2014 Samsung SEK-2500U/ZA Evolution Kit and CY-SUC10SH/ZA UHD Video Pack - Page 77 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2281 of 2307 Old 07-28-2014, 04:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
sikclown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 405 Post(s)
Liked: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by montyindallas View Post
I am sorry, I did not realize there was a UHD Video Pack for the 2013 One Connect. I misunderstood. Sorry for the confusion.
No worries. I think Samsung is the only one causing confusion though They ran a promotion for the free hard drive a bunch of promo 4K stuff on it with the purchase of an F9000 (maybe only 65"?). It is the 3 documentaries on the 2014 UHD drive plus some other images and docu style movies. Nothing from Hollywood.

UN65F9000AFXZA + SEK2500U/ZA firmware version 1150.5
Denon AVR-2313ci, Denon AVR-S900w, Apple TV, Sony BDP-S6200
Cox Cisco 6 tuner Contour Box , PS4, Xbox One, HD Antenna
(2) Klipsch F-30s, (2) Klipsch F-20s, (2) Klipsch S-20s, (1) Klipsch C-20
(2) Klipsch S-10s, (2) Klipsch B-20s, (1) Klipsch Sub-12HG
UN55HU8550, Ceton Echo, Apple TV, Sony BDP-S590, Motorola Cox Contour Receiver, PC
sikclown is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2282 of 2307 Old 07-28-2014, 04:52 PM
Member
 
pettern's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colvic View Post
Yes just to confirm House of Cards is season 2, I've tried all different types of films on Netflix but i can only get at the most 480 sd resolution, i would have thought 10.25mbps was fast enough to at least download 1080p,have you any ideas.
Several US ISPs are intentionally capping Netflix speed in an attempt to extort Netflix for money (and in the process break net neutrality). What ISP do you use?
pettern is offline  
post #2283 of 2307 Old 07-28-2014, 05:00 PM
Senior Member
 
priuscat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Clawson, Michigan
Posts: 319
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by sikclown View Post
No worries. I think Samsung is the only one causing confusion though They ran a promotion for the free hard drive a bunch of promo 4K stuff on it with the purchase of an F9000 (maybe only 65"?). It is the 3 documentaries on the 2014 UHD drive plus some other images and docu style movies. Nothing from Hollywood.
nope, UN55F9000 Is included too. I got mine free too.
sikclown likes this.

UN55F9000AFXZA, Firmware updated to 1150.5 July 21, 2014
SEK2500U/ZA, UHD Video Pack CY-SUC10SH/ZA, UHD Content CY-SUC05SF/ZA
Hauppauge HD PVR, X Box 360
Ceton Echo Windows Media Center Extender, GOgroove AirBand Bluetooth Stereo Headphones
KINIVO 301BN HDMI HUB, 4 Port USB 3.0 Hub, Miccus Home RTX: Long Range, Bluetooth
BD-C6900/XAA 3D Blu-Ray Player, Roku 3 Streaming Media Player
priuscat is offline  
post #2284 of 2307 Old 07-29-2014, 12:06 AM
Member
 
Colvic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by sikclown View Post
You can try a few things. First open the web browser and run a speedtest from www.speedtest.net to see what speeds your TV is actually getting. Are you wired or wireless? Also you can log onto Netflix.com and go into your account settings then playback settings and force it to High, which will likely cause buffering on a slower connection.
Ok,just tried your suggestions speed is as i have already mentioned around 10-11mbps which shouldn't be fast enough i will come back to that i a minute,I went on Netflix website and found where i was going wrong,as i am a new customer to Netfix i had to set up my account and one of the options was do i want to receive there service on one,two or three tv's,i clicked on the one which only gave me SDef, so by reviewing that now i have HD which brings me back to internet speed,House of Cards i can only watch in 1080p which was expected but imagine my surprise when i loaded each documentary that's available in 4k also Breaking Bad and its showing me top left hand corner 2160hd can this be correct,be interested to hear what you think.
Buy the way the reason for my scepticism is that i'm not overwhelmed by the quality of picture.
Colvic is offline  
post #2285 of 2307 Old 07-29-2014, 12:38 AM
Senior Member
 
poisike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 34
I'm in Europe and I use US Netflix. I have 12Mb DSL and I had 4k without any problems until the app was updated about a month ago. Now I rarely get 1080p and I get a lot of errors saying we're having trouble playing this title at the moment, no idea if the new app is causing this or something else.
I don't get this error on any other device I'm using, so it seems there is a problem with the 4k app.

