"Official" 2014 Sony XBR-55X900B / XBR-65X900B / XBR-79X900B Thread - Page 93 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 560Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2761 of 4347 Old 06-30-2014, 10:24 AM
 
Vegas oled's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 1,376
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 722 Post(s)
Liked: 487
Quote:
Originally Posted by digimat View Post
We can't stop talking about you because you deceive common logic! We thought you had all but given up on 4k? Do you just buy TVs as a hobby and just take them back? Why do you have so many sets Vegas?
I do not own every set I give an opinion on. I read many Sony owners and others over on the OLED forum and appreciate their input.

While 4K may not be main stream I do believe it adds another cool aspect to this hobby. Netflix offering 4k is great, the only problem is it looks no where near as good as what Sony provides on their player.

Most owners without a Sony player have never even seen excellent 4K content on their sets.
Zaim and Wernerth like this.

Last edited by Vegas oled; 06-30-2014 at 10:34 AM.
Vegas oled is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2762 of 4347 Old 06-30-2014, 11:24 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Post PC over HDMI

Quote:
Originally Posted by sgbroimp View Post
Are any of you guys sending a PC signal via HDMI to this series of Sony sets? I am doing so with an older XBR6 series set and virtually all the picture adjustments are grayed out so as to render them inop. This is kind of obnoxious, especially since color level is one of them. Do these sets do this also or all pix adjustments available from PC signal???
I have two computers hooked up via HDMI. The first is a MacMini and I am able to get 1080p out of it without any issues. You have to do the color correction on the Mac side.

My other computer is an Intel NUC, with the Intel HD 5000. I am able to get full 4K resolution. Again, I have to do any color correction on the PC side.
surfersd is offline  
post #2763 of 4347 Old 06-30-2014, 11:28 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I did the software update for my TV around 3:00am PST and now have the "PlayStation Now" option next to the "Apps" section when selecting Menu from the remote. I was unable to get this option to work. Anyone else tried this yet? I am eager to test this. I have TimeWarner (until the purchase from Comcast is complete) and want to try the game streaming before they put a cap on my internet usage. As it stands, I do a lot of downloading and streaming (just finished the BB series in 4K last night) so hopefully my 50MB download speed is more than enough.
surfersd is offline  
post #2764 of 4347 Old 06-30-2014, 11:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
Carlos_E's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 982
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by digimat View Post
Yep same problem for me tonight as well. Thought it might have been my ISP.
One of two things resolved it for me. It was closing the Netflix app on one of my Tivos. Or it was going into the Netflix account settings on the website and reselecting High as the playback setting. I did both before 4K streaming started working again.
Carlos_E is offline  
post #2765 of 4347 Old 06-30-2014, 11:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
Carlos_E's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 982
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by timc1475 View Post
500MG dl wow! Carlos, what does TW charge you monthly for that fast speed tier? Below for IL. is what Comcast recently told me after I sent an email asking them about faster speeds for possible 4k downloads if I pull the trigger on that 79" 900B & media player. For me to get 505MG dl is like 400 + per month! And there is also certain criteria... who can afford that! lol.
Per Comcast:

You currently subscribe to performance internet @ 25mbps:
· You can be upgraded to Blast internet which is 50 mbps at no additional cost
· You can be upgraded to Extreme 105 for $10.00 more per month
· You can be upgraded to Extreme 505 (which is the next tier up from Extreme 105) for $399.95 more per month.
·Serviced by Extreme 505-capable headend (existing SUR or 4200 aggregator/1G-E Port Available).

Pricing:
·Monthly recurring fee: $399.95 per month (plus taxes and equipment).
·Router monthly lease fee: $19.95 a month.
·Activation fee: $249.00.
·Premium Installation fee: $249.00.
·Requires a three-year contract upon subscription; Early Termination Fee (ETF) applies. Early Termination Fee schedule:
Month 1-3: $1100
ETC.

TWC Ultimate is 300MB Down, 10MB up. I have two cable modem's and a load balancer. I'm paying $120 for the two connections.
Carlos_E is offline  
post #2766 of 4347 Old 06-30-2014, 11:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
sgbroimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: CT Shore
Posts: 672
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by surfersd View Post
I have two computers hooked up via HDMI. The first is a MacMini and I am able to get 1080p out of it without any issues. You have to do the color correction on the Mac side.

