous territory.
I have it written down somewhere. If I get to it before someone else I'll give it to u.
Ah okay thanks! I am talking about using the new egg shaped smart remote here. would be great if you can/ why is it dangerous/ would just check the version the turn it off and on is that correct. would not like to brick it
mustu kaiser is offline  
post #4166 of 14922 Old 08-19-2014, 12:53 PM
Senior Member
 
tontondavid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by mustu kaiser View Post
Ah okay thanks! I am talking about using the new egg shaped smart remote here. would be great if you can/ why is it dangerous/ would just check the version the turn it off and on is that correct. would not like to brick it

But to get to the place where the panel version is displayed, you may change a setting without knowing it.
At any rate, I remember you can't do it with the smart remote, you need the full one.
tontondavid is offline  
post #4167 of 14922 Old 08-19-2014, 01:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sikclown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,315
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 794 Post(s)
Liked: 299
Quote:
Originally Posted by mustu kaiser View Post
Ah okay thanks! I am talking about using the new egg shaped smart remote here. would be great if you can/ why is it dangerous/ would just check the version the turn it off and on is that correct. would not like to brick it
Tonton is correct, you can only get into the service menu with the full sized remote.

UN65F9000AFXZA + SEK2500U/ZA firmware version 1162.2
Denon AVR-X5200W, Apple TV, Sony BDP-S6200, PS4, Xbox One
(2) Klipsch RF-82IIs, (2)RS-62IIs (4)RS-52IIs, (2)RS-42IIs, (1)RC-62ii, (2)RB-61IIs
(1) SVS PB12-Plus, (1)Emotiva XPA-100, (1)XPA-200, (1)UPA-200,
UN55HU8550, AVR-S900W, Ceton Echo, Apple TV, Panny BDT460, PC,
(1)Klipsch G-42, (2)G-16s, (2) Bose 161, (1)BIC Acoustech PL-200
sikclown is offline  
post #4168 of 14922 Old 08-19-2014, 01:15 PM
Member
 
aceiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Am I nuts???

On my 78HU9000, when I play back from my dish network dvr, it looks better and crisper than watching live. Thoughts?
aceiv is offline  
post #4169 of 14922 Old 08-19-2014, 01:23 PM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 23,422
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 219 Post(s)
Liked: 655
please do not publish service code information here: if someone has it, do it by PM

The reason for this is unless you have experience with the service menu, you stand a good chance of rendering your display inoperable: and this is not covered under any warranty....and a service tech can often see if the service menu was entered

If you must do it, please be sure to write down every setting before you change anything.

Years ago we compiled a list of AVS owners who used codes published here to enter service menus, and rendered their display inoperable: the list is gone but the risk of causing damage (bricking your display) still exists

please take the high road in every post
if you see a problematic post, please do not quote it or respond to it: report it to the mods to handle
markrubin is offline  
post #4170 of 14922 Old 08-19-2014, 01:25 PM
Senior Member
 
tontondavid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by markrubin View Post
please do not publish service code information here: if someone has it, do it by PM



The reason for this is unless you have experience with the service menu, you stand a good chance of rendering your display inoperable: and this is not covered under any warranty....and a service tech can often see if the service menu was entered



If you must do it, please be sure to write down every setting before you change anything.



Years ago we compiled a list of AVS owners who used codes published here to enter service menus, and rendered their display inoperable: the list is gone but the risk of causing damage (bricking your display) still exists

Noted. I was going to pm him anyway. He has been warned.
tontondavid is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
samsung u8550 , Samsung Un55c8000 55 Inch 1080p 240 Hz 3d Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off