Official LG 55/60/65 UH8500 Thread - Page 91 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 657Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2701 of 3191 Old 03-21-2017, 07:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Wall, NJ
Posts: 737
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 394 Post(s)
Liked: 166
Quote:
Originally Posted by Datagg View Post
I'm guessing towards end of the year myself. They need to hold back some to push 2017 sets. I suspect most of the new 2017 goodies will end up in an update on the UH8500 in time.
I hope so that would be really cool. Then if I get the Dolby Vision update on my Yamaha CXA-5100 Pre-pro. I'll be one happy camper. I always expect the worse and hope for the best. I assume the big fat cigar smoking corporate types will say don't give them the update if they want it they can buy the new model.
David Varner is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2702 of 3191 Old 03-21-2017, 07:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
Datagg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: AZ
Posts: 553
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Varner View Post
I hope so that would be really cool. Then if I get the Dolby Vision update on my Yamaha CXA-5100 Pre-pro. I'll be one happy camper. I always expect the worse and hope for the best. I assume the big fat cigar smoking corporate types will say don't give them the update if they want it they can buy the new model.
I think they will... Look at Nvidia Shield. Our older model shield got all the new goodies, Minus the game pad it has all the same bells and whistles.. Albeit Nvidia released the firmware fast, I will assume Lg will hold out a bit.
Datagg is offline  
post #2703 of 3191 Old 03-21-2017, 10:41 PM
Member
 
hobbes49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Redwood City, CA
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I bought a 75UH8500 about four months ago and have been thrilled with it.

I have one issue and it's not so much the TV but my audio setup. I have a vizio sound bar which is connected via digital optical cable from the TV. Long story but without buying different equipment this is the best way I can set it up.

Anyway, is there an easy way to get into the service menu of this set? With my current setup, the audio lags a bit. I have set the audio sync to -5 but it's still a hair off and that's the max I can go. I was hoping to change it more in the service menu.

Thanks in advance.
hobbes49 is offline  
 
post #2704 of 3191 Old 03-22-2017, 06:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tezster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 1,479
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 517 Post(s)
Liked: 400
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Varner View Post
I didn't leave it up to the tech. LG gave me number of the Tech I contacted him right away before he called me and told him I have really bad ghosting double images on the screen. I send him pictures of the two tests that I did. I took a picture through the 3D glasses. I sent them to the tech over the phone. He ordered the panel and when I comes in he will come put it in. He basically diagnosed the problem through my pictures. I would have just showed him if he came to the house. I also had a few more youtube vids and a couple blu rays that really showed where the ghosting was too.
Thanks for the info. What's your viewing distance to the TV?

I've previously watched those test clips, so I'm familiar with them (there's a separate thread I started with those clips as a test source). I can pretty much guarantee you 99.9% of all 3D sets will fail that test to some degree, so I'm thinking it's a good thing those are the images you sent the tech. The question becomes, to what degree is the ghosting visible on real-world 3D content? And will the replacement set have noticeably reduced ghosting?
tezster is online now  
post #2705 of 3191 Old 03-22-2017, 06:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Wall, NJ
Posts: 737
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 394 Post(s)
Liked: 166
I agree that most TV sets will fail that test it's not the point of passing it's just having some kind of uniformity on the screen which obviously there is none from my previous pictures in this post.

The reason I even went to perform those test was because of the top of my screen I was seeing double images and it was really bad and distracted me from a movie and I'm pretty sure that the set isn't supposed to do that and not everyones does.

There's a post from somebody else on another form where they receive the uh8500 set that ghosted really bad took it back to the store and got another one and it didn't

Sent from my SM-G930T using Tapatalk

Pre-Pro: Yamaha CX-A5100, Amp: D-Sonic M3-5400-7, Subs: 3 JTR Orbit Shifter LFU's, LCR: DIYSG F-15 Sentinels, Surrounds: Tannoy 802's, 4k player: Panasonic UB-900, 4k Gaming PC
David Varner is offline  
post #2706 of 3191 Old 03-22-2017, 09:51 AM
Member
 
dolbymandts's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Vancouver / Canada
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Varner View Post
I agree that most TV sets will fail that test it's not the point of passing it's just having some kind of uniformity on the screen which obviously there is none from my previous pictures in this post.

