"Official" 2014 Sony XBR-49X850B / XBR-55X850B / XBR-65X850B / XBR-70X850B Thread - Page 135 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 585Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4021 of 5927 Old 04-13-2015, 08:44 AM
Senior Member
 
LD-838D's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Los Angeles, El Segundo
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Navy Guy View Post
Hello all,

New forum member here. I've browsed around a bit in the past but am usually on Parts-Express's Tech Talk forum for speaker building. I joined up because I just bought a Sony XBR55X850B as an open box item at the local Magnolia for a pretty big discount since they are trying to make room for the new C models.

Sorry if this question has already been answered, but the thread is 134 pages long and I didn't want to have to try and read through the whole thing. I got my new set home and started trying to calibrate it with the Spears & Musil HD Benchmark BD. I'm worried there might be something wrong with the set, because I can't get the contrast to adjust (labeled "Picture" I think) correctly for some of the tests. I'm at work and don't have the disc with me so I don't remember the names of the tests. The first couple tests geared towards brightness and contrast will not calibrate correctly. I am supposed to be getting visible bars from 17 up but am only able to see the last 3 and it doesn't seem like any adjustments help. There is another test later in the disc that uses colored squares in a gradient and all squares are supposed to be visible down to the center. I can really only get the outer 2 or 3 squares to display.

Is there some kind of setting that could be causing the problem. I tried turning everything off and it just doesn't seem to help. I can probably post some screenshots tonight when I get home of what I'm talking about. My source is a PS3 fed through a Marantz SR5003. The SR5003 doesn't have 3D or 4K pass-through and my HDMI cables are probably version 1.2, since I bought them all back in 2009 or 2010. I don't think this would affect the test, though. My older Samsung LED TV performed better on these test with the same equipment.
The PS3 is kinda flakey with blacker that black / full or limited range.
To start confirm the settings on your PS3 here:
Settings > Display Settings > RGB Full Range (HDMI)
More info here:
http://manuals.playstation.net/docum...fullrange.html
LD-838D is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4022 of 5927 Old 04-13-2015, 09:14 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 17,021
Mentioned: 38 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3036 Post(s)
Liked: 3225
Quote:
Originally Posted by LD-838D View Post
Take this with a grain of salt...
For those of us awaiting a replacement from Sony:

On the phone today I was told that my shipment is "delayed due to warehouse being out of stock"

This could be good if the sets are new stock, and they worked out the flashlighting issue.
That's a real good thing if you want a 2015 set, odds are the 2014 are gone forever......
Cleveland Plasma is online now  
post #4023 of 5927 Old 04-13-2015, 12:39 PM
Member
 
allornothing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
That's a real good thing if you want a 2015 set, odds are the 2014 are gone forever......
If that's the case what would be Sony's policy on replacements models?
allornothing is offline  
 
post #4024 of 5927 Old 04-13-2015, 02:07 PM
Member
 
justned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by LD-838D View Post
Take this with a grain of salt...
For those of us awaiting a replacement from Sony:

On the phone today I was told that my shipment is "delayed due to warehouse being out of stock"

This could be good if the sets are new stock, and they worked out the flashlighting issue.
What model and size...?

I am waiting for a 55x850b replacement and they scheduled CEVA to call.
They had many in stock when they ordered the replacement.
justned is offline  
post #4025 of 5927 Old 04-13-2015, 02:11 PM
Senior Member
 
LD-838D's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Los Angeles, El Segundo
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by justned View Post
What model and size...?
55x850b
LD-838D is offline  
post #4026 of 5927 Old 04-13-2015, 02:20 PM
Member
 
justned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by allornothing View Post
If that's the case what would be Sony's policy on replacements models?
They give you an equivalent model or better.

they either give you a x900b or x850c (if out), but in my opinion they are still making x850b, they would just let you wait.
justned is offline  
post #4027 of 5927 Old 04-13-2015, 06:10 PM
Senior Member
 
Sniperslayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 33
after the update i've felt that my set looks a little more "dull" than it did before.. settings were all retained etc though

may re-calibrate it
Sniperslayer is offline  
post #4028 of 5927 Old 04-13-2015, 07:04 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I've been googling for the past 2 hours with no straight answer, hoping someone here could point me in the right direction. I've been reading through the pages but its a big thread.

