OFFICIAL Samsung 4k HU8550 and HU9000 thread - Page 94 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2791 of 9760 Old 07-12-2014, 09:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sikclown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,299
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 787 Post(s)
Liked: 298
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrorange303 View Post
I think I heard samsung say themselves the panels were 8bit. Not sure where the link is. So confused right now.
I know for sure the F9000 is 8-bit but I can't speak to any others.
sikclown is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2792 of 9760 Old 07-12-2014, 09:52 PM
Member
 
DELTAsnake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Is it possible they are in a ramp up phase and some panels are 10 bit but not all of them? After all it is called the Samsung Panel Lottery for a reason.

Samsung UA55HU9000, Klipsch Quintet 5.1, Onkyo TX-NR515AE, Xbox One, PS4, Wii U. Plus a bunch of old consoles.
XBL: DELTAprime, PSN: DELTAsnake, Wii U: DELTAprime
DELTAsnake is online now  
post #2793 of 9760 Old 07-12-2014, 10:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mrorange303's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 1,775
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 848 Post(s)
Liked: 230
I dont know. Ive googled. Cant.figure it out. Im not sending the email to ask. I don't even know where to start.
Mrorange303 is online now  
post #2794 of 9760 Old 07-12-2014, 10:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
Hisma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 600
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 374 Post(s)
Liked: 148
so, for anyone who wishes to use their 4K TV with an HTPC, I have done some extensive testing over the last few weeks with it.

It's been extremely frustrating, because I could never get the PQ or the motion handling (judder performance) to match my stand-alone cable box & blu-ray player. To top it off, there is literally no information on how to best optimize HTPC performance for 4K TVs. If you try to follow the current guides for 1080p sets, you will be very dissapointed with the performance.

Today I found the key to make it all work (and it sounds stupid simple, but it also somewhat defies logic). You have to run xbmc (or your favorite HTPC app) at native 4K resolution at 60 Hz for optimal video performance.

It defies logic, because for every other device, such as with receivers or oppos & the like, you are better off having the TV do all the upscaling, and disabling upscaling in the device, leaving the source content at it's native resolution. But this doesn't apply to HTPCs. I don't know why... I wish someone could come up with a technical explanation for it. But if you watch TV at 4K @ 60 Hz on your HTPC, the performance & PQ will be identical to a cable box. If you run it at 1080p or some other variant, you'll get bad judder, ghosting, and lower PQ.

Here's a thread I did on this subject in the HTPC section
Live TV PQ on my HTPC is inferior to PQ on my cable box

I don't think many other 8550/9000 owners are using a cablecard + hdhomerun setup for live TV like I am, but if you ever plan to, you'll find this info valuable.

Last edited by Hisma; 07-12-2014 at 10:36 PM.
Hisma is online now  
post #2795 of 9760 Old 07-13-2014, 02:53 AM
Member
 
seansingh7326's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Can any of the hu9000 owners tell me if your able to talk to the tv without using the remote? Like for example on the f8000 you can say hi tv and tell the tv what you want without using the remote. I wanted to know if the hu9000 had a wake on lan feature in which you can simply say hi tv power on or off and it comes on or off.
seansingh7326 is offline  
post #2796 of 9760 Old 07-13-2014, 03:02 AM
Senior Member
 
Ahzari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by seansingh7326 View Post
Can any of the hu9000 owners tell me if your able to talk to the tv without using the remote? Like for example on the f8000 you can say hi tv and tell the tv what you want without using the remote. I wanted to know if the hu9000 had a wake on lan feature in which you can simply say hi tv power on or off and it comes on or off.
I was hoping it did, but from everything I've read and tried on my set my understanding is you have to press the voice button on the remote before the recognition begins. Just saying a command wont do anything until the button is pressed.

