2014 Samsung SEK-2500U/ZA Evolution Kit and CY-SUC10SH/ZA UHD Video Pack - Page 65 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1921 of 2232 Old 07-12-2014, 04:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
sikclown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 685
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 364 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by priuscat View Post
Found it on page 169Attachment 157369

and on page 160 in the UN55F9000 User Manual, same specs

fwiw: Comcast has a 3D channel (333) in my locale.
Page 221 of the HU9000 Manual:
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screenshot_2014-07-12-06-16-09.jpg (142.0 KB, 25 views)

UN65F9000AFXZA + SEK2500U/ZA firmware version 1150.5
Denon AVR-2313ci, Denon AVR-S900w, Apple TV, Sony BDP-S6200
Cox Cisco 6 tuner Contour Box , PS4, Xbox One, HD Antenna
(2) Klipsch F-30s, (2) Klipsch F-20s, (2) Klipsch S-20s,
(2) Klipsch S-10s, (2) Klipsch B-20s, (1) Klipsch Sub-12HG
UN55HU8550, Ceton Echo, Apple TV, Sony BDP-S590, Motorola Cox Contour Receiver, PC
sikclown is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1922 of 2232 Old 07-12-2014, 05:07 AM
rlb
AVS Special Member
 
rlb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: North Royalton, OH
Posts: 3,047
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by sikclown View Post
Software Update via the TV Menu. It is not available to download online yet but when it is you can find it on the support page for their HU9000. They both now use the same firmware.

I downloaded it yesterday via the update screen (update now). I'm setup for auto updates; but it had not come across yet.


New subject: Thanks to you and priuscat for providing the 3D 4K reference. You were up earlier than me.
sikclown likes this.

Last edited by rlb; 07-12-2014 at 05:12 AM.
rlb is offline  
post #1923 of 2232 Old 07-12-2014, 06:27 AM
Senior Member
 
priuscat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Clawson, Michigan
Posts: 310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by roller11 View Post
How did you update to 1142.2 firmware? Did you find the FW at a site and D/L manually? Or did your TV find it automatically and do the update by your command?
When I heard 1142.2 was available at this forum, I turned on my TV, went to Update Now and updated. I have auto update on, but since I just turned on my TV, auto update didn't have a chance to "auto update"

UN55F9000AFXZA, Firmware updated to 1150.5 July 21, 2014
SEK2500U/ZA, UHD Video Pack CY-SUC10SH/ZA, UHD Content CY-SUC05SF/ZA
Hauppauge HD PVR, X Box 360
Ceton Echo Windows Media Center Extender, GOgroove AirBand Bluetooth Stereo Headphones
KINIVO 301BN HDMI HUB, 4 Port USB 3.0 Hub, Miccus Home RTX: Long Range, Bluetooth
BD-C6900/XAA 3D Blu-Ray Player, Roku 3 Streaming Media Player
priuscat is offline  
post #1924 of 2232 Old 07-12-2014, 06:31 AM
Senior Member
 
priuscat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Clawson, Michigan
Posts: 310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by sikclown View Post
I think the assumption is that it was limited to 30 by HDMI 1.4 but with SEK-2500U it now has HDMI 2.0 so 60 should be possible. I haven't read anywhere that it is possible though.
My question is: since you need 120 hz to get the full effect of 3D with HDMI 2.0 is 4K 3D 60 hz per eye?

UN55F9000AFXZA, Firmware updated to 1150.5 July 21, 2014
SEK2500U/ZA, UHD Video Pack CY-SUC10SH/ZA, UHD Content CY-SUC05SF/ZA
Hauppauge HD PVR, X Box 360
Ceton Echo Windows Media Center Extender, GOgroove AirBand Bluetooth Stereo Headphones
KINIVO 301BN HDMI HUB, 4 Port USB 3.0 Hub, Miccus Home RTX: Long Range, Bluetooth
BD-C6900/XAA 3D Blu-Ray Player, Roku 3 Streaming Media Player
priuscat is offline  
post #1925 of 2232 Old 07-12-2014, 07:02 AM
Member
 
CannonC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 16
My new 2014 UHD arrives today!! Can't wait. I do have a question though. Will I be safe to use my old 2013 cable or should I replace it with the 2014 cable? It's a pain in the but to re-fish through the wall but I can do it if I have to. Just wanted someone's thoughts. Any feedback appreciated. Thank you
CannonC is offline  
post #1926 of 2232 Old 07-12-2014, 07:26 AM
Member
 
safcsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 15
It's arrived, that didn't take long at all!