My other computer is an Intel NUC, with the Intel HD 5000. I am able to get full 4K resolution. Again, I have to do any color correction on the PC side.
So the TV locks out color level, brightness, contrast etc.?
sgbroimp is offline  
post #2767 of 4347 Old 06-30-2014, 11:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
Carlos_E's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 982
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattopotamus View Post
I also wonder if it is how close you sit. If I am 7+ feet back I do not see it at all, but if I am anything closer I start to see it.
I sit 7-8 feet from mine, sometimes closer and I am not seeing banding.
Carlos_E is offline  
post #2768 of 4347 Old 06-30-2014, 01:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mattopotamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,081
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 457 Post(s)
Liked: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carlos_E View Post
I sit 7-8 feet from mine, sometimes closer and I am not seeing banding.
Hmm. I wonder if it is my ****** uverse and the amount of compression. World cup is the only thing I see it on. Even in torture test I don't see the DSE/banding.
Mattopotamus is offline  
post #2769 of 4347 Old 06-30-2014, 03:57 PM
Member
 
GoodKidMAADCity's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Sonys customer service is horrible. I was supposed to be sent a replacement set within 5-7 days. It's now been 9 days. I called in and all they could tell me was that the couldn't get a hold of the technician team and I have to follow back up tommorow. Has anyone else had a bad experience with getting your set replaced?
GoodKidMAADCity is offline  
post #2770 of 4347 Old 06-30-2014, 04:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mattopotamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,081
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 457 Post(s)
Liked: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoodKidMAADCity View Post
Sonys customer service is horrible. I was supposed to be sent a replacement set within 5-7 days. It's now been 9 days. I called in and all they could tell me was that the couldn't get a hold of the technician team and I have to follow back up tommorow. Has anyone else had a bad experience with getting your set replaced?
None here. I usually have the TV within 5-7 business days. They sent an email once it ships with all of the tracking. They typically use a 3rd party service like ceva to schedule delivery.

I don't know why they would need a tech unless they think you need a repair and not a replacement.
Mattopotamus is offline  
post #2771 of 4347 Old 06-30-2014, 05:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
nowknown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Orlando
Posts: 867
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by timc1475 View Post
So r u the new Jim Carrey of AVS nowknown hmmmm? But hey w/e works to motivate mr. deke to do a 3d demo, tickle em into submission, oh yea baby that's so shagadelic! Good luck with that cuz not even 100 lashes with a wet noodle will get him to wear those googly 3d glasses home boi. No cure for threedeeitius! lol

Hey, ya know that blue pill-shaped button that says, "preview post" (hint - it doesn't dispense Viagra out of your USB port), you might wanna try using that occasionally. You sound pretty goofy - even by internet standards.

'Best comment on one of my AVS reviews ever, "What did I just try to read!" Latest: Snow joke - six foot rabbits and the run-a-way brain.
nowknown is offline  
post #2772 of 4347 Old 06-30-2014, 08:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
digimat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 981
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoodKidMAADCity View Post
Sonys customer service is horrible. I was supposed to be sent a replacement set within 5-7 days. It's now been 9 days. I called in and all they could tell me was that the couldn't get a hold of the technician team and I have to follow back up tommorow. Has anyone else had a bad experience with getting your set replaced?
Best experience I ever had... Just be thankful you're not dealing with Samsung.
digimat is offline  
post #2773 of 4347 Old 06-30-2014, 08:25 PM
Member
 
GoodKidMAADCity's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by digimat View Post
Best experience I ever had... Just be thankful you're not dealing with Samsung.
Jumped the gun. The guy I spoke with was just an idiot. My new set should be ariving with in a day or so. I'm really hoping this set dosnt have any banding. I have no noticeable banding on my set, but I do have bad backlight bleed. Do they usually let you inspect the set before they leave? I want to be able to compare the new and old one.
GoodKidMAADCity is offline  
post #2774 of 4347 Old 07-01-2014, 12:14 AM
Member
 
Crimsoncleaver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: London, UK
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Really want to hear 79 inch owners views on the passive 3D and the different panel, and more photos...
Crimsoncleaver is offline  
post #2775 of 4347 Old 07-01-2014, 12:47 AM
Member
 
timc1475's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: IL.
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by nowknown View Post
Hey, ya know that blue pill-shaped button that says, "preview post" (hint - it doesn't dispense Viagra out of your USB port), you might wanna try using that occasionally. You sound pretty goofy - even by internet standards.
LMAO! I am "goofy" huh, when your listed interests on your AVS profile state the really goofy stuff below?!?! BTW & FYI you misspelled "badminton"... so I guess your "preview post" is off too:

nowknown's Interests:
lesbians, film critique, supermodel spanking, nation building, deviant sex, upholstery, serial killing, show dogs, basket weaving, midwifery, barnyard sodomy, Yahtzee, Olympic Curling, recreational drug use, leapfrog, cross dressing, badmitton.