Audio: Yamaha A-S1000 Stereo Amp // Kef LS50s // 2x SVS SB2000 (2.2 setup)
Analog:Pro-Ject RM5.1SE Turntable // Pro-Ject Tube Box II SE Phono Amp // Pro-ject Speed Box II
Video: Samsung 65in HU9000 4k // Oppo BDP-105 // Apple TV (3G)
Power: Furman PST-8 AC Power Conditioner
Ahzari is offline  
post #2797 of 9760 Old 07-13-2014, 05:18 AM
Member
 
DELTAsnake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by seansingh7326 View Post
Can any of the hu9000 owners tell me if your able to talk to the tv without using the remote? Like for example on the f8000 you can say hi tv and tell the tv what you want without using the remote. I wanted to know if the hu9000 had a wake on lan feature in which you can simply say hi tv power on or off and it comes on or off.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ahzari View Post
I was hoping it did, but from everything I've read and tried on my set my understanding is you have to press the voice button on the remote before the recognition begins. Just saying a command wont do anything until the button is pressed.
Yep thats my experience. I normally turn off those Kinect-like features in Samsung TV's but this time the voice part at least is built into the remote and you have to press the button on the remote to activate it.

Samsung UA55HU9000, Klipsch Quintet 5.1, Onkyo TX-NR515AE, Xbox One, PS4, Wii U. Plus a bunch of old consoles.
XBL: DELTAprime, PSN: DELTAsnake, Wii U: DELTAprime
DELTAsnake is online now  
post #2798 of 9760 Old 07-13-2014, 05:32 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Hey guys would love some advice on which "budget" blu ray player I should buy

I've got the sony 6200, panasonic 360 and panasonic 460 (not sure what the differences are between the two panas) and the samsung h6500 all in the mix

Question is which one should I go for or am I missing any other players that should be in the mix in the same price range

All I care about is to get the best possible picture and audio

Not apps, features etc

Thanks in advance to anyone who could help out
JonyB is offline  
post #2799 of 9760 Old 07-13-2014, 06:13 AM
rlb
AVS Special Member
 
rlb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: North Royalton, OH
Posts: 3,305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 266 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by DELTAsnake View Post
I'm using UHD colour on my HU9000 no issues but I can't speak to the colour accuracy.

"UHD color" is applicable only to HDMI input of 4K/60 with 4:4:4 or 4:4:2 color. Don't believe there is anything capable at the moment of providing this via HDMI. When new PC video boards come out with HDMI 2.0, that will probably be the first source. Using it on anything else (if you can do it) would give you incorrect color.
rlb is online now  
post #2800 of 9760 Old 07-13-2014, 07:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mrorange303's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 1,775
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 848 Post(s)
Liked: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonyB View Post
Hey guys would love some advice on which "budget" blu ray player I should buy

I've got the sony 6200, panasonic 360 and panasonic 460 (not sure what the differences are between the two panas) and the samsung h6500 all in the mix

Question is which one should I go for or am I missing any other players that should be in the mix in the same price range

All I care about is to get the best possible picture and audio

Not apps, features etc

Thanks in advance to anyone who could help out
All are good. Your only getting the 3d. Otherwise no gain I. Picture quality if you use 4k upscaling.

I have the panasonic bdt 360. I believe the 460 is the euro model for the 360 in the usa. Same player.

3d is better than 1080p bluray.

I also reccommend buyi m g some cheap batterys for your 3d glasses off of amazon. After you a 3d movie on this thing you will start buying those 3d copies.

Thank goodness I always tried to. I have a lot of 3d films.

So good.
Mrorange303 is online now  
post #2801 of 9760 Old 07-13-2014, 11:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sikclown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,299
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 787 Post(s)
Liked: 298
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrorange303 View Post
All are good. Your only getting the 3d. Otherwise no gain I. Picture quality if you use 4k upscaling.

I have the panasonic bdt 360. I believe the 460 is the euro model for the 360 in the usa. Same player.

3d is better than 1080p bluray.

I also reccommend buyi m g some cheap batterys for your 3d glasses off of amazon. After you a 3d movie on this thing you will start buying those 3d copies.

