Official 2014 Vizio Mxxx-Bx Series owners thread - Page 32 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 279Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #931 of 3607 Old 06-26-2014, 11:54 AM
Member
 
Andy_H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Schaumburg, Illinois
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by eric3316 View Post
Without a meter you are never touching any color, white balance or gamma settings. This is not something that can be set by eye. You need a meter for that. No if, ands or buts.
When I get a blue filter with Spears & Munsil and I try to match the blues on the screen so that the differences between the two blues disappears (when viewed through the filter), what am I correcting?
Andy_H is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #932 of 3607 Old 06-26-2014, 11:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
primetimeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 4,201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 368 Post(s)
Liked: 207
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy_H View Post
When I get a blue filter with Spears & Munsil and I try to match the blues on the screen so that the differences between the two blues disappears (when viewed through the filter), what am I correcting?
Yes, you are setting color and that is the best you can do without a meter and software. That assumes that all colors behave the same as blue, the blue being displayed is actually an accurate blue and the filter you are looking through is accurate. Most of the time though it does get you pretty close. Essentially you are setting the amount of color added to a b&w image. If the color is not accurate you need a meter and software to tweak the actual color itself.
primetimeguy is online now  
post #933 of 3607 Old 06-26-2014, 12:10 PM
Member
 
herfavoritedj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cabby View Post
People think I'm crazy when I say this, but I think it's a product of how it was shipped and/or sitting in a warehouse before it got to you. If you got the one that's been laying on it's back with 25 others on top of it, it's going to look like ass when you get it. I always buy sets from Costco because they typically ship, store, display their TV's upright. Of course there are exceptions, but I kinda like pulling the TV I want from the pallet directly standing straight up in the middle of Costco. I would never buy a TV online and have someone else ship it to my house. God only knows what's happening to that thing before it gets to you.
this is an excellent point.
herfavoritedj is offline  
post #934 of 3607 Old 06-26-2014, 12:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
eric3316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3,535
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 778 Post(s)
Liked: 949
Quote:
Originally Posted by primetimeguy View Post
Yes, you are setting color and that is the best you can do without a meter and software. That assumes that all colors behave the same as blue, the blue being displayed is actually an accurate blue and the filter you are looking through is accurate. Most of the time though it does get you pretty close. Essentially you are setting the amount of color added to a b&w image. If the color is not accurate you need a meter and software to tweak the actual color itself.
LOL, this doesn't get you close to anything. Odds are the default setting for this will be correct and should not be touched anyway. Blue glasses also have a tendency to not be accurate also. Some TVs like Samsung have a blue mode which are better to use then using the glasses.

If your setting is right on a blue tint it should not be mistaken that your colors are accurate. Not even close. Here is a video of a calibration if you want to watch it. You can see what they set without a meter and then how they set colors with the meter.



Last edited by eric3316; 06-27-2014 at 04:17 AM.
eric3316 is offline  
post #935 of 3607 Old 06-26-2014, 12:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
primetimeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 4,201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 368 Post(s)
Liked: 207
Quote:
Originally Posted by eric3316 View Post
LOL, this doesn't get you close to anything. Odds are the default setting for this will be correct and should not be touched anyway. Blue glasses also have a tendency to not be accurate also. Some TVs like Samsung have a blue mode which are better to use then using the glasses.

If your setting is right on a blue tint it should not be mistaken that your colors are accurate. Not even close. Here is a video of a calibration if you want to watch it. You can see what they set without a meter and then how they set colors with the meter.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eqWd8qs9YAk#t=2544
LOL, apparently you missed my first statement being "Yes, you are setting color and that is the best you can do without a meter and software". Without a meter it is better than nothing. Outside of calibration it is the closest you can get.
primetimeguy is online now  
post #936 of 3607 Old 06-26-2014, 12:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
eric3316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3,535
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 778 Post(s)
Liked: 949
Quote:
Originally Posted by primetimeguy View Post
LOL, apparently you missed my first statement being "Yes, you are setting color and that is the best you can do without a meter and software". Without a meter it is better than nothing. Outside of calibration it is the closest you can get.
Odds are your tint is already correctly set from the factory. If you see a red push or a green push on your TV, you are not going to fix it with changing the tint and using blue glasses. Especially after you see the tint is setup correctly. Then what are you going to do?

