**Official 2014 Vizio M652i-B2 owners thread - Page 3 - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Display Devices > LCD Flat Panel Displays > **Official 2014 Vizio M652i-B2 owners thread

LCD Flat Panel Displays

smeg36's Avatar smeg36
01:01 PM Liked: 37
post #61 of 493
07-28-2014 | Posts: 451
Joined: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slates View Post
Great, thanks. So that gives me just under 2 inches of horizontal space to work with, or 55.7 in to be exact.. think my opening is just over 56 inches... I will be cutting it close for sure!

However, if it works.. I will claim really good planning.
I just measured mine. It is exactly 13mm, or 0.512", on either side. That gives you just over 1" of total horizontal space to work with.
Slates's Avatar Slates
01:07 PM Liked: 10
post #62 of 493
07-28-2014 | Posts: 147
Joined: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by smeg36 View Post
I just measured mine. It is exactly 13mm, or 0.512", on either side. That gives you just over 1" of total horizontal space to work with.
Thanks so much for taking the time. That helps a lot. That puts me at 56.4 inches.. so I would be cutting off a tad bit of screen with the setup..

I may have to resort to buying it to test how it looks, and then take full advantage of Costco's liberal return policy if it doesn't work out.
antman006's Avatar antman006
01:07 PM Liked: 15
post #63 of 493
07-28-2014 | Posts: 96
Joined: Oct 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by ripper2020 View Post
Thanks, I got mine working late last night...probably did the same thing without realizing it. I just turned on EVERY option related to ARC I could find on both receiver and tv and eventually it started working.
What kind of Yamaha do you have. For the life of me, I've tried everything and can't get it to pass audio.
ripper2020's Avatar ripper2020
01:15 PM Liked: 13
post #64 of 493
07-28-2014 | Posts: 36
Joined: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by antman006 View Post
What kind of Yamaha do you have. For the life of me, I've tried everything and can't get it to pass audio.
It's a Yamaha RX-V867. I'm actually an idiot and didn't know the TV only had one HDMI port that did ARC (HDMI 1). That was a big part of the problem for me...I originally had it on hdmi 3.

Also, doing this from memory, but in the CEC menu of the TV, there is a devices option I believe...your receiver should show up in there.
antman006's Avatar antman006
01:41 PM Liked: 15
post #65 of 493
07-28-2014 | Posts: 96
Joined: Oct 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by ripper2020 View Post
It's a Yamaha RX-V867. I'm actually an idiot and didn't know the TV only had one HDMI port that did ARC (HDMI 1). That was a big part of the problem for me...I originally had it on hdmi 3.

Also, doing this from memory, but in the CEC menu of the TV, there is a devices option I believe...your receiver should show up in there.
Now I can't wait to get home and see which HDMI I'm using.
smeg36's Avatar smeg36
01:58 PM Liked: 37
post #66 of 493
07-29-2014 | Posts: 451
Joined: Feb 2008
My rental meter (a X-Rite Colormunki Photo spectrometer from lensrentals.com) should arrive tomorrow. I'll try to get the settings as accurate as I can over a few days of calibrating, then post my results, with the usual caveat that every TV's panel varies and what is accurate for mine won't be for yours.

I've been pretty happy with the picture quality so far, and that's saying a lot because I was coming from a Panasonic ST60 plasma. The only issue I've noticed is banding during motion when watching sports. I've tried MBR on and off, motion smoothing on and off, Active LED Zones on and off, and can't really lessen the banding. I'm hoping calibrating will help, but am thinking it won't. It's been a long time since I owned a LCD, and am not sure if this is typical LCD banding, or worse than usual. Everything else, blu-rays in particular, looks fantastic.
Slates's Avatar Slates
08:22 AM Liked: 10
post #67 of 493
07-30-2014 | Posts: 147
Joined: Sep 2010
Probably not news.. but its now active online at Costco:

http://www.costco.com/Vizio-65%22-Cl...100123926.html
ripper2020's Avatar ripper2020
09:38 AM Liked: 13
post #68 of 493
07-30-2014 | Posts: 36
Joined: Feb 2009
So after spending some time with the TV (and throwing away the box ) I've noticed some strange banding issues, not even sure that's the right term. It's definitely not terrible and I could live with it...I'm just curious if it's how the TV is, or if I have a defective one and it's worth trying to get a new one. I'll attach some pictures but also wanted to give a brief explanation. It looks like there are darker bars / strips that run vertically up and down the TV. I notice it more on lighter backgrounds and when it pans on the screen. For example, a light sky background. I've also noticed it when launching netflix through the vizio app. Edit - just to clarify on netflix it's towards the bottom. Again, it's not super obvious and it could just be how the TV is built, just looking for feedback from others. Thanks in advance.
Attached: IMG_20140729_221351373_HDR.jpg (104.5 KB)  IMG_20140729_221223368_HDR.jpg (91.9 KB)  IMG_20140729_220924623_HDR.jpg (102.6 KB)  IMG_20140729_220013636.jpg (77.0 KB) 
sytech's Avatar sytech
09:48 AM Liked: 245
post #69 of 493
07-30-2014 | Posts: 1,357
Joined: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by ripper2020 View Post
So after spending some time with the TV (and throwing away the box ) I've noticed some strange banding issues, not even sure that's the right term. It's definitely not terrible and I could live with it...I'm just curious if it's how the TV is, or if I have a defective one and it's worth trying to get a new one. I'll attach some pictures but also wanted to give a brief explanation. It looks like there are darker bars / strips that run vertically up and down the TV. I notice it more on lighter backgrounds and when it pans on the screen. For example, a light sky background. I've also noticed it when launching netflix through the vizio app. Again, it's not super obvious and it could just be how the TV is built, just looking for feedback from others. Thanks in advance.
Don't know if you would call it vertical banding or DSE, but it looks obvious to me and I would not accept that performance from a brand new tv. You can try to clean the screen with a non scratching cloth and wipe the screen with medium pressure as that sometimes helps clouding.
smeg36's Avatar smeg36
10:03 AM Liked: 37
post #70 of 493
07-30-2014 | Posts: 451
Joined: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by ripper2020 View Post
So after spending some time with the TV (and throwing away the box ) I've noticed some strange banding issues, not even sure that's the right term. It's definitely not terrible and I could live with it...I'm just curious if it's how the TV is, or if I have a defective one and it's worth trying to get a new one. I'll attach some pictures but also wanted to give a brief explanation. It looks like there are darker bars / strips that run vertically up and down the TV. I notice it more on lighter backgrounds and when it pans on the screen. For example, a light sky background. I've also noticed it when launching netflix through the vizio app. Edit - just to clarify on netflix it's towards the bottom. Again, it's not super obvious and it could just be how the TV is built, just looking for feedback from others. Thanks in advance.
I have the same thing, and have also been trying to figure out if mine is bad, or if I'm just so used to plasma that I am very sensative. Yours looks much worse than mine. It shows up most noticeably on mine with a 40% grey window. The only content I see it in is during panning of sports. It's annoying, and I'm hoping I get used to it, or at least over it.
Attached: IMG_3993.jpg (144.1 KB) 
Ph8te's Avatar Ph8te
11:01 AM Liked: 619
post #71 of 493
07-30-2014 | Posts: 10,078
Joined: Oct 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by ripper2020 View Post
So after spending some time with the TV (and throwing away the box ) I've noticed some strange banding issues, not even sure that's the right term. It's definitely not terrible and I could live with it...I'm just curious if it's how the TV is, or if I have a defective one and it's worth trying to get a new one. I'll attach some pictures but also wanted to give a brief explanation. It looks like there are darker bars / strips that run vertically up and down the TV. I notice it more on lighter backgrounds and when it pans on the screen. For example, a light sky background. I've also noticed it when launching netflix through the vizio app. Edit - just to clarify on netflix it's towards the bottom. Again, it's not super obvious and it could just be how the TV is built, just looking for feedback from others. Thanks in advance.

I'd call Vizio personally or change my set. You won't know until you call to find out. Also don't forget to post your settings.
ripper2020's Avatar ripper2020
11:44 AM Liked: 13
post #72 of 493
07-30-2014 | Posts: 36
Joined: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by smeg36 View Post
I have the same thing, and have also been trying to figure out if mine is bad, or if I'm just so used to plasma that I am very sensative. Yours looks much worse than mine. It shows up most noticeably on mine with a 40% grey window. The only content I see it in is during panning of sports. It's annoying, and I'm hoping I get used to it, or at least over it.
Coming from a plasma as well. It doesn't bother me too much...and I'm not going to spend 3k+ for the samsung 8500 series. Just curious if it's all panels or even worth returning. I played with my camera settings to make these pretty obvious...looking at it in person it's not quite as bad. I guess that's what I'm looking to find out, is it every panel and some people are just more sensitive to it than others? I'll probably try contacting vizio and amazon to see if it's even possible to return without the box.
Ph8te's Avatar Ph8te
12:12 PM Liked: 619
post #73 of 493
07-30-2014 | Posts: 10,078
Joined: Oct 2005
Amazon will take it without the box if your prime. Since packing material removal is on of their "services". Vizio will most likely send out a tech and if a replacement is needed no box is required.

