"Official" 2014 Sony XBR-49X850B / XBR-55X850B / XBR-65X850B / XBR-70X850B Thread - Page 29 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #841 of 2386 Old 08-21-2014, 01:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mattopotamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 568 Post(s)
Liked: 273
Quote:
Originally Posted by Videoz View Post
Are you kidding me????????? How could you possibly say that's normal. It sure isn't by my standards. Sony would say it's normal because selling televisions is their business. There is no way in hell I would keep that tv.

As a matter of fact, my 55x850b was just as bad and is now on it's way back to Crutchfield for a refund.
It is pretty common for frame lit panels, so I would say it is "normal". There is a reason it is called the panel lottery. You may get 1 out of 5 with a perfect screen.

I would return it if it looked like that, but a sony tech coming out to your house would probably deem it the nature of the panel.
Mattopotamus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #842 of 2386 Old 08-21-2014, 01:41 PM
Senior Member
 
Videoz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Niagara Falls NY.
Posts: 238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattopotamus View Post
It is pretty common for frame lit panels, so I would say it is "normal". There is a reason it is called the panel lottery. You may get 1 out of 5 with a perfect screen.

I would return it if it looked like that, but a sony tech coming out to your house would probably deem it the nature of the panel.
Unfortunately, I played the panel lottery twice with the 55x850b and lost both times. My 3 year old 46nx720 1080 is edge lit and shows no flashlighting at all, albeit it is local dimming not frame dimming.

Bob (Retired)
__________________
Samsung UN55H8000 TS02

Dish VIP-211K
Sony BDP-S6200
Videoz is offline  
post #843 of 2386 Old 08-21-2014, 01:44 PM
Senior Member
 
Videoz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Niagara Falls NY.
Posts: 238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by twin2turbo View Post
I spent a lot of time with a level 1 tech trying different setting. None of the changes helped enough. I then talked to a level 2 tech said that the gray clouding (light bleeding) I'm seeing in corners (on a black screen) is normal. The picture I attached is not the best, but you can see the light bleed in the corners. Especially the lower right hand corner.
How do I convince Sony this is not normal?
That's definitely not normal. I would say goodbye to that tv if I were you.

Bob (Retired)
__________________
Samsung UN55H8000 TS02

Dish VIP-211K
Sony BDP-S6200
Videoz is offline  
post #844 of 2386 Old 08-21-2014, 02:16 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Is this TV 8 bit or 10 bit? Also are all HDMI ports HMDI 2.0?

Final questions, how are the black levels?

Last edited by MatiPlaneteer; 08-21-2014 at 02:33 PM.
MatiPlaneteer is offline  
post #845 of 2386 Old 08-21-2014, 03:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mattopotamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 568 Post(s)
Liked: 273
Quote:
Originally Posted by MatiPlaneteer View Post
Is this TV 8 bit or 10 bit? Also are all HDMI ports HMDI 2.0?

Final questions, how are the black levels?
No one knows for sure. I think 8-bit though. They would advertise 10 bit.

All ports are 2.0

Last edited by Mattopotamus; 08-21-2014 at 04:25 PM.
Mattopotamus is offline  
post #846 of 2386 Old 08-21-2014, 09:00 PM
Member
 
benneyb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Monmouth Cty, New Jersey
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattopotamus View Post
The 3D is actually better than I expected. This is coming from someone who also owns a 900A, which has probably the best 3D of any tv to date. The only complaint I have is the field of view when watching 3D is small. Meaning you cannot sit to far to the left or right and also need the be level with the TV. If it is mounted, I am sure you will have horrible ghosting.

Motion is great. I have all of the motion settings turned off and notice no blur/judder.

Black levels are the weakest part of this TV. If you watch TV is the pitch black it will not look good. If there is a dark scene (lots of scenes in the dark night) the blacks look slightly grey. They are perfectly acceptable, but not inky black.
Well said, I second all of this. Very pleased with the set, and the less than optimal blacks do not really bother me, coming from a Panasonic GT50 Plasma.
benneyb is offline  
post #847 of 2386 Old 08-22-2014, 12:55 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Videoz View Post
tubetwister
I seriously considered the kdl-60w850b and I may still buy it. Maybe I'll wait and see what Sony is coming out with for 2015(besides the new curved panels).
Quote:
Originally Posted by acermen1212 View Post
Need some help on my X850a which should be the same as X850B:


Had a question on the reality Creation control. When does Mastered in 4K become active to be usable? What does it do? Does it make a difference? I thought I saw it active once playing a disc now I cannot get it to work.