I Just bought a Sony X850B and a GTX 960. I am using a Forest HDMI cable.

Both have HDMI 2.0 and should be able to run 4k and 60 hz. However as I understand from reading through the early pages of this topic, the X850B does not support YCbCr444, only 4:2:0. Is there a way to force my video card to 4:2:0?

As it is I'm running driver 347.88 for the video card. If I choose 4k x 2k 3840 x 2160 at 60hz with YCbCr444, it shows a weird inverted color image which I have attached.

Same deal with the 4096 x 2160 option. It will run fine at 30 hz however. Am I missing a step here? In the case I am not able to do 60hz at all, will it make a big difference for playing 4k content at 4k by 2k 30hz? Any help is appreciated, thank you.

Windows 8.1 Pro
i5 2500k at 4.5 ghz
EVGA GTX 960 FTW Edition 2GB VRAM
Forest HDMI Cable
ChrisRey3156 is offline  
post #4029 of 5927 Old 04-14-2015, 06:36 AM
Senior Member
 
tripod39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Out and About.
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Another question...On mostly all tv setups posted on most brands of tv's,why are the advanced settings for pic's almost always turned off? Seems to me the manufacturers do a lot of research and testing to determine if those adv settings are installed or not.I would say if they were supposed to be in the off position ,they wouldn't be there.Any opinions?

UN65JU6700FXZA TD01 3/15
PN51D6500
BD-D6500
Sony CT-100
USN Ret.
tripod39 is offline  
post #4030 of 5927 Old 04-14-2015, 07:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Daniel Tonks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Markham, ON
Posts: 1,048
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 309 Post(s)
Liked: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by tripod39 View Post
Another question...On mostly all tv setups posted on most brands of tv's,why are the advanced settings for pic's almost always turned off? Seems to me the manufacturers do a lot of research and testing to determine if those adv settings are installed or not.I would say if they were supposed to be in the off position ,they wouldn't be there.Any opinions?
Manufacturers - or more accurately, the marketing departments - have four goals when designing televisions.

1) The brightest picture possible. This is done through blindingly bright backlight levels, and extremely cold (blue) whites, which fool the eye into thinking something's brighter than it is.

2) The smoothest picture possible. This is done by blurring away all natural detail until everything looks like a pastel painting, under the guise of removing "noise" (something that hasn't really existed since analog broadcast TV and EP-recorded VHS tape days).

3) The most vibrantly colorful picture possible. This is done by oversaturating bright colors and falsely saturating weak colors until live video looks like a cartoon.

4) The sharpest picture possible. This is done by enhancing what's left until that cartoon-smooth look literally has black and white lines drawn around everything.

If you don't believe me, then turn all the features up to maximum and enjoy!

However, anyone who cares about video quality has just one goal:

1) The most accurate picture reproduction possible, so that what the director saw in his editing booth is exactly what you see in your home.

There are video reproduction standards to follow. Color temperatures, gamma curves, saturation levels and so forth. All professional monitors are calibrated this way - and that's what these settings are intended to replicate on your TV. Companies like Sony have little interest in making an "accurate" out the box TV, because it's unexciting. They just want their TV to be the brightest beacon of color and light when viewed under 5,000 watts of sodium lighting at Walmart.

But, thankfully, companies like Sony *do* make it possible for those of us who care to turn off any unneeded picture processing, so that what's on the disc - what you're supposed to see in the first place - is what we actually see. Not all companies are so accommodating.
Daniel Tonks is offline  
post #4031 of 5927 Old 04-14-2015, 07:59 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Hey guys, question...

I have a Ps4 and everytime i turn on my tv and go to inputs i see it there even when its not turned on. Under HDMI 1 it recognizes its a PS4, when it does this, the tv turns on the ps4...however i noticed today that under HDMI 1 it just shows that its getting some kind of signal but it does not know its a ps4, has anyone expr. this before? Is there a way i can fix this?

