"Official" 2014 Sony XBR-55X900B / XBR-65X900B / XBR-79X900B Thread - Page 16 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 663Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #451 of 4932 Old 05-05-2014, 03:31 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
HDTVAV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: WI
Posts: 1,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 166
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjnbos View Post


I spent 5 mins typing all that in, did you at least try it and see if your side light issues where resolved. A lot of "A" people found that useful….

 

Can you post your complete settings list for all to see? :D 

HDTVAV is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #452 of 4932 Old 05-05-2014, 03:37 PM
Senior Member
 
scottman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 486
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDTVAV View Post

I am not so sure about that...

I happen to be one of the several, several consumers that likes the physical object - instead of either streaming or downloading it onto a hard drive.

Plus - with the actual disc - it is a lot easier to market and place on store shelves.

Which in turn creates a lot of "impulse" buying of something that you never would have if you never saw it right in front of you.

Plus it is easier to buy them for someone else, instead of basically giving them a gift card type thing, etc...

Etc...

I also prefer physical media and hate buying digital content, but there are equal arguments against yours.

Actual disc and packaging costs more to make and market, so if price of digital is not much different than physical, they make more profit.
Plenty of impulse buying by people surfing through a digital storefront like itunes without even having to get out of your house. Just set up a credit card to bill to, click buy, and you're done without even realizing you blew the cash.
And except for accounts that keep all your content and won't go out of business, people might end up re-buying more content due to hard drive loss, copy protection issues etc..
nishant786 likes this.
scottman is offline  
post #453 of 4932 Old 05-05-2014, 03:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
Carlos_E's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 984
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 211
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjnbos View Post

I have the 900A and was also not immediately impressed; you probably saw my posts about two simple fixes that really improved things.

First use the reset for EVERY input. These TV's allow (which is nice) a separate picture and sound setting for every input. This makes it easy to get jacked up setting for set top box even if it calibrates well with the Blue ray test disk. Further more there is a reset for the main picture settings and the "advanced" setting. Be sure to reset both, and for each input. I use "common settings" for all the inputs as this has removed A LOT of hate and discontent, and calibrated is calibrated in my book.

0) Use Cinema/Cinema 1 for everything.

1) Turn off all the ECO settings. These totally ruined my picture. On a 900A these are NOT on the image settings, but on the Main menu near where you'd select Network settings and stuff

2) sweep thru the "black" or picture setting. I found that the defaul of 50 I had huge side light issues, but at 49 it was perfect. Not sure why there is such a huge jump, but

Find something with a lot of black near the edges, freeze frame it, and then sweep thru the "picture" (aka black level) setting. First go up to 60 to see what I'm talking about, then go down to 45 to love the black, black, blacks, and then pick something like 49 that looks almost perfect for side light bugs, but doesn't totally crush the really dark colors.

These two tweaks totally changed my PQ and I have loved the set ever since.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjnbos View Post

I spent 5 mins typing all that in, did you at least try it and see if your side light issues where resolved. A lot of "A" people found that useful….

I'm going to try it on my 55x850a.
Carlos_E is offline  
post #454 of 4932 Old 05-05-2014, 03:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
digimat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 992
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 218
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjnbos View Post

I spent 5 mins typing all that in, did you at least try it and see if your side light issues where resolved. A lot of "A" people found that useful….

Ha yes I will try it tonight.
digimat is offline  
post #455 of 4932 Old 05-05-2014, 04:28 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Stereodude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Detroit Metro Area
Posts: 10,141
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 666 Post(s)
Liked: 635
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dat Nguyen View Post

Does anyone know is this Sony is 8BIT or 10BIT panel? I couldn't find it online. Someone here has said the last year model is 10bit what about this year? Vizion claim they are the only one with 10bit panel and 800 nit, can anyone confirm how many nit light with this model? Thx u in advance, still waiting for my set. Can't wait
Does it matter or the image quality?
Stereodude is offline  
post #456 of 4932 Old 05-05-2014, 04:38 PM
Senior Member
 
jjnbos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDTVAV View Post

Can you post your complete settings list for all to see? biggrin.gif  

Long story short: everything is reset, then

Cinema / Cinema 1
Backlight 7
brightness/white/whatever 93
contrast/black/whatever 49