Seems to all ok,so far!

Netflix finally 4k, awesome.
sikclown likes this.
safcsat is offline  
post #1927 of 2232 Old 07-12-2014, 07:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
roller11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 648
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by priuscat View Post
My question is: since you need 120 hz to get the full effect of 3D with HDMI 2.0 is 4K 3D 60 hz per eye?
Yes, 120 screen refreshes per second, 60 refreshes per eye for L/R (aka 'SBS') 3D mode.
The incoming 3D L/R signal is 3840x2160 60Hz and is the same format as any 2D image at 4k/60. The TV's internal circuitry then un-interleaves the pixel columns 1,3,5,...3839 and displays them across the width of the screen for 120th of a second (one screen refresh cycle). Only the left eye sees this image. Repeat this for the right eye, except pixel columns 2,4,6...3840 are displayed.

So the incoming signal is 3840x2160/60Hz, and the TV converts this stream internally to 1920x2160/120Hz, then displays the image steam at 120Hz.
priuscat likes this.
roller11 is offline  
post #1928 of 2232 Old 07-12-2014, 07:59 AM
Senior Member
 
priuscat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Clawson, Michigan
Posts: 310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by roller11 View Post
Yes, 120 screen refreshes per second, 60 refreshes per eye for L/R (aka 'SBS') 3D mode.
The incoming 3D L/R signal is 3840x2160 60Hz and is the same format as any 2D image at 4k/60. The TV's internal circuitry then un-interleaves the pixel columns 1,3,5,...3839 and displays them across the width of the screen for 120th of a second (one screen refresh cycle). Only the left eye sees this image. Repeat this for the right eye, except pixel columns 2,4,6...3840 are displayed.

So the incoming signal is 3840x2160/60Hz, and the TV converts this stream internally to 1920x2160/120Hz, then displays the image steam at 120Hz.
whoa! That should be some amazing 3D! When 4k 3D becomes available.

UN55F9000AFXZA, Firmware updated to 1150.5 July 21, 2014
SEK2500U/ZA, UHD Video Pack CY-SUC10SH/ZA, UHD Content CY-SUC05SF/ZA
Hauppauge HD PVR, X Box 360
Ceton Echo Windows Media Center Extender, GOgroove AirBand Bluetooth Stereo Headphones
KINIVO 301BN HDMI HUB, 4 Port USB 3.0 Hub, Miccus Home RTX: Long Range, Bluetooth
BD-C6900/XAA 3D Blu-Ray Player, Roku 3 Streaming Media Player
priuscat is offline  
post #1929 of 2232 Old 07-12-2014, 08:09 AM
Member
 
robert9674's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by safcsat View Post
It's arrived, that didn't take long at all!

Seems to all ok,so far!

Netflix finally 4k, awesome.
Did you use the old cable or new cable?
robert9674 is online now  
post #1930 of 2232 Old 07-12-2014, 08:10 AM
Member
 
safcsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by robert9674 View Post
Did you use the old cable or new cable?
New cable, just because it was easy for me however as not wall mounted etc.
safcsat is offline  
post #1931 of 2232 Old 07-12-2014, 08:17 AM
Senior Member
 
priuscat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Clawson, Michigan
Posts: 310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by CannonC View Post
My new 2014 UHD arrives today!! Can't wait. I do have a question though. Will I be safe to use my old 2013 cable or should I replace it with the 2014 cable? It's a pain in the but to re-fish through the wall but I can do it if I have to. Just wanted someone's thoughts. Any feedback appreciated. Thank you
With all the problems everybody has been having, why push it? Use the 2014 cable and be on the safe side. Just think, using the 2014 cable you do it once and be done with it. use the 2013 cable, you run the risk of changing the cable twice if something goes wrong.