What we will be is not what we are, what we are is not what we were...therefore hoping in all things becomes possible.
timc1475 is offline  
post #2776 of 4347 Old 07-01-2014, 02:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mattopotamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,081
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 457 Post(s)
Liked: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoodKidMAADCity View Post
Jumped the gun. The guy I spoke with was just an idiot. My new set should be ariving with in a day or so. I'm really hoping this set dosnt have any banding. I have no noticeable banding on my set, but I do have bad backlight bleed. Do they usually let you inspect the set before they leave? I want to be able to compare the new and old one.
That will totally depend on the shipping company. They wait for you to inspect for damages, but as far as checking the PQ they may not.
Mattopotamus is offline  
post #2777 of 4347 Old 07-01-2014, 04:21 AM
Senior Member
 
bresna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 418
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by digimat View Post
Best experience I ever had... Just be thankful you're not dealing with Samsung.
Or Panasonic. I am in the middle of a month-long return process with them after they delivered a TV with a cracked screen. One of the worst customer experiences I've ever had.
bresna is offline  
post #2778 of 4347 Old 07-01-2014, 08:03 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 12,020
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 305 Post(s)
Liked: 529
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattopotamus View Post
That will totally depend on the shipping company. They wait for you to inspect for damages, but as far as checking the PQ they may not.
Big tip can go a far way.........
Cleveland Plasma is online now  
post #2779 of 4347 Old 07-01-2014, 08:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
nowknown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Orlando
Posts: 867
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by timc1475 View Post
LMAO! I am "goofy" huh, when your listed interests on your AVS profile state the really goofy stuff below?!?! BTW & FYI you misspelled "badminton"... so I guess your "preview post" is off too:

nowknown's Interests:
lesbians, film critique, supermodel spanking, nation building, deviant sex, upholstery, serial killing, show dogs, basket weaving, midwifery, barnyard sodomy, Yahtzee, Olympic Curling, recreational drug use, leapfrog, cross dressing, badmitton.

Hah - jokes on you! From Wikipedia: "Bad-mint-on is a racquet sport played by either two opposing players who take positions on opposite halves of a rectangular court divided by a net. Players score points by striking an expired breath mint with their racquet so that it passes over the net and lands in their opponents' half of the court." So, that's not the sport I was referring to! Btw, any takers on the supermodel spanking...?

'Best comment on one of my AVS reviews ever, "What did I just try to read!" Latest: Snow joke - six foot rabbits and the run-a-way brain.

Last edited by nowknown; 07-01-2014 at 03:16 PM.
nowknown is offline  
post #2780 of 4347 Old 07-01-2014, 08:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mattopotamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,081
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 457 Post(s)
Liked: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
Big tip can go a far way.........
touche!
Mattopotamus is offline  
post #2781 of 4347 Old 07-01-2014, 09:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
digimat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 981
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoodKidMAADCity View Post
Jumped the gun. The guy I spoke with was just an idiot. My new set should be ariving with in a day or so. I'm really hoping this set dosnt have any banding. I have no noticeable banding on my set, but I do have bad backlight bleed. Do they usually let you inspect the set before they leave? I want to be able to compare the new and old one.
Not in my experience, they didn't even let me inspect the package. How bad is your backlight bleed? Don't expect to find your new set bleed free.
digimat is offline  
post #2782 of 4347 Old 07-01-2014, 10:58 AM
 
Vegas oled's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 1,376
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 722 Post(s)
Liked: 487
I can say that not all 900B are equal. I have seen a 900B where the blacks are so dark and the response of the local dimming is so good, you would swear it was full/array. I bet you CNET was given a hand picked set like this one.

I have also seen 900B's that were not bad but would cloud a little more hear and there and the black levels were not as good.

This makes me wonder if there is more than one panel supplier for the 900B's?
Vegas oled is offline  
post #2783 of 4347 Old 07-01-2014, 11:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mattopotamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,081
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 457 Post(s)
Liked: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vegas oled View Post
I can say that not all 900B are equal. I have seen a 900B where the blacks are so dark and the response of the local dimming is so good, you would swear it was full/array. I bet you CNET was given a hand picked set like this one.

I have also seen 900B's that were not bad but would cloud a little more hear and there and the black levels were not as good.