Color, sharpness and all will very from set to set. You need to play around with the S&M or other calibration disc.
Mine are almost perfect at reset 51/R1
Sharpness 53

Reality creation manual/on/resolution 8

Everything else is off except I actually like motion set to smooth; (most people hate that so fiddle to your hearts content)

Advanced: all at reset except I turn on the "live color" to "low"

Your mileage may vary.
jjnbos is offline  
post #457 of 4932 Old 05-05-2014, 05:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
digimat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 992
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 218
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjnbos View Post

Long story short: everything is reset, then

Cinema / Cinema 1
Backlight 7
brightness/white/whatever 93
contrast/black/whatever 49

Color, sharpness and all will very from set to set. You need to play around with the S&M or other calibration disc.
Mine are almost perfect at reset 51/R1
Sharpness 53

Reality creation manual/on/resolution 8

Everything else is off except I actually like motion set to smooth; (most people hate that so fiddle to your hearts content)

Advanced: all at reset except I turn on the "live color" to "low"

Your mileage may vary.


What do you set the dynamic range to under advanced picture options? I've tried full vs Auto and the picture is very washed out.
digimat is offline  
post #458 of 4932 Old 05-05-2014, 05:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Geoff D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Swanage, Engerland
Posts: 2,492
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 186 Post(s)
Liked: 252
Don't touch Full! That switches the picture to PC levels, 0-255 instead of 16-235, meaning that blacks all of a sudden become very washed out. (Same goes for if people choose RGB Enhanced on the colour options on their Blu-ray players, don't do it!!!)
Geoff D is offline  
post #459 of 4932 Old 05-05-2014, 05:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
Carlos_E's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 984
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff D View Post

Don't touch Full! That switches the picture to PC levels, 0-255 instead of 16-235, meaning that blacks all of a sudden become very washed out. (Same goes for if people choose RGB Enhanced on the colour options on their Blu-ray players, don't do it!!!)

It should be left on auto?
Carlos_E is offline  
post #460 of 4932 Old 05-05-2014, 05:25 PM
Member
 
Ramzal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 15

Why is this a bad thing? Wouldn't 0-255 give you a wider color range? I'm new to all of this, so I'm trying to learn :)

Ramzal is offline  
post #461 of 4932 Old 05-05-2014, 05:48 PM
Member
 
CJ4life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ramzal View Post

Why is this a bad thing? Wouldn't 0-255 give you a wider color range? I'm new to all of this, so I'm trying to learn smile.gif
I'm not an expert on this, but to my knowledge a wider color gamut without content with that wide color space just leads to really exaggerated colors.
CJ4life is offline  
post #462 of 4932 Old 05-05-2014, 06:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Geoff D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Swanage, Engerland
Posts: 2,492
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 186 Post(s)
Liked: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ramzal View Post

Why is this a bad thing? Wouldn't 0-255 give you a wider color range? I'm new to all of this, so I'm trying to learn smile.gif

Not if the content has been mastered at 16-235 (so that'd be TV, DVD, Blu-ray etc).
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carlos_E View Post

It should be left on auto?

Absolutely.
Geoff D is offline  
post #463 of 4932 Old 05-05-2014, 06:21 PM
Member
 
Dat Nguyen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stereodude View Post


Does it matter or the image quality?

of course 10bit is better for the picture quality

 

  • There is also a 10-bit level in the Ultra HD standard. A summary would look like this.
  • 8-bit for each RGB = 24-bit in total = 256x256x256 = 16,777 million colors
  • 10-bit for each RGB = 30-bit in total = 1024x1024x1024 = 1,07 billion colors
  • 12-bit for each RGB = 36-bit in total = 4096x4096x4096 = 68,71 billion colors
Dat Nguyen is offline  
post #464 of 4932 Old 05-05-2014, 07:04 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
HDTVAV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: WI
Posts: 1,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 166
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dat Nguyen View Post
 

of course 10bit is better for the picture quality

 

