**Official Samsung UHD Curved UNxxHU9000 Owners Thread ** - Page 71 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2101 of 2492 Old 08-20-2014, 07:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
Hisma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 516
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 331 Post(s)
Liked: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrorange303 View Post
Smart led prevents clouding. Definitely leave it on. This is one of the most important settings for superb black levels.

Also dig. Clean view removes a lot of noise and grit from movies. This was why I chose this set over the Sony. The Sony x9b cannot filter this grit and it creates a fine grain on some content that is not from the source.

I would also like to say my sharpness is at 50.

The set has no motion hit for the sharpness going up it does however add to the overall crispness of the picture the set is displaying.


It may be the issue with white lines. That's true. For me that does not cause an issue.

I also remember reading that standard mode and dynamic are the only two with pur color. I can't find it now. It was such a small part of a larger review. I should of kept it.
Pur color is always on. Auto depth enhancer is standard mode only.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk
Hisma is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2102 of 2492 Old 08-20-2014, 07:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mrorange303's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 1,447
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 683 Post(s)
Liked: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hisma View Post
Pur color is always on. Auto depth enhancer is standard mode only.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk
Yeah I found it weird when I first read it that's why I didnt keep it.

Auto depth also works in dynamic. Again I found in reviews but I google and get nothing. Sigh. Just a bad day for my links.
Mrorange303 is offline  
post #2103 of 2492 Old 08-20-2014, 07:36 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 13
i put this in the other thread but, i was watching the dark knight blu ray and could not get past how awful the motion was. so stuttering it was crazy
dreadnok89 is offline  
post #2104 of 2492 Old 08-20-2014, 07:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mrorange303's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 1,447
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 683 Post(s)
Liked: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreadnok89 View Post
i put this in the other thread but, i was watching the dark knight blu ray and could not get past how awful the motion was. so stuttering it was crazy
That is my favorite movie ever. I have already watched it at least 5 times on my set. No issues.
Mrorange303 is offline  
post #2105 of 2492 Old 08-20-2014, 08:07 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrorange303 View Post
That is my favorite movie ever. I have already watched it at least 5 times on my set. No issues.

i was watching robocop on the h8000 and it was flawless.
dreadnok89 is offline  
post #2106 of 2492 Old 08-20-2014, 08:56 PM
Senior Member
 
SubSolar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrorange303 View Post
That is my favorite movie ever. I have already watched it at least 5 times on my set. No issues.

Could not tell by your avatar...


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Mrorange303 likes this.
SubSolar is offline  
post #2107 of 2492 Old 08-21-2014, 05:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
Hisma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 516
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 331 Post(s)
Liked: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreadnok89 View Post
i put this in the other thread but, i was watching the dark knight blu ray and could not get past how awful the motion was. so stuttering it was crazy
Are you connecting through an AVR? If so, disable all video processing in the AVR, as that will cause the problem you are experiencing.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk
Hisma is online now  
post #2108 of 2492 Old 08-21-2014, 06:09 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrorange303 View Post
Smart led prevents clouding. Definitely leave it on. This is one of the most important settings for superb black levels.

Also dig. Clean view removes a lot of noise and grit from movies. This was why I chose this set over the Sony. The Sony x9b cannot filter this grit and it creates a fine grain on some content that is not from the source.

I would also like to say my sharpness is at 50.

The set has no motion hit for the sharpness going up it does however add to the overall crispness of the picture the set is displaying.


It may be the issue with white lines. That's true. For me that does not cause an issue.

