2014 Samsung SEK-2500U/ZA Evolution Kit and CY-SUC10SH/ZA UHD Video Pack - Page 79 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews > Display Devices > LCD Flat Panel Displays > 2014 Samsung SEK-2500U/ZA Evolution Kit and CY-SUC10SH/ZA UHD Video Pack

LCD Flat Panel Displays

IlliniBird's Avatar IlliniBird
03:33 PM Liked: 32
post #2341 of 3246
08-07-2014 | Posts: 97
Joined: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by robert9674 View Post
So guess what! They sent me the wrong damn cable again.....I got the same cable that came with the old 2013 one connect box. Wow just wow......
I feel your pain!!
Rajhardia's Avatar Rajhardia
03:38 PM Liked: 0
post #2342 of 3246
08-07-2014 | Posts: 6
Joined: May 2011
Anyone know how the get the Indian F9000 model to work with the new connect box bought from US? My TV is on firmware 2010 still with no new update in sight.
sikclown's Avatar sikclown
03:58 PM Liked: 299
post #2343 of 3246
08-07-2014 | Posts: 1,315
Joined: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rajhardia View Post
Anyone know how the get the Indian F9000 model to work with the new connect box bought from US? My TV is on firmware 2010 still with no new update in sight.
What is the full model of your TV? For example, mine is UN65F9000AFXZA.
pettern's Avatar pettern
04:14 PM Liked: 26
post #2344 of 3246
08-07-2014 | Posts: 140
Joined: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by ianjhuk View Post
uk user switched to U.S. for netflix. tried last week switching back and still no netflix.
Try a full reset of the TV, that has helped for some.
Rajhardia's Avatar Rajhardia
04:26 PM Liked: 0
post #2345 of 3246
08-07-2014 | Posts: 6
Joined: May 2011
It's UA55F9000ARMXL. I tried the evolution kit setup with the 2010 firmware but on connecting the new box I'm getting "Please go into service mode and setup below options. - Type, Local Set, Front Color Option." Only the power function from the remotes seem to work.
JSteel's Avatar JSteel
04:42 PM Liked: 43
post #2346 of 3246
08-07-2014 | Posts: 450
Joined: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by robert9674 View Post
So guess what! They sent me the wrong damn cable again.....I got the same cable that came with the old 2013 one connect box. Wow just wow......
Yeah, now I would be really pissed. They had better overnight that sucker for being so darn incompetent!
sikclown's Avatar sikclown
04:46 PM Liked: 299
post #2347 of 3246
08-07-2014 | Posts: 1,315
Joined: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rajhardia View Post
It's UA55F9000ARMXL. I tried the evolution kit setup with the 2010 firmware but on connecting the new box I'm getting "Please go into service mode and setup below options. - Type, Local Set, Front Color Option." Only the power function from the remotes seem to work.
To be clear, your current firmware gives you the option to do a UHD Evolution Kit Backup?
Rajhardia's Avatar Rajhardia
04:48 PM Liked: 0
post #2348 of 3246
08-07-2014 | Posts: 6
Joined: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by sikclown View Post
To be clear, your current firmware gives you the option to do a UHD Evolution Kit Backup?
Yes indeed.
sikclown's Avatar sikclown
05:05 PM Liked: 299
post #2349 of 3246
08-07-2014 | Posts: 1,315
Joined: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rajhardia View Post
Yes indeed.
Hmm not sure why it wants you to go in the Service menu. My only guess is it doesn't like the region code of the US Kit. Maybe try reconnecting the 2013 One Connect Kit, resetting the TV, changing the region to US, then doing another Backup.

https://support.unlocator.com/custom...msung-smart-tv
Rajhardia's Avatar Rajhardia
05:28 PM Liked: 0
post #2350 of 3246
08-07-2014 | Posts: 6
Joined: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by sikclown View Post
Hmm not sure why it wants you to go in the Service menu. My only guess is it doesn't like the region code of the US Kit. Maybe try reconnecting the 2013 One Connect Kit, resetting the TV, changing the region to US, then doing another Backup.

https://support.unlocator.com/custom...msung-smart-tv
I did those steps before but doing them in the sequence you mentioned still shows the same thing. All it seems I can do at this point now is hope for a new firmware I guess.
sikclown's Avatar sikclown
06:22 PM Liked: 299
post #2351 of 3246
08-07-2014 | Posts: 1,315
Joined: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rajhardia View Post
I did those steps before but doing them in the sequence you mentioned still shows the same thing. All it seems I can do at this point now is hope for a new firmware I guess.
If your TV has the UHD Evolution Backup in the menu then you have the latest firmware. You just may not be able to use the US Kit.
pettern's Avatar pettern
03:50 AM Liked: 26
post #2352 of 3246
08-08-2014 | Posts: 140
Joined: May 2011
New firmware version 1151.7 is out for the U8500 (EU model) and hence the evolution kit. I haven't downloaded it yet.
tom2606
11:45 AM Liked: 0
post #2353 of 3246
08-08-2014 | Posts: 4
Joined: Aug 2014
I spent several hours last night trying to get 5.1 at netflix and now read through the last 30 pages of this thread.
I am really frustrated, at the beginning I thought ok it's an App-issue, but now I see that the issue is fixed for most people here.

