KDL50W800B Sony mounting - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 83 Old 04-13-2014, 05:56 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
webworm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Anyone else here have to wall mount a KDL50W800B yet? I ran into my first one last week. They do not have a vesa mounting pattern. They only have two screw holes on the upper back that are used to attach the base foot it comes with to the holes and hang from it. luckily it only needed to be mounted flat to the wall and not on an articulating mount.

So my question is does anyone know if sony will make a plate or has one that will adapt it over in case i run into this in the future?

I can't believe they would do something so stupid!
jayzero51 likes this.
webworm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 83 Old 04-13-2014, 06:21 PM
Member
 
Eric Navarro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You can mount the 50w800b with standard mounts, you'll notice directly under the upper holes on the thicker portion of the tv theres to screws you can unscrew.... thats where the 2 other holes are. Ill provide a picture later on
Eric Navarro is offline  
post #3 of 83 Old 04-13-2014, 06:30 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
webworm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thank you. I would appreciate the pic! smile.gif
webworm is offline  
post #4 of 83 Old 04-17-2014, 06:46 PM
Newbie
 
ezang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hi Eric or anyone else on this subject...

 

I am nervous about buying a standard swivel wall mount for the KDL50W800B TV because of compatibility issues.

I bought the TV from PC Richard and the one they want to sell me is $260 which is BS. (they listed generation and bello as the brands)

 

After lengthy conversations with sony they said they carry one for $280 also total BS (they also had very little idea what was flying and made me regret purchasing a SONY TV)

 

If you could let me know ASAP whether i need to buy the $$$ mounts mentioned above or I can buy one from amazon that claims to be universal.

 

Thanks :)

ezang is offline  
post #5 of 83 Old 04-17-2014, 07:56 PM
Member
 
DrGregC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I want to buy the KDL-50W800B. I have to mount it on a standard Sanus articulating mounting bracket with VESA spacing. Can anyone post a picture showing the VESA adapter bracket (part #448584401) on the back of the TV? This would be greatly appreciated. Sony has been of no help.
DrGregC is offline  
post #6 of 83 Old 04-22-2014, 07:40 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
webworm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I checked on the adapter mentioned above and I believe this will work to mount the tv to a vesa articulating mount. I still dont like the idea of having to buy an adapter and a mount. I'm still waiting on the picture that Eric Navarro has from the earlier post.
webworm is offline  
post #7 of 83 Old 04-22-2014, 07:41 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
webworm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
webworm is offline  
post #8 of 83 Old 04-28-2014, 11:34 AM
Newbie
 
CGHC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

http://www.hdlife.com.hk/Uploads/2014-04-18/1397821956.jpg  Hope this DOESN'T help, because if this is true, every professional who mounts televisions for a living, that has to run into this television, is going to have roadblocks.

CGHC is offline  
post #9 of 83 Old 05-08-2014, 05:42 PM
Newbie
 
ytsimura's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hi, I also bought this T.V. and am having a similar issue to mounting it. Any luck on your end?

 

Thank you,

 

Derek

ytsimura is offline  
post #10 of 83 Old 05-08-2014, 05:55 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
webworm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So far no, but I plan on coming up with an idea when I have to install the next one. I don't want my customers having to buy an adapter on top of already buying a mount.
webworm is offline  
post #11 of 83 Old 05-09-2014, 09:17 PM
Newbie
 
Angela Floyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I ordered the wall mount adaptor listed above. Will it work for mounting the TV onto a TV stand or do I have to order an additional wall mount? My husband and I plan to install this ourselves because the included stand proved to be so wobbly and unstable.

Angela Floyd is offline  
post #12 of 83 Old 05-10-2014, 05:36 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
webworm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Not sure what you mean by mounting to a stand. Its intended to bolt to a wall hanging bracket. It can't be used alone to hang the TV to the wall.
webworm is offline  
post #13 of 83 Old 05-14-2014, 09:56 AM
Newbie
 
Doodidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12

I also have this TV and ordered the vesa adapter 448584401 which arrived today. I will mount it and post a pic this evening.

 

Dan

Doodidge is offline  
post #14 of 83 Old 05-14-2014, 07:11 PM
Newbie
 
Doodidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12

Here is the 448584401 vesa adapter mounted. Notice that it is attached to the TV by the screws on the BOTTOM and I don't see any other way to attach it. I'd feel better if the screws were at the top but perhaps because the bulk of the weight is appears to be in the bottom half, there won't be an issue attaching it to an arm.

 

zanmet and gpai like this.
Doodidge is offline  
post #15 of 83 Old 05-15-2014, 08:34 AM
Newbie
 
Angela Floyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Were you able to successfully mount it, and if so do  you have a picture of it completed.

Angela Floyd is offline  
post #16 of 83 Old 05-16-2014, 01:59 AM
Newbie
 
Angela Floyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

My husband and I used the adapter to mount the television onto a television stand. It's not fancy, but it seems to work fine.Note that doing this does block off the LAN in connection, so if we were going to use it we'd have had to put the cord in before mounting these rails. I love the picture on this tv, but Sony's decision to use this weird mounting design is stupid.

