Official LG 55/60/65 UH8500 Thread - Page 87 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 656Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2581 of 3190 Old 03-03-2017, 10:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tezster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 1,478
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 517 Post(s)
Liked: 400
Is there an option with the built-in Netflix app to display the resolution and audio information? Some other devices have it, but I can't find whether it's possible on the LG.
klown07 likes this.
tezster is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2582 of 3190 Old 03-03-2017, 11:32 AM
Member
 
MarshallFaulk28's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 60
The Amazon app has finally been fixed! I reported this to them in December, and they assured me that they were working on a fix. I see it has gone live with the latest app update. The HDR settings (like turning in wide color gamut) will now save and stay in place when you exit an HDR enabled show. Further, you're now not limited to just the HDR standard mode on the TV. You can flip between standard/bright/vivid.

Very happy I don't have to keep tweaking the settings with every show I watch.
MarshallFaulk28 is online now  
post #2583 of 3190 Old 03-03-2017, 11:52 AM
Member
 
derek500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Datagg View Post
Not dumb at all. Go into settings> General> HDMI ULTRA HD DEEP Color> The input you have an HDR capable source plug in turn it on. Each one turned on will ask you after to restart TV. Turning each on will enable each external device to engage HDR once on that input. That's all there is to it.

Netflix you will need there upgraded 4K plan. Once obtained you then can access part of the growing library of available 4K HDR/DOLBY ready content.

As far as the pillar of light, yes they are a pain once you notice them. Best to try not to dwell on them too much (I know this from experience) and turn off local dimming. Question is will the blacks get to grayish for you. Here I ended up using medium Local Dimming across the board and purchased bias lighting that for me reduces those pillars allot. Pillars are not an issue during the day, only at night during certain conditions that a movie allows them to show up allot. Bias lights took care of this for me as they are hardly noticeable. So look into those. I mention them as well as others a few posts up. Have fun.
@Datagg

I assumed @guitarpik was using the built in apps and not an external source for Amazon/Netflix.
derek500 is offline  
 
post #2584 of 3190 Old 03-03-2017, 11:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
Datagg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: AZ
Posts: 553
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by derek500 View Post
@Datagg

I assumed @guitarpik was using the built in apps and not an external source for Amazon/Netflix.
The TV has these apps and work on there own internally. I was referring to external devices, such as the Xbox1 S and other devices that have HDR and will need there inputs set to ultra deep on to work.
Datagg is online now  
post #2585 of 3190 Old 03-03-2017, 12:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
Johnny Angell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I printed off Jerimiah's settings for my 65UH8500 and have a few questions:
1) When I'm making the changes, the changes only apply to the input I have selected? I.E. if I'm on HDMI3 the other inputs are not affected are they?
2) 3D Settings - There are some settings that I don't find under 3D, like Backlight, Contrasts, etc. In fact they only 3D setting listed in Jerimiah's settings that are on my set is Picture Mode. I do have other settings under 3D that are not in the J's settings: 1) 3D Pattern Recognition; 2) 3D Color Correction; 3) Normal Image Views; and Image Correction. How do I change the settings for the items that are not listed under 3D? Are there suggested settings for the items not covered in J's settings?
4) I'd swear that the other day I saw an option for applying one input's settings to all the inputs, but now I can't find it. Any idea where it is?

My overall impression of the settings was that the image was much too dark. I changed the Backlight fro the suggested 60 to 100 and it looks much better.
Johnny Angell is offline  
post #2586 of 3190 Old 03-03-2017, 12:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
Johnny Angell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 15
One other question: are the apps considered a separate source to calibrate? I haven't noticed a section for them in settings.
Johnny Angell is offline  
post #2587 of 3190 Old 03-03-2017, 01:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
foxfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,023
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Well, I just got my 55" this week and absolutely love it. Upgraded from a 10-year Samsung 40" LCD. Glad I did as this model is starting to get short on stock, the price went up since I ordered it, and it's now listed as "push to clear" (price ending in .95 on Best Buy Canada).


I haven't had much time to optimize the colours yet. Anyone have a good list of where each setting (brightness, contrast, colours) should be? I was annoyed by the light pillars and turned off local dimming. It's true that the blacks are now grayish but thankfully by screen has no signs of clouding or other banding when content is being displayed. Has anyone considered cardboard or cloth mattes to cover the screen for 2.39 content to be less distracting?