If I had to guess, it activates when viewing movies MASTERED IN 4K by SONY, correct? When I view the new Amazing Spiderman 2 which is mastered in 4 K it still is not active. Any ideas about this?
You need a blu-ray player with the extended colour range. The PS3 has this option in it's video settings
Kashika is offline  
post #848 of 2386 Old 08-22-2014, 08:54 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 12,451
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 539 Post(s)
Liked: 708
Quote:
Originally Posted by Videoz View Post
Unfortunately, I played the panel lottery twice with the 55x850b and lost both times. My 3 year old 46nx720 1080 is edge lit and shows no flashlighting at all, albeit it is local dimming not frame dimming.
It may be a form of local dimming, but it is nothing like the FALD that is in the X950B .
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #849 of 2386 Old 08-22-2014, 11:09 AM
Member
 
twin2turbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Videoz View Post
That's definitely not normal. I would say goodbye to that tv if I were you.
It took several calls, but they finally admitted my TV was defective.
twin2turbo is offline  
post #850 of 2386 Old 08-22-2014, 02:23 PM
Member
 
HDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Newark DE
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
May I ask why many of you are downloading Youtube 4k videos to a USB stick? When you can just use the You app and play directly.

HDave (may the 4K be with you)

I may not post all the time. But when I do, I post on avsforum
HDave is offline  
post #851 of 2386 Old 08-22-2014, 02:59 PM
Member
 
SL600's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDave View Post
May I ask why many of you are downloading Youtube 4k videos to a USB stick? When you can just use the You app and play directly.
Three reasons:
a) Some of us don't own the set yet and the blue-shirts at BB won't let you use the app.
b) Testing for compatibility with existing media.
c) Testing the display using test charts.
SL600 is online now  
post #852 of 2386 Old 08-22-2014, 03:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mattopotamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 568 Post(s)
Liked: 273
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDave View Post
May I ask why many of you are downloading Youtube 4k videos to a USB stick? When you can just use the You app and play directly.
B.c youtube through the app is not 4k. It uses a different codec, VP9, and you must download the clips if you want to see them in 4K

The TV will stream HEVC content, but google has decided to use a different codec.

We could see a codec war similar to HD DVD and blu ray.
Mattopotamus is offline  
post #853 of 2386 Old 08-22-2014, 03:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rconn2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I downloaded some of the 4k videos using the 4k downloader and they were h.264 mp4's. These were Tears of Steel or something and Sintel. afaik, h.264 can handle 4k, just that the files will be larger.

So, back to the original question, why not watch these h.264 's through the YouTube app? They look great, but I don't know how to tell if they're 4k or just v. good hd.

I noticed when I hit Display on the remote, that when Input is set to an HDMI, the resolution is shown, but not when using an App. Test patterns were mentioned. Where can I find some test patterns -- Video or Picture, so I can test whether it's being displayed with a 4k signal? And, might automatic upscaling make a test image appear as 4k?

(new xbr65x850b owner as of yesterday -- gorgeous pq.)

Last edited by rconn2; 08-22-2014 at 03:15 PM. Reason: typo
rconn2 is offline  
post #854 of 2386 Old 08-22-2014, 04:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mattopotamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 568 Post(s)
Liked: 273
Quote:
Originally Posted by rconn2 View Post
I downloaded some of the 4k videos using the 4k downloader and they were h.264 mp4's. These were Tears of Steel or something and Sintel. afaik, h.264 can handle 4k, just that the files will be larger.

So, back to the original question, why not watch these h.264 's through the YouTube app? They look great, but I don't know how to tell if they're 4k or just v. good hd.

I noticed when I hit Display on the remote, that when Input is set to an HDMI, the resolution is shown, but not when using an App. Test patterns were mentioned. Where can I find some test patterns -- Video or Picture, so I can test whether it's being displayed with a 4k signal? And, might automatic upscaling make a test image appear as 4k?