I also remember reading that standard mode and dynamic are the only two with pur color. I can't find it now. It was such a small part of a larger review. I should of kept it.
Thank you. I will give those things a try and let you know.
friendlyphil is offline  
post #2109 of 2492 Old 08-21-2014, 06:14 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 1
My UHD TV also has a full web browser. I suppose I must install anti-virus/anti-malware software on that browser. Does anyone have any info on any problems doing that, or any particular software I should use?
friendlyphil is offline  
post #2110 of 2492 Old 08-21-2014, 06:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mrorange303's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 1,447
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 683 Post(s)
Liked: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by friendlyphil View Post
Thank you. I will give those things a try and let you know.
Also dont use any 4k upscaling outside the tv. Feed it 1080p sources in all their glory.
Mrorange303 is offline  
post #2111 of 2492 Old 08-21-2014, 07:22 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 2
I just noticed that 3D blu rays are not upscaled. Why is that?
MatiPlaneteer is online now  
post #2112 of 2492 Old 08-21-2014, 07:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mrorange303's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 1,447
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 683 Post(s)
Liked: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by MatiPlaneteer View Post
I just noticed that 3D blu rays are not upscaled. Why is that?
They feed 1080p per eye.

There is no 4k per each eye.
Mrorange303 is offline  
post #2113 of 2492 Old 08-21-2014, 07:57 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrorange303 View Post
Smart led prevents clouding. Definitely leave it on. This is one of the most important settings for superb black levels.

Also dig. Clean view removes a lot of noise and grit from movies. This was why I chose this set over the Sony. The Sony x9b cannot filter this grit and it creates a fine grain on some content that is not from the source.

I would also like to say my sharpness is at 50.

The set has no motion hit for the sharpness going up it does however add to the overall crispness of the picture the set is displaying.


It may be the issue with white lines. That's true. For me that does not cause an issue.

I also remember reading that standard mode and dynamic are the only two with pur color. I can't find it now. It was such a small part of a larger review. I should of kept it.
Do all samsungs have this digi option?
dreadnok89 is offline  
post #2114 of 2492 Old 08-21-2014, 08:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mrorange303's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 1,447
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 683 Post(s)
Liked: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreadnok89 View Post
Do all samsungs have this digi option?
I think so. But i have never seen the hu8550 menu.
Mrorange303 is offline  
post #2115 of 2492 Old 08-21-2014, 10:07 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrorange303 View Post
I think so. But i have never seen the hu8550 menu.
Thx a mrorange i look,forward to your comments
dreadnok89 is offline  
post #2116 of 2492 Old 08-21-2014, 10:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
doctorwizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 560
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrorange303 View Post
I think so. But i have never seen the hu8550 menu.
8550 has Digital Clean View also.

Samsung 65" HU8550 - TS01, Denon 3312 AVR, Cerwin Vega VE speakers x 7, DefTech ProSub 1000 x 2
WDTV Live, Roku 3, Amazon FireTV, LG BD390 Bluray, WiiU,
DishTV Hopper w/Sling, Self Made PC, AMD FX8350, 16GB Ram, LG 16x BD-RW
Zotac GTX 970, Gigabyte GTX-750Ti 2GB, 3840x2160@60Hz , Asus AC-68 Router
Samsung 840 Evo 250GB SSD, Samsung HD204Ui 2TB, 3 UPS's

Last edited by doctorwizz; 08-21-2014 at 10:22 AM.
doctorwizz is offline  
post #2117 of 2492 Old 08-21-2014, 10:18 AM
Senior Member
 
tontondavid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreadnok89 View Post
Do all samsungs have this digi option?

The only setting not on the hu8550 compared to hu9000 is cinema black.
tontondavid is offline  
post #2118 of 2492 Old 08-21-2014, 10:31 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by tontondavid View Post
The only setting not on the hu8550 compared to hu9000 is cinema black.
Thx ot ton
dreadnok89 is offline  
post #2119 of 2492 Old 08-21-2014, 04:30 PM
Member
 
aceiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Suggestions?