Samsung UE65F9000ST + SEK-2500U/ZG (European firmware v1141.6)
poisike is offline  
post #2286 of 2307 Old 07-29-2014, 03:06 AM
Member
 
Colvic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by poisike View Post
I'm in Europe and I use US Netflix. I have 12Mb DSL and I had 4k without any problems until the app was updated about a month ago. Now I rarely get 1080p and I get a lot of errors saying we're having trouble playing this title at the moment, no idea if the new app is causing this or something else.
I don't get this error on any other device I'm using, so it seems there is a problem with the 4k app.
I'm in the UK and if you've read some of my posts you can see i have only found Netflix back on my TV yesterday so its a bit early yet to pass judgement, if what my TV is telling is correct that i'm receiving 2160p on the one hand i am delighted but on the other not so because of the picture quality,as i said its early days i have to trust in what it is telling and live with it for a while, i will keep you posted. Cheers.
Colvic is offline  
post #2287 of 2307 Old 07-29-2014, 05:06 AM
Newbie
 
MariusV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm in the Netherlands and Netflix with dd 5.1 is working properly. About time!

I've got a 180/18 megabit cable connection, and 2160P is streaming smoothly, without hickups. So I think it's a bandwidth issue if it doesn't. Maybe you can crank up the buffer?
MariusV is offline  
post #2288 of 2307 Old 07-29-2014, 08:53 AM
Member
 
montyindallas's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colvic View Post
Ok,just tried your suggestions speed is as i have already mentioned around 10-11mbps which shouldn't be fast enough i will come back to that i a minute,I went on Netflix website and found where i was going wrong,as i am a new customer to Netfix i had to set up my account and one of the options was do i want to receive there service on one,two or three tv's,i clicked on the one which only gave me SDef, so by reviewing that now i have HD which brings me back to internet speed,House of Cards i can only watch in 1080p which was expected but imagine my surprise when i loaded each documentary that's available in 4k also Breaking Bad and its showing me top left hand corner 2160hd can this be correct,be interested to hear what you think.
Buy the way the reason for my scepticism is that i'm not overwhelmed by the quality of picture.
Only a few episodes of House of Cards is in 2160. The last few of season 2. Everything else will be 1080p.You proved your point by seeing Breaking Bad display 2160.
And you must (like you did) set the settings through your Netflix account on your computer to get the highest quality reception.
montyindallas is offline  
post #2289 of 2307 Old 07-29-2014, 08:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
sikclown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 405 Post(s)
Liked: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by montyindallas View Post
Only a few episodes of House of Cards is in 2160. The last few of season 2. Everything else will be 1080p.You proved your point by seeing Breaking Bad display 2160.
And you must (like you did) set the settings through your Netflix account on your computer to get the highest quality reception.
No, the entire 2nd season of House of Cards is in 4K. I checked each episode as I watched it and just finished it last night

UN65F9000AFXZA + SEK2500U/ZA firmware version 1150.5
Denon AVR-2313ci, Denon AVR-S900w, Apple TV, Sony BDP-S6200
Cox Cisco 6 tuner Contour Box , PS4, Xbox One, HD Antenna
(2) Klipsch F-30s, (2) Klipsch F-20s, (2) Klipsch S-20s, (1) Klipsch C-20
(2) Klipsch S-10s, (2) Klipsch B-20s, (1) Klipsch Sub-12HG
UN55HU8550, Ceton Echo, Apple TV, Sony BDP-S590, Motorola Cox Contour Receiver, PC
sikclown is online now  
post #2290 of 2307 Old 07-29-2014, 10:06 AM
Member
 