I have an UN65HU8550, using the ARC to got to my onkyo tx-sr508.
now my xbox, boxee both play nice dolby 5.1.

my xfinity X1 gives me sound from the rear speakrs, eventhough it is not dolby 5.1, but I am ok, I am only watching sports on the TV and I guess that's more an comcast/receiver issue, not the TV's issue.

but I can't get any sound of my rear speakers with those damn samsung smart hub apps.

I a dolby test video on youtube and I watched house of cards, selected the 5.1 channel.
I put the setting in my TV to "dolby digital", and my receiver is showing me dolby logo, but the rear speakers stay quiet, no sound at all.

should I try optical audio? I will buy a cable later today just in case.
I really don't know what to do, can anybody help me with this?
rlb's Avatar rlb
12:04 PM Liked: 257
post #2354 of 3246
08-08-2014 | Posts: 3,664
Joined: Apr 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom2606 View Post
I spent several hours last night trying to get 5.1 at netflix and now read through the last 30 pages of this thread.
I am really frustrated, at the beginning I thought ok it's an App-issue, but now I see that the issue is fixed for most people here.

I have an UN65HU8550, using the ARC to got to my onkyo tx-sr508.
now my xbox, boxee both play nice dolby 5.1.

my xfinity X1 gives me sound from the rear speakrs, eventhough it is not dolby 5.1, but I am ok, I am only watching sports on the TV and I guess that's more an comcast/receiver issue, not the TV's issue.

but I can't get any sound of my rear speakers with those damn samsung smart hub apps.

I a dolby test video on youtube and I watched house of cards, selected the 5.1 channel.
I put the setting in my TV to "dolby digital", and my receiver is showing me dolby logo, but the rear speakers stay quiet, no sound at all.

should I try optical audio? I will buy a cable later today just in case.
I really don't know what to do, can anybody help me with this?

Possibility: Start playing a DD 5.1 movie with Netflix app. Go to menu/sound/additional settings/audio format and ensure that dolby digital is selected.
sikclown's Avatar sikclown
12:05 PM Liked: 299
post #2355 of 3246
08-08-2014 | Posts: 1,315
Joined: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom2606 View Post
I spent several hours last night trying to get 5.1 at netflix and now read through the last 30 pages of this thread.
I am really frustrated, at the beginning I thought ok it's an App-issue, but now I see that the issue is fixed for most people here.

I have an UN65HU8550, using the ARC to got to my onkyo tx-sr508.
now my xbox, boxee both play nice dolby 5.1.

my xfinity X1 gives me sound from the rear speakrs, eventhough it is not dolby 5.1, but I am ok, I am only watching sports on the TV and I guess that's more an comcast/receiver issue, not the TV's issue.

but I can't get any sound of my rear speakers with those damn samsung smart hub apps.

I a dolby test video on youtube and I watched house of cards, selected the 5.1 channel.
I put the setting in my TV to "dolby digital", and my receiver is showing me dolby logo, but the rear speakers stay quiet, no sound at all.

should I try optical audio? I will buy a cable later today just in case.
I really don't know what to do, can anybody help me with this?
So to be clear, you are in Netflix and when you start a 5.1 title you paused it, clicked on Audio & Subtitles, and made sure Dolby 5.1 was chosen? Then you also went into the Samsung Sound menu and Chose Dolby Digital rather than PCM? Is the reciever selected as the output device? What other Apps are you trying? You can try Optical just to troubleshoot and it may work. Not sure why ARC would only output 2 channels of sound. Wait, unless you have a much older HDMI Cable. You can always try a newer cable rated for ARC and 3D.
tom2606
12:07 PM Liked: 0
post #2356 of 3246
08-08-2014 | Posts: 4
Joined: Aug 2014
unfortunately none of this.
I checked it all.

- I have a brand new HDMI cable
- I have set "dolby digital", not "PCM"
- I have set the netflix app to the "dolby 5.1 channel" at the bottom of the app.
sikclown's Avatar sikclown
01:04 PM Liked: 299
post #2357 of 3246
08-08-2014 | Posts: 1,315
Joined: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom2606 View Post
unfortunately none of this.
I checked it all.

