Official Samsung UNxxH7150 / UNxxH7100AF Owners Thread - Page 17 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #481 of 1010 Old 06-04-2014, 12:51 PM
Member
 
Chris396's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the 60" version of TV and so far it plays any file from a USB stick or USB hardrive. But I can't get it to play anything from my computer even though they are the same files. What's the best server software to share files with the TV?
Chris396 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #482 of 1010 Old 06-04-2014, 12:58 PM
Newbie
 
applenation's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpectreKaos View Post
 

The only remorse I might have is maybe not buying the 8550 UHD Samsung.

But then again this set was about $1,000 cheaper.

I had the same feelings on the 7150 vs 8850 but the price and lack of 4K programming helped make my choice.   Glad you enjoying your new set.  I got the 55 inch as well and thought I was the only one having a hard time taking the protective film off the bottom!

applenation is offline  
post #483 of 1010 Old 06-04-2014, 02:27 PM
Member
 
ttownaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris396 View Post

I have the 60" version of TV and so far it plays any file from a USB stick or USB hardrive. But I can't get it to play anything from my computer even though they are the same files. What's the best server software to share files with the TV?

 



This may not work from your computer but from my nexus 7 I downloaded an app called BubbleUPnP and can send anything I want to my 55" 7150. The TV knows when I turn this feature on at the Nexus 7. It appears when you push the source button. I mainly have used it to view photos in a slide show format but I think it also works for video and music.
ttownaudio is offline  
post #484 of 1010 Old 06-04-2014, 03:15 PM
Member
 
lucky1976's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 11
NOOB here, I want to but the UN65H7150 but wan to know if can I run just a Vizio soundbar/bub woofer wireless speakers, blu-ray player and Directv without purchasing a receiver or it a receiver needed?
lucky1976 is offline  
post #485 of 1010 Old 06-04-2014, 03:39 PM
Member
 
mlk4114's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by applenation View Post



Should be under MENU > Support > Software Update to view the current version.


Thank you applenation. After going through all the menu items again, I saw that it was noted as version 1110. Must have been loaded at time of manufacture as I didn't set the set up for auto download. I hope I don't get the "green flash" associated with this update. It has a TH01 panel, and so far, I am very pleased with my picture. Thanks again!
Mark
mlk4114 is offline  
post #486 of 1010 Old 06-04-2014, 03:45 PM
Member
 
mlk4114's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by applenation View Post

I had the same feelings on the 7150 vs 8850 but the price and lack of 4K programming helped make my choice.   Glad you enjoying your new set.  I got the 55 inch as well and thought I was the only one having a hard time taking the protective film off the bottom!
I have to agree about the tape at the bottom. What a PITA to get rid of! Why would they do something as ridiculous as that?
mlk4114 is offline  
post #487 of 1010 Old 06-04-2014, 04:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
theroys88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: midlothian, va
Posts: 1,621
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by conkris View Post

Can someone with a 65" 7150 please tell me where the IR sensor is located...don't have my tv yet....concerned what sound bar I can get that won't block it.

Thanks

Looking at the set, it will be at lower right corner. Every Samsung I have owned has been in the same spot.
theroys88 is offline  
post #488 of 1010 Old 06-04-2014, 06:31 PM
Newbie
 
tonytyme23's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I turned on my un60h7150 today and the screen was green. I had to unplug my HDMI from the switch and plug it back in and it went away. Is this a firmware issue?
tonytyme23 is offline  
post #489 of 1010 Old 06-04-2014, 09:29 PM
Member
 
conkris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by theroys88 View Post

Looking at the set, it will be at lower right corner. Every Samsung I have owned has been in the same spot.