Colvic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 14
OK, montyindallas & sikclown thank you both for your comments and great help,first of all yes i have set Netflix to the Highest resolution, as i've mentioned on an earlier post i needed to get used to using Netlix and live with it for a while,
i've been playing around with the 4k content and i'm delighted in what i'm watching, for some season and i don't now why i can confirm series 2 HOUSE OF CARDS is all in 2160p 5.1, Aleluyer, and the picture is brilliant, Have still to tweak picture settings but my first or should i say second impressions are good,very good,its ridiculous i feel like a kid with a new toy but i guess you can understand this being an early adopter of this standard like me. know all remains to be dun is to cancel Sky.Thanks again.
sikclown likes this.
Colvic is offline  
post #2291 of 2307 Old 07-29-2014, 10:35 AM
Member
 
montyindallas's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colvic View Post
OK, montyindallas & sikclown thank you both for your comments and great help,first of all yes i have set Netflix to the Highest resolution, as i've mentioned on an earlier post i needed to get used to using Netlix and live with it for a while,
i've been playing around with the 4k content and i'm delighted in what i'm watching, for some season and i don't now why i can confirm series 2 HOUSE OF CARDS is all in 2160p 5.1, Aleluyer, and the picture is brilliant, Have still to tweak picture settings but my first or should i say second impressions are good,very good,its ridiculous i feel like a kid with a new toy but i guess you can understand this being an early adopter of this standard like me. know all remains to be dun is to cancel Sky.Thanks again.
If you want more 4K content, blow 300 US dollars on a Samsung UHD Video Pack. It's got five movies and a few documentaries. Love how great Wolverine and World War Z look in 4K! G.I. Joe is awesome as well. Just cruddy movies looking great! The ones Netflix offers (Ghostbusters 1 & 2, Philadelphia, Hitch) all look like crap!! Sony needs to give Netflix some newer releases (like the newer Total Recall) to show off our 4K displays. I saw a Sony 4K showing Total Recall in real 4K and it was the most life like image I have ever seen and it sold me in getting onto the 4K bandwagon.
montyindallas is offline  
post #2292 of 2307 Old Yesterday, 12:09 AM
Member
 
Colvic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by montyindallas View Post
If you want more 4K content, blow 300 US dollars on a Samsung UHD Video Pack. It's got five movies and a few documentaries. Love how great Wolverine and World War Z look in 4K! G.I. Joe is awesome as well. Just cruddy movies looking great! The ones Netflix offers (Ghostbusters 1 & 2, Philadelphia, Hitch) all look like crap!! Sony needs to give Netflix some newer releases (like the newer Total Recall) to show off our 4K displays. I saw a Sony 4K showing Total Recall in real 4K and it was the most life like image I have ever seen and it sold me in getting onto the 4K bandwagon.
Yes i've heard about the Samsung hard drive but there's two things stopping me having one, one the price,a lot of money for just a few films i've already seen and two my retailer says its currently unavailable in the UK and looks that its not going to be looking at sales elsewhere in the world. I'm sure Netflix will start to make available more titles further into this year, i'm just so pleased for what i have at the moment, i never thought i'd ever see 2160p up on my screen it has been a long time to get to this stage,i don't know if it was the same where you are but i remember when HD was first televised on Sky only a few programmes at first were available but in time it soon picked up,I guess we have been patient this long i'm sure we can wait a little longer,the beauty of all this is it can only get better and for me its kind of exciting who knows what companies will start supplying 4k content in the future i bet Sky can't be that far away. Any way to wrap up i can confirm the 2500u evolution kit 2014 is working as it should with no problems,and the little 4k content i'm streaming from Netflix is also fine well that's a bit of an understatement the quality of picture i am watching is brilliant although how i'm streaming with only 10mbps who knows but i'm not complaining.Thank's again for all of you out there that has helped me get to this stage,I guess that's the beauty of this forum.Cheers.
Colvic is offline  
post #2293 of 2307 Old Yesterday, 11:30 AM
Newbie
 
