2015 Samsung SEK-3500U/ZA Evolution Kit - Page 718 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 11590Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21511 of 21960 Old 03-08-2017, 06:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 8,459
Mentioned: 174 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2934 Post(s)
Liked: 2254
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlkemac View Post
crap.. They listed it as sek-3500U. Hopefully that's enough for a refund.

Does anyone have a picture of what that sticker looks like?

Thanks for the info
Tried to find one online, but nothing.
Sticker is about 3" square, and of an olive green color, and has in big black letters, SEK-3500U.
Mine is not in a position to take a picture, and wife has gone to bed to get at hers.

UN65HU9000 with SEK-3500U - Mine
UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U / UN32EH5300 / 2 X LG 55LHXs - wife's ! New addition UN40J5200AF
PN64F8500 up for sale
p5browne is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #21512 of 21960 Old 03-09-2017, 01:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
poppagene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bethesda, MD
Posts: 1,198
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 653 Post(s)
Liked: 461
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlkemac View Post
crap.. They listed it as sek-3500U. Hopefully that's enough for a refund.

Does anyone have a picture of what that sticker looks like?

Thanks for the info
try this post:

http://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-lc...=#post50534825

UN48JS8500 UN55HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UN40HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UBD-K8500 UN37C5000
poppagene is offline  
post #21513 of 21960 Old 03-09-2017, 08:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
player002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5,546
Mentioned: 184 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3467 Post(s)
Liked: 2590
Quote:
Originally Posted by Musician View Post
Thanks for that informative post Ray. I remember your post and actually quoted it back in December to another member on this thread where you said:



Believe it or not, that was way back on June 21, 2016. I just took a look-see and scanned the posts for the month following your post and nobody questioned your findings nor did they when I quoted you 6 months after you posted your measurements -- well at least not up until today!
I got the same with HDR on MY sek with HU8700 think I got 563 nits

55KS8000/65HU8700- SEK 3500U/60F8500/51D6900/46B650/Onkyo TX-NR616
Xbox one/PS4/PC R9 290/Wii U
player002 is offline  
 
post #21514 of 21960 Old 03-10-2017, 03:43 PM
Member
 
dunkle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Why is it, even when calibrated as best I can using dve and a couple of personal tweaks, my picture still appears too "red".

It's not all the time and it's not all the reds (I'd that sounds not too silly). Watching star trek next generation is a good example where the red uniforms look great but skin tones are far too red.

For those that know it, commander Shelby in best of both worlds has obvious make up on, but her lipstick and blusher on her cheeks almost like a beacon, clown like in parts. Same with crusher and her face and hair.

Last edited by dunkle; 03-10-2017 at 03:49 PM.
dunkle is offline  
post #21515 of 21960 Old 03-10-2017, 04:26 PM
rlb
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rlb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: North Royalton, OH
Posts: 5,574
Mentioned: 49 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1748 Post(s)
Liked: 1420
Quote:
Originally Posted by dunkle View Post
Why is it, even when calibrated as best I can using dve and a couple of personal tweaks, my picture still appears too "red".

It's not all the time and it's not all the reds (I'd that sounds not too silly). Watching star trek next generation is a good example where the red uniforms look great but skin tones are far too red.

For those that know it, commander Shelby in best of both worlds has obvious make up on, but her lipstick and blusher on her cheeks almost like a beacon, clown like in parts. Same with crusher and her face and hair.
Without calibration equipment, it's hard to do a "professional" job with color. However, the Samsung's are normally pretty good if you have the display on "movie" mode, Warm 2, color and tint at their midpoints, default white balance, and color space at "auto".
galonzo and Musician like this.