UN55F9000AFXZA, Firmware updated to 1150.5 July 21, 2014
SEK2500U/ZA, UHD Video Pack CY-SUC10SH/ZA, UHD Content CY-SUC05SF/ZA
Hauppauge HD PVR, X Box 360
Ceton Echo Windows Media Center Extender, GOgroove AirBand Bluetooth Stereo Headphones
KINIVO 301BN HDMI HUB, 4 Port USB 3.0 Hub, Miccus Home RTX: Long Range, Bluetooth
BD-C6900/XAA 3D Blu-Ray Player, Roku 3 Streaming Media Player
priuscat is offline  
post #1932 of 2232 Old 07-12-2014, 08:52 AM
Member
 
CannonC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by priuscat View Post
With all the problems everybody has been having, why push it? Use the 2014 cable and be on the safe side. Just think, using the 2014 cable you do it once and be done with it. use the 2013 cable, you run the risk of changing the cable twice if something goes wrong.
True. Good point. I'm just trying to be lazy. It makes sense to go ahead and upgrade now rather than later. It's not the answer I was looking for but it does make the most sense. lol . Thanks for input
CannonC is offline  
post #1933 of 2232 Old 07-12-2014, 08:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
roller11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 648
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by priuscat View Post
whoa! That should be some amazing 3D! When 4k 3D becomes available.
Exactly right. Future 4k 3D BluRays are the reason I want to make sure that whatever my purchase, the TV will do 4K/60Hz.
priuscat likes this.
roller11 is offline  
post #1934 of 2232 Old 07-12-2014, 09:34 AM
Member
 
safcsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 15
One issue I seem to be facing with this new SEK-2500U/ZA is when I switch the TV on I see the following message:

Please go into service mode and setup the below options.

- Type, Local Set, Front Color Option


Any ideas?
safcsat is offline  
post #1935 of 2232 Old 07-12-2014, 09:34 AM
Member
 
IlliniBird's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Chicago
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by priuscat View Post
With all the problems everybody has been having, why push it? Use the 2014 cable and be on the safe side. Just think, using the 2014 cable you do it once and be done with it. use the 2013 cable, you run the risk of changing the cable twice if something goes wrong.
According to engineers from Samsung, either the 2013 or 2014 cable works fine. They advised me to keep using my 2013 cable and I am because the 2014 cable caused flickering (I think). The 2013 cable causes no flickering and everything seems to work. I'll know for sure when Samsung sends me a new 2014 cable because I complained that the entire SEK-2500u kit didn't work properly and I paid for it and I wanted a new cable.

I'll let everyone know as the cable should be here in the next week or so.
robert9674, CannonC and Tomesy like this.

Samsung UN65F9000AF UHD TV
Samsung SEK-2500u 2014 Evolution OCB
Samsung BD-F7500 Blu-Ray
Pioneer VSX-44 AV Receiver 2.0 HDMI
Definitive Technology ProCinema 600 System
Direct TV HR-44 Genie
IlliniBird is offline  
post #1936 of 2232 Old 07-12-2014, 10:05 AM
rlb
AVS Special Member
 
rlb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: North Royalton, OH
Posts: 3,047
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by safcsat View Post
One issue I seem to be facing with this new SEK-2500U/ZA is when I switch the TV on I see the following message:

Please go into service mode and setup the below options.

- Type, Local Set, Front Color Option

Any ideas?

That would make me nervous. I don't remember those elements being part of customer level setup. You can "fish around" and find how to get into service mode; but then you would have to figure out how/where to do the input (not to mention--what). I personally would not do it and take the chance of a major problem.


I would call Samsung customer service and dump it on them.

Last edited by rlb; 07-12-2014 at 10:09 AM.
rlb is offline  
post #1937 of 2232 Old 07-12-2014, 10:33 AM
Senior Member
 
priuscat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Clawson, Michigan
Posts: 310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by roller11 View Post
Exactly right. Future 4k 3D BluRays are the reason I want to make sure that whatever my purchase, the TV will do 4K/60Hz.
yeah, me too!