I obviously agree no one is going to spend the money on a calibration for this TV. It pretty much is what it is. You can get the $20 disc and improve some aspects of your PQ but just don't expect to improve the colors. Plus you have no idea of knowing how off your colors even are. You cannot tell this by eye. Someone might think their TV looks spot on and then measuring it with a meter can then show you have errors of 9 or above on every color. It is something you just will not know. The thing is to get the TV to where it looks good to you even if that means using someone else's settings. If it looks good to you then that is all that matters. Just don't ever think you have a calibrated or accurate picture because the odds are you most definitely do not.

Last edited by eric3316; 06-26-2014 at 01:29 PM.
eric3316 is offline  
post #937 of 3607 Old 06-26-2014, 01:10 PM
Member
 
Andy_H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Schaumburg, Illinois
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by baniels View Post
Well... it's interesting. This manual is for both the M602-B3 and the M702i-B3. The manual linked on the 602 page is ONLY for the 602 and it shows 350 nits. Since this new manual is not officially published, it could simply be an error, or filled with some dummy data. Or someone pasted the refresh rate in the wrong field.
I was looking at the support pages again and it appears that now the official linked version for the M602i-B3 has changed to the version containing both 602 & 702, with 240 nits listed for both, unless my browser is doing some weird caching.

M652i-B2 is listed at 400 nits. When would the difference between 240 nits and 400 nits be noticeable?
Andy_H is offline  
post #938 of 3607 Old 06-26-2014, 01:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
primetimeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 4,201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 368 Post(s)
Liked: 207
Quote:
Originally Posted by eric3316 View Post
Odds are your tint is already correctly set from the factory. If you see a red push or a green push on your TV, you are not going to fix it with changing the tint and using blue glasses. Especially after you see the tint is setup correctly. Then what are you going to do?

I obviously agree no one is going to spend the money on a calibration for this TV. It pretty much is what it is. You can get the $20 disc and improve some aspects of your PQ but just don't expect to improve the colors. Plus you have no idea of knowing how off your colors even are. You cannot tell this by eye. Someone might think their TV looks spot on and then measuring it with a meter can then show you have errors of 9 or above on every color. It is something you just will not know. The thing is to get the TV to where it looks good to you even if that means using someone else's settings. If it looks good to you then that is all that matters. Just don't every think you have a calibrated or accurate picture because the odds are you most definitely do not.
I agree with you.
primetimeguy is online now  
post #939 of 3607 Old 06-26-2014, 01:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
baniels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: SE Iowa
Posts: 1,124
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Oh, interesting. It's not your browser - you are right.

I kind of thought the new one was inaccurate, but maybe the old 602i manual was inaccurate (we already know it was incomplete with a few TBD field entries).

The old 602i-only manual was created Feb 25, long before it was published on their site.

The 702i manual found last week was created on 5/22, a month before it was seen.

The new 602i manual was created just yesterday and it has only one substantive difference. The new 602i manual lists 69.50" viewable area for the 70. The 702i manual lists 70".

As for your question, I don't know the answer. @fafrd suggested 240 nits would be too dim for daytime viewing with motion smoothing/backlight scanning enabled.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy_H View Post
I was looking at the support pages again and it appears that now the official linked version for the M602i-B3 has changed to the version containing both 602 & 702, with 240 nits listed for both, unless my browser is doing some weird caching.