The reason I even went to perform those test was because of the top of my screen I was seeing double images and it was really bad and distracted me from a movie and I'm pretty sure that the set isn't supposed to do that and not everyones does.

There's a post from somebody else on another form where they receive the uh8500 set that ghosted really bad took it back to the store and got another one and it didn't

Sent from my SM-G930T using Tapatalk
When the store tech was in to check my 65UH9500, he said Maybe that's how the 3D is" I showed him how the bunny test looks on my 2011 47LW6500 (almost no crosstalk, from all sorts of angles), he agreed that the set was not right.

I mean LG was selling the dual gaming feature for those sets, with that amount of crosstalk, it is utterly useless.
Further up the thread, the reason for this was already given, macro pictures of a severely misaligned polarizer layer.

Last edited by dolbymandts; 03-22-2017 at 09:55 AM.
dolbymandts is online now  
post #2707 of 3191 Old 03-22-2017, 10:03 AM
Senior Member
 
mercennarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 479
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 117
FYI: The default Dolby Vision settings have way to low backlight and cause the scenes to all look dark. I highly recommend turning up the backlight on your Dolby Vision settings. Also Dynamic Contrast works well with DV too.
mercennarius is offline  
post #2708 of 3191 Old 03-22-2017, 10:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
Exist_To_Resist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 860
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 333 Post(s)
Liked: 176
Bye bye 65UH8500!
I sold it and bought the E6P OLED from LG.
The UH8500 was nothing but problems for me from day 1, I had both the panel and HDMI board swapped out.
Banding and light bleed were abysmal.

I went OLED and boy am I glad I did, modern LCD panels are trash.
The LG 55 LA6900 LCD panel that I used to own was nice, but the 65 UH8500 it absolute trash.
I hope you all have a different experience than mine with this TV.

OLED is a game changer.
Exist_To_Resist is online now  
post #2709 of 3191 Old 03-22-2017, 11:12 AM
Newbie
 
mugen939's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi All,

I'm new here and I'm in the market for a 75 UH8500. I was told by the seller that there are two versions of this panel. One that is "magnolia" certified with a better image processor and a 30ms response time and one that does not have it. The one that doesn't have it he said has a 60ms response time and a build date of June 2016. Does this sound right to you guys? I have found nothing online that says there are multiple versions of this SKU from LG. I almost feel like he's making this up to try and get me to pay more for something that really doesn't exist. Any help you guys can provide would be really appreciated, thank you so much.
mugen939 is offline  
post #2710 of 3191 Old 03-22-2017, 11:18 AM
Senior Member
 
mercennarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 479
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by mugen939 View Post
Hi All,

I'm new here and I'm in the market for a 75 UH8500. I was told by the seller that there are two versions of this panel. One that is "magnolia" certified with a better image processor and a 30ms response time and one that does not have it. The one that doesn't have it he said has a 60ms response time and a build date of June 2016. Does this sound right to you guys? I have found nothing online that says there are multiple versions of this SKU from LG. I almost feel like he's making this up to try and get me to pay more for something that really doesn't exist. Any help you guys can provide would be really appreciated, thank you so much.
I have never heard about this...not saying it's completely false but I would by very skeptical.
mercennarius is offline  
post #2711 of 3191 Old 03-22-2017, 12:00 PM
Newbie
 
mugen939's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mercennarius View Post
I have never heard about this...not saying it's completely false but I would by very skeptical.
This is what I figured. I went ahead and ordered a the "normal" unit. I got it for $1,935 delivered which I think is a steal for this unit. I hoping for at least a decent upgrade. I'm coming from a 2014 Vizio M652I series. I like that unit a lot but we need something larger after moving into a new house. Our viewing distance is now over 15 ft. Hopefully I get a decent panel to calibrate, fingers crossed.
mugen939 is offline  
post #2712 of 3191 Old 03-22-2017, 12:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Wall, NJ
Posts: 737
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 394 Post(s)
Liked: 166
Quote:
Originally Posted by mugen939 View Post
Hi All,

