OFFICIAL Samsung 4k HU8550 and HU9000 thread - Page 39 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1141 of 10140 Old 05-08-2014, 09:18 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Stereodude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Detroit Metro Area
Posts: 10,141
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 666 Post(s)
Liked: 635
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post

Its amazing that right after that lawsuit Samsung did not make a FALD set again till the 84". There has to be something in there about it, or just a total coincidence. Imagine how many FALD set Samsung could have sold...........
Well even Sharp didn't make any after the Elites. LG had dabbled in them here and there. You got me...
Stereodude is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1142 of 10140 Old 05-08-2014, 10:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CBdicX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hello from Holland !
Posts: 1,290
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 188 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rolex John View Post

I picked up my 65" UN65HU8550F last weekend. A few things:

Is there an FAQ anywhere with preferred/optimal settings? Right now, the blacks can look a bit too dark/murky in some night time/low light scenes.

The Amazon Prime movie app has quit working on me. Is there a fix for this?

The Auto Dimming feature seems to kick in/darken at the oddest times. Does it key off of room lighting or content? Are there settings to control it?

The difference between how things look on this TV and my last (which was a 1080P Sony) is....jarring. It's hard to describe, but I liken it to how the look of "film" vs. say how a soap opera looks...live vs. movie. Now all my HD shows have that live/soap opera "realistic" look. Weird.

About the auto dimming:

I have a short movie on Youtube about this "problem", see (if you want) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IoYgOtHeU9k

There are 2 settings that will activate the auto dimming, FILM BLACK, SMART LED.
Use just one of the 2 or both and auto dimming comes alive.
I my case, and what you can see on Youtube, is that it will be at its worst with subtiltles on black film bars.
I do not see problems when i turn OFF the sub titles, then auto dimming is giving a better picture then with auto dimming OFF.
I made this movie for Samsung Holland as they wanted to see the problem in action on my tv (65U8500 curved) and hopefull they can address the problem, because it is a prblem in some cases.

So turn OFF SMART LED and FILM BLACK and from that point try to get the black level you want, because with turning OFF, special SMAT LED, will make the picture brighter.
I have not found a setting with SMART LED OFF that will give good blacks, maybe you have more luck........

Hope this help.
CBdicX is online now  
post #1143 of 10140 Old 05-09-2014, 12:10 AM
Newbie
 
gjwsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CBdicX View Post

Even the most reviewers say the i my case 65U8500 Curved (think its the US HU9000) has near perfect motion handeling, i see sometimes strange effects.
(My previous Sharp 60 inch Full HD did not have this "problem")
On the start of a motion, special horizontal, and sometimes vertical, the picture makes a small jump, like the tv needs to react but is just a 10th of a second to late.
I tride the 4 motion handeling options, but no change.
Put all the picture handeling options to OFF, but no change.

As mentioned, on the previous Sharp no problems like this, it had different handeling problems, like a blured ball in soccer games, but no motion start jumps.

Do any of jou have this same problem ?

Thx......
gjwsr is offline  
post #1144 of 10140 Old 05-09-2014, 12:17 AM
Newbie
 
gjwsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm seeing the same thing on our HU9000. Its like the picture pauses for an instance and then junps ahead a bit. I'm also seeing some other motion related problems. The geeks are coming by today. Hopefully they can solve this and about 4 other issues I'm having.
gjwsr is offline  
post #1145 of 10140 Old 05-09-2014, 02:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
CBdicX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hello from Holland !
Posts: 1,290
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 188 Post(s)
Liked: 33
PS. had contact with Samsung Holland and tomorrow (zaterday) they are going to check de TV through remote service to see if they can find the problem with the motion jump.
I will post the result.........
CBdicX is online now  
post #1146 of 10140 Old 05-09-2014, 06:47 AM
Member
 
fonz5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Well, I will post this in both threads because I freaked out in both threads.