This makes me wonder if there is more than one panel supplier for the 900B's?
I would bet money you are right about that. I am about to be on my 4th 900a and the first one was easily worse than the other 3. To the point I can convinced it was a different display or the reality pro chip was broken. The blacks were nowhere near as deep and the picture was noticeably worse.
Mattopotamus is offline  
post #2784 of 4347 Old 07-01-2014, 11:38 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by GoodKidMAADCity View Post
Sonys customer service is horrible. I was supposed to be sent a replacement set within 5-7 days. It's now been 9 days. I called in and all they could tell me was that the couldn't get a hold of the technician team and I have to follow back up tommorow. Has anyone else had a bad experience with getting your set replaced?
I had the utmost worst experience with Sony customer service as well with my first 4K TV (XBR-55X900A). I used a site called "callred.com". I read about it on LifeHacker one night while laying in bed. I have to admit that I was a skeptic but it put me in touch with someone, who will rename nameless as I don't want to blow him up with angry people, but gave me the greatest support I could have imagined. He kept in constant contact with me and treated me like how a customer should be treated.

I don't work for "callred.com" or am affiliated with them in anyway. It put me in touch with someone who actually cares about their company and it's customers. In the end, they agreed to swap my new XBR-55X900A with a XBR-55X900B. I had to wait some additional weeks for them to first release the "B" model, but it was worth it.

Last edited by surfersd; 07-01-2014 at 11:40 AM. Reason: addition
surfersd is offline  
post #2785 of 4347 Old 07-01-2014, 12:11 PM
 
Vegas oled's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 1,376
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 722 Post(s)
Liked: 487
Quote:
Originally Posted by surfersd View Post
I had the utmost worst experience with Sony customer service as well with my first 4K TV (XBR-55X900A). I used a site called "callred.com". I read about it on LifeHacker one night while laying in bed. I have to admit that I was a skeptic but it put me in touch with someone, who will rename nameless as I don't want to blow him up with angry people, but gave me the greatest support I could have imagined. He kept in constant contact with me and treated me like how a customer should be treated.

I don't work for "callred.com" or am affiliated with them in anyway. It put me in touch with someone who actually cares about their company and it's customers. In the end, they agreed to swap my new XBR-55X900A with a XBR-55X900B. I had to wait some additional weeks for them to first release the "B" model, but it was worth it.
Very nice upgrade, let us know what you think of the B.
Vegas oled is offline  
post #2786 of 4347 Old 07-01-2014, 01:05 PM
Newbie
 
hugedownload's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Here is a new unboxing posted today on youtube. I also recieved my 4k Minix X8-H media player and will post review shorty!!


iatacs19 and daystar5 like this.
hugedownload is offline  
post #2787 of 4347 Old 07-01-2014, 01:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
digimat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 981
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by surfersd View Post
I had the utmost worst experience with Sony customer service as well with my first 4K TV (XBR-55X900A). I used a site called "callred.com". I read about it on LifeHacker one night while laying in bed. I have to admit that I was a skeptic but it put me in touch with someone, who will rename nameless as I don't want to blow him up with angry people, but gave me the greatest support I could have imagined. He kept in constant contact with me and treated me like how a customer should be treated.

I don't work for "callred.com" or am affiliated with them in anyway. It put me in touch with someone who actually cares about their company and it's customers. In the end, they agreed to swap my new XBR-55X900A with a XBR-55X900B. I had to wait some additional weeks for them to first release the "B" model, but it was worth it.
What was wrong with your 900A?
digimat is offline  
post #2788 of 4347 Old 07-01-2014, 02:47 PM
Newbie
 
LG4k's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by hugedownload View Post
Here is a new unboxing posted today on youtube. I also recieved my 4k Minix X8-H media player and will post review shorty!!


http://youtu.be/eEI2upqm-1w
Can't wait to hear about the minix. Will it stream netflix 4k & does it have hdcp 2.2, or does this not matter for netflix? Thinking about this for a 2013 uhdtv. Thanks
LG4k is offline  
post #2789 of 4347 Old 07-01-2014, 02:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mattopotamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,081
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 457 Post(s)
Liked: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by LG4k View Post
Can't wait to hear about the minix. Will it stream netflix 4k & does it have hdcp 2.2, or does this not matter for netflix? Thinking about this for a 2013 uhdtv. Thanks
My gut say no since it does not support h.265.
Mattopotamus is offline  
post #2790 of 4347 Old 07-01-2014, 03:59 PM
Senior Member
 
Y2JDMBFAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Lemont, IL
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 23
We'll as luck would have it, 2 days after getting the 950, my power has been out for the last 24 hours due to horrible storms yesterday...hopefully it will be back soon so I can give some more impressions...

Y2J
Y2JDMBFAN is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off