I'm new here and I'm in the market for a 75 UH8500. I was told by the seller that there are two versions of this panel. One that is "magnolia" certified with a better image processor and a 30ms response time and one that does not have it. The one that doesn't have it he said has a 60ms response time and a build date of June 2016. Does this sound right to you guys? I have found nothing online that says there are multiple versions of this SKU from LG. I almost feel like he's making this up to try and get me to pay more for something that really doesn't exist. Any help you guys can provide would be really appreciated, thank you so much.
I think the two versions that the salesman is talking about is the uh8500 and uh9500 two different models slight differences. The uh8500 has an 8-bit panel but with dithering it makes it 10-bit. The UH9500 is a true 10-bit panel. The response time is also better under 30 milliseconds on the uh9500.As far as Magnolia certified. I couldn't give a rat's ass whether Best Buy wants to give it a magnolia certification or not.
Quote:
Originally Posted by dolbymandts View Post
When the store tech was in to check my 65UH9500, he said Maybe that's how the 3D is" I showed him how the bunny test looks on my 2011 47LW6500 (almost no crosstalk, from all sorts of angles), he agreed that the set was not right.

I mean LG was selling the dual gaming feature for those sets, with that amount of crosstalk, it is utterly useless.
Further up the thread, the reason for this was already given, macro pictures of a severely misaligned polarizer layer.

Sent from my SM-G930T using Tapatalk

Pre-Pro: Yamaha CX-A5100, Amp: D-Sonic M3-5400-7, Subs: 3 JTR Orbit Shifter LFU's, LCR: DIYSG F-15 Sentinels, Surrounds: Tannoy 802's, 4k player: Panasonic UB-900, 4k Gaming PC
David Varner is offline  
post #2713 of 3191 Old 03-22-2017, 12:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Wall, NJ
Posts: 737
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 394 Post(s)
Liked: 166
I would fight to get it fixed I mean I don't see how they can give you a TV that doesn't do what it says on the box that 3D is actually broken. Here is the link to the other form where somebody had one TV that the 3D was horrible took it back got another one and the 3D was fine.

https://www.hometheaterforum.com/com...-issue.349301/

Sent from my SM-G930T using Tapatalk

Pre-Pro: Yamaha CX-A5100, Amp: D-Sonic M3-5400-7, Subs: 3 JTR Orbit Shifter LFU's, LCR: DIYSG F-15 Sentinels, Surrounds: Tannoy 802's, 4k player: Panasonic UB-900, 4k Gaming PC
David Varner is offline  
post #2714 of 3191 Old 03-22-2017, 12:35 PM
Member
 
dolbymandts's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Vancouver / Canada
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Varner View Post
I would fight to get it fixed I mean I don't see how they can give you a TV that doesn't do what it says on the box that 3D is actually broken. Here is the link to the other form where somebody had one TV that the 3D was horrible took it back got another one and the 3D was fine.

https://www.hometheaterforum.com/com...-issue.349301/

Sent from my SM-G930T using Tapatalk
As I said LG threatened to charge me for a technician visit, if they found that it would be "within acceptable parameters".

Well all water under the bridge I have a 65KS8000 now, the picture if FAR better than the 65UH9500 (no DSE, gets vert bright and almost no light pillars) there is only one small thing that I might bug Samsung with, but thats for another thread :P

I still have 3D in the bedroom, I hope this guy never breaks

Last edited by dolbymandts; 03-22-2017 at 12:39 PM.
dolbymandts is online now  
post #2715 of 3191 Old 03-22-2017, 12:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Wall, NJ
Posts: 737
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 394 Post(s)
Liked: 166
Glad you got a set your happy with. I think that is a shame how LG treated you. I heard the same thing in a bunch of other threads and I know I was lucky to get my issue taken care of without hassle.