  • There is also a 10-bit level in the Ultra HD standard. A summary would look like this.
  • 8-bit for each RGB = 24-bit in total = 256x256x256 = 16,777 million colors
  • 10-bit for each RGB = 30-bit in total = 1024x1024x1024 = 1,07 billion colors
  • 12-bit for each RGB = 36-bit in total = 4096x4096x4096 = 68,71 billion colors

 

LOL, how many colors can the human eye discern?

HDTVAV is offline  
post #465 of 4932 Old 05-05-2014, 07:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
*UFO*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDTVAV View Post

LOL, how many colors can the human eye discern?

The human eye is not a tv, and it is ridiculous to try to put a number limitation. Whether or not someone can discern one color from another depends on the person. Just for laughs, it was originally thought that the eye was "limited" to jut 100,000 colors, with the current "limitation" now being 10 million. Go figure.
*UFO* is offline  
post #466 of 4932 Old 05-05-2014, 07:28 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
HDTVAV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: WI
Posts: 1,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 166
Quote:
Originally Posted by *UFO* View Post


The human eye is not a tv, and it is ridiculous to try to put a number limitation. Whether or not someone can discern one color from another depends on the person. Just for laughs, it was originally thought that the eye was "limited" to jut 100,000 colors, with the current "limitation" now being 10 million. Go figure.

 

I wasn't looking for an exact number, silly... :p

 

But I am pretty sure it is not in the billions...

HDTVAV is offline  
post #467 of 4932 Old 05-05-2014, 07:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
digimat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 992
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 218
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjnbos View Post

Long story short: everything is reset, then

Cinema / Cinema 1
Backlight 7
brightness/white/whatever 93
contrast/black/whatever 49

Color, sharpness and all will very from set to set. You need to play around with the S&M or other calibration disc.
Mine are almost perfect at reset 51/R1
Sharpness 53

Reality creation manual/on/resolution 8

Everything else is off except I actually like motion set to smooth; (most people hate that so fiddle to your hearts content)

Advanced: all at reset except I turn on the "live color" to "low"

Your mileage may vary.

Ok so I tried it out and not sure I notice an improvement with the light bleed. The picture is of course more true to reference but I think I still prefer a modified version of standard... the black levels just aren't as good and the detail is bit lost. Maybe I'm just spoiled after watching 4k smile.gif
digimat is offline  
post #468 of 4932 Old 05-05-2014, 07:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
digimat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 992
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 218
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff D View Post

Not if the content has been mastered at 16-235 (so that'd be TV, DVD, Blu-ray etc).
Absolutely.

Yep and I've only really used it with gaming on Xbone... for some games the colors seem better with full RGB set on both the console and the TV.
digimat is offline  
post #469 of 4932 Old 05-06-2014, 12:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mrorange303's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 1,783
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 854 Post(s)
Liked: 235
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stereodude View Post

Does it matter or the image quality?
10 bit for a while.
Mrorange303 is online now  
post #470 of 4932 Old 05-06-2014, 01:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
Carlos_E's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 984
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 211
Quote:
Originally Posted by digimat View Post

Ha yes I will try it tonight.

I know Netflix can stream in 4K on the X900B. Have you tried the built in YouTube app? It could not stream 4K on the X900A.
Carlos_E is offline  
post #471 of 4932 Old 05-06-2014, 02:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
digimat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 992
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 218
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carlos_E View Post

I know Netflix can stream in 4K on the X900B. Have you tried the built in YouTube app? It could not stream 4K on the X900A.

I tried it but I still don't think it's 4k, there's no way for me to tell as it won't display the resolution in the app.
digimat is offline  
post #472 of 4932 Old 05-06-2014, 02:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
Carlos_E's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 984
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 211
Quote:
Originally Posted by digimat View Post

I tried it but I still don't think it's 4k, there's no way for me to tell as it won't display the resolution in the app.