Thank goodness I always tried to. I have a lot of 3d films.

So good.
The 360 and 460 are both on Panny's US website as well as on BestBuy.com. I have no idea what the main differences are but they are both available here.

UN65F9000AFXZA + SEK2500U/ZA firmware version 1162.2
Denon AVR-X5200W, Apple TV, Sony BDP-S6200, PS4, Xbox One
(2) Klipsch RF-82IIs, (2)RS-62IIs (4)RS-52IIs, (2)RS-42IIs, (1)RC-62ii, (2)RB-61IIs
(1) SVS PB12-Plus, (1)Emotiva XPA-100, (1)XPA-200, (1)UPA-200,
UN55HU8550, AVR-S900W, Ceton Echo, Apple TV, Panny BDT460, PC,
(1)Klipsch G-42, (2)G-16s, (2) Bose 161, (1)BIC Acoustech PL-200
sikclown is offline  
post #2802 of 9760 Old 07-13-2014, 12:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mrorange303's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 1,775
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 848 Post(s)
Liked: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by sikclown View Post
The 360 and 460 are both on Panny's US website as well as on BestBuy.com. I have no idea what the main differences are but they are both available here.
Isn't one just got more Hdmi inputs or something like that. Sorry when I bought my panny the 460 was not out yet. Only the 360.
However Europe had the 460 showing in stock. It did have more inputs but that was all from what I could tell.
I got my panny from bestbuy.
Simply the worst place for info.

I just looked. The 460 doesn't show for sale in the USA anywhere.

It is on the website for sure.

Last edited by Mrorange303; 07-13-2014 at 12:18 PM.
Mrorange303 is online now  
post #2803 of 9760 Old 07-13-2014, 12:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sikclown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,299
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 787 Post(s)
Liked: 298
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrorange303 View Post
Isn't one just got more Hdmi inputs or something like that. Sorry when I bought my panny the 460 was not out yet. Only the 360.
However Europe had the 460 showing in stock. It did have more inputs but that was all from what I could tell.
I got my panny from bestbuy.
Simply the worst place for info.
BestBuy is the absolute worst for info. Hmmm an extra HDMI output on the 460 would make sense but if that is the only difference than the 360 is a crazy good deal (which it is anyway).

UN65F9000AFXZA + SEK2500U/ZA firmware version 1162.2
Denon AVR-X5200W, Apple TV, Sony BDP-S6200, PS4, Xbox One
(2) Klipsch RF-82IIs, (2)RS-62IIs (4)RS-52IIs, (2)RS-42IIs, (1)RC-62ii, (2)RB-61IIs
(1) SVS PB12-Plus, (1)Emotiva XPA-100, (1)XPA-200, (1)UPA-200,
UN55HU8550, AVR-S900W, Ceton Echo, Apple TV, Panny BDT460, PC,
(1)Klipsch G-42, (2)G-16s, (2) Bose 161, (1)BIC Acoustech PL-200
sikclown is offline  
post #2804 of 9760 Old 07-13-2014, 12:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sikclown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,299
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 787 Post(s)
Liked: 298
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrorange303 View Post
Isn't one just got more Hdmi inputs or something like that. Sorry when I bought my panny the 460 was not out yet. Only the 360.
However Europe had the 460 showing in stock. It did have more inputs but that was all from what I could tell.
I got my panny from bestbuy.
Simply the worst place for info.

I just looked. The 460 doesn't show for sale in the USA anywhere.

It is on the website for sure.
http://www.bestbuy.com/site/panasoni...&skuId=5260151

BestBuy has it in stock and it does have 2 output, looks to be the only difference.