As far as what you are seeing banding may be something you have to live with at least in part. What are your settings? There may be a way to lessen what you are seeing via the settings
ripper2020's Avatar ripper2020
12:23 PM Liked: 13
post #74 of 493
07-30-2014 | Posts: 36
Joined: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
Amazon will take it without the box if your prime. Since packing material removal is on of their "services". Vizio will most likely send out a tech and if a replacement is needed no box is required.

As far as what you are seeing banding may be something you have to live with at least in part. What are your settings? There may be a way to lessen what you are seeing via the settings
I'll post my settings when I get home, thank you. If I have the option to return to Amazon, can anyone recommend anything comparable at this price? I.E. a 65" TV for around $1500? Preferably without the banding issues.
Ph8te's Avatar Ph8te
12:28 PM Liked: 619
post #75 of 493
07-30-2014 | Posts: 10,078
Joined: Oct 2005
I think you'd have to go to plasma for that. From what I've seen the other sets in this price bracket have banding and other issues. Was looking at the 850a, but decided against it.
smeg36's Avatar smeg36
03:47 PM Liked: 37
post #76 of 493
07-30-2014 | Posts: 451
Joined: Feb 2008
I just spent 6 hours calibrating mine. I still have some minor adjustments to make, but had to stop for the day. I'll post my results when I'm completely done. For now I was able to get everything around or below a 1 dE except blue primary, which I couldn't get below 5 for some reason. I'm trying to figure out if I did something wrong with blue. The results look fantastic in my brief viewing so far.
ripper2020's Avatar ripper2020
04:01 PM Liked: 13
post #77 of 493
07-30-2014 | Posts: 36
Joined: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
I think you'd have to go to plasma for that. From what I've seen the other sets in this price bracket have banding and other issues. Was looking at the 850a, but decided against it.
That's what I'm trying to determine. If all vizios have this issue I'll probably just return and get the 60" samsung plasma but I'd rather try and get a better quality version of the one I already have considering how much cheaper it would be.
Ph8te's Avatar Ph8te
04:14 PM Liked: 619
post #78 of 493
07-30-2014 | Posts: 10,078
Joined: Oct 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by ripper2020 View Post
That's what I'm trying to determine. If all vizios have this issue I'll probably just return and get the 60" samsung plasma but I'd rather try and get a better quality version of the one I already have considering how much cheaper it would be.

Could be a number of things which makes it difficult to determine. I think a certain amount of "banding" may just be something you live with at this price point.
8whosnext8
05:57 PM Liked: 0
post #79 of 493
07-30-2014 | Posts: 2
Joined: Jul 2014
I am sure these are in here somewhere but I haven't been able to find them. Would someone please give me some professional settings for the 60" M series please. Thank you
Ph8te's Avatar Ph8te
05:59 PM Liked: 619
post #80 of 493
07-30-2014 | Posts: 10,078
Joined: Oct 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by 8whosnext8 View Post
I am sure these are in here somewhere but I haven't been able to find them. Would someone please give me some professional settings for the 60" M series please. Thank you

Check the main M series thread. This one is specifically for the 65" settings posted here won't work for the 60.
ripper2020's Avatar ripper2020
06:00 PM Liked: 13
post #81 of 493
07-30-2014 | Posts: 36
Joined: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
Could be a number of things which makes it difficult to determine. I think a certain amount of "banding" may just be something you live with at this price point.
Here's my settings:
Auto Brightness Control - off
Backlight 45
Brightness 50
Contrast 70
Color 50
Tint 0
Sharpness 0

Advanced
Color Temperature - Normal
Black Detail - off
active led zones - on
smooth motion effect - off
motion blur reduction - off
reduce signal noise - off
reduce block noise - off

No pro settings. Any advice?
Also, Ph8te, do you have this TV? Do you have any of the banding issues that I have in the pictures?
Ph8te's Avatar Ph8te
07:54 PM Liked: 619
post #82 of 493
07-30-2014 | Posts: 10,078
Joined: Oct 2005
Try Turning the active led zones off. Not sure if it will work (don't think it will) but worth a shot.

