AX900 and Display Port Question - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 07-16-2014, 10:31 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tjcinnamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2,000
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1272 Post(s)
Liked: 313
AX900 and Display Port Question

If I'm going from an HTPC via displayport presumably I'd bypass the receiver. If I bypass the receiver then what medium would I use to pass audio to the receiver (optical?) If optical then won't I run into bandwidth issues transporting super high def (Atmos) audio?

Thanks,
JOe K.
tjcinnamon is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 07-16-2014, 02:23 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tjcinnamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2,000
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1272 Post(s)
Liked: 313
is this in the wrong section of the forum? If so, could I mod move it to the correct section?
tjcinnamon is online now  
post #3 of 6 Old 07-16-2014, 09:33 PM
Member
 
dfs88801's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 11
http://www.amazon.com/Xtrempro-Displ...ort+cable+1.2a

IN MY R9 290 THE Display Port Better from HDMI
dfs88801 is offline  
 
post #4 of 6 Old 07-18-2014, 09:29 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tjcinnamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2,000
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1272 Post(s)
Liked: 313
Quote:
Originally Posted by dfs88801 View Post
http://www.amazon.com/Xtrempro-Displ...ort+cable+1.2a

IN MY R9 290 THE Display Port Better from HDMI
so then how do you transmit audio to an external receiver? And in what format?
tjcinnamon is online now  
post #5 of 6 Old 07-29-2014, 03:31 AM
Member
 
dfs88801's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjcinnamon View Post
so then how do you transmit audio to an external receiver? And in what format?
AC3 / DTS AND MORE
BUT NOT HD Sound
dfs88801 is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 07-29-2014, 11:57 AM
Member
 
Dr.Savage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 26
you may be able to run displayport from pc to TV, and run HDMI from PC to receiver (only for sound).

However, depending on Video card or sound card, I am not sure what sound you will get. As DFS mentions you may be at the AC3/DTS levels.

Does your video card have hdmi and display port? I do something similar for Xbox one: I use a splitter for HDMIs (one for Projector and the other HMDA for sound to receiver). Good luck!
Dr.Savage is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
atmos , ax900 , bandwidth , displayport

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off