So I got my replacement 65HU9000 last night. My first one had horrible corner light bleed and clouding from the bottom corners. So i plugged in the new one and immediately when it flashed Samsung on the screen I could tell this panel was the way it's supposed to be. Nearly perfect. I was so excited, setting the tv up and then pulled up Netflix and on the log-in screen, it was all black surrounding "My Name" and "kids". and that was with the standard backlight at 16 or whatever the default was.

Now the one thing that I did notice was a bright light shining from the chrome outer frame. I was like "What the hell!!!" Looking more closely there was a hole in the bottom of the tv that was letting the LED lighting to escape from the frame and then reflect off the chrome. I was furious !!!!!!! Luckily, the Best Buy Geek Squad guy that showed up to help me mount the tv had been a tv repair man with them for 27 years. He was like a tv ninja. He popped a couple screws off the back panel and sure enough the screw was stuck in there. He screwed it in and now I have a perfect 65" HU9000 .... It only took 2 tv's, a missing screw and a ride on an emotional roller-coaster to get it.

I just wanted to thank everyone for the opinions and advice to just get a replacement panel. If anyone has horrible clouding and light bleed, get a new one.
fonz5000 is offline  
post #1147 of 10140 Old 05-09-2014, 08:32 AM
Senior Member
 
tontondavid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by fonz5000 View Post

Well, I will post this in both threads because I freaked out in both threads.

So I got my replacement 65HU9000 last night. My first one had horrible corner light bleed and clouding from the bottom corners. So i plugged in the new one and immediately when it flashed Samsung on the screen I could tell this panel was the way it's supposed to be. Nearly perfect. I was so excited, setting the tv up and then pulled up Netflix and on the log-in screen, it was all black surrounding "My Name" and "kids". and that was with the standard backlight at 16 or whatever the default was.

Now the one thing that I did notice was a bright light shining from the chrome outer frame. I was like "What the hell!!!" Looking more closely there was a hole in the bottom of the tv that was letting the LED lighting to escape from the frame and then reflect off the chrome. I was furious !!!!!!! Luckily, the Best Buy Geek Squad guy that showed up to help me mount the tv had been a tv repair man with them for 27 years. He was like a tv ninja. He popped a couple screws off the back panel and sure enough the screw was stuck in there. He screwed it in and now I have a perfect 65" HU9000 .... It only took 2 tv's, a missing screw and a ride on an emotional roller-coaster to get it.

I just wanted to thank everyone for the opinions and advice to just get a replacement panel. If anyone has horrible clouding and light bleed, get a new one.

Glad it worked out for you!

biggrin.gif
tontondavid is offline  
post #1148 of 10140 Old 05-09-2014, 09:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
doctorwizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 620
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 224 Post(s)
Liked: 53
I reset my 8550 to get Amazon to work again. That worked. But then I realize that Netflix is not working properly. Never had any issues with NF. So another reset and they are both working again.

Samsung 65" HU8550-TS01 Golf chipset, Denon 3312 AVR, Cerwin Vega VE's x 7, DefTech ProSub x 3
WDTV Live, Roku 3, Amazon FireTV, LG BD390 Bluray, WiiU,
DishTV Hopper w/Sling, Self Made PC, AMD FX8350, 16GB Ram, LG 16x BD-RW
EVGA GTX-980 ACX 2.0, Gigabyte GTX-750Ti, Asus AC-68 Router, 3 UPS's
Dell XPS 1820 18.4" AIO PC/Tablet
And much more...
doctorwizz is offline  
post #1149 of 10140 Old 05-09-2014, 09:51 AM
Senior Member
 
tontondavid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by doctorwizz View Post

I reset my 8550 to get Amazon to work again. That worked. But then I realize that Netflix is not working properly. Never had any issues with NF. So another reset and they are both working again.

Hopefully with the new firmware this should get better....

wink.gif
doctorwizz likes this.
tontondavid is offline  
post #1150 of 10140 Old 05-09-2014, 12:07 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 12,455
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 541 Post(s)
Liked: 708
Quote:
Originally Posted by KatotterFGCU View Post

Is the 9000 worth it over the 8550?
That's a loaded question. There is a BIG price difference between the two.

