2015 Samsung SEK-3500U/ZA Evolution Kit - Page 744 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 12002Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #22291 of 22419 Old 08-04-2017, 09:45 PM
 
player002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5,673
Mentioned: 190 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3533 Post(s)
Liked: 2659
Quote:
Originally Posted by department76 View Post
If you get the SEK3500U it will allow you to run 4k60, as well as HDR content (10 bits), and all the new ports are hdmi 2.0/hdcp2.2
Yes to all!
player002 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22292 of 22419 Old 08-05-2017, 01:10 AM
Lionheart of AVS
 
King Richard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Greenstone, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,287
Mentioned: 75 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1792 Post(s)
Liked: 4336
4K Guardians of the Galaxy, Vol. 2: First Look


For those of you who are anxiously waiting for it (like I am )...

Here is an early "first look" of it by >Michael S. Palmer (highdefdigest.com)<

It will be available on "4K Ultra HD Blu-ray" and a "4K/3D Best Buy Exclusive SteelBook" on August 22nd.

"Guardians Vol. 2" is actually Disney's first 4K disc.

Quote:
Make no mistake, the 4K Ultra HD Blu-ray DESTROYS the Blu-ray in every possible way... I'm not kidding or exaggerating. No hyperbole whatsoever. The difference is visible and dramatic...

The Blu-ray is like watching the movie with sunglasses on, where as the 4K Ultra HD Blu-ray is like watching after you've had laser eye surgery.

...unless there are serious flaws hiding somewhere, Guardians Vol. 2 is probably going to set a new standard as the best, demo-worthy 4K Ultra HD Blu-ray the young format has ever seen... this movie looks bolder, brighter, and more colorful than "Pacific Rim" and "The Great Gatsby".
For more, go and read the article (LINK).




almost too old likes this.
King Richard is offline  
post #22293 of 22419 Old 08-06-2017, 05:57 AM
Lionheart of AVS
 
King Richard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Greenstone, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,287
Mentioned: 75 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1792 Post(s)
Liked: 4336
NOTE: I posted this in the "Master List of UHD titles" thread, but I thought I would post it here as well.

Marvel’s The Defenders Trailer #2


And here is the first trailer again:


August 18 on Netflix. Can't wait!



Richard
galonzo, celestica and sikclown like this.
King Richard is offline  
 
post #22294 of 22419 Old 08-08-2017, 04:02 PM
Senior Member
 
CPTuell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 388
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 158 Post(s)
Liked: 78
If anyone is interested or knows someone interested, I just placed my DVDO Iscan Mini up for sale on the Forum's Classifieds. Hope posting this isn't some kind of forum rules violation. If so let me know and I'll delete it.

Thanks

CPTuell
" I'm a man, I can change, If I have to......I guess." Words to live by. From the Red Green Show...The Man's Prayer
UN65HU9000/SEK3500/US02,DirecTv HR-54 Genie w/4K MiniGenie, Denon AVR-X3300W, Roku Ultra 4K/HDR, Chromecast Ultra 4K/HDR, Sony UBP-X800
CPTuell is offline  
post #22295 of 22419 Old 08-08-2017, 09:53 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 1
HI,

I just connect my Connect Box to my HU8550 TV. Everything works great except for I can't switch TV to HDMI 4 using Harmony Remote (All other HDMI ports are working fine), I have to go to Source and then I can choose HDMI 4. Does anyone have similar problem like that and what's the possible fix.

Thanks
hatng is offline  
post #22296 of 22419 Old 08-09-2017, 02:38 AM
Member
 
smoorenc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by hatng View Post
HI,

I just connect my Connect Box to my HU8550 TV. Everything works great except for I can't switch TV to HDMI 4 using Harmony Remote (All other HDMI ports are working fine), I have to go to Source and then I can choose HDMI 4. Does anyone have similar problem like that and what's the possible fix.

Thanks
You CAN NOT pick HDMI4 from Harmony. I have same issue and found out that Harmony won't do it at all. I just moved my HDMI cable to 3. Luckily my receiver is HDMI 2.2 so I only needed 2 HDMI's total. I was wanting to use HDMI4 on TV because it is ARC, so I used the optic from TV to receiver for sound (OTA antenna) instead of the ARC on HDMI4. I wasn't happy at the time, but now I really don't notice any difference and got past the issue with the optic into my receiver.