Don't have the TV yet, but within the next week or 2 I'll be making a decision. The TV it's replacing works, but barely and it is becoming more annoying.
ripper2020's Avatar ripper2020
09:30 PM Liked: 13
post #83 of 493
07-30-2014 | Posts: 36
Joined: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
Try Turning the active led zones off. Not sure if it will work (don't think it will) but worth a shot.

Don't have the TV yet, but within the next week or 2 I'll be making a decision. The TV it's replacing works, but barely and it is becoming more annoying.
I see. I think I'm going to go for the Samsung 8500 plasma series if amazon will take this TV back for free ( or very cheaply ). I have a feeling those bands will haunt me. I did some googling and it seems like this is a pretty common issue for LCDs in general. Too bad because this vizio has an otherwise excellent picture. If amazon won't take it back for free I suppose I'll just keep it.

BTW tried turning off active led zones, made no difference.
Ph8te's Avatar Ph8te
10:32 PM Liked: 619
post #84 of 493
07-30-2014 | Posts: 10,078
Joined: Oct 2005
The F8500 is an excellent set. You won't be disappointed (outside if the bigger hot to your wallet ) hopefully everything works out for you.
ripper2020's Avatar ripper2020
12:45 PM Liked: 13
post #85 of 493
07-31-2014 | Posts: 36
Joined: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
The F8500 is an excellent set. You won't be disappointed (outside if the bigger hot to your wallet ) hopefully everything works out for you.
Amazon Rocks!!! They are taking it back, without the box, for a full refund. I mentioned it had vertical dark bands and they considered it defective. I didn't have to send any pictures or anything. In fact, the whole process was done over live chat. I'm not sure what would have happened if just said I wasn't happy with the picture quality.

Already ordered the samsung pn60f8500 - had to downgrade in size, and my bank account Hopefully I won't have any issues with the samsung.
antman006's Avatar antman006
05:18 PM Liked: 15
post #86 of 493
07-31-2014 | Posts: 96
Joined: Oct 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by ripper2020 View Post
Amazon Rocks!!! They are taking it back, without the box, for a full refund. I mentioned it had vertical dark bands and they considered it defective. I didn't have to send any pictures or anything. In fact, the whole process was done over live chat. I'm not sure what would have happened if just said I wasn't happy with the picture quality.

Already ordered the samsung pn60f8500 - had to downgrade in size, and my bank account Hopefully I won't have any issues with the samsung.
Congrats. Thinking about doing the same as mine has been acting up a little. Where did you get yours?
ripper2020's Avatar ripper2020
07:58 PM Liked: 13
post #87 of 493
07-31-2014 | Posts: 36
Joined: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by antman006 View Post
Congrats. Thinking about doing the same as mine has been acting up a little. Where did you get yours?
The samsung? Amazon, of course This was my first experience returning a large item to amazon and it was easy as can be - well so far, its scheduled for pickup Monday.

Just curious, what's your vizio doing? Does it have the vertical bands like mine did?
antman006's Avatar antman006
08:43 AM Liked: 15
post #88 of 493
08-01-2014 | Posts: 96
Joined: Oct 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by ripper2020 View Post
The samsung? Amazon, of course This was my first experience returning a large item to amazon and it was easy as can be - well so far, its scheduled for pickup Monday.

Just curious, what's your vizio doing? Does it have the vertical bands like mine did?
Still troubleshooting the issue and hard to describe. But it's like watching the shaky camera effect going haywire and frames being skipped. Doesn't happen much and resetting the TV always solves the issue. Don't know if it's the processor or something with the handshake between the TV and the receiver. My current setup is: Tivo > Xbox One > Yamaha Receiver > Vizio
Ph8te's Avatar Ph8te
09:16 AM Liked: 619
post #89 of 493
08-01-2014 | Posts: 10,078
Joined: Oct 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by antman006 View Post
Still troubleshooting the issue and hard to describe. But it's like watching the shaky camera effect going haywire and frames being skipped. Doesn't happen much and resetting the TV always solves the issue. Don't know if it's the processor or something with the handshake between the TV and the receiver. My current setup is: Tivo > Xbox One > Yamaha Receiver > Vizio

I will assume you have, but have you tried taking things out of the loop to see if that helps.
antman006's Avatar antman006
09:53 AM Liked: 15
post #90 of 493
08-01-2014 | Posts: 96
Joined: Oct 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
I will assume you have, but have you tried taking things out of the loop to see if that helps.
I have and am still in the process. trouble is trying to replicate the issue as its very sporadic with no rhyme or reason.

Gear in this thread - M652i-B2 by PriceGrabber.com
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3