Here is what we have so far on the differences, I found some and so did user rlb.

--Processors are different, Quad in the 8550 and Quad+ In the 9000.
More powerful processor in 9000 provides improved upconversion capability
--Two image processing are available in the 9000 and not on the 8550.
--The One Connect box is included in the 9000, not in the 8550.
--9000 has a camera for Skype and motion control
--9000 has more Micro dimming zones
--9000 has PurColor
--9000 has Auto Depth Enhancer
Janibrewski likes this.
Cleveland Plasma is online now  
post #1151 of 10140 Old 05-09-2014, 12:10 PM
Member
 
laggerific's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post

That's a loaded question. There is a BIG price difference between the two.

Here is what we have so far on the differences, I found some and so did user rlb.

--Processors are different, Quad in the 8550 and Quad+ In the 9000.
More powerful processor in 9000 provides improved upconversion capability
--Two image processing are available in the 9000 and not on the 8550.
--The One Connect box is included in the 9000, not in the 8550.
--9000 has a camera for Skype and motion control
--9000 has more Micro dimming zones
--9000 has PurColor
--9000 has Auto Depth Enhancer

Ugh, but 9000 has forced curves...what a bummer.
Janibrewski likes this.
laggerific is offline  
post #1152 of 10140 Old 05-09-2014, 12:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
Hisma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 600
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 374 Post(s)
Liked: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by laggerific View Post


Ugh, but 9000 has forced curves...what a bummer.

Have you seen the curve in person?  Gimmicks aside, it's subtle and adds depth to the picture.

Hisma is offline  
post #1153 of 10140 Old 05-09-2014, 12:42 PM
Member
 
Gusnyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hisma View Post

Have you seen the curve in person?  Gimmicks aside, it's subtle and adds depth to the picture.

I agree. I didn't like the curve as a principle, but after a few weeks with the TV I really enjoy the subtle effect on the image. I like it.
Gusnyc is offline  
post #1154 of 10140 Old 05-09-2014, 01:12 PM
Member
 
aceiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any update on the release date for the 78"? Last I heard it was June 2nd. Thanks!
aceiv is offline  
post #1155 of 10140 Old 05-09-2014, 01:23 PM
Member
 
KingFeta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone with judder issues have any downloadable clips(preferably in 4k) that I can put on a usb stick? I wanted to see, in store, just how bad the problem is before I buy.
KingFeta is online now  
post #1156 of 10140 Old 05-09-2014, 01:36 PM
Newbie
 
Rolex John's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by doctorwizz View Post

I reset my 8550 to get Amazon to work again. That worked. But then I realize that Netflix is not working properly. Never had any issues with NF. So another reset and they are both working again.

How exactly does one perform a reset?
Rolex John is offline  
post #1157 of 10140 Old 05-09-2014, 01:39 PM
Member
 
smacrae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11

Any good feature movies to download that are 4k?

smacrae is offline  
post #1158 of 10140 Old 05-09-2014, 01:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
doctorwizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 620
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 224 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rolex John View Post

How exactly does one perform a reset?

Press menu, support, self diagnosis, reset. It is easy and quick. Does not reset the network.

Samsung 65" HU8550-TS01 Golf chipset, Denon 3312 AVR, Cerwin Vega VE's x 7, DefTech ProSub x 3
WDTV Live, Roku 3, Amazon FireTV, LG BD390 Bluray, WiiU,
DishTV Hopper w/Sling, Self Made PC, AMD FX8350, 16GB Ram, LG 16x BD-RW
EVGA GTX-980 ACX 2.0, Gigabyte GTX-750Ti, Asus AC-68 Router, 3 UPS's
Dell XPS 1820 18.4" AIO PC/Tablet
And much more...
doctorwizz is offline  
post #1159 of 10140 Old 05-09-2014, 01:46 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Glenee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: MidWest
Posts: 1,181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by doctorwizz View Post

Press menu, support, self diagnosis, reset. It is easy and quick. Does not reset the network.
Does it reset most of the other settings ?