Found the solution, had to limit the remote back to normal...

Last edited by SirMario; 04-14-2015 at 08:08 AM.
SirMario is offline  
post #4032 of 5927 Old 04-14-2015, 11:23 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by LD-838D View Post
The PS3 is kinda flakey with blacker that black / full or limited range.
To start confirm the settings on your PS3 here:
Settings > Display Settings > RGB Full Range (HDMI)
More info here:
I took a look last night at the settings. Switching to RGB didn't help but swtiching to Y Pb/Cb Pr/Cr fixed the issue. Any issues with leaving it in this mode?
Navy Guy is offline  
post #4033 of 5927 Old 04-14-2015, 12:01 PM
Senior Member
 
LD-838D's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Los Angeles, El Segundo
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Navy Guy View Post
I took a look last night at the settings. Switching to RGB didn't help but swtiching to Y Pb/Cb Pr/Cr fixed the issue. Any issues with leaving it in this mode?
I believe that is the recommended mode "Y Pb/Cb Pr/Cr" let me confirm tonight.
LD-838D is offline  
post #4034 of 5927 Old 04-14-2015, 03:23 PM
Senior Member
 
LD-838D's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Los Angeles, El Segundo
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by LD-838D View Post
I believe that is the recommended mode "Y Pb/Cb Pr/Cr" let me confirm tonight.
Correct, Automatic is recommended if your TV supports it.
Looks like yours had issues if it was set to automatic, Y Pb/Cb Pr/Cr is always preferred for Blu-Ray content.
LD-838D is offline  
post #4035 of 5927 Old 04-14-2015, 04:39 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 17,021
Mentioned: 38 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3036 Post(s)
Liked: 3225
Quote:
Originally Posted by allornothing View Post
If that's the case what would be Sony's policy on replacements models?
Replace with a "like" product of comparable quality and value.
Cleveland Plasma is online now  
post #4036 of 5927 Old 04-14-2015, 06:06 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
Replace with a "like" product of comparable quality and value.
I received a call today from the shipping company that they will be delivering my replacement tomorrow. Good thing as I leave the country tomorrow night. I'll get it hooked up in a week and see how it goes.
Rblahetka is offline  
post #4037 of 5927 Old 04-15-2015, 02:41 PM
Member
 
Intowishin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
which is the setting that automatically adjusts black levels? my screen dims from time to time as the scene changes, and it is driving me crazy. a post on the previous page called it "Frame Dimming", but i do not know where that setting is. thank you.

Last edited by Intowishin; 04-15-2015 at 02:44 PM.
Intowishin is offline  
post #4038 of 5927 Old 04-15-2015, 02:51 PM
Senior Member
 
LD-838D's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Los Angeles, El Segundo
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Intowishin View Post
which is the setting that automatically adjusts black levels? my screen dims from time to time as the scene changes, and it is driving me crazy. a post on the previous page called it "Frame Dimming", but i do not know where that setting is. thank you.
That would be "Advanced Contrast Enhancer" under advanced settings.
LD-838D is offline  
post #4039 of 5927 Old 04-15-2015, 03:00 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rblahetka View Post
I received a call today from the shipping company that they will be delivering my replacement tomorrow. Good thing as I leave the country tomorrow night. I'll get it hooked up in a week and see how it goes.
Well, so much for that. Ceeva showed up today at my work and wanted to pick up my old TV. Told them I didn't being it with me to work, as I was told I had 10 days to return the old one after dropping off the new. So, they refused to leave the new one. I called Sony customer support and had a meltdown with them in regards to it. So, now I have it rescheduled for May 2nd and it being delivered to my house. I guess I'll update at that time.
Rblahetka is offline  
post #4040 of 5927 Old 04-15-2015, 03:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
retro124's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 2,980
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1304 Post(s)
Liked: 1005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rblahetka View Post
Well, so much for that. Ceeva showed up today at my work and wanted to pick up my old TV. Told them I didn't being it with me to work, as I was told I had 10 days to return the old one after dropping off the new. So, they refused to leave the new one. I called Sony customer support and had a meltdown with them in regards to it. So, now I have it rescheduled for May 2nd and it being delivered to my house. I guess I'll update at that time.
That is a very long waiting, sorry to hear that.