TKS64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi.
Have the F9000 65". Got my hands on the Samsung UHD video pack but cant play the movies. All demos and some documentarys are .ts and play OK. The movies are .um4 files,and they show up on screen when browsing the disc but when I try to play them I get the message "this format not supported at the moment".
I have copied the video pack to an external disc and connected it to the USB 3.0 input on the new One Connect. Have the latest firmware 1150. Live in Norway.
Any suggestions very welcome. Thanks in advance.
TKS64 is offline  
post #2294 of 2307 Old Yesterday, 11:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
sikclown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 405 Post(s)
Liked: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by TKS64 View Post
Hi.
Have the F9000 65". Got my hands on the Samsung UHD video pack but cant play the movies. All demos and some documentarys are .ts and play OK. The movies are .um4 files,and they show up on screen when browsing the disc but when I try to play them I get the message "this format not supported at the moment".
I have copied the video pack to an external disc and connected it to the USB 3.0 input on the new One Connect. Have the latest firmware 1150. Live in Norway.
Any suggestions very welcome. Thanks in advance.
The Hollywood movies can't just be copied, they have some sort of DRM on the original drive that prevents copying it. Until someone cracks the DRM I think those 5 copied movies are useless.

UN65F9000AFXZA + SEK2500U/ZA firmware version 1150.5
Denon AVR-2313ci, Denon AVR-S900w, Apple TV, Sony BDP-S6200
Cox Cisco 6 tuner Contour Box , PS4, Xbox One, HD Antenna
(2) Klipsch F-30s, (2) Klipsch F-20s, (2) Klipsch S-20s, (1) Klipsch C-20
(2) Klipsch S-10s, (2) Klipsch B-20s, (1) Klipsch Sub-12HG
UN55HU8550, Ceton Echo, Apple TV, Sony BDP-S590, Motorola Cox Contour Receiver, PC
sikclown is online now  
post #2295 of 2307 Old Yesterday, 11:38 AM
Newbie
 
TKS64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by sikclown View Post
The Hollywood movies can't just be copied, they have some sort of DRM on the original drive that prevents copying it. Until someone cracks the DRM I think those 5 copied movies are useless.
Ah, OK, didnt know that. Thank you very much for replying.
So I DL 175 useless gigs then..
TKS64 is offline  
post #2296 of 2307 Old Yesterday, 11:40 AM
Newbie
 
TKS64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by sikclown View Post
The Hollywood movies can't just be copied, they have some sort of DRM on the original drive that prevents copying it. Until someone cracks the DRM I think those 5 copied movies are useless.
Double post
TKS64 is offline  
post #2297 of 2307 Old Yesterday, 11:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
sikclown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 405 Post(s)
Liked: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by TKS64 View Post
Ah, OK, didnt know that. Thank you very much for replying.
So I DL 175 useless gigs then..
As far as I know, yes. I tried copying my own UHD drive to use on my 2nd 4K Samsung and it just won't work.

UN65F9000AFXZA + SEK2500U/ZA firmware version 1150.5
Denon AVR-2313ci, Denon AVR-S900w, Apple TV, Sony BDP-S6200
Cox Cisco 6 tuner Contour Box , PS4, Xbox One, HD Antenna
(2) Klipsch F-30s, (2) Klipsch F-20s, (2) Klipsch S-20s, (1) Klipsch C-20
(2) Klipsch S-10s, (2) Klipsch B-20s, (1) Klipsch Sub-12HG
UN55HU8550, Ceton Echo, Apple TV, Sony BDP-S590, Motorola Cox Contour Receiver, PC
sikclown is online now  
post #2298 of 2307 Old Yesterday, 12:20 PM
Senior Member
 
priuscat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Clawson, Michigan
Posts: 319
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by sikclown View Post
As far as I know, yes. I tried copying my own UHD drive to use on my 2nd 4K Samsung and it just won't work.
But, Hey! we got a spare 500GB drive.