Immediately I had to turn off "Trumotion" as it's absolutely nauseating. It's just stupid to have the TV default to that setting - it takes quite a few menu screens to get to the right one to turn it off, and most who aren't technically-minded would just live with it.

Tried 3D with Real-D glasses as I haven't unwrapped the LG ones yet. ID4 Resurgence is a little annoying (only found out afterwards it was a transfer from a 2D original). Adventures of Tintin is amazing! Glad I waited for passive 3D.
Thunder18 likes this.

Last edited by foxfan; 03-03-2017 at 01:31 PM.
foxfan is offline  
post #2588 of 3190 Old 03-03-2017, 01:47 PM
Member
 
derek500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarshallFaulk28 View Post
The Amazon app has finally been fixed! I reported this to them in December, and they assured me that they were working on a fix. I see it has gone live with the latest app update. The HDR settings (like turning in wide color gamut) will now save and stay in place when you exit an HDR enabled show. Further, you're now not limited to just the HDR standard mode on the TV. You can flip between standard/bright/vivid.

Very happy I don't have to keep tweaking the settings with every show I watch.
Look forward to this coming to UK sets. We're on version 1.1.21 from January 10.
derek500 is offline  
post #2589 of 3190 Old 03-03-2017, 02:02 PM
Member
 
MarshallFaulk28's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by derek500 View Post
Look forward to this coming to UK sets. We're on version 1.1.21 from January 10.
Hopefully it will be there soon for you. This one shows as 1.1.31 with a date of Feb. 24, but it only showed up today for me.
derek500 likes this.
MarshallFaulk28 is online now  
post #2590 of 3190 Old 03-04-2017, 02:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
Datagg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: AZ
Posts: 553
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Angell View Post
One other question: are the apps considered a separate source to calibrate? I haven't noticed a section for them in settings.
No.
Datagg is online now  
post #2591 of 3190 Old 03-04-2017, 11:01 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 16
@foxfan : This set needs bias lighting to get the best experience from it. Several have bought the luminoodle colored bias lighting with three white settings from amazon including myself and are happy with the results.
Jrocker23 and Datagg like this.
omston is offline  
post #2592 of 3190 Old 03-04-2017, 11:31 PM
Member
 
guitarpik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by omston View Post
@foxfan : This set needs bias lighting to get the best experience from it. Several have bought the luminoodle colored bias lighting with three white settings from amazon including myself and are happy with the results.
I've been wanting to get something like this once I got a new tv anyway. No need to twist my arm LG!
guitarpik is offline  
post #2593 of 3190 Old 03-04-2017, 11:49 PM
Member
 
guitarpik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So I see the latest firmware version on LG's site is 04.30.95. My tv is 04.30.15 but when I press check for updates it says no updates found. Is something wrong with my tv? Is there a way to update via USB? Thanks!

Another dumb question: I installed the fireplace app but I can't find where to delete it. Thanks for the help, I really appreciate it.

Last edited by guitarpik; 03-04-2017 at 11:53 PM.
guitarpik is offline  
post #2594 of 3190 Old 03-05-2017, 06:13 AM
Member
 
derek500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by guitarpik View Post
So I see the latest firmware version on LG's site is 04.30.95. My tv is 04.30.15 but when I press check for updates it says no updates found. Is something wrong with my tv? Is there a way to update via USB? Thanks!

Another dumb question: I installed the fireplace app but I can't find where to delete it. Thanks for the help, I really appreciate it.
@guitarpik

There's a pdf with instructions on the LG website.. Basically, you download the file, unzip it. Create a folder named LG_DTV on a memory stick/external HDD and put the unzipped file in. Plug into USB socket and TV will recognise it and prompt for the install.
derek500 is offline  
post #2595 of 3190 Old 03-05-2017, 07:43 AM
Member
 
Jrocker23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Angell View Post
I printed off Jerimiah's settings for my 65UH8500 and have a few questions:
1) When I'm making the changes, the changes only apply to the input I have selected? I.E. if I'm on HDMI3 the other inputs are not affected are they?
2) 3D Settings - There are some settings that I don't find under 3D, like Backlight, Contrasts, etc. In fact they only 3D setting listed in Jerimiah's settings that are on my set is Picture Mode. I do have other settings under 3D that are not in the J's settings: 1) 3D Pattern Recognition; 2) 3D Color Correction; 3) Normal Image Views; and Image Correction. How do I change the settings for the items that are not listed under 3D? Are there suggested settings for the items not covered in J's settings?
4) I'd swear that the other day I saw an option for applying one input's settings to all the inputs, but now I can't find it. Any idea where it is?

