Official Vizio 2016/2017 P Series Owners Thread UHD/HDR/DV No Price Talk Please - Page 394 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 76886Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11791 of 53272 Old 05-12-2016, 10:48 AM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 26,620
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 953 Post(s)
Liked: 2107
Quote:
Originally Posted by turts85 View Post
I googled this a couple weeks ago, I believe it enables Chroma 4:4:4 if I understood it correctly. HDMI Subsampling and Chroma are a new world to me, so there was a lot of tech jargon this 444 noob was trying to understand but I believe that is what its for. Ph8te is a good person to ask...if he likes you... very knowledgeable guy same with htwaits.
I know for sure that htwaits knows nothing about it.
bluemoon737 likes this.
htwaits is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11792 of 53272 Old 05-12-2016, 10:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 1,573
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 765 Post(s)
Liked: 371
Is there a Bluetooth Transmitter on the 2016 P series TVs?

I'd like to use my Blue tooth headphones for late night viewing so a BT transmitter would be nice like with my old Vizio XVT3D. I know the P has a BT receiver for casting from phones & tablets. So the Specs say it has BT but nothing about a full BT including a transmitter. Any help from a 2016 owner would be appreciated.
naustin is offline  
post #11793 of 53272 Old 05-12-2016, 10:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bargervais's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Tampa Bay Florida
Posts: 3,540
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1640 Post(s)
Liked: 972
Quote:
Originally Posted by losservatore View Post
The P series doesn't have artificial enhancements like What you see in other brands ,so it wont look as good as the other displays in the store.

when you buy that TV that look fantastic at the booth you will end turning off those artificial enhancements and lowering the sharpness.

That's if you are a video purist.


what I do with the tv next to the Vizio, I grab the remote and turn off those artificial enhanments ,lower sharpness and set the tv in movie mode , the sales man may not like it and after I finish they will put the tv back in store mode.


Is the only way to at least do a fair comparison in the store.Best comparison will be at home.


IMO is imposible to make a fair comparison at the store. I think vizio should add some artificial enhanments for the stores. That what some consumers like to see at the store. lol
i understand i was just saying they had last years M series in that same store running a 4K loop and the picture was spectacular. I do understand these TV's are in Store mode running something for a wow factor. All i was trying to point out that the 75P had a horrible loop running that didn't show off the display. I think some of these stores do an injustice to what the display can really do.
losservatore likes this.

DEN Atmos Samsung UN65KS8000 Roku Ultra Onkyo TX-RZ710 5.2.2 UHD audio. Polk Audio OWM3 Speakers / top middle on Ceiling / 300MGB Spectrum / Samsung UBD-K8500 Blu-Ray Player / 26 UHD Blu-Rays Living Room Atmos Samsung PN60E8000+SEK2000 / Onkyo TX-NR 1030 7.2.4 /Onkyo M-5010 Amplifier for top middle/ 300MGB Spectrum / Panasonic 3D blu-ray Bic Acoustech speakers, MICCA M-8S FH on wall /TM in ceiling speakers / 2 Bic F12 subs. BEDROOM Samsung 55JS8500 using tv speakers for now
bargervais is offline  
 
post #11794 of 53272 Old 05-12-2016, 10:54 AM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 26,620
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 953 Post(s)
Liked: 2107
Quote:
Originally Posted by LordofDoubleD View Post
But you could send the Darbee a 1080p signal - let it do its thing - and then let the Vizio upscale the enhanced Darbee signal to 4K?
Anyone with a OPPO 103D Blu-ray player could do that and let us know.
htwaits is offline  
post #11795 of 53272 Old 05-12-2016, 11:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
hernanu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Boston Suburbs
Posts: 3,766
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 682 Post(s)
Liked: 1218
Quote:
Originally Posted by LordofDoubleD View Post
But you could send the Darbee a 1080p signal - let it do its thing - and then let the Vizio upscale the enhanced Darbee signal to 4K?
Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post
Anyone with a OPPO 103D Blu-ray player could do that and let us know.
Well, the 103D already does this internally. Any incoming signal (HDMI input, bluray, DVD, etc.) is processed by the Oppo's internal magic and then the Darbee algorithms are applied to it. If the output is to a 4K device, then the Oppo will upscale to that resolution, since as was noted, the Darbee doesn't function on a 4K signal.