EDIT: Well hopefully taken care of still waiting on the tech to come do the panel replacement.
Sent from my SM-G930T using Tapatalk

Pre-Pro: Yamaha CX-A5100, Amp: D-Sonic M3-5400-7, Subs: 3 JTR Orbit Shifter LFU's, LCR: DIYSG F-15 Sentinels, Surrounds: Tannoy 802's, 4k player: Panasonic UB-900, 4k Gaming PC

Last edited by David Varner; 03-22-2017 at 02:35 PM.
David Varner is offline  
post #2716 of 3191 Old 03-23-2017, 03:53 AM
Member
 
klown07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Just a heads up for the 3D fans, the Vudu app has 3D rentals. Tried Assassin's Creed 3D rental, and it works. Just push the 3D button on remote once you start playing the movie. Once I find time, I'll write better instructions for the the ARC audio. I have my PC connected directly to the TV, with the receiver only decoding the audio. And I simply press the Home button on remote when I want to use apps and Smart features. What were the recommended 3D videos on YouTube again? Thx
klown07 is offline  
post #2717 of 3191 Old 03-23-2017, 06:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Wall, NJ
Posts: 737
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 394 Post(s)
Liked: 166
I thought I came across a post in this thread for Dolby Vision settings. I'm watching Iron Fist on Netflix and everything looks pretty good except for dark scenes. I am seeing bad gradients. Almost the entire scene look so dark that I can't tell the difference between anything. I know the black levels aren't the best on this TV but without Dolby Vision I have no issues like this.

Sent from my SM-G930T using Tapatalk

Pre-Pro: Yamaha CX-A5100, Amp: D-Sonic M3-5400-7, Subs: 3 JTR Orbit Shifter LFU's, LCR: DIYSG F-15 Sentinels, Surrounds: Tannoy 802's, 4k player: Panasonic UB-900, 4k Gaming PC
David Varner is offline  
post #2718 of 3191 Old 03-24-2017, 12:41 AM
Member
 
derek500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Varner View Post
I thought I came across a post in this thread for Dolby Vision settings. I'm watching Iron Fist on Netflix and everything looks pretty good except for dark scenes. I am seeing bad gradients. Almost the entire scene look so dark that I can't tell the difference between anything. I know the black levels aren't the best on this TV but without Dolby Vision I have no issues like this.

Sent from my SM-G930T using Tapatalk
Are you using the Vivid, Bright or Dark preset?

We find Vivid best in daylight and Bright at night with just rear bias lighting.

We turn off trumotion, too. Too jerky in fast moving scenes.
derek500 is offline  
post #2719 of 3191 Old 03-24-2017, 05:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Wall, NJ
Posts: 737
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 394 Post(s)
Liked: 166
I'm using bright. I am in a basement. I have fiddled with other settings such as color temperature and I always have trumotion off.

I am led to believe that it is Netflix that is giving me the issue but I would like to know if anybody else has problems with dark scenes specifically the Iron Fist.

Sent from my SM-G930T using Tapatalk

Pre-Pro: Yamaha CX-A5100, Amp: D-Sonic M3-5400-7, Subs: 3 JTR Orbit Shifter LFU's, LCR: DIYSG F-15 Sentinels, Surrounds: Tannoy 802's, 4k player: Panasonic UB-900, 4k Gaming PC
David Varner is offline  
post #2720 of 3191 Old 03-24-2017, 06:19 AM
Senior Member
 
mercennarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 479
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Varner View Post
I thought I came across a post in this thread for Dolby Vision settings. I'm watching Iron Fist on Netflix and everything looks pretty good except for dark scenes. I am seeing bad gradients. Almost the entire scene look so dark that I can't tell the difference between anything. I know the black levels aren't the best on this TV but without Dolby Vision I have no issues like this.