(new xbr65x850b owner as of yesterday -- gorgeous pq.)
You downloaded it correct. 4K can be h.264 for playback, but can only stream over h265. That is why you download the clips
Mattopotamus is offline  
post #855 of 2386 Old 08-22-2014, 06:55 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Would you guys recommend the x850b over the x850a? I'm just curious because I'm trying to figure out which set would be best to replace what I have now.
kurt2134 is offline  
post #856 of 2386 Old 08-22-2014, 06:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
andy sullivan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: sun city west AZ
Posts: 3,486
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 330 Post(s)
Liked: 227
Quote:
Originally Posted by kurt2134 View Post
Would you guys recommend the x850b over the x850a? I'm just curious because I'm trying to figure out which set would be best to replace what I have now.
The 850b is more current as far as using Netflix etc.
andy sullivan is offline  
post #857 of 2386 Old 08-22-2014, 07:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rconn2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattopotamus View Post
You downloaded it correct. 4K can be h.264 for playback, but can only stream over h265. That is why you download the clips
So, these h.264's are encoded to h.265 on the fly? And if encoded, why not in google's format?

btw, anyone know of a source for some 4k test patterns? I'll check the web also.
rconn2 is offline  
post #858 of 2386 Old 08-22-2014, 07:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rconn2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Dumb question... what's the usb thing with the 2 end pieces that came with the tv? Is this for the touchpad?
rconn2 is offline  
post #859 of 2386 Old 08-22-2014, 10:48 PM
Member
 
justhanging's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Phoenix area
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by rconn2 View Post
Dumb question... what's the usb thing with the 2 end pieces that came with the tv? Is this for the touchpad?

It is an IR Blaster. I use it to control the volume using the Sony remote for the Vizio sound bar.
rconn2 likes this.
justhanging is offline  
post #860 of 2386 Old 08-23-2014, 06:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mattopotamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 568 Post(s)
Liked: 273
Quote:
Originally Posted by rconn2 View Post
So, these h.264's are encoded to h.265 on the fly? And if encoded, why not in google's format?

btw, anyone know of a source for some 4k test patterns? I'll check the web also.
H264 and h265 are relevant for streaming. The YouTube clips are MP4s.
rconn2 likes this.
Mattopotamus is offline  
post #861 of 2386 Old 08-23-2014, 11:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rconn2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by andy sullivan View Post
Difficult to advise because it may be normal. Sometimes I see it most times I don't. I would respond with a cordial e-mail telling them that you have looked at same sets and they do not have the problem nearly as bad as yours. Ask for a senior customer service rep to call you.
I have some diffuse greater brightness in my lower left corner. I thought it was just reflection from a window, but it was also there when it was dark. But, I'm ok with it. It's a question of degree... noticeable since I'm now aware on dark scenes, but not too bad... mild and diffuse. I don't think in my case it'd be fair or reasonable to return. And, I might get one worse!

A 65" is such a large TV, that there's a lot of flat surface that has to be uniform. I'm amazed at the overall quality. I suspect when I move the TV, the screen may even change. There's also the trick about loosening and re-tightening the panel screws, and tapping and rubbing the brighter area. But, at least for now, I think I'll leave well enough alone.
rconn2 is offline  
post #862 of 2386 Old 08-23-2014, 11:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mattopotamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 568 Post(s)
Liked: 273
Quote:
Originally Posted by rconn2 View Post
I have some diffuse greater brightness in my lower left corner. I thought it was just reflection from a window, but it was also there when it was dark. But, I'm ok with it. It's a question of degree... noticeable since I'm now aware on dark scenes, but not too bad... mild and diffuse. I don't think in my case it'd be fair or reasonable to return. And, I might get one worse!

A 65" is such a large TV, that there's a lot of flat surface that has to be uniform. I'm amazed at the overall quality. I suspect when I move the TV, the screen may even change. There's also the trick about loosening and re-tightening the panel screws, and tapping and rubbing the brighter area. But, at least for now, I think I'll leave well enough alone.
I think that's something people forget. These are massive panels. A 65" TV of almost any variety is sure to have slight uniformity problems.
Mattopotamus is offline  
post #863 of 2386 Old 08-23-2014, 12:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
andy sullivan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: sun city west AZ
Posts: 3,486
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 330 Post(s)
Liked: 227
Two things I would do, and have done myself. Pause a show when you have a black screen during a switch to or from a commercial. There you should see any sign of clouding. Then try going to your menu and adjust settings in modes Custom, Standard, and Vivid to your best liking. Try each setting on your paused clouded screen and see if there is a noticeable improvement. Now I do what has beed referred to as the frozen cloth massage. Take a new micro fiber cloth, wet it and freeze it. Remove frozen cloth from freezer, wet it till it's nice an soft. Then wipe the entire screen from the top to bottom slowley. This will not damaae the screen since it's only a slight variation on the recommended method for cleaning your screen. You're just using colder water. Try this a few times a day for three or four days.
andy sullivan is offline  
post #864 of 2386 Old 08-24-2014, 02:55 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 14
im really liking the 55 inch one. i think i messed up and got too big for my room :{ too close and sometimes its too grainy with regular television. i hate verizon!
dreadnok89 is offline  
post #865 of 2386 Old 08-24-2014, 04:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rconn2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 13
My 65x850b has problems with media player and some videos on usb.