The point is moot anyways, since the current breed of Oppos don't take in or play a 4K signal. That is for the Oppos that are coming out in the fall.

So I'd see no problem with inserting a Darbee on a 1080p signal that is then upscaled to 4K by the P series TV... I mean monitors.
hernanu is online now  
post #11796 of 53272 Old 05-12-2016, 11:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
losservatore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cleveland,Ohio
Posts: 6,495
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2676 Post(s)
Liked: 2453
Quote:
Originally Posted by bargervais View Post
i understand i was just saying they had last years M series in that same store running a 4K loop and the picture was spectacular. I do understand these TV's are in Store mode running something for a wow factor. All i was trying to point out that the 75P had a horrible loop running that didn't show off the display. I think some of these stores do an injustice to what the display can really do.

I understand ,I think that Vizio mainly use auo panels like Sony.


Probably they learned from the critics for over enhancing the sharpness on the 2014 Displays and now are trying to not go that route making them as pure as they can.No artificial enhancements.base on reviwed . com the 2015 was a little too over sharper out of the box but it didn't have the same issue as the 2014.


hard to satisfy everyone.


video purist will love that idea.

Last edited by losservatore; 05-12-2016 at 11:33 AM.
losservatore is offline  
post #11797 of 53272 Old 05-12-2016, 11:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bootman_head_fi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Nanny State
Posts: 1,634
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 535 Post(s)
Liked: 342
Quote:
Originally Posted by rolldog View Post
That makes more sense then. I was referring to being able to cast a 4K video file that I have locally, like one taken with my camera. I thought it might be difficult to cast a 2GB 4K video file from the tablet, but it would probably be better to stream it from another device hooked up to the TV or stream it via USB. I'm able to stream games to my TV in 4K, but it's always been with a hardwired connection.

I can't wait until I can actually sit down and watch my P75. It's been over 24 hour since I've had it, but I haven't even had any time to enjoy it yet. I guess I'll be able to this weekend.
Ok I would not call that casting (handing a stream over to another device sourced from a server) but directly streaming (peer to peer) from one device to another.
So that said, I think a simple Android tablet via wifi would not be the ideal device to do that.

Are you really hearing a difference?
http://youtu.be/G-lN8vWm3m0

Set an example:
Treat everyone with kindness and respect, even those who are rude to you...
Not because they are nice, but because YOU are. :)
bootman_head_fi is offline  
post #11798 of 53272 Old 05-12-2016, 11:31 AM
Senior Member
 
pos1121's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 280
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 128 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by turts85 View Post
Cool...glad you found your answer. Glad I couldn't be of any help , I'm pretty sure I'm on everyone's ignore list lol.
Not yet.........
losservatore likes this.
pos1121 is offline  
post #11799 of 53272 Old 05-12-2016, 11:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
losservatore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cleveland,Ohio
Posts: 6,495
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2676 Post(s)
Liked: 2453
Quote:
Originally Posted by turts85 View Post
My deepest most sincere apologies sir, I stated my opinion, didn't realize we were talking about all brands in the Vizio owners thread.

Sometimes my comments can sound like I'm mad ,but Im not mad at all , In my house and lot of my friends talk in my language.

I apologize that my english isn't very good.


Trying the best I can.
htwaits, pos1121 and Ian c2 like this.

Last edited by losservatore; 05-12-2016 at 11:52 AM.
losservatore is offline  
post #11800 of 53272 Old 05-12-2016, 11:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Fanboyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 3,020
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 536 Post(s)
Liked: 162
final question before my thing comes:

What color format should I send the vizio?