Samsung 65JS9500 and 65F9000 w/SEK-3500U, Denon AVR X3300 & Outlaw 755
Samsung K8500, OPPO 103-D, PS3, HR44, HR24, and Roku Ultra
rlb is offline  
post #21516 of 21960 Old 03-10-2017, 06:50 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 3
So I have stumbled into a problem with my HU7250 and the sek-3500. The Evo kit has been working on my F9000 without fault. However I recently tried it on the HU and have a weird result and not sure how to describe it besides pixels raining simply because it appears to have motion. The display works as normal without a OCB. The weirdest part is the display shows menus just fine. The "rain" is behind it, but any input image is shown with the problem over the input image. I'll include a picture so you can get an idea. Did a few searches but not really sure how to describe this problem. Any guidance would be appreciated.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20170310_200524_1489200447374.jpg
Views:	209
Size:	94.4 KB
ID:	2018641  
5upra is offline  
post #21517 of 21960 Old 03-10-2017, 10:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
DaMacFunkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Manchester, Not the one by the sea
Posts: 841
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 607 Post(s)
Liked: 400
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5upra View Post
So I have stumbled into a problem with my HU7250 and the sek-3500. The Evo kit has been working on my F9000 without fault. However I recently tried it on the HU and have a weird result and not sure how to describe it besides pixels raining simply because it appears to have motion. The display works as normal without a OCB. The weirdest part is the display shows menus just fine. The "rain" is behind it, but any input image is shown with the problem over the input image. I'll include a picture so you can get an idea. Did a few searches but not really sure how to describe this problem. Any guidance would be appreciated.
Did you Data sync reset then factory reset the unit?
Did you then install the SEK following the correct install procedure?
If not you are running on settings optimized for the F9000.
galonzo, sikclown and Musician like this.
DaMacFunkin is offline  
post #21518 of 21960 Old 03-11-2017, 09:00 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Having an odd problem. Went to go to the smart hub and use the FXNOW app and it's gone. Been a few months but it was on my tv before. I searched samsungs website and it says that the app is available for Samsung that but I can't find it anywhere in the App Store of the tv. Even if I search the name FXNOW it doesn't show up. Anyone else have the app?
drewberg11 is offline  
post #21519 of 21960 Old 03-11-2017, 10:35 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaMacFunkin View Post
Did you Data sync reset then factory reset the unit?
Did you then install the SEK following the correct install procedure?
If not you are running on settings optimized for the F9000.
Yes and yes. However I have figured it out.

The "original" one connect cable from the F9000 doesn't like to be used with the HU7250. The one thing I didn't try yesterday. I guess the cable with the Evo kit has better throughput maybe?

thank you for the suggestions
rlb, galonzo and DaMacFunkin like this.
5upra is offline  
post #21520 of 21960 Old 03-11-2017, 07:50 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
So i have the sek-3500 to hu6830, had upside down screen. When connecting sek-3500, it was changing my panel type in the service menu. So i wrote down panel type from service menu, connected ocb, then booted service menu and had to find my original panel. All is better now.
Mike Wheaton is offline  
post #21521 of 21960 Old 03-11-2017, 11:25 PM
Member
 
wilflare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I know this isn't the UK/EU thread but sigh :/ would we ever get the new firmware update :/

(rhetorical question)
wilflare is offline  
post #21522 of 21960 Old 03-12-2017, 04:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
DaMacFunkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Manchester, Not the one by the sea
Posts: 841
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 607 Post(s)
Liked: 400
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5upra View Post
Yes and yes. However I have figured it out.

The "original" one connect cable from the F9000 doesn't like to be used with the HU7250. The one thing I didn't try yesterday. I guess the cable with the Evo kit has better throughput maybe?

thank you for the suggestions
Hi yes, it was touched on right at the beginning, the F9000 cable did not have the same bandwidth as the one released with the HU series.
galonzo likes this.
DaMacFunkin is offline  
post #21523 of 21960 Old 03-12-2017, 04:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
DaMacFunkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Manchester, Not the one by the sea
Posts: 841
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 607 Post(s)
Liked: 400
Quote:
Originally Posted by wilflare View Post
I know this isn't the UK/EU thread but sigh :/ would we ever get the new firmware update :/

(rhetorical question)
Someone in Denmark i think said there is a problem in the current EU firmware that affects cable TV broadcasts in their area and that Samsung had told the local Cable Co the fix would be in the next EU firmware update planned for March... so here is hoping.
wilflare likes this.
DaMacFunkin is offline  
post #21524 of 21960 Old 03-12-2017, 07:18 PM
Member
 
dunkle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlb View Post
Without calibration equipment, it's hard to do a "professional" job with color. However, the Samsung's are normally pretty good if you have the display on "movie" mode, Warm 2, color and tint at their midpoints, default white balance, and color space at "auto".
Cheers
I actually think it may be down to Netflix / the show as watching via iPad and also seems too red. Will have to dish out the blu rays and try those.
dunkle is offline  
post #21525 of 21960 Old 03-12-2017, 10:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 8,459
Mentioned: 174 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2934 Post(s)
Liked: 2254
New Calman 5.7.2.60 RC3, HDMI 4, FW 1481.1

Latest greatest.
Attached Files
File Type: txt SamsungHU9000_HDMI_4_March_13_2017.txt (1.8 KB, 207 views)
mikegaudiello likes this.