Hi,


Played my first Blu-ray last night on my 78HU9000, Monuments Men, and was disappointed by the lights from all 4 corners. I'm not a great photographer, but I thought I'd get your thoughts on what to try next. Called Samsung support, disconnected twice, moved to remote management, she did her list, including the all important "can you see the picture" test, and has a tech calling me "in the next few days" to schedule an appointment. Have a group of people coming over this weekend, so any ideas would be appreciated.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Croptv.JPG
Views:	100
Size:	80.4 KB
ID:	222833  
aceiv is offline  
post #2120 of 2492 Old 08-21-2014, 04:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
Hisma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 516
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 331 Post(s)
Liked: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by aceiv View Post
Hi,


Played my first Blu-ray last night on my 78HU9000, Monuments Men, and was disappointed by the lights from all 4 corners. I'm not a great photographer, but I thought I'd get your thoughts on what to try next. Called Samsung support, disconnected twice, moved to remote management, she did her list, including the all important "can you see the picture" test, and has a tech calling me "in the next few days" to schedule an appointment. Have a group of people coming over this weekend, so any ideas would be appreciated.
Please list your picture settings. Have you tried to use any of the calibration settings listed in this thread? Tontondavid posted some good settings for your exact model.

It looks like you are not using cinema black or smart led function. Clouding is pretty bad, but I think a good bit of that can be buffed out.
Hisma is online now  
post #2121 of 2492 Old 08-21-2014, 04:35 PM
Senior Member
 
tontondavid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hisma View Post
Please list your picture settings. Have you tried to use any of the calibration settings listed in this thread? Tontondavid posted some good settings for your exact model.



It looks like you are not using cinema black or smart led function. Clouding is pretty bad, but I think a good bit of that can be buffed out.

Agreed. Use cinema and low led and you should be golden. Doesn't look that bad compared to some others. Still annoying though.
tontondavid is offline  
post #2122 of 2492 Old 08-21-2014, 04:49 PM
Member
 
aceiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Great! Thank you both for the replies! I'll try those settings first (Samsung tech had me turn them off originally when dealing with another issue )


I'll report back.
aceiv is offline  
post #2123 of 2492 Old 08-21-2014, 05:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
Hisma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 516
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 331 Post(s)
Liked: 137
it's too bad the OP @al210 disappeared here.

Someone should update the first post with some sort of FAQ. The same questions seem to come up with most new owners. It'd be so much easier to just say "read the first post"
Mrorange303 likes this.
Hisma is online now  
post #2124 of 2492 Old 08-21-2014, 08:19 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 13
As much as this tv costs you shouldnt have to deal with these issues
dreadnok89 is offline  
post #2125 of 2492 Old 08-21-2014, 09:26 PM
Member
 
soapbox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Dunedin, New Zealand
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by vddobrev View Post
Hisma, I think default brightness is 45.

soapbox, can you reset the TV all together and see what happens? Have you upgraded firmware? Sometimes a firmware upgrade can mess things up until you reset the TV.
I don't think there's much wrong with my TV actually. :-)

Here's what I tried:
Okay, so I turned on Smart LED and that reduced the clouding to minimum. What up?
I seem to have remembered the brightness value wrong, it was actually 56, not 65. Sorry about that, my bad. Dynamic contrast also made a big difference with brightness issue.
Blur - I guess I'm just more perceptive, but I do see it with every high motion scene, like fast camera panning in racing games or sports. I've read other users complain about this with Samsung models.
I tried USB playback and it played without dropouts, so I'm assuming it's the DP/HDMI adapters I'm using on all machines as this occurs on all HTPCs.
Cabling - I guess it's the same adapters as well, or maybe OneConnect box, since it works better on HDMI port 1 than 2.

