**OFFICIAL** 2015 Samsung 4K SUHD JS8500 Series TV Thread - Page 741 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 8882Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #22201 of 22445 Old 03-11-2017, 02:40 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 60
**OFFICIAL** 2015 Samsung 4K SUHD JS8500 Series TV Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by King Richard View Post
There is no difference whatsoever in audio quality between an optical and ARC outputs.



The optical (S/PDIF) and ARC on this TV are both limited to a maximum 5.1 DD or 5.1 DTS lossy audio output (or 2-channel PCM) - whether it be from the on-board apps or an external component connected directly to the TV/OCB.



No, this TV cannot output DD+ through ARC or optical.



Note: No current TV - regardless of brand, make, or model - can output or pass-through lossless, high bit rate, HD Audio formats through ARC or S/PDIF (optical or coax). It is simply a limitation of the technology.



(I have no idea why some people are actually surprised that these Samsung TVs cannot do it when no other TV brand can do it either. The use of an OCB on a Samsung TV doesn't change that fact - it only moves the ports from the back of the TV to an external box. Connecting a component to the OCB is the equivalent of connecting it to a port on the back of any other TV set. Note: The 4 HDMI ports on the OCB are input ports, NOT output ports.)



S/PDIF (Sony/Philips Digital Interface Format) and ARC (Audio Return Channel) - which uses two pins from the HDMI connector, a previously unused pin and the hot plug detect pin, to transmit the audio "upstream" from the TV back to the AVR or Soundbar - simply do not have enough available bandwidth to transmit those extra audio channels or HBR (High Bit Rate) audio codecs.



(Note: The term codec refers to the algorithm used to encode the audio. "Codec" is short for coder-decoder.)



There are a few select TVs out there (some Vizios for instance) who are able to transmit DD+ (Dolby Digital Plus) over ARC. DD+ can carry up to 7.1 channels, as well as a compressed form of Dolby Atmos object based audio, from the TV apps. However, it is a lossy, low bit rate, audio format - it is NOT lossless.



One reason most TVs (e.g. Samsung TVs) can't output DD+ is because they were built with "chips" that allow for just one audio output, and that audio is sent to both S/PDIF and ARC at the same time. Therefore, DD+ content is downgraded to 5.1 DD (or in some cases, 2-channel stereo) before being sent out through ARC.



Again, it is NOT possible to send lossless, high bit rate, HD Audio formats through ARC or S/PDIF (optical or coax). It is simply a limitation of the technology. Let me also point out that NO "on-board" TV streaming app support these lossless audio formats anyways.



P.S. You should set your TV setting to "Bitstream" [see LINK below].



>Bitstream vs. PCM<





Richard


Thank you Richard for the wealth of information.
I recently upgraded from a Bose SoundTouch 520 system which no matter what I did or changed in the settings it would not detect anything else than 2-channel PCM from the TV.

I don't remember where I was told I needed to then use the optical out to get 5.1 which I never bothered to do with that system. The first thing I did once I upgraded to the Marantz was to use the optical out and did not really bother to use ARC haha. To tell you the truth I tested ARC but felt skeptical the Marantz simply worked! And forced myself into using the optical out.

I wonder why that damn Bose only picked 2-Channel PCM? I hated that for so long, I sure I am glad I got rid of it.

Also I just switched to ARC, and I have always been using Bitstream, thank you.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
King Richard likes this.

Last edited by Pandaphunk; 03-11-2017 at 03:22 AM.
Pandaphunk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22202 of 22445 Old 03-11-2017, 04:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ThePrisoner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 2,581
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by TravisBean View Post
Yes, 1469. I'm in Florida and did the update thru Wi-Fi. You can also download the update to a flash drive at their support website.
My set just updated to 1469 yesterday. What version was the Netflix HDR update? I did that update through the Samsung site using USB. Any ideas what is in 1469?