UN65F9000AFXZA + SEK2500U/ZA firmware version 1162.2
Denon AVR-X5200W, Apple TV, Sony BDP-S6200, PS4, Xbox One
(2) Klipsch RF-82IIs, (2)RS-62IIs (4)RS-52IIs, (2)RS-42IIs, (1)RC-62ii, (2)RB-61IIs
(1) SVS PB12-Plus, (1)Emotiva XPA-100, (1)XPA-200, (1)UPA-200,
UN55HU8550, AVR-S900W, Ceton Echo, Apple TV, Panny BDT460, PC,
(1)Klipsch G-42, (2)G-16s, (2) Bose 161, (1)BIC Acoustech PL-200
sikclown is offline  
post #2805 of 9760 Old 07-13-2014, 01:08 PM
Member
 
chris6878's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Samsung UN55HU8550

OK So the wife purchased this from her cousin last month brand new in box. the 55 inch. THe TV worked fine until today. I turned it on and I got a black and white screen split in two. I can hear the sound from the tv, but we get no picture.

I always buy my stuff from a store with ext warranty, but because this was a tv I was just gonna use to replace and old dlp in the kitchen, I didnt mind taking a chance on it. Plus it was priced right.

So now we have a Brand new TV with no picture. Im not really mad Cause My Panny Plasma is my main TV. WIfe IS mad cause she uses it, and she feels her cousin should do more to rectify the situation. Im not getting into it. But he knows thats the last thing we will ever buy from him, and Ill make sure he loses many more customers. Ive attached a pic. Any Ideas on fixing would be appreciated. Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WP_20140713_001.jpg
Views:	247
Size:	241.1 KB
ID:	159297  
chris6878 is offline  
post #2806 of 9760 Old 07-13-2014, 01:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sikclown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,299
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 787 Post(s)
Liked: 298
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris6878 View Post
Samsung UN55HU8550

OK So the wife purchased this from her cousin last month brand new in box. the 55 inch. THe TV worked fine until today. I turned it on and I got a black and white screen split in two. I can hear the sound from the tv, but we get no picture.

I always buy my stuff from a store with ext warranty, but because this was a tv I was just gonna use to replace and old dlp in the kitchen, I didnt mind taking a chance on it. Plus it was priced right.

So now we have a Brand new TV with no picture. Im not really mad Cause My Panny Plasma is my main TV. WIfe IS mad cause she uses it, and she feels her cousin should do more to rectify the situation. Im not getting into it. But he knows thats the last thing we will ever buy from him, and Ill make sure he loses many more customers. Ive attached a pic. Any Ideas on fixing would be appreciated. Thanks
Is he an authorized Samsung dealer? You are still well within your warranty period. Try completely unplugging it from power completely. Also try hitting the 3D button on the remote, I don't think that will do anything but it might.

UN65F9000AFXZA + SEK2500U/ZA firmware version 1162.2
Denon AVR-X5200W, Apple TV, Sony BDP-S6200, PS4, Xbox One
(2) Klipsch RF-82IIs, (2)RS-62IIs (4)RS-52IIs, (2)RS-42IIs, (1)RC-62ii, (2)RB-61IIs
(1) SVS PB12-Plus, (1)Emotiva XPA-100, (1)XPA-200, (1)UPA-200,
UN55HU8550, AVR-S900W, Ceton Echo, Apple TV, Panny BDT460, PC,
(1)Klipsch G-42, (2)G-16s, (2) Bose 161, (1)BIC Acoustech PL-200
sikclown is offline  
post #2807 of 9760 Old 07-13-2014, 01:38 PM
Member
 
chris6878's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by sikclown View Post
Is he an authorized Samsung dealer? You are still well within your warranty period. Try completely unplugging it from power completely. Also try hitting the 3D button on the remote, I don't think that will do anything but it might.
Naw he is not at all. He is the hood dealer. TV was probably stolen from a store. I knew I was taking a big chance
chris6878 is offline  
post #2808 of 9760 Old 07-13-2014, 01:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sikclown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,299
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 787 Post(s)
Liked: 298
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris6878 View Post
Naw he is not at all. He is the hood dealer. TV was probably stolen from a store. I knew I was taking a big chance
Ahh gotcha. That sucks.