Does it like RGB Video best?

LG OLED65B6P. Klipsch: RF82, RC62, RS52, RB61, RP-140SA. SVS PB-U13. Denon 6300H. Oppo 103D. Oppo UPD 203.
Fanboyz is online now  
post #11801 of 53272 Old 05-12-2016, 12:01 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Long Beach, WA
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by mchallis View Post
The tech will be here at 8 am tomorrow. He is bringing a replacement mainboard and wi fi card. I will reply back with results tomorrow.
Tech came out and replaced the mainboard and wifi card in my P50 that can't cast. After he put it together the tablet would never pair, he called vizio support. they had him try pairing with his phone. It could not pair either. So he put old board back in. it can pair now but not cast, same problem like before. So tech said sorry and left. On the phone with vizio. they think there could be a bad batch of early serial numbers since all three i had were within 50 serial number digits had 1.0.0.0 firmware lockups and can't cast. They will replace again with newer serial number batch unit. through all this vizio is very nice and professional to deal with.

Edit: they are going to buy it back at full price because they are not for sure they have a newer production batch of P50 right now. Maybe I will buy a P65.
htwaits, Ph8te, shoman94 and 6 others like this.

Last edited by mchallis; 05-12-2016 at 04:32 PM.
mchallis is offline  
post #11802 of 53272 Old 05-12-2016, 12:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
beardontwalk123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Clear Lake, IA
Posts: 1,502
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1107 Post(s)
Liked: 687
Quote:
Originally Posted by WiFi-Spy View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by hockeythug View Post
Which meter mode should I use in Calman? White LED, Wide Gamut White LED, or RGB LED? Using my HDMI out on my laptop to display the patterns from Calman.


LCD LED Blue-green
I take it that this is used for MobileForge also? I have been using LCD LED with Calman......what is the difference?
beardontwalk123 is online now  
post #11803 of 53272 Old 05-12-2016, 12:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jvgillow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Burlington, NC
Posts: 2,471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Just picked up my P65-C1 today, won't be unboxing until this weekend probably but I'm excited for some high quality 4K.

Replacing a Sharp LC-60LE640U in my home theater room.

Jeremy Gillow
jvgillow is offline  
post #11804 of 53272 Old 05-12-2016, 12:33 PM
Senior Member
 
Surly73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto-ish, Canada
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Official Vizio 2016 P Series Owners Thread (UHD/HDR/DV) No Price Talk Please

Quote:
Originally Posted by mpgxsvcd View Post
Explain what issues you would see by mapping the REC.709 content to colors outside of the REC.709 container but within the capabilities of the display.
If I shot a picture of grass and a lake with a high quality camera, and viewed on a high quality display, I would expect it to look the same as the real life grass, sky and water.

By your logic it would be superior if it came out looking different than reality, with more pop and colours outside of gamut.

Those in favour of following reference standards are trying to keep things looking real. Granted, anyone involved in the production of a film may decide that they do NOT want a scene looking like the reality which was shot and apply filters, processing and CG. But without sticking to some kind of standard, you're still not even seeing what they intended.

I get what you've been promoting here, but the thing I really loved about my Panasonic plasma I calibrated myself, for instance, was that it was like looking through a window into the other room where real people were on the other side talking. No artificial boost, or pop, or non-standard colours; no motion processing, SOE or weird effects. Just people, plants and animals that look like the real thing.

My tendency towards calibration comes from my adoption of colour managed workflow in photography.
shoman94 likes this.

Last edited by Surly73; 05-12-2016 at 01:00 PM.
Surly73 is offline  
post #11805 of 53272 Old 05-12-2016, 12:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bootman_head_fi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Nanny State
Posts: 1,634
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 535 Post(s)
Liked: 342
Quote:
Originally Posted by hernanu View Post
Well, the 103D already does this internally. Any incoming signal (HDMI input, bluray, DVD, etc.) is processed by the Oppo's internal magic and then the Darbee algorithms are applied to it. If the output is to a 4K device, then the Oppo will upscale to that resolution, since as was noted, the Darbee doesn't function on a 4K signal.