- I have a brand new HDMI cable
- I have set "dolby digital", not "PCM"
- I have set the netflix app to the "dolby 5.1 channel" at the bottom of the app.
Could be something with the Onkyo. I have heard they can have some funky HDMI issues but typically it would show an issue in video as well. Definitely try optical which will tell you one of two things: If it works with optical then your apps are fine and it is an HDMI ARC issue but if it doesn't work then it could be a SmartHub/Samsung issue and you may want to reset the TV and SmartHub to factory default and set everything up again (pain in the rear).
tom2606
11:21 PM Liked: 0
post #2358 of 3246
08-08-2014 | Posts: 4
Joined: Aug 2014
I did a smart-hub reset and then put the "power control" for ARC in my A/V receiver to on, now it's working.
I don't know which of the two fixed it, but I am not touching again
thanks for the help!
sikclown's Avatar sikclown
01:07 AM Liked: 299
post #2359 of 3246
08-09-2014 | Posts: 1,315
Joined: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom2606 View Post
I did a smart-hub reset and then put the "power control" for ARC in my A/V receiver to on, now it's working.
I don't know which of the two fixed it, but I am not touching again
thanks for the help!
Let's say both fixed it and call it a day Glad it is all fixed and now you can enjoy great sound!
dannybee's Avatar dannybee
04:49 AM Liked: 23
post #2360 of 3246
08-09-2014 | Posts: 83
Joined: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rajhardia View Post
It's UA55F9000ARMXL. I tried the evolution kit setup with the 2010 firmware but on connecting the new box I'm getting "Please go into service mode and setup below options. - Type, Local Set, Front Color Option." Only the power function from the remotes seem to work.
Its because your usa tuner is not compatible thats all, does it only have it up for a couple of seconds if so dont worry about .
ianjhuk's Avatar ianjhuk
05:41 AM Liked: 17
post #2361 of 3246
08-09-2014 | Posts: 55
Joined: Jan 2014
finally got Netflix in UK. switched yesterday from U.S. apps and then downloaded from apps store. be patient as errors initially probably as still installing all other useless apps.
OutfieldDan's Avatar OutfieldDan
01:09 PM Liked: 21
post #2362 of 3246
08-09-2014 | Posts: 33
Joined: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by pettern View Post
New firmware version 1151.7 is out for the U8500 (EU model) and hence the evolution kit. I haven't downloaded it yet.
What does this firmware do? What enhancements or fixes are there?
wingizzmo's Avatar wingizzmo
01:33 PM Liked: 27
post #2363 of 3246
08-09-2014 | Posts: 77
Joined: May 2014
Good question ? What does the latest firmware do hope its for the rvu
Rajhardia's Avatar Rajhardia
02:50 PM Liked: 0
post #2364 of 3246
08-09-2014 | Posts: 6
Joined: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by dannybee View Post
Its because your usa tuner is not compatible thats all, does it only have it up for a couple of seconds if so dont worry about .
Thanks for the response guys. I finally got both my box and UHD Video Pack working. For me, a successful setup of Evolution Kit screen never showed up instead I got a "go to service menu" notification which did disappear after few seconds. It was only after going through Samsung UK support that I came to know how to activate the new remote. I did assume the remote was to function right out of the box. Having previously changed to region US with setup all the while being connected to a VPN network with US IP, I was successfully able to update to a newer firmware with the new box. I also did encounter this huge issue of unbearable flickering with the cable supplied which was fixed by swapping with the old one. Hope this helps guys contemplating getting the US kit for their non-US sets.
pettern's Avatar pettern
11:11 PM Liked: 26
post #2365 of 3246
08-09-2014 | Posts: 140
Joined: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by OutfieldDan View Post
What does this firmware do? What enhancements or fixes are there?
Good question. Samsung doesn't seem to release changelogs.
Jardaani's Avatar Jardaani
04:42 AM Liked: 7
post #2366 of 3246
08-10-2014 | Posts: 27
Joined: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by ianjhuk View Post
finally got Netflix in UK. switched yesterday from U.S. apps and then downloaded from apps store. be patient as errors initially probably as still installing all other useless apps.
Same here in Finland. Updated to 1151.7 and did factory reset (in service menu) and got Netflix. Finally.
IlliniBird's Avatar IlliniBird
07:24 PM Liked: 32
post #2367 of 3246
08-10-2014 | Posts: 97
Joined: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by wingizzmo View Post
Good question ? What does the latest firmware do hope its for the rvu
My set did the firmware update and the picture, once again, looks worse to me. It says 1151.4 on the firmware and picture just isn't that good. Anybody else on the latest firmware and feel the picture is worse?
priuscat's Avatar priuscat
07:36 PM Liked: 69
post #2368 of 3246
08-10-2014 | Posts: 415
Joined: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by IlliniBird View Post
My set did the firmware update and the picture, once again, looks worse to me. It says 1150.4 on the firmware and picture just isn't that good. Anybody else on the latest firmware and feel the picture is worse?
The firmware 1150.5 (not 1150.4) updated on my TV in July. I haven't noticed any change, but I think the firmware was to improve browser speed. And Apps fixes.
IlliniBird's Avatar IlliniBird
07:45 PM Liked: 32
post #2369 of 3246
08-10-2014 | Posts: 97
Joined: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by priuscat View Post
The firmware 1150.5 (not 1150.4) updated on my TV in July. I haven't noticed any change, but I think the firmware was to improve browser speed. And Apps fixes.
Mine says 1151.4. I'm not sure what version it was prior to this one but the picture seemed better. Haven't been into browser.
priuscat's Avatar priuscat
08:54 PM Liked: 69
post #2370 of 3246
08-10-2014 | Posts: 415
Joined: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by IlliniBird View Post
Mine says 1150.4. I'm not sure what version it was prior to this one but the picture seemed better. Haven't been into browser.
So the .1 (1150.4 +.1) improved the picture? Lol

Gear in this thread - SEK-2500U by PriceGrabber.com
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3