UN65F9000AFXZA + SEK2500U/ZA firmware version 1162.2
Denon AVR-X5200W, Apple TV, Sony BDP-S6200, PS4, Xbox One
(2) Klipsch RF-82IIs, (2)RS-62IIs (4)RS-52IIs, (2)RS-42IIs, (1)RC-62ii, (2)RB-61IIs
(1) SVS PB12-Plus, (1)Emotiva XPA-100, (1)XPA-200, (1)UPA-200,
UN55HU8550, AVR-S900W, Ceton Echo, Apple TV, Panny BDT460, PC,
(1)Klipsch G-42, (2)G-16s, (2) Bose 161, (1)BIC Acoustech PL-200
sikclown is offline  
post #2809 of 9760 Old 07-13-2014, 02:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mrorange303's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 1,775
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 848 Post(s)
Liked: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by sikclown View Post
http://www.bestbuy.com/site/panasoni...&skuId=5260151

BestBuy has it in stock and it does have 2 output, looks to be the only difference.
Good find. Yeah not worth 50 more for sure.
Mrorange303 is online now  
post #2810 of 9760 Old 07-13-2014, 02:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sikclown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,299
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 787 Post(s)
Liked: 298
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrorange303 View Post
Good find. Yeah not worth 50 more for sure.
From a review on Techradar it also says it is the only Panny that handles 4K JPEG and it has an SD card reader. Does the 360? I went ahead and spend the extra on the 460 and ordered one so we can compare (I have a bunch of BestBuy credits to use up). I need a new Bluray for my bedroom UN55HU8550. I will hook up my Sony BDP-6200 and the 460 to it and compare.

UN65F9000AFXZA + SEK2500U/ZA firmware version 1162.2
Denon AVR-X5200W, Apple TV, Sony BDP-S6200, PS4, Xbox One
(2) Klipsch RF-82IIs, (2)RS-62IIs (4)RS-52IIs, (2)RS-42IIs, (1)RC-62ii, (2)RB-61IIs
(1) SVS PB12-Plus, (1)Emotiva XPA-100, (1)XPA-200, (1)UPA-200,
UN55HU8550, AVR-S900W, Ceton Echo, Apple TV, Panny BDT460, PC,
(1)Klipsch G-42, (2)G-16s, (2) Bose 161, (1)BIC Acoustech PL-200
sikclown is offline  
post #2811 of 9760 Old 07-13-2014, 02:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mrorange303's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 1,775
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 848 Post(s)
Liked: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by sikclown View Post
From a review on Techradar it also says it is the only Panny that handles 4K JPEG and it has an SD card reader. Does the 360? I went ahead and spend the extra on the 460 and ordered one so we can compare (I have a bunch of BestBuy credits to use up). I need a new Bluray for my bedroom UN55HU8550. I will hook up my Sony BDP-6200 and the 460 to it and compare.
awesome. Yeah I know the bdt360 is the best player in the house and produces 3d super clean.

I do own a sony player thats a few years old and of course ps4 and xbox one.

But the panny is the best picture wise.
Mrorange303 is online now  
post #2812 of 9760 Old 07-13-2014, 02:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sikclown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,299
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 787 Post(s)
Liked: 298
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrorange303 View Post
awesome. Yeah I know the bdt360 is the best player in the house and produces 3d super clean.

I do own a sony player thats a few years old and of course ps4 and xbox one.

But the panny is the best picture wise.
The Panny will replace my 6200 in my living room if that is the case, which is absolutely possible as Panasonic and great image quality have always gone hand in hand in my experience. Sony's are more of a mixed bag but the 6200 is excellent.