UN55F9000AFXZA, Firmware updated to 1150.5 July 21, 2014
SEK2500U/ZA, UHD Video Pack CY-SUC10SH/ZA, UHD Content CY-SUC05SF/ZA
Hauppauge HD PVR, X Box 360
Ceton Echo Windows Media Center Extender, GOgroove AirBand Bluetooth Stereo Headphones
KINIVO 301BN HDMI HUB, 4 Port USB 3.0 Hub, Miccus Home RTX: Long Range, Bluetooth
BD-C6900/XAA 3D Blu-Ray Player, Roku 3 Streaming Media Player
priuscat is offline  
post #2299 of 2307 Old Yesterday, 12:28 PM
Senior Member
 
priuscat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Clawson, Michigan
Posts: 319
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by sikclown View Post
Could be. What is your internet speed and are you watching Season 2 of House of Cards?
http://www.cnet.com/internet-speed-test/

UN55F9000AFXZA, Firmware updated to 1150.5 July 21, 2014
SEK2500U/ZA, UHD Video Pack CY-SUC10SH/ZA, UHD Content CY-SUC05SF/ZA
Hauppauge HD PVR, X Box 360
Ceton Echo Windows Media Center Extender, GOgroove AirBand Bluetooth Stereo Headphones
KINIVO 301BN HDMI HUB, 4 Port USB 3.0 Hub, Miccus Home RTX: Long Range, Bluetooth
BD-C6900/XAA 3D Blu-Ray Player, Roku 3 Streaming Media Player
priuscat is offline  
post #2300 of 2307 Old Yesterday, 02:41 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sweden
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 4
The swedish(and probably other euro countries also) support page for sek-2500u/zg is up.

http://www.samsung.com/se/support/model/SEK-2500U/ZG

//LD
LowDead is offline  
post #2301 of 2307 Old Yesterday, 02:52 PM
Newbie
 
max27t's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I bought an F9000 in December of last year with the expectation of buying the 2014 One Connect box when it became available. The set was calibrated before I received it and I was curious what would happen when I hooked up the new box. I went through the standard upgrade procedure and when I looked at the set after restarting, the picture did not look the same as with the 2013 OCB. Whereas with the 2013 box I had 6 picture modes, with the 2014 I had 4, not the additional CAL DAY and CAL NIGHT modes that I assume were added when it was calibrated.

I had written down the values of various settings prior to the upgrade and I entered those values into the Movie picture mode on the new OCB. It still didn't look the same. So, I shut it down and hooked up the 2013 box and the picture looked good again. I realized I had not captured the 2 point color balance values. I hooked up the 2014 box and entered them. It looks better but I am wondering if something else is set differently, or if I am trying to convince myself there are differences when there aren't.

It would have been nice if all modes and all values had been captured and transferred during the upgrade, but they weren't. Either that, or I didn't do something special that I should have. At this moment, the paucity of UHD material makes me think I am no better off now than I was before I received the 2014 OCB, but that opinion may change in the coming months if new 4K shows and movies become available. How long until there is a 4K OPPO?

Thanks to everyone here who blazed the trail for me. I waited to buy the 2014 OCB until I read on here that the firmware was improved enough to use the new box. Then I was able to save some money by buying it at $300 instead of $400 because of the links provided here. I appreciate the many kind and generous people who have posted all of helpful suggestions and status reports.
priuscat likes this.
max27t is offline  
post #2302 of 2307 Old Yesterday, 03:41 PM
Senior Member
 
AccordTR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by max27t View Post
I bought an F9000 in December of last year with the expectation of buying the 2014 One Connect box when it became available. The set was calibrated before I received it and I was curious what would happen when I hooked up the new box. I went through the standard upgrade procedure and when I looked at the set after restarting, the picture did not look the same as with the 2013 OCB. Whereas with the 2013 box I had 6 picture modes, with the 2014 I had 4, not the additional CAL DAY and CAL NIGHT modes that I assume were added when it was calibrated.

I had written down the values of various settings prior to the upgrade and I entered those values into the Movie picture mode on the new OCB. It still didn't look the same. So, I shut it down and hooked up the 2013 box and the picture looked good again. I realized I had not captured the 2 point color balance values. I hooked up the 2014 box and entered them. It looks better but I am wondering if something else is set differently, or if I am trying to convince myself there are differences when there aren't.

It would have been nice if all modes and all values had been captured and transferred during the upgrade, but they weren't. Either that, or I didn't do something special that I should have. At this moment, the paucity of UHD material makes me think I am no better off now than I was before I received the 2014 OCB, but that opinion may change in the coming months if new 4K shows and movies become available. How long until there is a 4K OPPO?