My overall impression of the settings was that the image was much too dark. I changed the Backlight fro the suggested 60 to 100 and it looks much better.
When your at the settings menu where you pick what you want to adjust, scroll to the bottom and you will see an option to apply to all inputs, if you don't pick this, your settings will only change for the input you are on...
Jrocker23 is online now  
post #2596 of 3190 Old 03-05-2017, 11:56 AM
Member
 
erylant1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Smart Picture Mode

In turning on my 75uh8500 today (with directtv ethernet port because of the directtv 4K ready device attached), I noticed the pi'cture looked odd. I went to the mini-menu from the gear shaped image on the LG remote, and in the 'picture mode it says 'Smart Picture Mode'. Fine...I went to the 'all settings' at the bottom of that mini-menu to turn this off. Now in the main menu...In the 'Picture' setting, the top line shows 'Smart Picture Mode' with the word 'on' underneath it and it is all grayed out, meaning I cannot select or change it. the next line down shows 'picture mode settings' with the word 'standard' under that. I can select that, so I did, and of all the picture adjustments, only 'backlight' can be adjusted. Everything else is grayed out. What have I done????
erylant1 is offline  
post #2597 of 3190 Old 03-05-2017, 12:55 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by erylant1 View Post
In turning on my 75uh8500 today (with directtv ethernet port because of the directtv 4K ready device attached), I noticed the pi'cture looked odd. I went to the mini-menu from the gear shaped image on the LG remote, and in the 'picture mode it says 'Smart Picture Mode'. Fine...I went to the 'all settings' at the bottom of that mini-menu to turn this off. Now in the main menu...In the 'Picture' setting, the top line shows 'Smart Picture Mode' with the word 'on' underneath it and it is all grayed out, meaning I cannot select or change it. the next line down shows 'picture mode settings' with the word 'standard' under that. I can select that, so I did, and of all the picture adjustments, only 'backlight' can be adjusted. Everything else is grayed out. What have I done????
I may be wrong but that feature is only operable on live or ota tv.
omston is offline  
post #2598 of 3190 Old 03-05-2017, 01:54 PM
Member
 
erylant1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I seem to remember that being the case (OTA only) when I was trying to figure why I could not set it a while back. But I definitely on DirectTV, same as always, and stuck on Smart Picture Mode.
erylant1 is offline  
post #2599 of 3190 Old 03-06-2017, 07:27 AM
Member
 
derek500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarshallFaulk28 View Post
Hopefully it will be there soon for you. This one shows as 1.1.31 with a date of Feb. 24, but it only showed up today for me.
Arrived on UK sets today.
MarshallFaulk28 likes this.
derek500 is offline  
post #2600 of 3190 Old 03-06-2017, 09:05 AM
Senior Member
 
mercennarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 479
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Anyone know when we are going to receive the HLG HDR update that the 2017 panels have? Hopefully soon...
mercennarius is offline  
post #2601 of 3190 Old 03-06-2017, 10:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
Datagg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: AZ
Posts: 553
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by mercennarius View Post
Anyone know when we are going to receive the HLG HDR update that the 2017 panels have? Hopefully soon...
Not sure.. i would guess later to mid year so the 2017 sets have some extra perks to push sales. Hopefully though sooner rather than later.
Datagg is online now  
post #2602 of 3190 Old 03-06-2017, 12:31 PM
Member
 
derek500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by mercennarius View Post
Anyone know when we are going to receive the HLG HDR update that the 2017 panels have? Hopefully soon...
Don't know where you are, but here in the UK, there's nothing using HLG yet.

There's no talk of any broadcast HDR that I know of.
derek500 is offline  
post #2603 of 3190 Old 03-06-2017, 12:43 PM
Member
 
guitarpik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Does anyone know how to delete an app from the tv?
soulkeeper likes this.
guitarpik is offline  
post #2604 of 3190 Old 03-06-2017, 01:50 PM
Senior Member
 
mc4saints's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Considering upgrading to a 60uh8500 from a Sony 55 850c. Basically upgrading to the largest size that will fit into my built in. Really comes down to this or a Samsung KS8000. Leaning LG basically for 3D and wider viewing angle. In the stores, the blacks do not look to bad too me but what about in the real world?