UN65F9000AFXZA + SEK2500U/ZA firmware version 1162.2
Denon AVR-X5200W, Apple TV, Sony BDP-S6200, PS4, Xbox One
(2) Klipsch RF-82IIs, (2)RS-62IIs (4)RS-52IIs, (2)RS-42IIs, (1)RC-62ii, (2)RB-61IIs
(1) SVS PB12-Plus, (1)Emotiva XPA-100, (1)XPA-200, (1)UPA-200,
UN55HU8550, AVR-S900W, Ceton Echo, Apple TV, Panny BDT460, PC,
(1)Klipsch G-42, (2)G-16s, (2) Bose 161, (1)BIC Acoustech PL-200
sikclown is offline  
post #2813 of 9760 Old 07-13-2014, 02:43 PM
Senior Member
 
al210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 483
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hisma View Post
so, for anyone who wishes to use their 4K TV with an HTPC, I have done some extensive testing over the last few weeks with it.

It's been extremely frustrating, because I could never get the PQ or the motion handling (judder performance) to match my stand-alone cable box & blu-ray player. To top it off, there is literally no information on how to best optimize HTPC performance for 4K TVs. If you try to follow the current guides for 1080p sets, you will be very dissapointed with the performance.

Today I found the key to make it all work (and it sounds stupid simple, but it also somewhat defies logic). You have to run xbmc (or your favorite HTPC app) at native 4K resolution at 60 Hz for optimal video performance.

It defies logic, because for every other device, such as with receivers or oppos & the like, you are better off having the TV do all the upscaling, and disabling upscaling in the device, leaving the source content at it's native resolution. But this doesn't apply to HTPCs. I don't know why... I wish someone could come up with a technical explanation for it. But if you watch TV at 4K @ 60 Hz on your HTPC, the performance & PQ will be identical to a cable box. If you run it at 1080p or some other variant, you'll get bad judder, ghosting, and lower PQ.

Here's a thread I did on this subject in the HTPC section
Live TV PQ on my HTPC is inferior to PQ on my cable box

I don't think many other 8550/9000 owners are using a cablecard + hdhomerun setup for live TV like I am, but if you ever plan to, you'll find this info valuable.
Interesting.

I'm using my 2 year old HTPC - Win 7 media center - Verizon FIOS cablecard with Ceton interface card. i3 processor with built in Intel HD graphics.

My picture is great and slightly sharper than my old plasma set it was previously hooked up to. Color is perfect and motion/ judder is fine.

Sammy 4k UN65HU9000 CURVED - Calman5 Calibrated" ----------- Oppo 103D for Blu Ray & SACD & DVD-A
Denon X4000 - Marantz SR6000 AVR (coming soon) & Emotiva XPA-200 Amp
Vienna Acoustics Mozart Grand SE--B&W HTM62 Center with Axiom QS4 surrounds ---------- SVS PB-1000 SUBWOOFER
al210 is online now  
post #2814 of 9760 Old 07-13-2014, 03:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
joeyvaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 547
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Smart Hub has been working great all week. Today, I launch Smart Hub and go down to an app, and all I get is a black screen. The apps never launch. I tried resetting the Smart hub twice, but I am still having the same problem. Any thoughts?
joeyvaz is online now  
post #2815 of 9760 Old 07-13-2014, 03:11 PM
Member
 
traumadisaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 28
I'm confused on the 8550 vs 9000 is that the same tv? It is $200 cheaper than the sony 50 inch 4k. I mostly use it to pc game at 4k. I dont care for the lg 4k and seiki i have. Any reason to spend 200 more for the sony? I'm looking at the best buy sale on the 8550 for $1800
traumadisaster is offline  
post #2816 of 9760 Old 07-13-2014, 03:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
joeyvaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 547
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by joeyvaz View Post
Smart Hub has been working great all week. Today, I launch Smart Hub and go down to an app, and all I get is a black screen. The apps never launch. I tried resetting the Smart hub twice, but I am still having the same problem. Any thoughts?
I reset the entire television and the Smart Hub is working again. I hope this is just a fluke and not something I or other will have ongoing problems with.
joeyvaz is online now  
post #2817 of 9760 Old 07-13-2014, 03:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sikclown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,299
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 787 Post(s)
Liked: 298
Quote:
Originally Posted by joeyvaz View Post
I reset the entire television and the Smart Hub is working again. I hope this is just a fluke and not something I or other will have ongoing problems with.
That is what I was going to suggest doing. Hopefully it was just an App that got hung up and this doesn't happen again. Fingers crossed for you.
joeyvaz likes this.