UN55F9000AFXZA, Firmware updated to 1150.5 July 21, 2014
SEK2500U/ZA, UHD Video Pack CY-SUC10SH/ZA, UHD Content CY-SUC05SF/ZA
Hauppauge HD PVR, X Box 360
Ceton Echo Windows Media Center Extender, GOgroove AirBand Bluetooth Stereo Headphones
KINIVO 301BN HDMI HUB, 4 Port USB 3.0 Hub, Miccus Home RTX: Long Range, Bluetooth
BD-C6900/XAA 3D Blu-Ray Player, Roku 3 Streaming Media Player
priuscat is offline  
post #1938 of 2232 Old 07-12-2014, 11:41 AM
Senior Member
 
poisike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by safcsat View Post
One issue I seem to be facing with this new SEK-2500U/ZA is when I switch the TV on I see the following message:

Please go into service mode and setup the below options.

- Type, Local Set, Front Color Option


Any ideas?
Getting into service menu is not hard, but you can't change Local Set setting without service remote. There was a way to change it on f series but as far as I know, it does not work on 2014 series.

What region is your TV?
Try a factory reset and do another backup after that. Then try the SEK-2500U again.

Samsung UE65F9000ST + SEK-2500U/ZG (European firmware v1141.6)
poisike is online now  
post #1939 of 2232 Old 07-12-2014, 11:44 AM
Member
 
safcsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by poisike View Post
Getting into service menu is not hard, but you can't change Local Set setting without service remote. There was a way to change it on f series but as far as I know, it does not work on 2014 series.

What region is your TV?
Try a factory reset and do another backup after that. Then try the SEK-2500U again.
TV is UAE region and SEK-2500U is USA.

By all accounts everything seems to work, just message displayed for a few secs when I switch on.

Tried a factory reset etc, still remains.
safcsat is offline  
post #1940 of 2232 Old 07-12-2014, 04:38 PM
Senior Member
 
priuscat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Clawson, Michigan
Posts: 310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Anybody else having problems getting Netflix to play? Tested network (it's ok) Tested on my Roku player (Netfilx plays fine there)

UN55F9000AFXZA, Firmware updated to 1150.5 July 21, 2014
SEK2500U/ZA, UHD Video Pack CY-SUC10SH/ZA, UHD Content CY-SUC05SF/ZA
Hauppauge HD PVR, X Box 360
Ceton Echo Windows Media Center Extender, GOgroove AirBand Bluetooth Stereo Headphones
KINIVO 301BN HDMI HUB, 4 Port USB 3.0 Hub, Miccus Home RTX: Long Range, Bluetooth
BD-C6900/XAA 3D Blu-Ray Player, Roku 3 Streaming Media Player
priuscat is offline  
post #1941 of 2232 Old 07-12-2014, 05:10 PM
Member
 
NazPattison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by safcsat View Post
One issue I seem to be facing with this new SEK-2500U/ZA is when I switch the TV on I see the following message:

Please go into service mode and setup the below options.

- Type, Local Set, Front Color Option


Any ideas?
I think I get that message on mine too. I assumed it was because I am using the USA 2014 box without setting up any of the TV tuner options. So if your box is from a different region that'd make sense. I haven't found any negative side effects to the message.
NazPattison is offline  
post #1942 of 2232 Old 07-12-2014, 06:24 PM
Senior Member
 
priuscat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Clawson, Michigan
Posts: 310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by priuscat View Post
Anybody else having problems getting Netflix to play? Tested network (it's ok) Tested on my Roku player (Netfilx plays fine there)
Yeah, I know, I'm quoting my own post, bla, bla, I just did a factory reset and tried Netflix again, Breaking Bad is now playing. So I think my Netflix issue is resolved, now I have to re-enter my preferred settings again (sigggghhhh) Like cinema black, UHD Color, etc, etc