Dolby Atmos/DTS:X 5.2.4
Samsung 65JS8500 (calibrated by Gregg Loewen); Marantz SR6010 + Onkyo M-5010; Oppo UDP-203; Apple TV (4th Gen); PS4; Definitive Technology BP-8060ST, CS-8060HD, SR-8040BP, ProMonitor 800; SVS PC-12NSD (2)
ThePrisoner is offline  
post #22203 of 22445 Old 03-11-2017, 07:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
TravisBean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 853
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 164 Post(s)
Liked: 188
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThePrisoner View Post
My set just updated to 1469 yesterday. What version was the Netflix HDR update? I did that update through the Samsung site using USB. Any ideas what is in 1469?
The only thing I'm noticing off the bat is that there is an "Energy Saving" icon next to the Standard picture mode heading in the menu setting when you go directly to picture settings. I don't remember it being there before. I'm sure it had something to do with my not being able to turn off the eco sensor in Standard picture mode, which later I was able to do.
TravisBean is offline  
 
post #22204 of 22445 Old 03-11-2017, 07:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ThePrisoner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 2,581
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by TravisBean View Post
The only thing I'm noticing off the bat is that there is an "Energy Saving" icon next to the Standard picture mode heading in the menu setting when you go directly to picture settings. I don't remember it being there before. I'm sure it had something to do with my not being able to turn off the eco sensor in Standard picture mode, which later I was able to do.
I always had that Energy Saving logo next to Standard pic mode
ThePrisoner is offline  
post #22205 of 22445 Old 03-11-2017, 08:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
fmedrano1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 705
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 326 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThePrisoner View Post
My set just updated to 1469 yesterday. What version was the Netflix HDR update? I did that update through the Samsung site using USB. Any ideas what is in 1469?
On 1467 I believe.

Sent from my HTC 10 using Tapatalk
fmedrano1977 is offline  
post #22206 of 22445 Old 03-12-2017, 02:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jnnt29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,027
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 132
I have a quick question for the group. Has anyone run into a situation where the JS8500 doesn't come out of HDR/WCG mode after watching the UHD Blu Ray player. Last night I was watching Hack Saw Ridge UHD Blu Ray and when I was done I shut everything down with my Harmony remote like I have done a hundred times before. This morning when I started to watch FIOS TV on the JS8500 the picture was over saturated. The only way to fix it was to change the input and put on the Samsung UHD Blu Ray and then change the activity on the Harmony to watch TV. Once the input change from UHD Blu Ray to the FIOS input then the color was back to normal. the odd thing was when the color was saturated, the picture menu showed the correct settings.

Just wondering if anyone else has experienced this behavior?


Thanks, JT

My set up
Marantz SR-7008, Emotiva XPA-3
Samsung UBD-K8500 Ultra 4K Blu Ray Player
Klipsch RB-81II, RC-52II, Boston Acoustics Micro 120s
Klipsch SW-310, RPW-10, Samsung UN65JS8500FXZA
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1227096
jnnt29 is offline  
post #22207 of 22445 Old 03-12-2017, 04:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ThePrisoner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 2,581
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by jnnt29 View Post
I have a quick question for the group. Has anyone run into a situation where the JS8500 doesn't come out of HDR/WCG mode after watching the UHD Blu Ray player. Last night I was watching Hack Saw Ridge UHD Blu Ray and when I was done I shut everything down with my Harmony remote like I have done a hundred times before. This morning when I started to watch FIOS TV on the JS8500 the picture was over saturated. The only way to fix it was to change the input and put on the Samsung UHD Blu Ray and then change the activity on the Harmony to watch TV. Once the input change from UHD Blu Ray to the FIOS input then the color was back to normal. the odd thing was when the color was saturated, the picture menu showed the correct settings.

Just wondering if anyone else has experienced this behavior?


Thanks, JT
This happened to me awhile back and at the time I also had the Samsung K8500. It only happened once to me. Are you running the latest firmware on your JS8500 & K8500?

Dolby Atmos/DTS:X 5.2.4
Samsung 65JS8500 (calibrated by Gregg Loewen); Marantz SR6010 + Onkyo M-5010; Oppo UDP-203; Apple TV (4th Gen); PS4; Definitive Technology BP-8060ST, CS-8060HD, SR-8040BP, ProMonitor 800; SVS PC-12NSD (2)
ThePrisoner is offline  
post #22208 of 22445 Old 03-12-2017, 04:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jnnt29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,027
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThePrisoner View Post
This happened to me awhile back and at the time I also had the Samsung K8500. It only happened once to me. Are you running the latest firmware on your JS8500 & K8500?
Thanks for the quick response, I am running the latest firmware on both. I'm going to do more testing to see if this can be replicated. Hopefully this is the only occurrence.