UN65HU9000 with SEK-3500U - Mine
UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U / UN32EH5300 / 2 X LG 55LHXs - wife's ! New addition UN40J5200AF
PN64F8500 up for sale
p5browne is online now  
post #21526 of 21960 Old 03-13-2017, 09:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 8,459
Mentioned: 174 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2934 Post(s)
Liked: 2254
New Calman 5.7.2.60 RC3, HDMI 1 w/HDR, FW 1481.1

SERIOUS NOTE! For those having video that is too dim! Check the following.
Standard: Every Input's Eco Solutions is a separate entity, and so therefore, each and everyone of them has to be turned Off!
Standard HDR is also a separate entity from Standard, and it's Eco Solutions must also be turned Off!
Movie Mode is separate from Standard, also check for normal and HDR usage re the Eco Solutions.

(This is why the Standard settings have changed once I caught onto this Eco Solutions issue!)
Attached Files
File Type: txt SamsungHU9000_HDMI_1_March_14_2017_HDR.txt (1.9 KB, 152 views)

UN65HU9000 with SEK-3500U - Mine
UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U / UN32EH5300 / 2 X LG 55LHXs - wife's ! New addition UN40J5200AF
PN64F8500 up for sale

Last edited by p5browne; 03-14-2017 at 10:39 AM.
p5browne is online now  
post #21527 of 21960 Old 03-14-2017, 10:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 8,459
Mentioned: 174 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2934 Post(s)
Liked: 2254
New 4K Demo from LG

http://demo-uhd3d.com/fiche.php?cat=uhd&id=156
galonzo, player002, jrref and 1 others like this.

UN65HU9000 with SEK-3500U - Mine
UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U / UN32EH5300 / 2 X LG 55LHXs - wife's ! New addition UN40J5200AF
PN64F8500 up for sale
p5browne is online now  
post #21528 of 21960 Old 03-14-2017, 11:45 AM
Member
 
mbernstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Brazil
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 17
FYI, just updated to 1490.3 here in Brazil. We were here in 1480.4 as we never got the 1481.1. It was released today, and by chance I was checking. Updated from the JS9500 website, as autoupdate was not getting the update. Didn't check what was updated, just to let you all know a firmware is coming your way.
player002 and King Richard like this.
mbernstein is offline  
post #21529 of 21960 Old 03-14-2017, 07:34 PM
Member
 
danedrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Issue with ARC function

Ok,
Here is a strange question concern the ARC functionality of the OCB. Has anyone had the ARC function working for months / years and then just stop working one day?
.
I have the F9000 with the 3500 OCB and a denon 1712 AVR and an older comcast cable box (pre X1). I had HDMI cables going from the cable box to the OCB and then back to the Denon, with the cable from the OCB to AVR coming from HDMI 4. This set up has been working fine since I got the new OCB last spring. There have been occasional handshake issue where the ARC wouldn't work when I first turned everything on, but typically turning the TV or the AVR off and then back on would fix it. Like I said, been working for nearly a year and then I came home the other night and it just didn't work, no matter how many times I turned various components off and on. I have tried the following:
.
1) Double checked for any firmware updates - TV is still on 1481 and has been for a while, AVR is not connected to the internet so it didn't change.
2) Double checked the ARC settings in both the TV and the AVR and they appear to be set correctly. When I do an ARC scan it says that it sees something called player, which I'm assuming the KD-8500 UHD player that's connected to the OCB and not the TV
3) Double checked the cable connections - Nothing lose, plugged in and out a couple times, original cable doesn't look damaged and even switched cables, still doesn't work
4) The ports themselves are working as I have reversed the cables - Cable box now goes to AVR first and Monitor out (ARC in port) to HDMI 4 on the OCB and the picture is fine, so the connections work

So great tech guru's of this thread, what am I missing? Any suggestions besides a factory reset of the TV?