Nothing's Perfect So Stop Expecting It ! Glenee

Glenee is offline  
post #1160 of 10140 Old 05-09-2014, 01:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
doctorwizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 620
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 224 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glenee View Post

Does it reset most of the other settings ?

Yes, it resets everything else except the network.

Samsung 65" HU8550-TS01 Golf chipset, Denon 3312 AVR, Cerwin Vega VE's x 7, DefTech ProSub x 3
WDTV Live, Roku 3, Amazon FireTV, LG BD390 Bluray, WiiU,
DishTV Hopper w/Sling, Self Made PC, AMD FX8350, 16GB Ram, LG 16x BD-RW
EVGA GTX-980 ACX 2.0, Gigabyte GTX-750Ti, Asus AC-68 Router, 3 UPS's
Dell XPS 1820 18.4" AIO PC/Tablet
And much more...
doctorwizz is offline  
post #1161 of 10140 Old 05-09-2014, 01:57 PM
Member
 
fonz5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 17
So I'm sure this might be answered somewhere, but..... I have a 7.1 surround system, and I can't get any sound to come out of the Center speaker when watching Netflix. And idea how to correct this. I have gone through all the audio options on my Onkyo NR709 and I can only get sound from the center when running like Mono and that's the only speaker on. I get sound from the two towers and then probably the surrounds. It's kind of annoying to have to use the PS4 or Xbone for Netflix because for some reason the picture is way better when watching it from the Smart Hub app.
fonz5000 is offline  
post #1162 of 10140 Old 05-09-2014, 02:16 PM
Member
 
twssas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by fonz5000 View Post

So I'm sure this might be answered somewhere, but..... I have a 7.1 surround system, and I can't get any sound to come out of the Center speaker when watching Netflix. And idea how to correct this. I have gone through all the audio options on my Onkyo NR709 and I can only get sound from the center when running like Mono and that's the only speaker on. I get sound from the two towers and then probably the surrounds. It's kind of annoying to have to use the PS4 or Xbone for Netflix because for some reason the picture is way better when watching it from the Smart Hub app.
I am sure this wont help you, but I got my 8550 yesterday, and sound on the tv was fine through my 7.1 system, as well as my apple tv, and blu ray player. Everything hooked up with hdmi. However, I could not get any sound from any of the apps, and eventually had to install a optical digital cable between the TV, and the receiver. I have sound in all speakers now, from all sources, tv, apps, blu ray, etc.
twssas is offline  
post #1163 of 10140 Old 05-09-2014, 02:19 PM
Member
 
fonz5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Ha. Right it doesn't help too much. I have sound from the ARC and I know it's 5.1 sound on Netflix but I don't get why it would cut out the center sound.
fonz5000 is offline  
post #1164 of 10140 Old 05-09-2014, 03:14 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Glenee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: MidWest
Posts: 1,181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by doctorwizz View Post

Yes, it resets everything else except the network.
Thank You my Friend.
That's the way that Samsung has always done it.
I just wanted to make sure.

Nothing's Perfect So Stop Expecting It ! Glenee

Glenee is offline  
post #1165 of 10140 Old 05-09-2014, 03:20 PM
Member
 
jimbotron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
My issue was the backlight shutting off completely when the image went black (commercial breaks, opening/closing titles). This apparently happens with all Samsung TVs, though I guess many don't mind this. It was suggested that I try switching the input title to PC. That didn't work. Brightness has to be set to 50+ to disable this. I'm having a tough time getting really deep blacks as a result.

I'm not a fan of the local dimming. When there's something bright on the screen against a black background, the entire backlight gets brighter. I have to turn off any dimming at all. I've been watching Star Trek TNG, which is 4x3. The end titles look really bad with local dimming on. When the names appear on screen, the panel lights up from side to side, which is very apparently since the left and right sides should be completely black.