Scott
smoorenc is offline  
post #22297 of 22419 Old 08-09-2017, 04:32 AM
rlb
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rlb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: North Royalton, OH
Posts: 5,625
Mentioned: 52 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1787 Post(s)
Liked: 1457
Quote:
Originally Posted by hatng View Post
HI,

I just connect my Connect Box to my HU8550 TV. Everything works great except for I can't switch TV to HDMI 4 using Harmony Remote (All other HDMI ports are working fine), I have to go to Source and then I can choose HDMI 4. Does anyone have similar problem like that and what's the possible fix.

Thanks
There is a "fix".

Harmony has a macro which is automatically installed when you setup a Samsung display that can't directly address HDMI 4. I previously used it on my JS9500. One requirement for it to function is that you have an active input into HDMI 3. I connected my directv HDMI input into HDMI 3 on the OCB because I never turn off the HR44 (the directv input is also a good source because it doesn't exceed dolby digital sound and therefore isn't degraded by using ARC for input to the receiver). Then when you try to go directly to HDMI 4, the macro automatically goes to source HDMI 3 and then up to HDMI 4.

It may be difficult to understand my above explanation; but it does work.
brotony likes this.

Samsung 65JS9500 and 65F9000 w/SEK-3500U, Denon AVR X3300 & Outlaw 755
Samsung K8500, OPPO 103-D, PS3, HR44, HR24, and Roku Ultra

Last edited by rlb; 08-09-2017 at 04:37 AM.
rlb is offline  
post #22298 of 22419 Old 08-09-2017, 06:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sikclown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,281
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1464 Post(s)
Liked: 731
Quote:
Originally Posted by hatng View Post
HI,

I just connect my Connect Box to my HU8550 TV. Everything works great except for I can't switch TV to HDMI 4 using Harmony Remote (All other HDMI ports are working fine), I have to go to Source and then I can choose HDMI 4. Does anyone have similar problem like that and what's the possible fix.

Thanks
Quote:
Originally Posted by smoorenc View Post
You CAN NOT pick HDMI4 from Harmony. I have same issue and found out that Harmony won't do it at all. I just moved my HDMI cable to 3. Luckily my receiver is HDMI 2.2 so I only needed 2 HDMI's total. I was wanting to use HDMI4 on TV because it is ARC, so I used the optic from TV to receiver for sound (OTA antenna) instead of the ARC on HDMI4. I wasn't happy at the time, but now I really don't notice any difference and got past the issue with the optic into my receiver.

Scott
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlb View Post
There is a "fix".

Harmony has a macro which is automatically installed when you setup a Samsung display that can't directly address HDMI 4. I previously used it on my JS9500. One requirement for it to function is that you have an active input into HDMI 3. I connected my directv HDMI input into HDMI 3 on the OCB because I never turn off the HR44 (the directv input is also a good source because it doesn't exceed dolby digital sound and therefore isn't degraded by using ARC for input to the receiver). Then when you try to go directly to HDMI 4, the macro automatically goes to source HDMI 3 and then up to HDMI 4.

It may be difficult to understand my above explanation; but it does work.
You will have to re-add your set in Harmony as a JS9000 and then set up all your activities again. When you get to Input the TV should be on you will have several new options for HDMI 4 as shown in the attached image:

Name:  Harmony Shot.jpg
Views: 929
Size:  305.1 KB

This is the upgraded version of the macros. Basically you tell it which HDMI ports on the SEK-3500u have devices connected to them so it knows how many sources to skip.
rlb, makado and brotony like this.

LG OLED 65C7P, Denon AVR-X7200WA, Apple TV, Oppo UDP-203, PS4, Xbox One
Nvidia Sheild Pro, HTPC, (2) Klipsch RF-82IIs, (4)RS-52IIs,, (1)RP-450CA,
(4) RP-140SA, SVS PB12-Plus, Emotiva XPA-100, XPA-200, Emotiva A-700
UN55KS9000, Denon x4200w, Apple TV, Panny BDT460, HTPC,
Nvidia Shield, Klipsch G-42,(2) R-3650-W-II,(4) RSL-C34E, SVS SB-1000, UPA-200
sikclown is online now  
post #22299 of 22419 Old 08-09-2017, 07:51 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by sikclown View Post
You will have to re-add your set in Harmony as a JS9000 and then set up all your activities again. When you get to Input the TV should be on you will have several new options for HDMI 4 as shown in the attached image:

Attachment 2265196

This is the upgraded version of the macros. Basically you tell it which HDMI ports on the SEK-3500u have devices connected to them so it knows how many sources to skip.
Thanks for the reply but after adding my TV (HU8550 set) as JS9000, the TV won't power up with the harmony remote.
hatng is offline  
post #22300 of 22419 Old 08-09-2017, 07:56 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlb View Post
There is a "fix".