The point is moot anyways, since the current breed of Oppos don't take in or play a 4K signal. That is for the Oppos that are coming out in the fall.

So I'd see no problem with inserting a Darbee on a 1080p signal that is then upscaled to 4K by the P series TV... I mean monitors.
Set the 103D to a fixed 1080p out and you won't lose the processing.
Let the display then take the 1080p signal with darbee up to 4k and then report on how it looks, one fixed and one without.
LordofDoubleD likes this.

Are you really hearing a difference?
http://youtu.be/G-lN8vWm3m0

Set an example:
Treat everyone with kindness and respect, even those who are rude to you...
Not because they are nice, but because YOU are. :)
bootman_head_fi is offline  
post #11806 of 53272 Old 05-12-2016, 12:39 PM
Senior Member
 
pos1121's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 280
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 128 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by jvgillow View Post
Just picked up my P65-C1 today, won't be unboxing until this weekend probably but I'm excited for some high quality 4K.

Replacing a Sharp LC-60LE640U in my home theater room.
You are a patient Man
bluemoon737 and a61688 like this.
pos1121 is offline  
post #11807 of 53272 Old 05-12-2016, 12:58 PM
Senior Member
 
hockeythug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 437
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 219 Post(s)
Liked: 413
Quote:
Originally Posted by beardontwalk123 View Post
I take it that this is used for MobileForge also? I have been using LCD LED with Calman......what is the difference?
Look at the last couple posts in the calibration thread.

http://www.avsforum.com/forum/139-di...thread-23.html

Vizio P65C1
Denon AVR-X3300W
Q Acoustics 3020 fronts, 3090 center, 3010 surrounds
SVS PB-1000
Samsung K8500
hockeythug is offline  
post #11808 of 53272 Old 05-12-2016, 01:04 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by pos1121 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by jvgillow View Post
Just picked up my P65-C1 today, won't be unboxing until this weekend probably but I'm excited for some high quality 4K.

Replacing a Sharp LC-60LE640U in my home theater room.
You are a patient Man
I barely slept the night before delivery. I was up most of the night reading this forum.
pos1121, ma1746, mikestr and 2 others like this.
Helmzz2 is offline  
post #11809 of 53272 Old 05-12-2016, 01:06 PM
Member
 
jtslade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Rgb

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fanboyz View Post
final question before my thing comes:

What color format should I send the vizio?

Does it like RGB Video best?
Good question.
jtslade is offline  
post #11810 of 53272 Old 05-12-2016, 01:09 PM
Senior Member
 
Surly73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto-ish, Canada
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpgxsvcd View Post
So if they produce a wide color gamut HDR version of the same film you are telling me that you won’t watch it simply because it doesn’t conform to the REC.709 standard you have held onto for nearly 2 decades?


There are plenty of real life objects (flowers, race car paint schemes, etc) that cannot be represented in sRGB and thus REC.709. An HDR and WCG version of an outdoor scene would be able to represent the dynamic range of direct sun and shadow, and more of the shades found in the garden flowers, while leaving the grass unchanged from how it looked in 709. A bigger colour gamut doesn't mean that every colour shown needs to be stretched and over saturated.

Looking even more like reality than 709 would be what I would look forward too. Of course that's not how everyone will use the extra colour and dynamic range. Again, some directors may choose to process scenes in unrealistic manners but at least if you're calibrated to a standard you'll see the same that they did.