With one particular video, my tv would freeze when the usb was connected. And, it even locked up and flashed a sequence of 8 red flashes. I had to unplug the tv. Eventually, I narrowed the reproducible problem down to one video.

Other videos wouldn't play or would play with no video shown. I haven't figured out what the tv likes and doesn't yet. But, it's definitely fussy and not at all robust like my western digital.

Also, the tv once wouldn't start the youtube or amazon apps. I had to repower.

So, I'm guessing software glitches... hopefully not my tv itself. And, hopefully, these issues will get fixed with a firmware upgrade.

Last edited by rconn2; 08-25-2014 at 06:51 AM.
rconn2 is offline  
post #866 of 2386 Old 08-24-2014, 04:44 PM
Newbie
 
AllenIverson3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rconn2 View Post
Dumb question... what's the usb thing with the 2 end pieces that came with the tv? Is this for the touchpad?
You can also place one of the black pieces on the IR repeater of your cable box and it will allow you to control your cable box with the TV remote.

To program this, press the "home" button on the remote and from there go in to the "settings". Once in the "settings", select "channels & inputs". After selecting "channels & inputs," select "set-top box control setup" and follow the instructions accordingly to be able to control your cable box with both the One-Flick remote and the basic TV remote.

What this is cool for is that pressing the "discover" button on the remote control will now bring up a menu for you to be able to switch channels on your cable box. Over time, the TV will learn what your favorite channels are so your most watched channels will always show up when you press the "discover" button.
AllenIverson3 is offline  
post #867 of 2386 Old 08-24-2014, 08:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
rviele's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 763
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 15
new question

Quote:
Originally Posted by AllenIverson3 View Post
You can also place one of the black pieces on the IR repeater of your cable box and it will allow you to control your cable box with the TV remote.

To program this, press the "home" button on the remote and from there go in to the "settings". Once in the "settings", select "channels & inputs". After selecting "channels & inputs," select "set-top box control setup" and follow the instructions accordingly to be able to control your cable box with both the One-Flick remote and the basic TV remote.

What this is cool for is that pressing the "discover" button on the remote control will now bring up a menu for you to be able to switch channels on your cable box. Over time, the TV will learn what your favorite channels are so your most watched channels will always show up when you press the "discover" button.
I ve a new question. when I'm watching the local news I'm seeing a white outline on the reporters head. any thoughts from someone on what the problem is.
thanks
rviele
rviele is online now  
post #868 of 2386 Old 08-25-2014, 07:00 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Anyone have any good settings for this tv? Cant find any.
dreadnok89 is offline  
post #869 of 2386 Old 08-25-2014, 08:30 AM
Member
 
m-dogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Question

I got my 55x850b a couple days ago, and while I loved it at first...I now see an issue that is driving me crazy. I think its called DSE - dirty screen effect?

It shows up on cable HD broadcasts, and almost looks like the show is using one of those grainy filters some movies use. It is really noticeable when the camera pans (sporting events), but I can now see it just in some stationary shots too. Some shows are worse than others, and some football games are worse than others. Close ups usually look great, but the far away shots are much worse. Is this the result of a mediocre signal being upscaled to 4k? because the old sony I am replacing displays a much more crisp and better picture.

When gaming, it looks great. and when streaming off youtube, it looks [shockingly] amazing. So does that mean it is the cable signal somehow combined with the upscaling? Its like the pixels are constantly working overtime when they do not need to be, very distracting. If this is what 720p is going to look like on this tv, I'm afraid I may have to return it as I watch a LOT of sports. I can only imagine how bad hockey might look (I recorded an upcoming rerun to check it out).

I will try switching the HDMI cord tonight with the one I am using for gaming, and see if that makes a difference. I will also try some blue rays again to make sure I am only seeing this with cable programs.

Is anyone else seeing this? if you get close to the tv, it almost looks like little artifacts and glitches all over the screen. On the same setup, my old sony looked great for cable content (just had other issues and was dying). maybe I need to stick with 1080p tvs, or is there something else I am missing? (I tried all weekend to fix with settings, nothing helped. no processing settings are currently on).
m-dogg is offline  
post #870 of 2386 Old 08-25-2014, 08:31 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I'm shocked this does not have local dimming.
MatiPlaneteer is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays
Gear in this thread - XBR-49X850B by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off