"Official" 2014 Sony XBR-55X900B / XBR-65X900B / XBR-79X900B Thread - Page 112 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 485Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3331 of 3993 Old 07-13-2014, 03:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mattopotamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 829
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 293 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vegas oled View Post
I purchased the original FMP-X1 media player from Frys for $150 and the movie came as a free download. What an experience, would be another level on a 79". People are waiting for the me media player which has half the hard drive space and paying $500, the older model works perfect.
Only downside to the old model is DL speeds. Something is not right on it. I was only able to get 10mbps speeds with a much faster connection.
Mattopotamus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3332 of 3993 Old 07-13-2014, 03:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
Vegas oled's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 975
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 452 Post(s)
Liked: 333
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattopotamus View Post
Only downside to the old model is DL speeds. Something is not right on it. I was only able to get 10mbps speeds with a much faster connection.
I asked the Sony rep if the new unit is faster and he said no it only offered wireless connection and Netflix streaming. If you have a 900a the new player is a must.

It is slow at downloading so if your making a purchase make sure you give yourself the time to download prior to watching. Once downloaded you have it. I might purchase a 2TB external and add it.

Last edited by Vegas oled; 07-13-2014 at 03:50 PM.
Vegas oled is online now  
post #3333 of 3993 Old 07-13-2014, 03:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mattopotamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 829
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 293 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vegas oled View Post
I asked the Sony rep if the new unit is faster and he said no it only offered wireless connection and Netflix streaming. If you have a 900a the new player is a must.

It is slow at downloading so if your making a purchase make sure you give yourself the time to download prior to watching. Once downloaded you have it. I might purchase a 2TB external and add it.
I'll have to test and see. The old player was suppose to have faster speeds than it does. It really is the only device I own that bad. The new player spec say 100 Mbps download speeds. Unless it is restricted by Sony it should be better.

I also got the Fry's deal. At $150 it is a steal, but these should never cost $699. I imagine the $499 for the x10 will be easy to come by.
Mattopotamus is offline  
post #3334 of 3993 Old 07-13-2014, 04:12 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
mauricef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Some pics. I had to touch up two pics because my LED lighting in my house sometimes mess up photos:










Last edited by mauricef; 07-13-2014 at 04:44 PM.
mauricef is offline  
post #3335 of 3993 Old 07-13-2014, 04:15 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
mauricef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vegas oled View Post
I asked the Sony rep if the new unit is faster and he said no it only offered wireless connection and Netflix streaming. If you have a 900a the new player is a must.

It is slow at downloading so if your making a purchase make sure you give yourself the time to download prior to watching. Once downloaded you have it. I might purchase a 2TB external and add it.
Thanks. I saw the old model at Fry's. I may have to pick up one of these.
mauricef is offline  
post #3336 of 3993 Old 07-13-2014, 04:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mattopotamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 829
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 293 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by mauricef View Post
Thanks. I saw the old model at Fry's. I may have to pick up one of these.
I would be shocked if any are left.
Mattopotamus is offline  
post #3337 of 3993 Old 07-13-2014, 04:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
Vegas oled's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 975
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 452 Post(s)
Liked: 333
Quote:
Originally Posted by mauricef View Post
Thanks. I saw the old model at Fry's. I may have to pick up one of these.
The key is Make sure you have a wired network connection to the box. The TV can be wireless (both must be hooked)

You also must use HDMI 1 out from the box to HDMI 2 to the tv. If you do all this correct the hookup takes 5 minutes. The first time I spent two hours.
Vegas oled is online now  
post #3338 of 3993 Old 07-13-2014, 04:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
Vegas oled's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 975
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 452 Post(s)
Liked: 333
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattopotamus View Post
I would be shocked if any are left.
I returned my first one with the tv, when I decided to give a second set a try they were out of media players at my Frys. I walked in the other night and there was one brand new in the box, nobody knew where it came from.
cranster likes this.
Vegas oled is online now  
post #3339 of 3993 Old 07-13-2014, 04:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mattopotamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 829
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 293 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vegas oled View Post
I returned my first one with the tv, when I decided to give a second set a try they were out of media players at my Frys. I walked in the other night and there was one brand new in the box, nobody knew where it came from.
Nice!
Mattopotamus is offline  
post #3340 of 3993 Old 07-13-2014, 04:46 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
mauricef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by mauricef View Post
Some pics. I had to touch up two pics because my LED lighting in my house sometimes mess up photos:










I fixed the broken links.
DPAsghar and Vegas oled like this.
mauricef is offline  
post #3341 of 3993 Old 07-13-2014, 05:04 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mauricef View Post
I fixed the broken links.
Thanks.
What are the 3 spots on top of the images?
Bassplayer6 is offline  
post #3342 of 3993 Old 07-13-2014, 05:07 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
mauricef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bassplayer6 View Post
Thanks.
What are the 3 spots on top of the images?
Reflections of the can lights in the ceiling above.
mauricef is offline  
post #3343 of 3993 Old 07-13-2014, 06:53 PM
Member
 
Thistledown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Those of you that have TVs are you using the extension box, or are you just using your own fixed length HDMI cables? Since I will be mounting on the wall, I assume I will have to use the extension box in order to plug-in a USB drive to play some 4k clips.

Also, can the Sony FMP-X10 use the extension box, or does it have to plug-in directly?

Last edited by Thistledown; 07-13-2014 at 07:08 PM.
Thistledown is offline  
post #3344 of 3993 Old 07-13-2014, 11:31 PM
Senior Member
 
mitico303's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Italy
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 64
If you love football, here you can find 15 minutes of Uruguay - Colombia of this 2014 World Cup in 4K..
Carlos_E, daystar5 and Vegas oled like this.
mitico303 is offline  
post #3345 of 3993 Old 07-14-2014, 04:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mattopotamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 829
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 293 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thistledown View Post
Those of you that have TVs are you using the extension box, or are you just using your own fixed length HDMI cables? Since I will be mounting on the wall, I assume I will have to use the extension box in order to plug-in a USB drive to play some 4k clips.

Also, can the Sony FMP-X10 use the extension box, or does it have to plug-in directly?
Unless the "box" you are plugging everything into has HDCP 2.2 it would need to go directly do the tv. I only think there are a few receivers with 2.2 support.
Mattopotamus is offline  
post #3346 of 3993 Old 07-14-2014, 05:20 AM
Member
 
Thistledown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattopotamus View Post
Unless the "box" you are plugging everything into has HDCP 2.2 it would need to go directly do the tv. I only think there are a few receivers with 2.2 support.
I specifically mean the extension box that ships with the TV. It's a breakout box that has a 6-9' cable.
Thistledown is offline  
post #3347 of 3993 Old 07-14-2014, 05:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
sgbroimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: CT Shore
Posts: 618
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by mauricef View Post
There are several dozen bands about an inch across. I watch a lot of sports and this will be my primary sports TV. It is located in my "man cave".

The watched a bunch of scenes from low APL movies. Compared to my Kuro's this set has much better shadow detail. The Kuro can crush black fairly easily. The absolute blacks are better on the Kuro but the overall picture presentation will narrowly go to the Sony.

I also hooked up my iScan mini to put up some test patterns. Here the TV excelled with no obvious issues. Uniformity was surprisingly good. I will probably calibrate it late next week when I get a chance to see it I can make things even better.
No one seems to be making a comparison of typical Comcast compressed broadcast signal on an older set (like my XBR6 model) and one of this current generation. Does the upscaling manifest itself in an improved picture or do we have to wait until Comcast finds a cleaner compression system than what they are using now (ha- ha)?
sgbroimp is offline  
post #3348 of 3993 Old 07-14-2014, 06:00 AM
Member
 