Thanks

Samsung 55" F9000 with 10-bit panel
3500 OCB with FW 1471
Denon AVR-1712 in a 6.0 setup (live in condo so no sub :( )
Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD player

Last edited by danedrow; 03-15-2017 at 07:03 PM. Reason: typo
danedrow is offline  
post #21530 of 21960 Old 03-15-2017, 01:15 AM
Lionheart of AVS
 
King Richard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Greenstone, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,036
Mentioned: 66 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1627 Post(s)
Liked: 3580
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbernstein View Post
FYI, just updated to 1490.3 here in Brazil. We were here in 1480.4 as we never got the 1481.1. It was released today, and by chance I was checking. Updated from the JS9500 website, as autoupdate was not getting the update. Didn't check what was updated, just to let you all know a firmware is coming your way.

You should now have HDR available in the built-in Netflix app.


Richard
mbernstein likes this.
King Richard is offline  
post #21531 of 21960 Old 03-15-2017, 01:51 AM
Lionheart of AVS
 
King Richard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Greenstone, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,036
Mentioned: 66 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1627 Post(s)
Liked: 3580
Exclamation Samsung Officially Launches Q Series

Samsung officially launched the new 2017 Q Series TVs yesterday.

Click the LINK below for more:

Samsung Q Series QLED HDR 4K TVs Officially Launch

Article by Mark Henninger (aka @imagic )

See also the following article by @Scott Wilkinson :

Samsung Product-Launch Event Video


HDR10 Plus (aka "Dynamic HDR10")

Samsung also officially announce the HDR10 Plus dynamic tone-mapping standard (aka: Dynamic HDR10), available on all 2017 Samsung QLED & UHD TVs.

As also announced by Vincent Teoh on twitter:

https://twitter.com/Vincent_Teoh/sta...19368157409280


Richard
galonzo and Musician like this.

Last edited by King Richard; 03-18-2017 at 12:46 AM.
King Richard is offline  
post #21532 of 21960 Old 03-15-2017, 03:34 AM
rlb
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rlb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: North Royalton, OH
Posts: 5,574
Mentioned: 49 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1748 Post(s)
Liked: 1420
Quote:
Originally Posted by danedrow View Post
Ok,
Here is a strange question concern the ARC functionality of the OCB. Has anyone had the ARC function working for months / years and then just stop working one day?
.
I have the F9000 with the 3500 OCB and a denon 1712 AVR and an older comcast cable box (pre X1). I had HDMI cables going from the cable box to the OCB and then back to the Denon, with the cable from the OCB to AVR coming from HDMI3 as is needed. This set up has been working fine since I got the new OCB last spring. There have been occasional handshake issue where the ARC wouldn't work when I first turned everything on, but typically turning the TV or the AVR off and then back on would fix it. Like I said, been working for nearly a year and then I came home the other night and it just didn't work, no matter how many times I turned various components off and on. I have tried the following:
.
1) Double checked for any firmware updates - TV is still on 1481 and has been for a while, AVR is not connected to the internet so it didn't change.
2) Double checked the ARC settings in both the TV and the AVR and they appear to be set correctly. When I do an ARC scan it says that it sees something called player, which I'm assuming the KD-8500 UHD player that's connected to the OCB and not the TV
3) Double checked the cable connections - Nothing lose, plugged in and out a couple times, original cable doesn't look damaged and even switched cables, still doesn't work
4) The ports themselves are working as I have reversed the cables - Cable box now goes to AVR first and Monitor out (ARC in port) to HDMI 3 on the OCB and the picture is fine

So great tech guru's of this thread, what am I missing? Any suggestions besides a factory reset of the TV?

Thanks
Presume you have a "typo" (i.e., HDMI 3 for the OCB ARC port) and this won't solve your problem; but my ARC port is HDMI 4.