That's the way I see it and probably how most fans of calibration see it. That being said everyone can watch their TV how they want. My disagreement over this is not intended to disrespect all of your contribution and experience here.
shoman94 likes this.
Surly73 is offline  
post #11811 of 53272 Old 05-12-2016, 01:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
losservatore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cleveland,Ohio
Posts: 6,495
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2676 Post(s)
Liked: 2453
Quote:
Originally Posted by mchallis View Post
vizio is very nice and professional to deal with.
They are even sending brand new replacements to costumers. I'm very impress by that.


Even if is purchase from BB they wont have a problem on sending a brand new TV.


Now thats costumer support.
mchallis likes this.
losservatore is offline  
post #11812 of 53272 Old 05-12-2016, 01:19 PM
Member
 
wombat286's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: VA
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
AVR hook-up

I been reading the forum for a couple of days and searched but can't see where this has been asked. If it has and I missed it I apologize. I'm in the market for a P65 to replace a 10 year old 720p plasma and Onkyo that lightning ran in on and burned the HDMIs boards on both. I have ordered a AVR-X4200W to have HDCP 2.2. My question is I will be hooking up a DirectTv box. and blue-ray player (not HDCP 2.2 maybe later when the price comes down) and that's all. Should I just run it all to the AVR then one HDMI to the P65. I've been reading on here about ARC is there any benefit to that? I'll have a 5.1 setup. Sorry I seem so ill informed but I am.


Thanks
wombat286 is offline  
post #11813 of 53272 Old 05-12-2016, 01:24 PM
VBB
AVS Forum Special Member
 
VBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 2,224
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1020 Post(s)
Liked: 872
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbc View Post
So is this saying, essentially, that again if we use a bluray calibration disc to calibrate the set and calibrate colours as close as possible to REC.709, it won't in fact impact the WCG given that that gamut is only triggered in any event in DV mode?
Correct.
VBB is offline  
post #11814 of 53272 Old 05-12-2016, 01:38 PM
VBB
AVS Forum Special Member
 
VBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 2,224
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1020 Post(s)
Liked: 872
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeronetFi View Post
When Robert Heron did his review of the Vizio P, he said that when he calibrated the monitor it exceeded HD and was approaching DCI color space. Check out the AVExcel podcast in the first post. 19:35 - 19:40
The P only exceeds Rec. 709 when in DV mode, so that's probably what he was calibrating.
shoman94 likes this.
VBB is offline  
post #11815 of 53272 Old 05-12-2016, 01:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Kadath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 414 Post(s)
Liked: 279
Biweekly check to see if HDR10 support is any closer:
Biweekly disappointment.

=)
jopat likes this.

Buncha savages in this town....

Sam Posten
Kadath is offline  
post #11816 of 53272 Old 05-12-2016, 01:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mpgxsvcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 8,724
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2778 Post(s)
Liked: 2462
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by Surly73 View Post
If I shot a picture of grass and a lake with a high quality camera, and viewed on a high quality display, I would expect it to look the same as the real life grass, sky and water.

By your logic it would be superior if it came out looking different than reality, with more pop and colours outside of gamut.

Those in favour of following reference standards are trying to keep things looking real. Granted, anyone involved in the production of a film may decide that they do NOT want a scene looking like the reality which was shot and apply filters, processing and CG. But without sticking to some kind of standard, you're still not even seeing what they intended.

I get what you've been promoting here, but the thing I really loved about my Panasonic plasma I calibrated myself, for instance, was that it was like looking through a window into the other room where real people were on the other side talking. No artificial boost, or pop, or non-standard colours; no motion processing, SOE or weird effects. Just people, plants and animals that look like the real thing.

My tendency towards calibration comes from my adoption of colour managed workflow in photography.
Here is the issue. What if REC.709 is not capable of displaying the true life color that was captured? The director would settle for something less than true to life in order to fit to the REC.709 specification. Then what you call accurate is not true to life accurate.

With the P-series it can display colors outside of REC.709 and it is possible that it could show those colors as closer to true to life instead of just accurate to the inferior REC.709 specification.