My set up
Marantz SR-7008, Emotiva XPA-3
Samsung UBD-K8500 Ultra 4K Blu Ray Player
Klipsch RB-81II, RC-52II, Boston Acoustics Micro 120s
Klipsch SW-310, RPW-10, Samsung UN65JS8500FXZA
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1227096
jnnt29 is offline  
post #22209 of 22445 Old 03-12-2017, 10:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
TravisBean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 853
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 164 Post(s)
Liked: 188
This TV is certainly glitchy, but luckily every problem I've encountered has remedied itself with a factory reset.
TravisBean is offline  
post #22210 of 22445 Old 03-12-2017, 11:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
wrathloki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 909
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 637 Post(s)
Liked: 287
Watching the new season of Love on Netflix and getting all kinds of error blocking like a dirty blu-ray or poor cable signal. I don't think I've ever seen this on a streaming service. I thought if there was a poor signal it would just drop the resolution. Could this be a problem with Netflix's source file?
wrathloki is offline  
post #22211 of 22445 Old 03-14-2017, 06:57 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
firmware 1493 is available in south america
vandam00 is offline  
post #22212 of 22445 Old 03-14-2017, 08:38 AM
Senior Member
 
JaytheDreamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 432
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 230 Post(s)
Liked: 231
Quote:
Originally Posted by King Richard View Post
If you are looking for the perfect 4K HDR UHD Blu-ray disc to showcase the format, this one is the one to get.

Release Date: March 28, 2017

(I pre-ordered my copy a few weeks ago.)

For an excellent review of it, check-out John Archer's Review:

'Planet Earth II' 4K Blu-ray Review: Animal Attraction


Waiting for mine too...
King Richard likes this.

______________
Thanks, Jay
Spoiler!
JaytheDreamer is offline  
post #22213 of 22445 Old 03-14-2017, 09:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
matrix123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 715
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 306 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by JaytheDreamer View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by King Richard View Post
If you are looking for the perfect 4K HDR UHD Blu-ray disc to showcase the format, this one is the one to get.

Release Date: March 28, 2017

(I pre-ordered my copy a few weeks ago.)

For an excellent review of it, check-out John Archer's Review:

'Planet Earth II' 4K Blu-ray Review: Animal Attraction


Waiting for mine too...
Just started watching this. Looks amazing in 1080p. 4K is going to be mind blowing.
matrix123 is offline  
post #22214 of 22445 Old 03-14-2017, 09:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
wrathloki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 909
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 637 Post(s)
Liked: 287
FYI Planet Earth 2 is currently down to $39.99 on Amazon.
wrathloki is offline  
post #22215 of 22445 Old 03-14-2017, 11:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
dlbsyst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Irving, Tx
Posts: 529
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by vandam00 View Post
firmware 1493 is available in south america
Link?
dlbsyst is online now  
post #22216 of 22445 Old 03-14-2017, 05:00 PM
Senior Member
 
smokey982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cleveland
Posts: 216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by matrix123 View Post
Just started watching this. Looks amazing in 1080p. 4K is going to be mind blowing.


Dish Network has been airing this the past few Saturday nights on a new dedicated 4K channel. It looks amazing.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
King Richard likes this.
smokey982 is offline  
post #22217 of 22445 Old 03-15-2017, 01:51 AM
Lionheart of AVS
 
King Richard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Greenstone, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,984
Mentioned: 64 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1595 Post(s)
Liked: 3375
Exclamation Samsung Officially Launches Q Series

Samsung officially launched the new 2017 Q Series TVs yesterday.

Click the LINK below for more:

Samsung Q Series QLED HDR 4K TVs Officially Launch

Article by Mark Henninger (aka @imagic )

See also the following article by @Scott Wilkinson :

Samsung Product-Launch Event Video


HDR10 Plus (aka "Dynamic HDR10")

Samsung also officially announce the HDR10 Plus dynamic tone-mapping standard (aka: Dynamic HDR10), available on all 2017 Samsung QLED & UHD TVs.