Thanks

~TC
conkris is offline  
post #490 of 1010 Old 06-05-2014, 07:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PiratesCove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Homestead, FL
Posts: 4,043
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Nice review of the H7150:

http://www.rtings.com/reviews/tv/lcd-led/samsung/h7150
PiratesCove is offline  
post #491 of 1010 Old 06-05-2014, 07:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
EricScott's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,929
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the link....this is pretty helpful - the Q&A in particular where multiple people ask about the F8000 vs. the H7150. Answer seemed to make sense. Is this guy / site pretty legit?
EricScott is offline  
post #492 of 1010 Old 06-05-2014, 07:47 AM
Member
 
talljerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by PiratesCove View Post

Nice review of the H7150:

http://www.rtings.com/reviews/tv/lcd-led/samsung/h7150

44ms in Game Mode ? I will keep using my 2ms 1080p 24" computer monitor for games
talljerry is offline  
post #493 of 1010 Old 06-05-2014, 08:12 AM
Newbie
 
hcuniff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Is 44ms pretty standard or is it low? I just upgraded from a 40 inch and have been having a steep learning curve with my playing first person shooters on my new un60h7150. I thought that it was just me having to adjust to the screen size but could it be the lag? 

hcuniff is offline  
post #494 of 1010 Old 06-05-2014, 09:17 AM
Member
 
insanitormang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know if Game Mode saves it's own settings? So whatever I set the contrast/brightness etc. on that mode, will it stay set for that mode? Or once game mode is turned off on the same input, the available settings for Game Mode retain? I havent had a chance to test it yet, by setting a number for something and then seeing if that changes depending on Game Mode. I was using the Xbox One calibration setup and also playing WiiU on Game Mode, picture looks great!
insanitormang is offline  
post #495 of 1010 Old 06-05-2014, 11:24 AM
Member
 
spjames71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Guys,

Here's what I'm still trying to understand. I'd posted a question regarding their review on that website, and it was stated that the extra money for a closeout (2013) 65F8000 wasn't worth it versus a 65H7150, the difference now being about $400 (65F8000 available for $2500 vs $2100 for an on sale 65H7150). And though I know the former is a 2013 model, the contrast levels are supposed to be the best of most LED's to date with that specific local dimming according to several of the major sites like Cnet.. And though I know we;re talking about a 2013 flagship versus a 2014 mid-tier, can anyone here present any argument favoring one over the other? Thanks much for your time and insight..!!
spjames71 is offline  
post #496 of 1010 Old 06-05-2014, 11:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
theroys88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: midlothian, va
Posts: 1,621
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 16
For the price, I would go for the F8000. Also,there is a chance that the 7150 you purchase will have a AOU panel.
theroys88 is offline  
post #497 of 1010 Old 06-05-2014, 11:47 AM
Member
 
spjames71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by theroys88 View Post

For the price, I would go for the F8000. Also,there is a chance that the 7150 you purchase will have a AOU panel.

Thanks theroys88! Not to be dumb here but can you please elaborate on the AOU panel and its significance?
spjames71 is offline  
post #498 of 1010 Old 06-05-2014, 01:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
theroys88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: midlothian, va
Posts: 1,621
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 16
http://nxsfan.co.uk/mediawiki/index.php/Samsung_Panels. All that you need to know. Also members have confirmed that they are indeed getting AUO panels in the 7150s but not in the 8000 and up.
theroys88 is offline  
post #499 of 1010 Old 06-06-2014, 04:20 PM
Member
 
Compass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just brought home the 60" from Best Buy a couple nights ago. Not impressed out of the box and am considering returning it.

Flashlighting in all four corners is the worst problem. Definitely noticeable at boot-up, but more importantly during darker scenes in the only Blu-ray I've watched so far.

Black levels in general are poor, but I can surely improve with tweaks. I'm coming off a SFP 36" Trinitron tube so I'm spoiled for blacks.

I have an HH01 which maybe is the only panel for 60"? Even though I remembered when I bought my mom a 32" Samsung TV a couple years ago -- and made sure to find a TS one -- I totally forgot about the panel thing when I bought this. Might be worth going down to 55" for the Samsung panel alone.

I use a 2560x1440 Samsung LED monitor (with SS01 Samsung panel), and was absolutely in love out of the box. The thing is damn near perfect. Was hoping for the same experience with the TV, but no such luck...