Thanks
mc4saints is offline  
post #2605 of 3190 Old 03-06-2017, 11:56 PM
Member
 
guitarpik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mc4saints View Post
Considering upgrading to a 60uh8500 from a Sony 55 850c. Basically upgrading to the largest size that will fit into my built in. Really comes down to this or a Samsung KS8000. Leaning LG basically for 3D and wider viewing angle. In the stores, the blacks do not look to bad too me but what about in the real world?

Thanks
I wanted the KS-8000 but a pretty great deal came along for the LG so I jumped on it. I'm not ecstatic with this tv but the blacks seem fine to me.

If you would be getting the 60" KS-8000, I've heard it's not the same as a 55" or 65" for some reason and is inferior to the other sizes. I did read this on the internet, so who knows if it's true, but I would do some research.
guitarpik is offline  
post #2606 of 3190 Old 03-07-2017, 04:35 AM
Member
 
derek500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by guitarpik View Post
Does anyone know how to delete an app from the tv?
Press Home, scroll to the right and click on the icon with the pencil. Scroll back to the app you want to delete and a cross appears above it. Press up and a ghost's face appears and click.
derek500 is offline  
post #2607 of 3190 Old 03-07-2017, 10:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
NorthJersey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 3,225
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 365 Post(s)
Liked: 159
Quote:
Originally Posted by derek500 View Post
Don't know where you are, but here in the UK, there's nothing using HLG yet.

There's no talk of any broadcast HDR that I know of.
same in the US, there has been nothing announced with HLG yet
NorthJersey is offline  
post #2608 of 3190 Old 03-08-2017, 06:24 AM
Senior Member
 
mercennarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 479
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Wife and I watched Doctor Strange in Blu Ray 3D last night. WOW. The added resolution this TV provided combined with the incredible special effects and great picture quality made this one of the most impressive experiences I have had from any TV. I've seen quite a bit of UHD content on my TV since getting it and it is certainly impressive. But watching Doctor Strange in Blu Ray 3D may have topped all other sources to date.

For those that don't know, a 1080P Passive 3D TV only delivers 1,920x540 pixels to each eye in 3D. Meaning neither eye is getting a true HD picture. Since our TVs are 4K they upscale lower resolutions which has varying results depending on the content. For 3D the results are profound. Each eye receives 3,840x1,080 pixels when watching a 3D Blu Ray which is above HD quality. The added resolution was very apparent in Doctor Strange and I highly recommend giving it a watch.

Last edited by mercennarius; 03-08-2017 at 06:27 AM.
mercennarius is offline  
post #2609 of 3190 Old 03-08-2017, 07:47 AM
Member
 
danlshane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by mercennarius View Post
The added resolution was very apparent in Doctor Strange and I highly recommend giving it a watch.
I bought the 3-D release at Target without ever having seen the movie at the theater. All I had heard was that the visuals were stunning in 3-D, so I made the blind purchase.

My eyes are bleeding, and I love it.
bladerunner0427 likes this.

--
Dan Shane
LG 65UH8500
danlshane is offline  
post #2610 of 3190 Old 03-08-2017, 12:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Wesley Hester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Selma, Alabama, USA
Posts: 2,140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 55
I had an LG 1080p Passive 3D TV and can confirm this. I prefer passive to active just for the lighter/no battery design of the glasses alone. However, on the older 1080p LG, while in 3D, sharp edges would get stair-steps and setting too close would clearly bring out the 'scan-line' like gaps in the 3D images.


Quote:
Originally Posted by mercennarius View Post
For those that don't know, a 1080P Passive 3D TV only delivers 1,920x540 pixels to each eye in 3D. Meaning neither eye is getting a true HD picture. Since our TVs are 4K they upscale lower resolutions which has varying results depending on the content. For 3D the results are profound. Each eye receives 3,840x1,080 pixels when watching a 3D Blu Ray which is above HD quality. The added resolution was very apparent in Doctor Strange and I highly recommend giving it a watch.

Last edited by Wesley Hester; 03-08-2017 at 12:39 PM.
Wesley Hester is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
55uh8500 , 60uh8500 , 65uh8500 , 75UH8500 , lg led

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off