cranster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
I would hate to see anyone pay full retail for starters....However this set has not even hit in full flow, yet. I would guess 60-90 days....
I'm confident you will inform us when it does. Hopefully it falls as fast as the 65", that's what I'm waiting for.
cranster is online now  
post #3349 of 3993 Old 07-14-2014, 06:35 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 11,840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 198 Post(s)
Liked: 454
Quote:
Originally Posted by sgbroimp View Post
No one seems to be making a comparison of typical Comcast compressed broadcast signal on an older set (like my XBR6 model) and one of this current generation. Does the upscaling manifest itself in an improved picture or do we have to wait until Comcast finds a cleaner compression system than what they are using now (ha- ha)?
Either way you will not see a drastic improvement upscaling a signal to 4K . Will it help, maybe a tad . If you want to see true 4K , it has to be filmed and put thru to your unit in 4K . A easy, and prime example is a older show like the brandy bunch . Do not think for a second just because you have a 4K unit that when your unit receives this kind of feed it will upgrade this old film to 4K clarity . Sure your unit will upscale everything to 4K, but it is not going to change the content given to any major degree..... Even a 1080P show will upscale, but it will not be the quality of an original 4K program shot with a 4K camera, then transmitted to your unit in 4K .
tubetwister likes this.
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #3350 of 3993 Old 07-14-2014, 06:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
sgbroimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: CT Shore
Posts: 618
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
Either way you will not see a drastic improvement upscaling a signal to 4K . Will it help, maybe a tad . If you want to see true 4K , it has to be filmed and put thru to your unit in 4K . A easy, and prime example is a older show like the brandy bunch . Do not think for a second just because you have a 4K unit that when your unit receives this kind of feed it will upgrade this old film to 4K clarity . Sure your unit will upscale everything to 4K, but it is not going to change the content given to any major degree..... Even a 1080P show will upscale, but it will not be the quality of an original 4K program shot with a 4K camera, then transmitted to your unit in 4K .
That's about what I figured, but it raises the question about what is all the "ooing and aawing" generated by these folks who watched the world cup (for example) on these 4K sets? If what you say is correct (and I have no doubts about that), what were these folks seeing?
sgbroimp is offline  
post #3351 of 3993 Old 07-14-2014, 07:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mattopotamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 829
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 293 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by sgbroimp View Post
No one seems to be making a comparison of typical Comcast compressed broadcast signal on an older set (like my XBR6 model) and one of this current generation. Does the upscaling manifest itself in an improved picture or do we have to wait until Comcast finds a cleaner compression system than what they are using now (ha- ha)?
Quote:
Originally Posted by sgbroimp View Post
That's about what I figured, but it raises the question about what is all the "ooing and aawing" generated by these folks who watched the world cup (for example) on these 4K sets? If what you say is correct (and I have no doubts about that), what were these folks seeing?
It could just be they had older TVs or ones that were not that great with color reproduction. If you own a top notch 1080p set, you will not see a difference with broadcast TV.
tubetwister likes this.
Mattopotamus is offline  
post #3352 of 3993 Old 07-14-2014, 07:21 AM
Member
 
SonyListens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyp179 View Post
I can see banding when watching the world cup.....everything else looks fine.
Hi Johnny,

My name is Amanda and I’m a manger with Sony……just wanted to see what was going on with your 4k.

I’m currently out of the office for the next couple of weeks but if you can email me at supportsocial@am.sony.com and provide me with your phone number I’ll have my manager give you a call. Thanks, Amanda
SonyListens is offline  
post #3353 of 3993 Old 07-14-2014, 07:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
LeeSoFl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Wellington, FL
Posts: 720
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by SonyListens View Post
My name is Amanda and I’m a manger with Sony……just wanted to see what was going on with your 4k.

I’m currently out of the office for the next couple of weeks but if you can email me at supportsocial@am.sony.com and provide me with your phone number I’ll have my manager give you a call. Thanks, Amanda
Well hello there Amanda, others, and Sony Listens. It's been a week of Sundays since we'seen ya.

You might want to re-visit the X1 issues page.

It's still going strong with the same issues, exactly one year to the day (7-15-13) that my 65/900a was modified and the X1 fired up.

I'm sure there are many people that would appreciate assistance with their A and B models as well as the 4K media player.

Thanks again.

Lee
LeeSoFl is offline  
post #3354 of 3993 Old 07-14-2014, 08:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
sgbroimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: CT Shore
Posts: 618
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattopotamus View Post
It could just be they had older TVs or ones that were not that great with color reproduction. If you own a top notch 1080p set, you will not see a difference with broadcast TV.
So if one has a decent set like mine and the 4K set can't improve current material, even a standard BluRay, it sounds like one should wait until significant 4K viewing material exists and who knows how long or even if that will happen? Comcast won't be a source, that's for sure as they like to eat up their bandwith with lots of quantity, gross amounts of compression to do so.
sgbroimp is offline  
post #3355 of 3993 Old 07-14-2014, 08:31 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by sgbroimp View Post
So if one has a decent set like mine and the 4K set can't improve current material, even a standard BluRay, it sounds like one should wait until significant 4K viewing material exists and who knows how long or even if that will happen? Comcast won't be a source, that's for sure as they like to eat up their bandwith with lots of quantity, gross amounts of compression to do so.