Harmony has a macro which is automatically installed when you setup a Samsung display that can't directly address HDMI 4. I previously used it on my JS9500. One requirement for it to function is that you have an active input into HDMI 3. I connected my directv HDMI input into HDMI 3 on the OCB because I never turn off the HR44 (the directv input is also a good source because it doesn't exceed dolby digital sound and therefore isn't degraded by using ARC for input to the receiver). Then when you try to go directly to HDMI 4, the macro automatically goes to source HDMI 3 and then up to HDMI 4.

It may be difficult to understand my above explanation; but it does work.
I probably switch to HDMI 3 and lose the ARC, because I have only 2 HDMI cables out of wall to the equipment room, 1 to HDMI2 to connect directly to my computer (with UHD color mode on) and one to HDMI4 (UHD color off) connect to receiver.
hatng is offline  
post #22301 of 22419 Old 08-09-2017, 08:33 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sikclown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,281
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1464 Post(s)
Liked: 731
Quote:
Originally Posted by hatng View Post
Thanks for the reply but after adding my TV (HU8550 set) as JS9000, the TV won't power up with the harmony remote.
which Harmony Remote do you have? You have to turn on IR for the remote vs just using the Hub if the hub cannot see the TV's IR port.

This help guide from Logitech will fix the issue. You will of course have to have the remote pointed at the screen. You probably had that set before but the new device defaulted to hub only.

https://support.myharmony.com/en-us/...t-from-the-hub
brotony and hatng like this.

LG OLED 65C7P, Denon AVR-X7200WA, Apple TV, Oppo UDP-203, PS4, Xbox One
Nvidia Sheild Pro, HTPC, (2) Klipsch RF-82IIs, (4)RS-52IIs,, (1)RP-450CA,
(4) RP-140SA, SVS PB12-Plus, Emotiva XPA-100, XPA-200, Emotiva A-700
UN55KS9000, Denon x4200w, Apple TV, Panny BDT460, HTPC,
Nvidia Shield, Klipsch G-42,(2) R-3650-W-II,(4) RSL-C34E, SVS SB-1000, UPA-200
sikclown is online now  
post #22302 of 22419 Old 08-09-2017, 11:39 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Oops, you nailed it. I forgot to set the new device to IR. Now I have HDMI 4 working, actually only the third option of HDMI 4 works. I have no idea why but I got it working that's the most important thing..

Thanks again


Quote:
Originally Posted by sikclown View Post
which Harmony Remote do you have? You have to turn on IR for the remote vs just using the Hub if the hub cannot see the TV's IR port.

This help guide from Logitech will fix the issue. You will of course have to have the remote pointed at the screen. You probably had that set before but the new device defaulted to hub only.
sikclown likes this.
hatng is offline  
post #22303 of 22419 Old 08-09-2017, 06:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sikclown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,281
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1464 Post(s)
Liked: 731
Quote:
Originally Posted by hatng View Post
Oops, you nailed it. I forgot to set the new device to IR. Now I have HDMI 4 working, actually only the third option of HDMI 4 works. I have no idea why but I got it working that's the most important thing..

Thanks again
Awesome! No problem at all.