I'll have to test it when mine arrives. I can play Youtube from my Mac Pro which will output YouTube in 4K over HDMI and compare it to the built in app.
Carlos_E is offline  
post #473 of 4932 Old 05-06-2014, 02:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
Carlos_E's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 984
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 211
I wonder if the lack of end user photos or YouTube videos of the X900B is due to poor sales. I would think by now people who purchased the 55X900B would have posted photos, unboxing vids and end user reviews.
Carlos_E is offline  
post #474 of 4932 Old 05-06-2014, 03:29 PM
Member
 
survivor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carlos_E View Post

I wonder if the lack of end user photos or YouTube videos of the X900B is due to poor sales. I would think by now people who purchased the 55X900B would have posted photos, unboxing vids and end user reviews.


Wondering about the same thing. I guess Sony would have sent several units out for review as well but it's pretty quiet till now. I personally love to see more information on the X950B though.

survivor is offline  
post #475 of 4932 Old 05-06-2014, 03:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
Carlos_E's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 984
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 211
Quote:
Originally Posted by survivor View Post


Wondering about the same thing. I guess Sony would have sent several units out for review as well but it's pretty quiet till now. I personally love to see more information on the X950B though.

The X950B is preorder on Sony.com and will ship June 7th so it will be awhile.
Carlos_E is offline  
post #476 of 4932 Old 05-06-2014, 03:48 PM
Member
 
survivor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carlos_E View Post


The X950B is preorder on Sony.com and will ship June 7th so it will be awhile.


Some tech new products the manufacturer would get some limited pre-production units to reputable reviewers for review. I guess maybe not Sony TVs.

survivor is offline  
post #477 of 4932 Old 05-06-2014, 03:49 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
HDTVAV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: WI
Posts: 1,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 166
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carlos_E View Post

I wonder if the lack of end user photos or YouTube videos of the X900B is due to poor sales. I would think by now people who purchased the 55X900B would have posted photos, unboxing vids and end user reviews.

 

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by survivor View Post
 


Wondering about the same thing. I guess Sony would have sent several units out for review as well but it's pretty quiet till now. 

 

They have only been out in a VERY limited number for a little over a week now... 

 

Relax!

 

:p 

HDTVAV is offline  
post #478 of 4932 Old 05-06-2014, 03:55 PM
Member
 
survivor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 13

I do not have a TV right now, just went through an international relocation and the voltage rating from my home country is not compatible with US thus I didn't bring my existing TV. I am ready to buy a new TV! Thinking of put my money down on the 65X950B pre-order but have the usual early adopters phobia of what if it doesn't worth the price I pay. Should I just go for the X900A which is on huge discount right now? Any thoughts?

survivor is offline  
post #479 of 4932 Old 05-06-2014, 08:34 PM
Member
 
brandonuk07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by survivor View Post
 

I do not have a TV right now, just went through an international relocation and the voltage rating from my home country is not compatible with US thus I didn't bring my existing TV. I am ready to buy a new TV! Thinking of put my money down on the 65X950B pre-order but have the usual early adopters phobia of what if it doesn't worth the price I pay. Should I just go for the X900A which is on huge discount right now? Any thoughts?

 

Sony says they have the 55x900b in stock right now.  But who knows, Sony's website says in stock, then they may email you saying backordered.  They're very deceiving in their business practices in regards to in stock status.  I also don't see how Sony can command such a high price for the 950b over the 900 series.  I have a feeling prices on these will drop hard after all of you order them.  For comparison, Samsung released their 2014 models on 4/6/14.  In less than a month they've dropped the price by $500.  If sales were strong, they wouldn't be making this quick adjustment.  Its all about supply and demand.  Sony will have to quickly adjust their prices if they want to move these units.  Part of me believes Sony is making very few and keeping stock low right now- hence the backorders. 

brandonuk07 is offline  
post #480 of 4932 Old 05-07-2014, 05:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
schlick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
They're shipping now. Got a notice yesterday.
schlick is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off