Please see link below...we are talking about comcast...but...


"Later this year, our new X1 set-top boxes will deliver 4K UHD content to all 4K UHD capable televisions."
http://corporate.comcast.com/news-in...the-television
Bassplayer6 is offline  
post #3356 of 3993 Old 07-14-2014, 08:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
Vegas oled's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 975
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 452 Post(s)
Liked: 333
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattopotamus View Post
Only downside to the old model is DL speeds. Something is not right on it. I was only able to get 10mbps speeds with a much faster connection.
Mine is downloading at 18-19 Mbps, you may want to do a speed test on your network.
Vegas oled is online now  
post #3357 of 3993 Old 07-14-2014, 02:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
Vegas oled's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 975
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 452 Post(s)
Liked: 333
Finally saw the 79xB. Off angle it is much better. The contrast and overall picture right on par with the 65"x9B. The color might even be better. The uniformity is the worst I have seen. DSE and banding on the set I saw made it not acceptable to me. If not for these issues it makes people who pay $8K for a 950B look like their being robbed. Aside from uniformity problems by far the best 4K set I have seen.
Janibrewski likes this.
Vegas oled is online now  
post #3358 of 3993 Old 07-14-2014, 02:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mattopotamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 829
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 293 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vegas oled View Post
Finally saw the 79xB. Off angle it is much better. The contrast and overall picture right on par with the 65"x9B. The color might even be better. The uniformity is the worst I have seen. DSE and banding on the set I saw made it not acceptable to me. If not for these issues it makes people who pay $8K for a 950B look like their being robbed. Aside from uniformity problems by far the best 4K set I have seen.
Rawr. Once you see it, you cannot look back. Wednesday I have a new one coming (900a). It will be the last one I try.
Mattopotamus is offline  
post #3359 of 3993 Old 07-14-2014, 03:13 PM
Senior Member
 
RonB63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vegas oled View Post
Finally saw the 79xB. Off angle it is much better. The contrast and overall picture right on par with the 65"x9B. The color might even be better. The uniformity is the worst I have seen. DSE and banding on the set I saw made it not acceptable to me. If not for these issues it makes people who pay $8K for a 950B look like their being robbed. Aside from uniformity problems by far the best 4K set I have seen.

The 79"
So the Good - Off angle, contrast, color
The Bad - Uniformity, DSE, banding


Last statement you only mention uniformity (not DSE/banding) but still best by far excluding uniformity (only). Banding and DSE not a big issue for you?
Where did you see the uniformity issue?
I couldn't be sure if you loved it, hated it or how close you felt to either.
Is the 950B the best by far or the 79"? Sorry, I am confused a bit!
RonB63 is offline  
post #3360 of 3993 Old 07-14-2014, 03:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
Vegas oled's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 975
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 452 Post(s)
Liked: 333
Quote:
Originally Posted by RonB63 View Post
The 79"
So the Good - Off angle, contrast, color
The Bad - Uniformity, DSE, banding


Last statement you only mention uniformity (not DSE/banding) but still best by far excluding uniformity (only). Banding and DSE not a big issue for you?
Where did you see the uniformity issue?
I couldn't be sure if you loved it, hated it or how close you felt to either.
Is the 950B the best by far or the 79"? Sorry, I am confused a bit!
I saw banding and DSE with camera pans. The worst I have seen on a set in a long time. When the camera was not panning it was the best, sharpest almost 3D looking image. It makes the 65" 900B and 950B look silly when compared in person.
Hopefully the poor uniformity was only do to a bad panel and not something that will be on all 79 B's. IF I could find one with passable uniformity I would max out some plastic to get one. The other item to consider is reflections, that is a whole lot of glass to reflect from. People with windows might be better served with the 78HU9000.


4K is made for Large screens. The 78HU9000 make the 65HU9000 look like a toy and the 79900B makes the 65900B and 65950B look like toys.
Janibrewski likes this.

Last edited by Vegas oled; 07-14-2014 at 03:33 PM.
Vegas oled is online now  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off