Damn, I hate returning/exchanging stuff. But I hate being bothered by obvious PQ issues for years to come even more. No guarantee the 55" will be better, but I haven't read about flashlighting in that size.
Compass is offline  
post #500 of 1010 Old 06-06-2014, 08:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
theroys88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: midlothian, va
Posts: 1,621
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Sharp is the only panel in the 60" sets. Better then my AOU panel that is in all of the 65" sets. I would bring it back and go for a 65H7150 with a Samsung panel. Have the guys at BB check the outside sticker for a version code starting with a T. Have emailed David K from CNeeT. Here is the email:

David Katzmaier | david.katzmaier@cbsinteractive.com | Add to Contacts Edit Contact
Today, Friday, Jun 6 09:45 AM | Show Details | View source reply-to david.katzmaier@cbsinteractive.com
to theroys88@verizon.net
cc
bcc

Re: Samsung Panel Save All

Images are not displayedDisplay Images
Thanks for writing.


I've heard about this issue, but as you can imagine it's difficult to test. I may end up doing so in the future--by buying a bunch of different panels with the same model number, at least for a one-off article that brings this issue to more light--but right now it's not practical to review multiple samples of the same panel.


Sorry I can't be of more help.


David



On Fri, Jun 6, 2014 at 8:58 AM, wrote:

David,
Thank you so much for the excellent reviews. I recently purchased a Samsung UN65H6350 based on CNET’s review and looking at the set at Best Buy. After purchasing the set and calibrating it, I found the set’s picture quality very average. I went back to Best Buy with my remote and after the guys agreed , I entered my settings into the 65” set and it even looked better then it had and not close to my set at home. The salesman told me it was probably because the set that was on display had a Samsung panel and mentioned that some of the sets had Chinese panels or Sharp panels. I went home and found my version number was AH01. The panel was made by AU Optronics out of Taiwan. These panels are considered inferior to Samsung panels. I am enclosing some links so you can see what is going on. Samsung has been less then helpful. They do not deny the panel lottery and state that these panels meet minimum specs and quality standards. I asked them what they are and they refused to comment. Maybe in the future, reviewers like yourself will review each different panel for the same model. Though not illegal, this practice is unfortunate. Thanks so much for reading this email
http://nxsfan.co.uk/mediawiki/index.php/Samsung_Panels
http://nxsfan.co.uk/mediawiki/index.php/Samsung_Panels
http://www.digitalversus.com/panel-switching-visit-from-samsung-n15364.html
http://www.digitalversus.com/does-panel-switching-affect-tech-specs-n15217.html

Note: This e-mail was sent from your CNET profile.
FormulaGPL likes this.
theroys88 is offline  
post #501 of 1010 Old 06-06-2014, 10:05 PM
Member
 
mattskr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris396 View Post

I have the 60" version of TV and so far it plays any file from a USB stick or USB hardrive. But I can't get it to play anything from my computer even though they are the same files. What's the best server software to share files with the TV?

Plex!

https://plex.tv/downloads

It's one of the primary reasons I bought a Samsung Smart TV. It's the only tv manufacturer that has Plex in their app store.
mattskr is offline  
post #502 of 1010 Old 06-07-2014, 08:27 AM
Member
 
JoeC8080's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: central Florida
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Coming from a 2008 Costco 52 inch Sony, I'm wondering about my purchase of the UN65H7150. It should arrive next Friday.
Do the 65's come with the "T" Samsung panels, or are the 65 inch sets part of the "panel lottery?" confused.gif
JoeC8080 is offline  
post #503 of 1010 Old 06-07-2014, 08:40 AM
Member
 
Chris396's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattskr View Post

Plex!

https://plex.tv/downloads

It's one of the primary reasons I bought a Samsung Smart TV. It's the only tv manufacturer that has Plex in their app store.

Awesome! Thanks. That's just what I was looking for.
Chris396 is offline  
post #504 of 1010 Old 06-07-2014, 09:04 AM
Member
 
conkris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeC8080 View Post

Coming from a 2008 Costco 52 inch Sony, I'm wondering about my purchase of the UN65H7150. It should arrive next Friday.
Do the 65's come with the "T" Samsung panels, or are the 65 inch sets part of the "panel lottery?" confused.gif

I'm curious about this myself.......