LG OLED 65C7P, Denon AVR-X7200WA, Apple TV, Oppo UDP-203, PS4, Xbox One
Nvidia Sheild Pro, HTPC, (2) Klipsch RF-82IIs, (4)RS-52IIs,, (1)RP-450CA,
(4) RP-140SA, SVS PB12-Plus, Emotiva XPA-100, XPA-200, Emotiva A-700
UN55KS9000, Denon x4200w, Apple TV, Panny BDT460, HTPC,
Nvidia Shield, Klipsch G-42,(2) R-3650-W-II,(4) RSL-C34E, SVS SB-1000, UPA-200
sikclown is online now  
post #22304 of 22419 Old 08-10-2017, 04:16 AM
Member
 
smoorenc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 19
ARC from HDMI4 to work with my Harmony Remote

Quote:
Originally Posted by sikclown View Post
Awesome! No problem at all.
GREAT!! Thanks, I thought I could never get ARC from HDMI4 to work with my Harmony "Logitech Harmony Elite http://a.co/2YnnAcV ". This is the one I have, someone above asked. Thanks again!! Scott
sikclown likes this.
smoorenc is offline  
post #22305 of 22419 Old 08-12-2017, 03:11 PM
Senior Member
 
MarkyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 395
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 83
FYI...If you know anyone who may be interested, I have my 55HU8550/SEK-3500 (calibrated by Chad B) up for sale here in the AVS Classifieds under Display Devices / LCD Panels. Thanks and I hope mentioning this is allowed. If not, please let me know. Thanks!

LG OLED55C6P, Samsung 55HU8550 w/SEK-3500
Denon AVR-3808CI, Sony UPB-X800
MarkyM is offline  
post #22306 of 22419 Old 08-12-2017, 04:21 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Somebody knows what would happen if I try to connect a one connect box from the samsung KS series into my samsung JS, has somebody tried this already? do they even use the same connector cable?

I know it will probably won't work (assuming they use the same cable) but i'd like to try just for fun.. but i'd like to know if this could potentially mess up the TV (I know the answer is probably yes, but i just can't help myself messing around with things XD).
rodmc1 is offline  
post #22307 of 22419 Old 08-13-2017, 10:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sikclown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,281
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1464 Post(s)
Liked: 731
Quote:
Originally Posted by rodmc1 View Post
Somebody knows what would happen if I try to connect a one connect box from the samsung KS series into my samsung JS, has somebody tried this already? do they even use the same connector cable?

I know it will probably won't work (assuming they use the same cable) but i'd like to try just for fun.. but i'd like to know if this could potentially mess up the TV (I know the answer is probably yes, but i just can't help myself messing around with things XD).
Different connectors.
King Richard likes this.

LG OLED 65C7P, Denon AVR-X7200WA, Apple TV, Oppo UDP-203, PS4, Xbox One
Nvidia Sheild Pro, HTPC, (2) Klipsch RF-82IIs, (4)RS-52IIs,, (1)RP-450CA,
(4) RP-140SA, SVS PB12-Plus, Emotiva XPA-100, XPA-200, Emotiva A-700
UN55KS9000, Denon x4200w, Apple TV, Panny BDT460, HTPC,
Nvidia Shield, Klipsch G-42,(2) R-3650-W-II,(4) RSL-C34E, SVS SB-1000, UPA-200
sikclown is online now  
post #22308 of 22419 Old 08-13-2017, 11:07 AM
Member
 
twssas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 42
One connect cable question

Have a 65 inch HU8550, with the 3500u evolution kit.

I am looking at the possibility of relocating the tv and mounting it on the wall. The new location would be about 7-8 feet adjacent to a cabinet, where I would like to place my one connect box, as well as my apple tv, indoor antenna, etc. Current cable appears to be about 8 foot or so. (I have to snake the cable through the wall to the cabinet)

Does anyone know if you can get a longer cable for this setup? Based on my search results so far in this thread, it doesnt appear so, but thought I would ask anyway. Thanks.
twssas is offline  
post #22309 of 22419 Old 08-13-2017, 11:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
poppagene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bethesda, MD
Posts: 1,268
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 695 Post(s)
Liked: 508
Quote:
Originally Posted by twssas View Post
Have a 65 inch HU8550, with the 3500u evolution kit.

I am looking at the possibility of relocating the tv and mounting it on the wall. The new location would be about 7-8 feet adjacent to a cabinet, where I would like to place my one connect box, as well as my apple tv, indoor antenna, etc. Current cable appears to be about 8 foot or so. (I have to snake the cable through the wall to the cabinet)

Does anyone know if you can get a longer cable for this setup? Based on my search results so far in this thread, it doesnt appear so, but thought I would ask anyway. Thanks.
The one connect cable is probably 3 meters or just shy of 10 feet long. A longer one is not available.
King Richard likes this.

