AVS Forum banner

Best Time To Buy TVs - Before or after the Superbowl?

4K views 57 replies 20 participants last post by  mclellan83 
#1 ·
Sorry I didn't know where on this site to put this thread. I am not sure if this forum is meant only for specific displays, so if mods want to move or delete this, no worries! I was going to ask this in the other thread I am asking about the 940D, but then I realized I have already derailed that thread quite enough already with all my sound system chatter. lol

That said, with all the talk of Superbowl sales, I decided to do some digging, and many review-type sites say that the week leading up to the Superbowl is when you get the best prices. But I have seen some people in this forum post that they think AFTER the Superbowl is best. I happen to agree with that, but then I am not an expert. So I put it to you folks, who all know way more about this than me:

Is it best to buy right before the Superbowl or is it best to buy After the Superbowl, since the new 2017 TVs are coming in a month or two?

Thanks everyone!

#3 ·
but a case can also be made for waiting till after when people who just bought a set to watch the game return it and you can get open box deals.
Hahahaha I never actually thought of this. The only problem I have with open box merchandise is you never know if the stuff was slightly abused by the returning owner. But its still a factor. I was thinking more in terms of the fact that after the Superbowl, sales would die down and retailers would want to stimulate more business once people aren't clamoring for sets to watch the biggest game of the year. Not to mention its that much closer to the 2017 releases. But my logic could be flawed.

#4 ·
You can buy the 940D right now on popular auction site for less than 2900

#6 ·