REC.709 is the limiting factor here. Directors and Editors settled for it because that is what TVs were capable of before. It doesn’t mean that REC.709 was true to life. It simply means that they were limited to that color range and the customers didn’t know any better so they went with that.
toonj64 likes this.
mpgxsvcd is offline  
post #11817 of 53272 Old 05-12-2016, 01:59 PM
Member
 
fljoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by wombat286 View Post
I been reading the forum for a couple of days and searched but can't see where this has been asked. If it has and I missed it I apologize. I'm in the market for a P65 to replace a 10 year old 720p plasma and Onkyo that lightning ran in on and burned the HDMIs boards on both. I have ordered a AVR-X4200W to have HDCP 2.2. My question is I will be hooking up a DirectTv box. and blue-ray player (not HDCP 2.2 maybe later when the price comes down) and that's all. Should I just run it all to the AVR then one HDMI to the P65. I've been reading on here about ARC is there any benefit to that? I'll have a 5.1 setup. Sorry I seem so ill informed but I am.
Thanks
@Wombat2 8 .. that is the way I have hooked up my P65. All my devices connect to my Denon X2200W and then an active HDMI cable runs from the HDMI (ARC) port to the back of the Vizio P65 HDMI1 port. Your Denon is ARC capable, so anything cast to the Vizio can play to the Denon via the ARC channel. Here is a good write up on ARC: http://hometheaterreview.com/everyth...eturn-channel/
htwaits and Bevmo like this.
fljoe is offline  
post #11818 of 53272 Old 05-12-2016, 02:00 PM
Senior Member
 
Furyus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 256
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by jvgillow View Post
Just picked up my P65-C1 today, won't be unboxing until this weekend probably but I'm excited for some high quality 4K.



Replacing a Sharp LC-60LE640U in my home theater room.


I replaced my 52LE640U with the P55 and ran them side by side with Directv when I first got it. I think you'll be happy with Vizio.
mpgxsvcd likes this.

Vizio P55-C1
Vizio SB4031-D5
DirecTV Genie
Apple TV 4
Panny TC-P60ST60
Yamaha RX-V373
Furyus is offline  
post #11819 of 53272 Old 05-12-2016, 02:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,513
Mentioned: 126 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2447 Post(s)
Liked: 1907
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpgxsvcd View Post
Here is the issue. What if REC.709 is not capable of displaying the true life color that was captured? The director would settle for something less than true to life in order to fit to the REC.709 specification. Then what you call accurate is not true to life accurate.

With the P-series it can display colors outside of REC.709 and it is possible that it could show those colors as closer to true to life instead of just accurate to the inferior REC.709 specification.

REC.709 is the limiting factor here. Directors and Editors settled for it because that is what TVs were capable of before. It doesn’t mean that REC.709 was true to life. It simply means that they were limited to that color range and the customers didn’t know any better so they went with that.
But the content is mastered in REC. 709. That content will not have the data to make the display show the true life color. The SDR content only has the data for REC.709. The display cannot display data that doesn't exist. That why HDR content has the extra meta data for the display to take, switch to HDR MODE and display the correct data given by that standard (DCI-P3) using the wide color gamut.

Sent from my XT1575 using Tapatalk
VBB and a61688 like this.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (3.2.13.3).
My P75-C1 BETA Calibration Settings (3.3.18.1).
Vizio P75-C1 (fw-3.3.18.1), Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One, Wii
NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K, Antennas Direct DB4e w/Dipole OTA antenna and 2x HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+

Last edited by shoman94; 05-12-2016 at 02:23 PM.
shoman94 is online now  
post #11820 of 53272 Old 05-12-2016, 02:16 PM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 26,620
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 953 Post(s)
Liked: 2107
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kadath View Post
Biweekly check to see if HDR10 support is any closer:
Biweekly disappointment.

=)
Try checking every four weeks.
htwaits is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
best value , D7000 , new amazon app & new button remotes! 4k hdr , vizio 2016/2017 p-series - web-based apps!

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off