M652i-B2 is listed at 400 nits. When would the difference between 240 nits and 400 nits be noticeable?
baniels is offline  
post #940 of 3607 Old 06-26-2014, 01:35 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Stereodude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Detroit Metro Area
Posts: 11,766
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1645 Post(s)
Liked: 1080
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy_H View Post
M652i-B2 is listed at 400 nits. When would the difference between 240 nits and 400 nits be noticeable?
When you try to calibrate them above 240nits.
Stereodude is online now  
post #941 of 3607 Old 06-26-2014, 02:28 PM
Member
 
herfavoritedj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by primetimeguy View Post
LOL, apparently you missed my first statement being "Yes, you are setting color and that is the best you can do without a meter and software". Without a meter it is better than nothing. Outside of calibration it is the closest you can get.
after watching that video, I can just imagine how off my set must be.
herfavoritedj is offline  
post #942 of 3607 Old 06-27-2014, 07:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
FAUguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: FL
Posts: 707
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 19
For those of you having an issue with the remote, have you tried a universal remote (such as a Logitech Harmony) to see if it works OK?
FAUguy is offline  
post #943 of 3607 Old 06-27-2014, 07:43 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 11,897
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2194 Post(s)
Liked: 1057
Quote:
Originally Posted by FAUguy View Post
For those of you having an issue with the remote, have you tried a universal remote (such as a Logitech Harmony) to see if it works OK?

Try turning off the front LED. This solution was posted by another member this past week.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Ph8te is online now  
post #944 of 3607 Old 06-27-2014, 08:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
FAUguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: FL
Posts: 707
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
Try turning off the front LED. This solution was posted by another member this past week.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I don't have this TV yet, but do use a Harmony remote, so was wondering if using it still had the remote issue.
FAUguy is offline  
post #945 of 3607 Old 06-27-2014, 08:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
venus933's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 477 Post(s)
Liked: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by FAUguy View Post
I don't have this TV yet, but do use a Harmony remote, so was wondering if using it still had the remote issue.
When I had my 3 Vizios last year (all were the 50" M series) the original remotes never left their packaging and I had no issues whatsoever with the Harmony 600. I'm pretty sure the same would apply to the 2014 model line up.

Samsung PN51F8500
Samsung PN60E7000
OPPO BDP-103 Universal Disc Player
Vizio SB4051-C0 Soundbar w/wireless Subwoofer
venus933 is online now  
post #946 of 3607 Old 06-27-2014, 10:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
TheCrow1994's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Just got my 49" delivered via UPS.
jasenj1 likes this.
TheCrow1994 is offline  
post #947 of 3607 Old 06-27-2014, 11:00 AM
Member
 
Cabby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: JAX
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCrow1994 View Post
Just got my 49" delivered via UPS.
Damn that thing looks like it took a beating, good luck!
TheCrow1994 likes this.
Cabby is offline  
post #948 of 3607 Old 06-27-2014, 12:05 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
new 70 inch m series

Is there any way of finding out when the 2014 70 inch m series will be delivered to stores (Model M702i)?
jgm222 is offline  
post #949 of 3607 Old 06-27-2014, 12:07 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Stereodude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Detroit Metro Area
Posts: 11,766
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1645 Post(s)
Liked: 1080
Quote:
Originally Posted by jgm222 View Post
Is there any way of finding out when the 2014 70 inch m series will be delivered to stores (Model M702i)?
Kidnapping some Vizio employees and refusing to release them until you get that information is probably your best bet.
Stereodude is online now  
post #950 of 3607 Old 06-27-2014, 12:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
baniels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: SE Iowa
Posts: 1,124
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Haha. They'd still tell you to, "Feel free to join our mailing list at VIZIO.com to stay up to date on product information and releases!"

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stereodude View Post
Kidnapping some Vizio employees and refusing to release them until you get that information is probably your best bet.
Ph8te likes this.
baniels is offline  
post #951 of 3607 Old 06-27-2014, 12:12 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 11,897
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2194 Post(s)
Liked: 1057
Quote:
Originally Posted by jgm222 View Post
Is there any way of finding out when the 2014 70 inch m series will be delivered to stores (Model M702i)?

Jump in a Delorean and hit 88mph.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Ph8te is online now  
post #952 of 3607 Old 06-27-2014, 12:20 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Stereodude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Detroit Metro Area
Posts: 11,766
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1645 Post(s)
Liked: 1080
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
Jump in a Delorean and hit 88mph.
You'll need to take it to Dr. Emmit Brown for some modifications first though. You may have to provide your own plutonium also.
Ph8te likes this.
Stereodude is online now  
post #953 of 3607 Old 06-27-2014, 12:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
venus933's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 477 Post(s)
Liked: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by jgm222 View Post
Is there any way of finding out when the 2014 70 inch m series will be delivered to stores (Model M702i)?
So unless you're willing to commit a major felony or have a Delorean the answer is no.