I guess I should have waited for a full array dimming TV.
jimbotron is offline  
post #1166 of 10140 Old 05-09-2014, 03:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
doctorwizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 620
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 224 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimbotron View Post

My issue was the backlight shutting off completely when the image went black (commercial breaks, opening/closing titles). This apparently happens with all Samsung TVs, though I guess many don't mind this. It was suggested that I try switching the input title to PC. That didn't work. Brightness has to be set to 50+ to disable this. I'm having a tough time getting really deep blacks as a result.

I'm not a fan of the local dimming. When there's something bright on the screen against a black background, the entire backlight gets brighter. I have to turn off any dimming at all. I've been watching Star Trek TNG, which is 4x3. The end titles look really bad with local dimming on. When the names appear on screen, the panel lights up from side to side, which is very apparently since the left and right sides should be completely black.

I guess I should have waited for a full array dimming TV.

So you are saying that during the opening/closing credits in a movie your backlight stays off and you can't see the credits when the background is black?

Samsung 65" HU8550-TS01 Golf chipset, Denon 3312 AVR, Cerwin Vega VE's x 7, DefTech ProSub x 3
WDTV Live, Roku 3, Amazon FireTV, LG BD390 Bluray, WiiU,
DishTV Hopper w/Sling, Self Made PC, AMD FX8350, 16GB Ram, LG 16x BD-RW
EVGA GTX-980 ACX 2.0, Gigabyte GTX-750Ti, Asus AC-68 Router, 3 UPS's
Dell XPS 1820 18.4" AIO PC/Tablet
And much more...
doctorwizz is offline  
post #1167 of 10140 Old 05-09-2014, 04:01 PM
Member
 
jimbotron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
No, the backlight turns back on once there's something on the screen. Only in the intervals does it turn off. I researched this issue, and it's been plaguing Samsung TVs for years. It's supposedly an energy saving feature, but there's nowhere I can find to disable it without cranking up the brightness.

So let's say I'm watching Star Wars. Fox Logo appears, then fades out, backlight turns off. Backlight turns on for Lucasfilm logo. Logo fades out, and backlight shuts off. Backlight turns back on a few seconds later for "A Long Time Ago....", and then the backlight turns off again.

The worst is between commercial breaks for TNG. The screen goes black, but I guess the TV registers something, so the backlight might go off and on, off and on.

The only way to counteract this is to set the brightness to 50+. This tricks the TV into thinking the screen doesn't get dark enough to deactivate the backlight. I wish I could just hack the TV and disable this annoying feature.
jimbotron is offline  
post #1168 of 10140 Old 05-09-2014, 07:16 PM
Newbie
 
serbia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did you disable, eco-sensor thing, or whatever is called..?
It did help me with that issue on some older samsung models (I will buy 7500 (8550 us) soon smile.gif )
serbia is offline  
post #1169 of 10140 Old 05-09-2014, 09:16 PM
Newbie
 
pb454's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I was thinking of getting the 65HU8550 and was talking to a salesperson today.  He said that normal viewing of programs that are not 4k (i.e. something on DirecTV) are going to look worse on this set than a regular 1080p set because of the forced upscaling would make it look blurry.  Is this correct or did he not know what he was talking about?

pb454 is offline  
post #1170 of 10140 Old 05-09-2014, 09:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
al210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 500
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by pb454 View Post

I was thinking of getting the 65HU8550 and was talking to a salesperson today.  He said that normal viewing of programs that are not 4k (i.e. something on DirecTV) are going to look worse on this set than a regular 1080p set because of the forced upscaling would make it look blurry.  Is this correct or did he not know what he was talking about?

Not true. I actually think it looks slightly better as long as the signal is good.

Sammy 4k UN65HU9000 CURVED - Calman5 Calibrated" ----------- Oppo 103D for Blu Ray & SACD & DVD-A
Marantz SR6009 AVR & Emotiva XPA-200 Amp
Vienna Acoustics Mozart Grand SE--B&W HTM62 Center with Axiom QS4 surrounds ---------- SVS PB-1000 SUBWOOFER
al210 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
samsung u8550 , Samsung Un55c8000 55 Inch 1080p 240 Hz 3d Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off