UN48JS8500 UN55HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UN40HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UBD-K8500 UN37C5000
poppagene is online now  
post #22310 of 22419 Old 08-13-2017, 02:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 8,729
Mentioned: 184 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3097 Post(s)
Liked: 2414
Quote:
Originally Posted by rodmc1 View Post
Somebody knows what would happen if I try to connect a one connect box from the samsung KS series into my samsung JS, has somebody tried this already? do they even use the same connector cable?

I know it will probably won't work (assuming they use the same cable) but i'd like to try just for fun.. but i'd like to know if this could potentially mess up the TV (I know the answer is probably yes, but i just can't help myself messing around with things XD).
The OCB for the KS is basically Inputs only, versus the OCB for the JS having the electronics and Inputs.

UN65HU9000 with SEK-3500U in JS Mod Mode + Input at 1080P 60HZ 444. 4K separate input- Mine
UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U / UN32EH5300 (On floor and up for sale) / 2 X LG 55LHXs - wife's ! New addition UN40J5200AF
PN64F8500 still up for sale
p5browne is offline  
post #22311 of 22419 Old 08-13-2017, 05:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
poppagene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bethesda, MD
Posts: 1,268
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 695 Post(s)
Liked: 508
Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post
The OCB for the KS is basically Inputs only, versus the OCB for the JS having the electronics and Inputs.
Depends on which JS -- Only the JS9000 and above have a real OCB with electronics. The others have a mini-connect box with inputs only like the KS series
King Richard likes this.

UN48JS8500 UN55HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UN40HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UBD-K8500 UN37C5000
poppagene is online now  
post #22312 of 22419 Old 08-14-2017, 08:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 8,729
Mentioned: 184 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3097 Post(s)
Liked: 2414
Quote:
Originally Posted by poppagene View Post
Depends on which JS -- Only the JS9000 and above have a real OCB with electronics. The others have a mini-connect box with inputs only like the KS series
Unfortunately, we aren't given the Model # he has.

UN65HU9000 with SEK-3500U in JS Mod Mode + Input at 1080P 60HZ 444. 4K separate input- Mine
UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U / UN32EH5300 (On floor and up for sale) / 2 X LG 55LHXs - wife's ! New addition UN40J5200AF
PN64F8500 still up for sale
p5browne is offline  
post #22313 of 22419 Old 08-14-2017, 06:01 PM
Lionheart of AVS
 
King Richard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Greenstone, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,287
Mentioned: 75 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1792 Post(s)
Liked: 4336
UK 2017 TV Shootout

Held at the Harefield Academy in Uxbridge (London, England), Sunday August 13

Spoiler!


Participating TVs (all 65"):

• LG B7 OLED TV (OLED65B7V)

• Panasonic EZ1002 OLED TV (TX-65EZ1002)

• Sony A1 OLED TV (KD-65A1)

• Samsung Q9 QLED TV (QE65Q9F)

• Sony ZD9 LED LCD TV (KD-65ZD9)


Reference/Mastering Monitor:

30" Sony BVM-X300 4K HDR OLED ($30K)


Note: The TVs were all calibrated to 200 nits by "HDTVTest’s" Editor and calibrator Vincent Teoh with assistance from Tyler Pruitt (Portrait Displays) and compared to the Sony reference studio monitor.


Results/Winners:


Best HDR TV: LG B7 OLED

Best Gaming TV: LG B7 OLED

Best Living Room TV: Sony A1 OLED

Best Home Theater TV: Panasonic EZ1002 OLED

Best Overall TV of 2017: Panasonic EZ1002 OLED

Winner!: OLED TVs (Sorry LCD TVs )


Scoring:

Spoiler!


Individual Category Scores:

Spoiler!


Overall Award Scores:

Spoiler!


LINK to the Flat Panel HD Article:

>OLED took home all awards at HDTVTest's annual TV shootout<




LINK to the AVS Shootout Thread:

>UK 2017 HDTVtest TV Shootout<


LINK to Mark's Article (& Thread):

>HDTVtest 2017 TV Shootout: Panasonic EZ1002 OLED Takes Top Prize<


Here are 2 great posts from one of the attendees @RobertR1

[POST #1 l POST #2]

And here's one from another attendee @ARROW-AV [LINK]


Keeping Things in Perspective

Spoiler!


Shootout Pics:

Spoiler!