As also announced by Vincent Teoh on twitter:

https://twitter.com/Vincent_Teoh/sta...19368157409280


Richard

Last edited by King Richard; 03-18-2017 at 12:48 AM.
King Richard is online now  
post #22218 of 22445 Old 03-15-2017, 04:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
TravisBean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 853
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 164 Post(s)
Liked: 188
Quote:
Originally Posted by King Richard View Post
Samsung officially launched the new 2017 Q Series TVs yesterday.

Click the LINK below for more:

Samsung Q Series QLED HDR 4K TVs Officially Launch

Article by Mark Henninger (aka @imagic )

https://youtu.be/PTKjdjYkX-c

HDR10 Plus (aka "Dynamic HDR10")

Samsung also officially announce the HDR10 Plus dynamic tone-mapping standard (aka: Dynamic HDR10), available on all 2017 Samsung QLED & UHD TVs.

As also announced by Vincent Teoh on twitter:

https://twitter.com/Vincent_Teoh/sta...19368157409280


Richard



No 3d = no sale.
TravisBean is offline  
post #22219 of 22445 Old 03-15-2017, 12:04 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rockland, Taxachusetts
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by wrathloki View Post
Watching the new season of Love on Netflix and getting all kinds of error blocking like a dirty blu-ray or poor cable signal. I don't think I've ever seen this on a streaming service. I thought if there was a poor signal it would just drop the resolution. Could this be a problem with Netflix's source file?
My wife and I noticed the same video issues with "Love" on our 8500. We're in the Boston area.

Home theater:
Samsung UN65JS850DFXZA
Onkyo TX-RZ900 Receiver
Kinergetics / Chiro C300, C500 Amplifiers
Mirage 3si, Mcsi, OM-R2, BPSS-210
Tivo Roamio, AppleTV, Playstation 4, Harmony 900, Oppo BDP-103D
thos19 is offline  
post #22220 of 22445 Old 03-15-2017, 01:10 PM
Member
 
sranda03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Question about netflix after the update. I use a friends shared Netflix account and i believe she has the standard account without HDR content. However lately i noticed the netflicks movies i have been watching do look better. Is it possible after the update the up conversion is better even though I am not using the Ultra HD version of netflicks?

Samsung UN65JS8500FXZA - Samsung HW-E550 Soundbar - Logitech Harmony 700 Universal Remote.
sranda03 is offline  
post #22221 of 22445 Old 03-15-2017, 03:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
poppagene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Alameda, CA
Posts: 1,175
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 637 Post(s)
Liked: 436
Quote:
Originally Posted by sranda03 View Post
Question about netflix after the update. I use a friends shared Netflix account and i believe she has the standard account without HDR content. However lately i noticed the netflicks movies i have been watching do look better. Is it possible after the update the up conversion is better even though I am not using the Ultra HD version of netflicks?
If your friend has the 4 screen streaming plan, you can get HDR otherwise not. Check to see if the backlight and contrast switch to 100 and 20 when playing back HDR content from netflix. If yes then you are getting HDR, otherwise not.

UN48JS8500 UN55HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UN40HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UBD-K8500 UN37C5000
poppagene is online now  
post #22222 of 22445 Old 03-17-2017, 02:22 AM
Lionheart of AVS
 
King Richard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Greenstone, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,984
Mentioned: 64 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1595 Post(s)
Liked: 3375
King Richard is online now  
post #22223 of 22445 Old 03-17-2017, 06:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
TravisBean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 853
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 164 Post(s)
Liked: 188
Quote:
Originally Posted by King Richard View Post
DITTO!!!




If I had a choice between a TV that was 3D enabled and no HDR vs a TV with no 3D but HDR enabled, I'll take the 3D TV. HDR is nice, but not nearly as immersive an effect as 3D. I know mine is not a majority opinion as the marketing guru's at Samsung have determined that 3d is no longer a factor being considered by consumers when making a big screen purchase, but perhaps on the off chance that some at Samsung skim through these threads............