UN55F9000AFXZA, Firmware updated to 1150.5 July 21, 2014
SEK2500U/ZA, UHD Video Pack CY-SUC10SH/ZA, UHD Content CY-SUC05SF/ZA
Hauppauge HD PVR, X Box 360
Ceton Echo Windows Media Center Extender, GOgroove AirBand Bluetooth Stereo Headphones
KINIVO 301BN HDMI HUB, 4 Port USB 3.0 Hub, Miccus Home RTX: Long Range, Bluetooth
BD-C6900/XAA 3D Blu-Ray Player, Roku 3 Streaming Media Player
priuscat is offline  
post #1943 of 2232 Old 07-12-2014, 08:54 PM
Member
 
robert9674's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by IlliniBird View Post
According to engineers from Samsung, either the 2013 or 2014 cable works fine. They advised me to keep using my 2013 cable and I am because the 2014 cable caused flickering (I think). The 2013 cable causes no flickering and everything seems to work. I'll know for sure when Samsung sends me a new 2014 cable because I complained that the entire SEK-2500u kit didn't work properly and I paid for it and I wanted a new cable.

I'll let everyone know as the cable should be here in the next week or so.
Did your old one connect cable cause any issues with 4k content when paired with the new sek 2500 OC box?
robert9674 is online now  
post #1944 of 2232 Old 07-12-2014, 11:49 PM
Senior Member
 
poisike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by priuscat View Post
Yeah, I know, I'm quoting my own post, bla, bla, I just did a factory reset and tried Netflix again, Breaking Bad is now playing. So I think my Netflix issue is resolved, now I have to re-enter my preferred settings again (sigggghhhh) Like cinema black, UHD Color, etc, etc
What error did you get? I'm getting we are having trouble playing this title at the moment, please try again later.
Does Vudu still work after factory reset?

Samsung UE65F9000ST + SEK-2500U/ZG (European firmware v1141.6)
poisike is online now  
post #1945 of 2232 Old 07-12-2014, 11:52 PM
Newbie
 
Colvic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by priuscat View Post
Yeah, I know, I'm quoting my own post, bla, bla, I just did a factory reset and tried Netflix again, Breaking Bad is now playing. So I think my Netflix issue is resolved, now I have to re-enter my preferred settings again (sigggghhhh) Like cinema black, UHD Color, etc, etc
Hi priuscat, that's interesting i have just received my 2500 kit and have set it up going through al the set up correctly and the first day everything was fine the next day lost Netflix app completely for no reason,contacted samsung UK the technical adviser i spoke to wasn't aware of any issues until after 30 mins of going back and forth to another adviser in her office came back and told me yes,apparently Samsung and Netlix are currently working on upgrading the app so it will temporarily be unavailable and couldn't tell me when it would be available.Not good are anybody else aware of this or is it yet again incorrect information coming from Samsung.
Colvic is offline  
post #1946 of 2232 Old 07-13-2014, 12:06 AM
Senior Member
 
poisike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colvic View Post
Hi priuscat, that's interesting i have just received my 2500 kit and have set it up going through al the set up correctly and the first day everything was fine the next day lost Netflix app completely for no reason,contacted samsung UK the technical adviser i spoke to wasn't aware of any issues until after 30 mins of going back and forth to another adviser in her office came back and told me yes,apparently Samsung and Netlix are currently working on upgrading the app so it will temporarily be unavailable and couldn't tell me when it would be available.Not good are anybody else aware of this or is it yet again incorrect information coming from Samsung.
Yes, it was removed about a month ago, no idea why. It is already back in US Smart Hub region, so if you need Netflix and you don't use any local apps then you can switch your smart hub to US region.

Samsung UE65F9000ST + SEK-2500U/ZG (European firmware v1141.6)
poisike is online now  
post #1947 of 2232 Old 07-13-2014, 01:05 AM
Senior Member
 
priuscat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Clawson, Michigan
Posts: 310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by poisike View Post
What error did you get? I'm getting we are having trouble playing this title at the moment, please try again later.
Does Vudu still work after factory reset?
Yup, that's the same message I got, the factory reset fixed that. I don't know about Vudu, I haven't tried that one yet.