Sent from my SM-G930T using Tapatalk
If you are happy with how your normal HDR settings are then copy those over to the Dolby Vision settings. Also the default back light is far too low on Dolby Vision.

Last edited by mercennarius; 03-24-2017 at 07:22 AM.
mercennarius is offline  
post #2721 of 3191 Old 03-24-2017, 07:02 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Movie78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: SE FL
Posts: 1,393
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 857 Post(s)
Liked: 255
Quote:
Originally Posted by mercennarius View Post
If you are happy with how your normal HDR settings are then copy those over to the Dolby Vision settings. Also the default backlight is far to low on Dolby Vision.
This is a terrible idea, in this case why have Dolby Vision.

OLD SETUP:http://www.avsforum.com/forum/15-gen...r-theater.html
NEW SETUP: http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?...856#pid2506856
LG 75UH8500 3D DOLBY VISION HDR | SONY 43 ANDROID TV HDR
XBOX ONE S UHD BLU-RAY | PS4 PRO 4K HDR GAMING
MARANTZ SR7011 DTS X | ATMOS 5.1.4 | Auro-3D 9.1
Movie78 is online now  
post #2722 of 3191 Old 03-24-2017, 07:31 AM
Senior Member
 
mercennarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 479
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by Movie78 View Post
This is a terrible idea, in this case why have Dolby Vision.
Dolby Vision is not the settings in your menu, it's a technology used for implementing HDR. The default settings in Dolby Vision, HDR, and regular viewing are all bad and if you have not tweaked the settings from default then you are not getting the most accurate picture with the highest fidelity. Unfortunately LG has the default Dolby Vision settings pretty far off from optimum. Most professional reviewers recommend starting with the Expert/Dark presets and tweaking from there. Additionally HDR content needs high contrast, backlight and a wide color gamut to be fully utilized and the default backlight was much lower than what it should be. I have mine set at 95 I believe for all HDR content and it greatly improves the overall picture. The settings I have between HDR10 and Dolby Vision are very similar but slightly different and should be tweaked by each individual to their liking. But from my experience optimum picture quality for both ends up with very similar settings in the menus which is why I said if he's happy with his HDR settings then to copy those over to the Dark preset under the DV settings.

Last edited by mercennarius; 03-24-2017 at 08:58 AM.
mercennarius is offline  
post #2723 of 3191 Old 03-24-2017, 07:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Wall, NJ
Posts: 737
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 394 Post(s)
Liked: 166
HDR looks wonderful on 4k blu rays. I'm leaning towards its a netflix issue.

Sent from my SM-G930T using Tapatalk

Pre-Pro: Yamaha CX-A5100, Amp: D-Sonic M3-5400-7, Subs: 3 JTR Orbit Shifter LFU's, LCR: DIYSG F-15 Sentinels, Surrounds: Tannoy 802's, 4k player: Panasonic UB-900, 4k Gaming PC
David Varner is offline  
post #2724 of 3191 Old 03-24-2017, 08:04 AM
Senior Member
 
mercennarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 479
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Varner View Post
HDR looks wonderful on 4k blu rays. I'm leaning towards its a netflix issue.

Sent from my SM-G930T using Tapatalk
It could be both. Check the actual settings for DV and compare them to what you have for HDR on a 4K UHD disc...if they are pretty different then that is most likely your culprit. All HDR content needs high backlight/contrast/wide color gamut or you are not utilizing the HDR spectrum.
mercennarius is offline  
post #2725 of 3191 Old 03-24-2017, 08:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Wall, NJ
Posts: 737
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 394 Post(s)
Liked: 166
Cool I will check that out when I get home.