There will be a day when the 70" will magically appear on Vizio's storefront and based upon past patterns it will some days later start showing up at retailers.

Samsung PN51F8500
Samsung PN60E7000
OPPO BDP-103 Universal Disc Player
Vizio SB4051-C0 Soundbar w/wireless Subwoofer
venus933 is online now  
post #954 of 3607 Old 06-27-2014, 03:24 PM
Senior Member
 
rtn5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by migl View Post
I ordered the 65" M from Vizio on the 10th and received it on the 18th. I'm still in process of setting it up , routing cables and finally calibrating it.

My initial impressions are decent build quality. Smart TV apps are slow to respond and I managed to crash it once already, not a big deal, since I'm using an apple tv/fire tv/xbox for my streaming needs. I'm not happy with picture settings out of the box, I can see individual dimming zones on bright white items, but I'm guessing that's an artifact of the backlight setting too high on the the preset mode I'm using.

I'll report back on viewing angles and my impressions after I've calibrated the set using the WOW disk.

I've replaced a 9 year old Panasonic Plasma 50" that was easily 3 times the expense of this, so my expectations are tempered by that.
Whatever happened with your set?
rtn5000 is offline  
post #955 of 3607 Old 06-27-2014, 06:06 PM
Member
 
herfavoritedj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by FAUguy View Post
For those of you having an issue with the remote, have you tried a universal remote (such as a Logitech Harmony) to see if it works OK?
works fine.
herfavoritedj is offline  
post #956 of 3607 Old 06-27-2014, 06:10 PM
Member
 
herfavoritedj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by eric3316 View Post
LOL, this doesn't get you close to anything. Odds are the default setting for this will be correct and should not be touched anyway. Blue glasses also have a tendency to not be accurate also. Some TVs like Samsung have a blue mode which are better to use then using the glasses.

If your setting is right on a blue tint it should not be mistaken that your colors are accurate. Not even close. Here is a video of a calibration if you want to watch it. You can see what they set without a meter and then how they set colors with the meter.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eqWd8qs9YAk
I can just imagine how off my set must be.
herfavoritedj is offline  
post #957 of 3607 Old 06-27-2014, 09:18 PM
Senior Member
 
MarkAELSU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Ha my box looked even worse than that. And no driver called me to setup a delivery. Just ups showed up at my door and I didn't even have to sign anything.

Tv is thicker than id like but oh well. The cnet settings look like absolute washed out garbage but like other posters said, each tv is unique. Anxious to see other people's settings
MarkAELSU is offline  
post #958 of 3607 Old 06-28-2014, 07:09 AM
Newbie
 
flutie98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCrow1994 View Post
Just got my 49" delivered via UPS.
Please post some impression of your 49". This is the size I was debating and you are the only one so far to post owning one
flutie98 is offline  
post #959 of 3607 Old 06-28-2014, 07:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
MoInSTL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Edmundson, MO (STL)
Posts: 928
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by eric3316 View Post
I obviously agree no one is going to spend the money on a calibration for this TV.
Well I am. But I am also getting a discount as I am a repeat customer. I want it to look as good as it can. I am planning on it mid to late July.

Edit: Have the M602i-B3.

Last edited by MoInSTL; 06-28-2014 at 07:38 AM.
MoInSTL is offline  
post #960 of 3607 Old 06-28-2014, 08:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 8,344
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 503 Post(s)
Liked: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkAELSU View Post
Ha my box looked even worse than that. And no driver called me to setup a delivery. Just ups showed up at my door and I didn't even have to sign anything.

Tv is thicker than id like but oh well. The cnet settings look like absolute washed out garbage but like other posters said, each tv is unique. Anxious to see other people's settings
Why don't you get a disk a adjust your own settings? That's the best way to dial in your tv in your viewing environment.
Otto Pylot is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off