YouTube Videos:



Special thanks to "HDTVtest"; retailer "Crampton & Moore"; "Vincent Teoh"; @WiFi-Spy ; @ARROW-AV ; @RobertR1 ; and all other participants, judges, and attendees.


Note: It should be pointed-out that the two LCD/LED TVs did in fact outperform the OLEDs in the "Bright Room" category (the Q9 edging-out the ZD9/Z9D in this case - most likely due to it's superior anti-reflective coating).


Richard
galonzo likes this.

Last edited by King Richard; 08-21-2017 at 10:54 PM.
King Richard is offline  
post #22314 of 22419 Old 08-14-2017, 06:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 2,800
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2235 Post(s)
Liked: 2452
^^^
I heard a rumor that the Samsung Q9 was powered by an SEK-3500. Can anyone confirm?
sikclown likes this.

John
Sony 55A1E / LG 55OLEDE6P
Marantz 7009
Ohm Walsh Speakers
ISF Level II Certified
jrref is online now  
post #22315 of 22419 Old 08-15-2017, 02:19 AM
Member
 
almost too old's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: ON, Canada
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrref View Post
^^^
I heard a rumor that the Samsung Q9 was powered by an SEK-3500. Can anyone confirm?
That would be interesting...

UN60HU8550FXZC / UHD w/ SEK-3500U, Arris VIP5662W Whole Home PVR, ONKYO TX-SR353, Apple TV and UBD-K8500 /ZC
UN65KS8000FXZC /SUHD w/Arris VIP5662W Whole Home PVR, Denon AVR-S720W 5.1.2 and UBD-K8500 /ZC
almost too old is offline  
post #22316 of 22419 Old 08-15-2017, 08:23 AM
 
player002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5,673
Mentioned: 190 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3533 Post(s)
Liked: 2659
Quote:
Originally Posted by almost too old View Post
That would be interesting...
indeed and would mean they would have to or could do our boxes wtf man lol
almost too old likes this.
player002 is offline  
post #22317 of 22419 Old 08-16-2017, 03:28 AM
Member
 
jvkahl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Harford Co, MD
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by almost too old View Post
That would be interesting...
No the Q series has a self powered one connect and an entirely different plug. Perhaps the M series might work, I know those use a single tv power supply

JVK Samsung QN65Q7FAM, UBD-K8500, Denon AVR-X6200W 7.1.4 Klipsch G-28, G-16, G-12 & R-115SW
Samsung UN65HU7250 w/ sek3500, Roku Ultra, Yamaha RX-V681 5.1 Klipsch G-28, G16 & R112SW
jvkahl is offline  
post #22318 of 22419 Old 08-16-2017, 09:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 8,729
Mentioned: 184 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3097 Post(s)
Liked: 2414
New FW # 1503.0 on the Korean site

http://www.samsung.com/sec/support/model/UN65JS9000F/

or, (Both are the same)

http://www.samsung.com/sec/support/model/UN65JS9500F
SL600 likes this.

UN65HU9000 with SEK-3500U in JS Mod Mode + Input at 1080P 60HZ 444. 4K separate input- Mine
UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U / UN32EH5300 (On floor and up for sale) / 2 X LG 55LHXs - wife's ! New addition UN40J5200AF
PN64F8500 still up for sale
p5browne is offline  
post #22319 of 22419 Old 08-16-2017, 12:22 PM
Senior Member
 
makado's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: No. California
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Mine is still on 1501.


SAMSUNG UN75HU8550FXZA GOLF CHIP TS 01 WITH SEK3500U DENON X4200 DEF TECH BP2002 5.1 PLUS KLIPSH ATMOS 140 SPEAKERS, NVIDEA SHIELD, APPLE TV, ROKU etc.
makado is offline  
post #22320 of 22419 Old 08-16-2017, 02:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 8,729
Mentioned: 184 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3097 Post(s)
Liked: 2414
Quote:
Originally Posted by makado View Post
Mine is still on 1501.
Download, or have a lot of patience waiting!
brotony likes this.

UN65HU9000 with SEK-3500U in JS Mod Mode + Input at 1080P 60HZ 444. 4K separate input- Mine
UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U / UN32EH5300 (On floor and up for sale) / 2 X LG 55LHXs - wife's ! New addition UN40J5200AF
PN64F8500 still up for sale
p5browne is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
SEK-3500U/ZA

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off