Sent from my SM-G930T using Tapatalk

Pre-Pro: Yamaha CX-A5100, Amp: D-Sonic M3-5400-7, Subs: 3 JTR Orbit Shifter LFU's, LCR: DIYSG F-15 Sentinels, Surrounds: Tannoy 802's, 4k player: Panasonic UB-900, 4k Gaming PC
David Varner is offline  
post #2726 of 3191 Old 03-24-2017, 08:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Movie78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: SE FL
Posts: 1,393
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 857 Post(s)
Liked: 255
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Varner View Post
HDR looks wonderful on 4k Blu-rays. I'm leaning towards it's a Netflix issue.

Sent from my SM-G930T using Tapatalk
I have to agree, the issue is with Netflix and DV, DV uses metadata base on the viewing content so the settings shouldn't be the same unless these whole HDR, DV is a marketing tool for people to buy new TV.

OLD SETUP:http://www.avsforum.com/forum/15-gen...r-theater.html
NEW SETUP: http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?...856#pid2506856
LG 75UH8500 3D DOLBY VISION HDR | SONY 43 ANDROID TV HDR
XBOX ONE S UHD BLU-RAY | PS4 PRO 4K HDR GAMING
MARANTZ SR7011 DTS X | ATMOS 5.1.4 | Auro-3D 9.1
Movie78 is online now  
post #2727 of 3191 Old 03-24-2017, 08:56 AM
Senior Member
 
mercennarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 479
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by Movie78 View Post
I have to agree, the issue is with Netflix and DV, DV uses metadata base on the viewing content so the settings shouldn't be the same unless these whole HDR, DV is a marketing tool for people to buy new TV.
What you are missing is that the default settings have nothing to do with Dolby Vision itself. Those are just presets LG put in. Dolby Vision and HDR 10 can have the same settings yet still look different since they work differently. Although they will likely look very similar with the same settings on the same panel. All HDR content needs a high contrast/backlight/wide color gamut to fully take advantage of HDR technology. This is why peak nits (total peak light output measurement) is important on HDR TVs. Leaving the default settings will provide you a sub par picture compared to what the panel is capable of delivering.
mercennarius is offline  
post #2728 of 3191 Old 03-24-2017, 09:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tezster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 1,479
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 517 Post(s)
Liked: 400
Quote:
Originally Posted by mercennarius View Post
What you are missing is that the default settings have nothing to do with Dolby Vision itself. Those are just presets LG put in. Dolby Vision and HDR 10 can have the same settings yet still look different since they work differently. Although they will likely look very similar with the same settings on the same panel. All HDR content needs a high contrast/backlight/wide color gamut to fully take advantage of HDR technology. This is why peak nits (total peak light output measurement) is important on HDR TVs. Leaving the default settings will provide you a sub par picture compared to what the panel is capable of delivering.
+1

Aside from the fact that DV and HDR 10 operate differently, LG has independent settings for pretty much every input/picture mode i.e. the 2D settings are independent of 3D, SDR settings are independent of DV/HDR. It may seem annoying at first, but it's actually a great thing, as it allows you to custom tailor every mode, without affecting the settings of the other display modes. For DV content, you pretty much need to max your backlight.

In theory, DV should actually look better than HDR 10 on these TVs, because it would adjust the output based on the lower peak brightness of the UH8500 series.

I binged through Iron Fist last weekend, and the PQ looked fantastic to me.
mercennarius likes this.

Last edited by tezster; 03-24-2017 at 09:14 AM. Reason: typo
tezster is online now  
post #2729 of 3191 Old 03-24-2017, 03:06 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Amazon has a 65 uh9500 for 996.00 wish i would have waited. Must have been a screw up went back and looked for it and its not there anymore.

Last edited by omston; 03-24-2017 at 05:59 PM.
omston is offline  
post #2730 of 3191 Old 03-24-2017, 04:28 PM
Member
 
dolbymandts's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Vancouver / Canada
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by omston View Post
Amazon has a 65 uh9500 for 996.00 wish i would have waited.
On amazon.ca still 3.999.00 we really get ripped off here in the North :P
dolbymandts is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
55uh8500 , 60uh8500 , 65uh8500 , 75UH8500 , lg led

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off