Samsung 65JS9500 and 65F9000 w/SEK-3500U, Denon AVR X3300 & Outlaw 755
Samsung K8500, OPPO 103-D, PS3, HR44, HR24, and Roku Ultra
rlb is offline  
post #21533 of 21960 Old 03-15-2017, 04:30 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by danedrow View Post
Ok,
Here is a strange question concern the ARC functionality of the OCB. Has anyone had the ARC function working for months / years and then just stop working one day?
.
I have the F9000 with the 3500 OCB and a denon 1712 AVR and an older comcast cable box (pre X1). I had HDMI cables going from the cable box to the OCB and then back to the Denon, with the cable from the OCB to AVR coming from HDMI3 as is needed. This set up has been working fine since I got the new OCB last spring. There have been occasional handshake issue where the ARC wouldn't work when I first turned everything on, but typically turning the TV or the AVR off and then back on would fix it. Like I said, been working for nearly a year and then I came home the other night and it just didn't work, no matter how many times I turned various components off and on. I have tried the following:
.
1) Double checked for any firmware updates - TV is still on 1481 and has been for a while, AVR is not connected to the internet so it didn't change.
2) Double checked the ARC settings in both the TV and the AVR and they appear to be set correctly. When I do an ARC scan it says that it sees something called player, which I'm assuming the KD-8500 UHD player that's connected to the OCB and not the TV
3) Double checked the cable connections - Nothing lose, plugged in and out a couple times, original cable doesn't look damaged and even switched cables, still doesn't work
4) The ports themselves are working as I have reversed the cables - Cable box now goes to AVR first and Monitor out (ARC in port) to HDMI 3 on the OCB and the picture is fine

So great tech guru's of this thread, what am I missing? Any suggestions besides a factory reset of the TV?

Thanks
I have the exact same problem. Sometime after I upgraded my firmware to 1481.1, my troubles began. I've done the same steps as you and even more. I've tried new cables, bought a new Dolby Atmos sound bar (which I was planning to buy anyway) that sounds great, tried a new SEK-3500U/ZA OCB (sent back) and at Samsung technical support's suggestion, l even called out a Samsung technician who suggested I replace the main board for $800 or buy a new TV. That was a waste of $125!

After all that I have done, I've concluded it must be a software issue. I'm hoping a new firmware update will fix the problem. By the way, my TV is a Samsung UN65-F9000 with a 2015 SEK-3500U/ZA and a HW-K850 Soundbar w/ Dolby Atmos.

UN65F9000AFXZA
HW-K850 Soundbar w/ Dolby Atmos
SEK3500u/zA
BDF7500
CY-SUC10SH1/ZA
Xbox One
darrylj is online now  
post #21534 of 21960 Old 03-15-2017, 08:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
player002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5,546
Mentioned: 184 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3467 Post(s)
Liked: 2590
Quote:
Originally Posted by King Richard View Post
Samsung officially launched the new 2017 Q Series TVs yesterday.



Richard
I have been playing with them posted in some threads.. I will put them all here so you can see.

Close up view of Q7

Q8

Close up view of Q8

Ks9500 VS Q8 QLED (65inch)
galonzo and Musician like this.

55KS8000/65HU8700- SEK 3500U/60F8500/51D6900/46B650/Onkyo TX-NR616
Xbox one/PS4/PC R9 290/Wii U
player002 is offline  
post #21535 of 21960 Old 03-15-2017, 10:54 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Researching and getting ready for SEK Evo Kit purchase

Musician,

Thanks for this great instruction list. I've been pouring over countless threads about this kit as I purchased my 2014 Samsung UN65HU8550FXZA two years ago but never added an Evolution Kit until now. On step 3 when you mention doing a EVO Kit Backup, should I still complete this step even if I've never installed a kit on my tv?

It seems the price is set at $399 but I've noticed many threads talking about having to return bad units, would you recommend a purchase from Samsung directly, Amazon or local stores? Seeing threads referencing "Bricking" their EVO's makes me cautious on buying an "open box" unit.

Thanks in advance for any input.
Firering is offline  
post #21536 of 21960 Old 03-16-2017, 05:47 AM
Member
 
almost too old's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: ON, Canada
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firering View Post
Musician,

Thanks for this great instruction list. I've been pouring over countless threads about this kit as I purchased my 2014 Samsung UN65HU8550FXZA two years ago but never added an Evolution Kit until now. On step 3 when you mention doing a EVO Kit Backup, should I still complete this step even if I've never installed a kit on my tv?

It seems the price is set at $399 but I've noticed many threads talking about having to return bad units, would you recommend a purchase from Samsung directly, Amazon or local stores? Seeing threads referencing "Bricking" their EVO's makes me cautious on buying an "open box" unit.