Denon X6200W
Klipsch RF-7II's, RC-64II, RB-81II's, RS-62II's
SVS 2x PC12-Pluses, Emotiva XPA-200
Sony XBR65X930E , Oppo 203
Apple 4K TV, Mac mini, Sony UBP-X800, PS3
retro124 is offline  
post #4041 of 5927 Old 04-15-2015, 04:40 PM
Senior Member
 
Sniperslayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 33
i dont know if all the TV's were packed like mine, but with those boxes that essentially come apart in peices i dont know how they expect you to return any TV anymore.
Sniperslayer is offline  
post #4042 of 5927 Old 04-16-2015, 09:27 PM
KMR
Senior Member
 
KMR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 448
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Is there a way to get the TV's Netflix app to run sound to an A/V receiver?
KMR is offline  
post #4043 of 5927 Old 04-16-2015, 09:58 PM
Senior Member
 
stuup1dmofo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by KMR View Post
Is there a way to get the TV's Netflix app to run sound to an A/V receiver?
Optical cable from TV to receiver. In the options menu, go to Speakers > Audio System. That should output to your receiver.
stuup1dmofo is offline  
post #4044 of 5927 Old 04-17-2015, 06:10 AM
Senior Member
 
tripod39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Out and About.
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Much to my dismay,BB is picking up my XBR65X850B tomorrow and returning it to the store.I got a great deal on it (1860.) but it just don't compare to the curved Sammy 8700 I tried till a large brite phosphorus type spot appeared on the right edge and I returned it for a Sony.Good luck to all you guys on this board.

UN65JU6700FXZA TD01 3/15
PN51D6500
BD-D6500
Sony CT-100
USN Ret.
tripod39 is offline  
post #4045 of 5927 Old 04-17-2015, 07:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sgbroimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: CT Shore
Posts: 1,149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 279 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuup1dmofo View Post
Optical cable from TV to receiver. In the options menu, go to Speakers > Audio System. That should output to your receiver.
If your receiver is older and has no toslink input, you can run analog sound out of the Sony via the headphone jack using an adapter (mini-phone to RCA phonos), but hopefully you will not have to do that.
sgbroimp is offline  
post #4046 of 5927 Old 04-17-2015, 07:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mark Oliver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Toronto, On
Posts: 623
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by KMR View Post
Is there a way to get the TV's Netflix app to run sound to an A/V receiver?
ARC or optical.
Mark Oliver is offline  
post #4047 of 5927 Old 04-17-2015, 08:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mark Oliver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Toronto, On
Posts: 623
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Does anyone know what that USB/IR dongle thing that is included with the set is for? it is a IR receiver or something?
Mark Oliver is offline  
post #4048 of 5927 Old 04-17-2015, 08:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
carageuw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Miami
Posts: 568
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Oliver View Post
Does anyone know what that USB/IR dongle thing that is included with the set is for? it is a IR receiver or something?
It is an IR receiver to be used when something in your setup is blocking the lower parts of your TV, say a Sound Bar.
carageuw is offline  
post #4049 of 5927 Old 04-17-2015, 08:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mark Oliver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Toronto, On
Posts: 623
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by carageuw View Post
It is an IR receiver to be used when something in your setup is blocking the lower parts of your TV, say a Sound Bar.
That's what I thought. Awesome.
Mark Oliver is offline  
post #4050 of 5927 Old 04-17-2015, 09:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
retro124's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 2,980
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1304 Post(s)
Liked: 1005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Oliver View Post
ARC or optical.
I tried ARC and never get sound from Denon X4000, with optical yes working just fine for TV apps and sound from AVR.

Denon X6200W
Klipsch RF-7II's, RC-64II, RB-81II's, RS-62II's
SVS 2x PC12-Pluses, Emotiva XPA-200
Sony XBR65X930E , Oppo 203
Apple 4K TV, Mac mini, Sony UBP-X800, PS3
retro124 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
radical banding , XBR-49X850B , XBR-70X850B

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off