UN65F9000AFXZA + SEK2500U/ZA firmware version 1162.2
Denon AVR-X5200W, Apple TV, Sony BDP-S6200, PS4, Xbox One
(2) Klipsch RF-82IIs, (2)RS-62IIs (4)RS-52IIs, (2)RS-42IIs, (1)RC-62ii, (2)RB-61IIs
(1) SVS PB12-Plus, (1)Emotiva XPA-100, (1)XPA-200, (1)UPA-200,
UN55HU8550, AVR-S900W, Ceton Echo, Apple TV, Panny BDT460, PC,
(1)Klipsch G-42, (2)G-16s, (2) Bose 161, (1)BIC Acoustech PL-200
sikclown is offline  
post #2818 of 9760 Old 07-13-2014, 03:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sikclown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,299
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 787 Post(s)
Liked: 298
Quote:
Originally Posted by traumadisaster View Post
I'm confused on the 8550 vs 9000 is that the same tv? It is $200 cheaper than the sony 50 inch 4k. I mostly use it to pc game at 4k. I dont care for the lg 4k and seiki i have. Any reason to spend 200 more for the sony? I'm looking at the best buy sale on the 8550 for $1800
The HU8550 and HU9000 are not the same TV although many would argue that the only difference is the curve. The HU9000 is the Flagship model whereas the HU8550 is just a small step down, still a great TV. Which Sony model are you looking at? Where Sony wins most of the time is on Input lag which is not a strength of Samsung. Being a gamer, that may be important to you.

UN65F9000AFXZA + SEK2500U/ZA firmware version 1162.2
Denon AVR-X5200W, Apple TV, Sony BDP-S6200, PS4, Xbox One
(2) Klipsch RF-82IIs, (2)RS-62IIs (4)RS-52IIs, (2)RS-42IIs, (1)RC-62ii, (2)RB-61IIs
(1) SVS PB12-Plus, (1)Emotiva XPA-100, (1)XPA-200, (1)UPA-200,
UN55HU8550, AVR-S900W, Ceton Echo, Apple TV, Panny BDT460, PC,
(1)Klipsch G-42, (2)G-16s, (2) Bose 161, (1)BIC Acoustech PL-200
sikclown is offline  
post #2819 of 9760 Old 07-13-2014, 03:46 PM
Member
 
traumadisaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by sikclown View Post
The HU8550 and HU9000 are not the same TV although many would argue that the only difference is the curve. The HU9000 is the Flagship model whereas the HU8550 is just a small step down, still a great TV. Which Sony model are you looking at? Where Sony wins most of the time is on Input lag which is not a strength of Samsung. Being a gamer, that may be important to you.
http://www.bestbuy.com/site/49-class...1001&cp=1&lp=4
Input lag is probably not worth $200 more for me. According to this the Sammy's http://www.rtings.com/info/input-lag-tvs input lag is worst in class but I thought I saw a post that the lag improved after an update, can anybody confirm what the 8850 input lag is now? http://www.bestbuy.com/site/50-class...1001&cp=1&lp=3

Last edited by traumadisaster; 07-13-2014 at 03:57 PM. Reason: clarification
traumadisaster is offline  
post #2820 of 9760 Old 07-13-2014, 04:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mrorange303's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 1,775
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 848 Post(s)
Liked: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by joeyvaz View Post
I reset the entire television and the Smart Hub is working again. I hope this is just a fluke and not something I or other will have ongoing problems with.
Sometimes my screen goes black. Takes a couple minutes to run through whatever its hung up on.

But it usually comes back after a little while.
Mrorange303 is online now  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
samsung u8550 , Samsung Un55c8000 55 Inch 1080p 240 Hz 3d Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off