Thanks in advance for any input.
Personally I'd avoid an open box SEK...just not worth the potential pitfalls to save 10% IMHO. If you have access to a local retailer with knowledgeable staff and a good return policy (just in case) I think that is the way to go. I purchased through Amazon.com as the SEK's are no longer available in Canada. Yes, you need to do the EVO Kit backup (step 2 in my instructions from this site). It backs up your current settings etc. EVO Kit and OCB are terms sometimes used inter-changeably (which they probably shouldn't be).

UN60HU8550FXZC / UHD w/ SEK-3500U, Arris VIP5562W Whole Home PVR, ONKYO TX-SR353, Apple TV and UBD-K8500 /ZC
UN65KS8000FXZC /SUHD w/Arris VIP5662W UHD Whole Home PVR, Denon AVR-S720W 5.1.2 and UBD-K8500 /ZC
almost too old is offline  
post #21537 of 21960 Old 03-16-2017, 07:26 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks Scott for the suggestions. Tried finding your step #2 but are you referring to post 20635 or is it somewhere else?
Firering is offline  
post #21538 of 21960 Old 03-16-2017, 09:00 AM
Member
 
almost too old's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: ON, Canada
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firering View Post
Thanks Scott for the suggestions. Tried finding your step #2 but are you referring to post 20635 or is it somewhere else?
Not sure of the post number where I got the info. I just copied the info in to Notepad. Below is what I used to set up my SEK. I added a comment in red

1. Update the firmware on your TV. If your TV says you have the current FW when checking via OTA check on Samsung's site for your region to be sure and download / install manually if there is a more current FW
2. Menu > System > Evolution Kit Backup (run this even if you don't have an evolution kit or one connect box attached).
3. Completely power down your TV. Unplug the power cord and depress the (joystick) power button on the back of your set to insure that all power is dissipated.
4. Connect the SEK-3500 to your TV and reconnect the electrical power cord.
5. Connect antenna, ethernet, hdmi and usb cables directly to the SEK-3500.
6. Turn on the tv and follow directions.
7. If you are using a bluetooth remote, you may need to (re)pair it to your TV.
Musician likes this.

UN60HU8550FXZC / UHD w/ SEK-3500U, Arris VIP5562W Whole Home PVR, ONKYO TX-SR353, Apple TV and UBD-K8500 /ZC
UN65KS8000FXZC /SUHD w/Arris VIP5662W UHD Whole Home PVR, Denon AVR-S720W 5.1.2 and UBD-K8500 /ZC

Last edited by almost too old; 03-16-2017 at 09:14 AM.
almost too old is offline  
post #21539 of 21960 Old 03-16-2017, 10:48 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
SEK 3500 W Marantz 5007 Via Optical

Relative newby learning as I go. Have a great setup. Samsung HU-9000 with SEK 3500 Xbox one S, ALienware Aurora as HTPC with 1080 Nvidia, all feeding into my marantz SR5007. Have an Emotiva XPA-3 powering the front Polk RTIA9s and CSIA6 the Marantz powers the FXIA6 rears. Sounds amazing and looks awesome! Want to start playing 4K UHD discs on my xbox one S but dont want to pay for a new receiver as the marantz does not have HDMI 2.0 or HDCP 2.2.
Is it possible to run an optical cable from the SEK 3500 to marantz SR5007 and if so how do I change the settings on the Marantz? Any help much appreciated.
J
John Leonard is offline  
post #21540 of 21960 Old 03-16-2017, 12:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
PJL99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 660
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 414 Post(s)
Liked: 254
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Leonard View Post
Relative newby learning as I go. Have a great setup. Samsung HU-9000 with SEK 3500 Xbox one S, ALienware Aurora as HTPC with 1080 Nvidia, all feeding into my marantz SR5007. Have an Emotiva XPA-3 powering the front Polk RTIA9s and CSIA6 the Marantz powers the FXIA6 rears. Sounds amazing and looks awesome! Want to start playing 4K UHD discs on my xbox one S but dont want to pay for a new receiver as the marantz does not have HDMI 2.0 or HDCP 2.2.
Is it possible to run an optical cable from the SEK 3500 to marantz SR5007 and if so how do I change the settings on the Marantz? Any help much appreciated.
J
You can use optical back to the AVR but the audio will only be DD5.1 at best, just as it would be using HDMI ARC if your Marantz supports it.
Musician likes this.
PJL99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
SEK-3500U/ZA
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off