Edit:
BTW, I'm not entirely sure those marketing executives are 100% correct. My local Cineplex 18 has no trouble filling the IMAX 3D seats which happen to be twice the price of a regular ticket.

Last edited by TravisBean; 03-17-2017 at 08:26 AM.
TravisBean is offline  
post #22224 of 22445 Old 03-17-2017, 08:51 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Texas
Posts: 170
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by TravisBean View Post
If I had a choice between a TV that was 3D enabled and no HDR vs a TV with no 3D but HDR enabled, I'll take the 3D TV. HDR is nice, but not nearly as immersive an effect as 3D. I know mine is not a majority opinion as the marketing guru's at Samsung have determined that 3d is no longer a factor being considered by consumers when making a big screen purchase, but perhaps on the off chance that some at Samsung skim through these threads............
I agree. If it's one or the other, I'll take 3D. I think if it's been determined that 3d is no longer a factor being considered by consumers, it's because most consumers have never experienced it. They probably consider it a gimmick. Much as I did, before I got my first taste of it. I thought, how good could it be, being displayed by a regular 'ol LED tv? Well, it's no more a gimmick than HDR.
trailryder42 is offline  
post #22225 of 22445 Old 03-18-2017, 12:28 AM
Lionheart of AVS
 
King Richard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Greenstone, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,984
Mentioned: 64 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1595 Post(s)
Liked: 3375
Exclamation More Amazon HDR for Canadians!

First mentioned by @conan481 in another thread...

Amazon has finally added shows in UHD HDR for Canada.

So far they include:

-The Grand Tour
-Sneaky Pete
-Goliath
-Red Oaks S2
-Mozart in the Jungle S3
-Transparent S3
-Man in the High Castle S2

I currently don't have a subscription to Amazon myself (due to the current limited amount of content available) however, according to @conan481 the quality is excellent!

All I can say is...

It's about frickin' time BUB!!!

Rudy1 and MALICIOUS ONE like this.

Last edited by King Richard; 03-20-2017 at 01:57 AM.
King Richard is online now  
post #22226 of 22445 Old 03-19-2017, 01:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
matrix123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 715
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 306 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by King Richard View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by TravisBean View Post
No 3d = no sale.

DITTO!!!



Haven't used 3D much but what settings is good? Should I Change anything?
matrix123 is offline  
post #22227 of 22445 Old 03-19-2017, 03:33 PM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit, Tampa Bay
Posts: 14,095
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 996 Post(s)
Liked: 1990
Member could use some help with his 8500. I trust you guys will chime in: smasung UN55js8500 mini connect box audio out

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is online now  
post #22228 of 22445 Old 03-19-2017, 03:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
wrathloki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 909
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 637 Post(s)
Liked: 287
Quote:
Originally Posted by TravisBean View Post
No 3d = no sale.
So you're never buying a TV again?
ThePrisoner and Pandaphunk like this.
wrathloki is offline  
post #22229 of 22445 Old 03-19-2017, 03:37 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by wrathloki View Post
So you're never buying a TV again?


Lol


Sent from my Ti-89 using Skynet defense network
Pandaphunk is offline  
post #22230 of 22445 Old 03-19-2017, 03:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
wrathloki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 909
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 637 Post(s)
Liked: 287
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matthew Camara View Post
The JS8500 truly is an amazing TV prob the best picture from any tv i have owned, but i seem to run into an Issue when using UHD Color Mode.

First had issues with PS4 Pro with the picturing flashing on and off at random times - This was fixed thanks to another user on here.

Now i am trying to hook up an Alienware Alpha R2 to the TV and getting the same issues as i did the PS4 Pro except mimicking that fix did not solve this problem.

Thought it may be the Alpha R2 but same issue occurs on my Desktop Gaming PC - This flashing only occurs when UHD Color mode is On - I can't leave it off because the tv will only display 4K at 30hz

I found a guide online how to setup the TV to be used like a Monitor and it did not solve the issue. TV is fully updated, any help would be appreciated.

thank you
This sounds like your HDMI cable isn't sufficient if it's just when HDMI UHD color is on.
wrathloki is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
JS8500 , reflection , screen flashing black
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off