~TC
conkris is offline  
post #505 of 1010 Old 06-07-2014, 01:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
theroys88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: midlothian, va
Posts: 1,621
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 16
You could either get a set with a panel from Samsung or AU Optronics. To ensure that you get a Samsung panel, you must buy local and check the version number on the sticker on the box. AUO panels have a Version number starting with a A or M. Samsung panel T, U, or W. Hope this helps.
theroys88 is offline  
post #506 of 1010 Old 06-07-2014, 01:26 PM
Member
 
talljerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Compass View Post

I just brought home the 60" from Best Buy a couple nights ago. Not impressed out of the box and am considering returning it.

Flashlighting in all four corners is the worst problem. Definitely noticeable at boot-up, but more importantly during darker scenes in the only Blu-ray I've watched so far.

Black levels in general are poor, but I can surely improve with tweaks. I'm coming off a SFP 36" Trinitron tube so I'm spoiled for blacks.

I have an HH01 which maybe is the only panel for 60"? Even though I remembered when I bought my mom a 32" Samsung TV a couple years ago -- and made sure to find a TS one -- I totally forgot about the panel thing when I bought this. Might be worth going down to 55" for the Samsung panel alone.

I use a 2560x1440 Samsung LED monitor (with SS01 Samsung panel), and was absolutely in love out of the box. The thing is damn near perfect. Was hoping for the same experience with the TV, but no such luck...

Damn, I hate returning/exchanging stuff. But I hate being bothered by obvious PQ issues for years to come even more. No guarantee the 55" will be better, but I haven't read about flashlighting in that size.

try setting cinema black to high it will make the black bars really black when watching a blue ray movie.
talljerry is offline  
post #507 of 1010 Old 06-07-2014, 03:21 PM
Member
 
Compass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks. I do have that set to High I believe.

I played around a lot with settings today and got it looking pretty good. It's tough to strike the right balance between HDMI Black, Cinema Black, Gamma, Brightness, etc. to get deep-ish blacks, while not killing shadow detail and while minimizing flashlighting. And some of the advanced options cover the whole screen with the menu, so you're left with only the outside border of whatever's displayed on the screen to compare the different settings. Annoying.

But I think I've sort of kind of struck that balance. It looks good right now and I'm not sure I'm going to hassle with returning it. Even the flashlighting (most noticeable in the lower left corner) is minimized with my current settings. Of course there's a lot of daylight coming in the living room at the moment, so the better test will be tonight.

I know the 55" will feel significantly smaller and don't want to give up those precious inches.The 65" won't fit in my space so it's really between the 55" and 60".

The 7150s are all like $3-400 off right now. If they go back up that will make the decision for me. If tonight's viewing is a bloodbath and the 55" is still the same price tomorrow, I'll probably buy it first (making sure to get a "Tx" panel) without returning the 60". Then compare and return whichever one is worse.
Compass is offline  
post #508 of 1010 Old 06-07-2014, 07:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
theroys88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: midlothian, va
Posts: 1,621
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 16
60" sets are all sharp panels. Not a bad panel. The are better then AUO or CMO.
theroys88 is offline  
post #509 of 1010 Old 06-07-2014, 07:56 PM
Member
 
JoeC8080's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: central Florida
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Reply to theroys88:

Thanks for the quick reply.

Not sure how local an Amazon purchase is but, I see you mention AUO panels are not as good as Sharp for the 60 inch model.
Would "local" mean within the U.S.? Hoping for a Samsung version panel... Kinda sad to "hope" for a "good panel."

Found this on AU Optronics:

http://www.wallstreetdaily.com/2014/06/02/chaos-system-au-optronics/


__________
JoeC8080 is offline  
post #510 of 1010 Old 06-07-2014, 10:56 PM
Newbie
 
leidend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11

Hi all, just bought the UN65H7150 and like it quite a bit but it keeps turning off my DVR (Motorola DCX3400) when I turn everything off with my Harmony remote. My old Sony TV never did this - I'm no expert but it seems like Samsung tv sends an "off" signal through the HDMI cable when it turns off? Is there any way to disable this? I've already turned off Anynet+ with no change.

 

Harmony remote is set to "never turn DVR off" so it's not that.

leidend is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off