UN55F9000AFXZA, Firmware updated to 1150.5 July 21, 2014
SEK2500U/ZA, UHD Video Pack CY-SUC10SH/ZA, UHD Content CY-SUC05SF/ZA
Hauppauge HD PVR, X Box 360
Ceton Echo Windows Media Center Extender, GOgroove AirBand Bluetooth Stereo Headphones
KINIVO 301BN HDMI HUB, 4 Port USB 3.0 Hub, Miccus Home RTX: Long Range, Bluetooth
BD-C6900/XAA 3D Blu-Ray Player, Roku 3 Streaming Media Player
priuscat is offline  
post #1948 of 2232 Old 07-13-2014, 01:33 AM
Senior Member
 
poisike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by priuscat View Post
Yup, that's the same message I got, the factory reset fixed that. I don't know about Vudu, I haven't tried that one yet.
OK, then I'm not sure if it was factory reset that fixed it for you. Firstly, restarting TV fixes this problem for a few hours. Secondly, I haven't seen this error anymore since Friday.

Someone here wrote that he lost access to Vudu after factory reset. I lost it too some time ago when I did a factory reset. After reset the Vudu app showed "Invalid device". I can't remember what I did to fix it or if I even fixed it at all. I had two SEK-2500U so maybe I had this problem with the one I sent back, I can't remember.

Considering all this, I'm not going to take the risk.

Samsung UE65F9000ST + SEK-2500U/ZG (European firmware v1141.6)
poisike is online now  
post #1949 of 2232 Old 07-13-2014, 07:37 AM
Member
 
IlliniBird's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Chicago
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by robert9674 View Post
Did your old one connect cable cause any issues with 4k content when paired with the new sek 2500 OC box?
None that I am aware of but I'm a newbee to all of this. Again, I'll connect the replacement 2014 cable from OCB to TV and see if flickering continues.

BTW, I had previously complained to Samsung about this and they set up a service appointment where a technician was coming over. He called me the night before and I explained the problem with 2014 cable. He wanted to call the techs at Samsung before he came over. The techs told him too that either cable was fine and he canceled the service visit saying just to use 2013 cable.

Samsung UN65F9000AF UHD TV
Samsung SEK-2500u 2014 Evolution OCB
Samsung BD-F7500 Blu-Ray
Pioneer VSX-44 AV Receiver 2.0 HDMI
Definitive Technology ProCinema 600 System
Direct TV HR-44 Genie
IlliniBird is offline  
post #1950 of 2232 Old 07-13-2014, 08:21 AM
Senior Member
 
priuscat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Clawson, Michigan
Posts: 310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by poisike View Post
OK, then I'm not sure if it was factory reset that fixed it for you. Firstly, restarting TV fixes this problem for a few hours. Secondly, I haven't seen this error anymore since Friday.

Someone here wrote that he lost access to Vudu after factory reset. I lost it too some time ago when I did a factory reset. After reset the Vudu app showed "Invalid device". I can't remember what I did to fix it or if I even fixed it at all. I had two SEK-2500U so maybe I had this problem with the one I sent back, I can't remember.

Considering all this, I'm not going to take the risk.
I can see why you think the factory reset probably didn't fix it. I tried restarting the TV to no avail. But after I did the reset, I watched 7 episodes of Breaking Bad with no issues last night. I even tried signing off off Netflix then re-entering my user name and password that didn't work either. But the factory reset did, go figure! Vudu for me is too expensive for me right now so that's why I haven't tried Vudu to see if it works.

UN55F9000AFXZA, Firmware updated to 1150.5 July 21, 2014
SEK2500U/ZA, UHD Video Pack CY-SUC10SH/ZA, UHD Content CY-SUC05SF/ZA
Hauppauge HD PVR, X Box 360
Ceton Echo Windows Media Center Extender, GOgroove AirBand Bluetooth Stereo Headphones
KINIVO 301BN HDMI HUB, 4 Port USB 3.0 Hub, Miccus Home RTX: Long Range, Bluetooth
BD-C6900/XAA 3D Blu-Ray Player, Roku 3 Streaming Media Player
priuscat is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays
Gear in this thread

    Thread Tools
    Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
    Email this Page Email this Page


    Forum Jump: 

    Posting Rules  
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off
    Trackbacks are Off
    Pingbacks are Off
    Refbacks are Off