Angela Floyd is offline  
post #17 of 83 Old 05-17-2014, 08:30 AM
Newbie
 
Doodidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12

Here is the TV mounted and attached to the wall. I used a Sanus SMF3-B1 from Costco which utilized the 100 x 100 pattern. Pretty clean install.

 

Doodidge is offline  
post #18 of 83 Old 05-18-2014, 10:06 PM
Member
 
skatsa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Where are you all placing the Power Supply for this set? Im reading reviews that state "The TV comes with an external power supply "

skatsa is offline  
post #19 of 83 Old 05-19-2014, 08:34 AM
Newbie
 
Doodidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12

I zip tied it to the top of the vesa adapter. There's plenty of room and I suppose you could velcro it instead of zip ties. I also fabricated a sound bar mount using some metal strips that came with the Sanus mount. Very happy with the result.

Doodidge is offline  
post #20 of 83 Old 05-19-2014, 10:19 AM
Newbie
 
emjaycee18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I actually placed the power supply directly inside the VESA adapter.  There are slots cut in it to feed the wires through.

emjaycee18 is offline  
post #21 of 83 Old 05-19-2014, 04:58 PM
Newbie
 
rubenglez's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does the part come with the screws end evrething you need... i also have a 300mm mount does that will work?? Thanks a lot..
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doodidge View Post

Here is the TV mounted and attached to the wall. I used a Sanus SMF3-B1 from Costco which utilized the 100 x 100 pattern. Pretty clean install.


rubenglez is offline  
post #22 of 83 Old 05-19-2014, 05:48 PM
Member
 
skatsa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doodidge View Post
 

I zip tied it to the top of the vesa adapter. There's plenty of room and I suppose you could velcro it instead of zip ties. I also fabricated a sound bar mount using some metal strips that came with the Sanus mount. Very happy with the result.

Great idea - do you have a pic of how it looks? Keen to see how it sits on the wall (ie how far out it is off the wall)

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by emjaycee18 View Post
 

I actually placed the power supply directly inside the VESA adapter.  There are slots cut in it to feed the wires through.

Hows the heat from the power brick? You wouldn't happen to have a pic also would you?

 

I think im sold on this TV!

skatsa is offline  
post #23 of 83 Old 05-28-2014, 02:03 PM
Newbie
 
lily O's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hi,

I just bought a 50w800b and am having trouble mounting to wall with full motion mount.

If I use the two two screws on the adapter, how do I use the bottom 2 screws (just above the component inputs)?  Do I need a spacer for the top two holes?  

 

Can you please send me a picture?

Thank you so much!

lily O

lily O is offline  
post #24 of 83 Old 05-30-2014, 01:00 PM
Member
 
Etnier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This 2-screw mounting system scares me a bit in that it appears the TV is not very solidly mounted to the stand. We use a Peerless articulating arm which gets a fair amount of work when the TV is pulled out and away to reveal storage behind: it's not like the set goes up on the wall and just hangs there.

Will this work with this set or should I seek out something that is VESA-compliant?
Etnier is offline  
post #25 of 83 Old 05-30-2014, 01:16 PM
Newbie
 
emjaycee18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by skatsa View Post
 

Great idea - do you have a pic of how it looks? Keen to see how it sits on the wall (ie how far out it is off the wall)

 

Hows the heat from the power brick? You wouldn't happen to have a pic also would you?

 

I think im sold on this TV!

Sorry for the late reply, I've been off the grid for a couple of weeks (new baby).  Here's a picture of a side view of my TV mounted.  There's absolutely no heat from the power supply.  If you think of it this way, if they designed the TV thicker the power supply would have been in the TV anyways.

 

900x900px-LL-a27c2238_image.jpeg

emjaycee18 is offline  
post #26 of 83 Old 06-01-2014, 08:20 PM
Newbie
 
87destin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: orlando
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know if the supplied mount assembly will hold with 8 toggle bolts not on studs?
87destin is offline  
post #27 of 83 Old 06-01-2014, 08:26 PM
Newbie
 
emjaycee18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 87destin View Post

Does anyone know if the supplied mount assembly will hold with 8 toggle bolts not on studs?

I wouldn't try. The spacing of the bolt pattern wouldn't allow all of the toggle bolts to expand behind the wall properly.
emjaycee18 is offline  
post #28 of 83 Old 06-04-2014, 05:22 PM
Newbie
 
87destin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: orlando
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mounted the tv using the supplied mount assembly (reversible stand) with eight metal drywall anchors that can hold up to 50lbs per bolt. one bracket is on a stud the other is just in the drywall. These brackets are not budging at all it is very sturdy. [IMG][IMG]
87destin is offline  
post #29 of 83 Old 06-04-2014, 05:23 PM
Newbie
 
87destin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: orlando
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
87destin is offline  
post #30 of 83 Old 06-04-2014, 05:23 PM
Newbie
 
87destin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: orlando
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
87destin is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays
Gear in this thread - KDL50W800B by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off