Thanks to everyone here who blazed the trail for me. I waited to buy the 2014 OCB until I read on here that the firmware was improved enough to use the new box. Then I was able to save some money by buying it at $300 instead of $400 because of the links provided here. I appreciate the many kind and generous people who have posted all of helpful suggestions and status reports.
There has been a 4k upconverting oppo for a year already, oppo 103 and 105. There is a darbee edition as well already.
AccordTR is offline  
post #2303 of 2307 Old Yesterday, 04:41 PM
Newbie
 
max27t's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by AccordTR View Post
There has been a 4k upconverting oppo for a year already, oppo 103 and 105. There is a darbee edition as well already.
Yes, I have a 103 and a standalone darbee. What I want is to shove a 4K blu-ray into an OPPO to acquire UHD material. I believe I remember you saying that that having the 103/105 OPPO upconvert to 2160P offers no advantage over feeding 1080P from the OPPO into the F9000. It's the software I'm craving now.
max27t is offline  
post #2304 of 2307 Old Yesterday, 05:01 PM
Senior Member
 
AccordTR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by max27t View Post
Yes, I have a 103 and a standalone darbee. What I want is to shove a 4K blu-ray into an OPPO to acquire UHD material. I believe I remember you saying that that having the 103/105 OPPO upconvert to 2160P offers no advantage over feeding 1080P from the OPPO into the F9000. It's the software I'm craving now.
Correct, the TV itself upconverts the same as if you use the oppo, least in my opinion I saw literally no difference. As for 4k bluray.... I used to think it was coming, not so sure now. I think it will be years and quite honestly maybe never. Industry wants streaming, discs truly seem to be dying off slowly bit by bit.
AccordTR is offline  
post #2305 of 2307 Old Yesterday, 07:41 PM
rlb
AVS Special Member
 
rlb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: North Royalton, OH
Posts: 3,054
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 88
I've owned the F9000 and Oppo 103D since last December. I compared the upconversions and subjectively felt the 103D was a little better than the F9000 and original one connect. Now, with the new one connect, I feel it does a better job than than the 103D with the upconversion. In fact, I'm so pleased with the new one connect, that I output native resolutions from the OPPO and don't even use the Darbee processing.
sikclown likes this.
rlb is offline  
post #2306 of 2307 Old Today, 06:09 AM
Member
 
robert9674's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by IlliniBird View Post
I hope they don't ship me the wrong cable also. I'm on vacation and can't check until I get back.
Hey did you ever get the new cable from Samsung? If so did it improve pic quality
robert9674 is online now  
post #2307 of 2307 Old Today, 06:40 AM
Member
 
IlliniBird's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Chicago
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Angry

Quote:
Originally Posted by robert9674 View Post
Hey did you ever get the new cable from Samsung? If so did it improve pic quality
Funny you should ask; I got home late Monday and no cable ! I called Samsung yesterday and they said they had mailed it but are sending me another via UPS Second Day delivery.

Can't believe all of this!!?? So to answer your question, NO I have not received it and really wonder if I ever will.

BTW, my TV updated to the latest firmware and I now get Netflix in 5.1. When I look at the speeds of the 4k offerings, the resolution will vary from 720p to 2160. I guess the speed of Comcast varies quite a bit. The picture quality watching Direct TV appears as good as it was with the 2013 OCB that came with it originally. I had the color calibrated then (2013) and I may have it redone after the firmware update releases slow down. Not complaining about color at all but like to have it professionally calibrated. Slowly, this nightmare seems to be coming to an end (I hope!).

Samsung UN65F9000AF UHD TV
Samsung SEK-2500u 2014 Evolution OCB
Samsung BD-F7500 Blu-Ray
Pioneer VSX-44 AV Receiver 2.0 HDMI
Definitive Technology ProCinema 600 System
Direct TV HR-44 Genie

Last edited by IlliniBird; Today at 07:00 AM.
IlliniBird is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays
Gear in this thread

    Thread Tools
    Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
    Email this Page Email this Page


    Forum Jump: 

    Posting Rules  
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off
    Trackbacks are Off
    Pingbacks are Off
    Refbacks are Off