Displays: Samsung Curved 4K 65" UN65HU9000; Samsung 4K 28" U28D590D; ASUS 4K 32" ProArt PA328Q
Audio System: SVS Ultra 5.1 with SB-2000; Denon AVR-X4100W; Dolby Atmos 5.2.2
Media Server: CoolerMaster Cosmos II, AMD Radeon R9 295X2, ASRock Z87 Extreme11/ac, Intel i7 4790K, G.Skill 32GB 2133MHz, 4x1TB Samsung 840 EVO, 11x6TB Seagate ST6000DX000, Creative Titanium HD; 2x AMD Radeon R9 390X
soapbox is offline  
post #2126 of 2492 Old 08-21-2014, 09:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
Hisma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 516
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 331 Post(s)
Liked: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by soapbox View Post
I don't think there's much wrong with my TV actually. :-)

Here's what I tried:
Okay, so I turned on Smart LED and that reduced the clouding to minimum. What up?
I seem to have remembered the brightness value wrong, it was actually 56, not 65. Sorry about that, my bad. Dynamic contrast also made a big difference with brightness issue.
Blur - I guess I'm just more perceptive, but I do see it with every high motion scene, like fast camera panning in racing games or sports. I've read other users complain about this with Samsung models.
I tried USB playback and it played without dropouts, so I'm assuming it's the DP/HDMI adapters I'm using on all machines as this occurs on all HTPCs.
Cabling - I guess it's the same adapters as well, or maybe OneConnect box, since it works better on HDMI port 1 than 2.
I see. So you're doing DP to HDMI. I bought an adapter yesterday and going to try it out, since I am curious if I can pull off 4:4:4 full chroma @ 60 Hz out of my geforce 750ti via DP to HDMI 2.0.

Hope it works.

By the way, I have a fun video for you to try out on your HTPC if you get a chance.
http://demo-uhd3d.com/fiche.php?cat=uhd&id=35

I could only get it to play smoothly in Windows media player (default player built in to windows). It won't play directly from the TV via USB or DLNA, and it chokes in mpc-hc and every other player I tried.

It is the most incredible 3 minutes of video I have ever seen on a TV. It's encoded at 100Mbps
Hisma is online now  
post #2127 of 2492 Old 08-22-2014, 01:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
vddobrev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 811
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by soapbox View Post
I don't think there's much wrong with my TV actually. :-)

Here's what I tried:
Okay, so I turned on Smart LED and that reduced the clouding to minimum. What up?
I seem to have remembered the brightness value wrong, it was actually 56, not 65. Sorry about that, my bad. Dynamic contrast also made a big difference with brightness issue.
Blur - I guess I'm just more perceptive, but I do see it with every high motion scene, like fast camera panning in racing games or sports. I've read other users complain about this with Samsung models.
I tried USB playback and it played without dropouts, so I'm assuming it's the DP/HDMI adapters I'm using on all machines as this occurs on all HTPCs.
Cabling - I guess it's the same adapters as well, or maybe OneConnect box, since it works better on HDMI port 1 than 2.
Keep the brightness at 45, adjust other settings.
If you have an HDMI on any of your PCs to eliminate the DP--->HDMI adapters, try that.
You may also try a DLNA server on any of your PCs, and try to play content from the TV, see what happens.
vddobrev is offline  
post #2128 of 2492 Old 08-22-2014, 06:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mrorange303's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 1,447
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 683 Post(s)
Liked: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreadnok89 View Post
As much as this tv costs you shouldnt have to deal with these issues
Clearly many owners know the set. Some are issues because of how they set up their center.

Last edited by Mrorange303; 08-22-2014 at 01:45 PM.
Mrorange303 is offline  
post #2129 of 2492 Old 08-22-2014, 09:48 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 12,199
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 418 Post(s)
Liked: 609
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreadnok89 View Post
As much as this tv costs you shouldnt have to deal with these issues
A Mclaren P1 is over 1 million and I bet it has issues........Would be fun to explore those issues for sure. No such thing as a perfect product.
dr0z77 likes this.

Forum Sponsor // \\
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

1-866-651-0049 // \\
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
/
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
/
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
/
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
/
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #2130 of 2492 Old 08-22-2014, 03:40 PM
Member
 
konigsberg7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For 65 inch owners, is there a glare problem. Are all the panels the same and the glare problem is everywhere. I was maybe hoping that the 78 inch users were the ones complaining about glare and that it was probably using a different panel
konigsberg7 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off